Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 06/17/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/17/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by BG 113619 (see WO’2024/103129A2 for English Translation).
As to claim 1, WO’129 teaches (see Figs 1a, 3a and 3c; and claim 13) an electrospinning system (ES device, E-spinning device), comprising: a first twister (see Fig 3a for ES device with first syringe of the three syringes 19-1) for feeding a fibrous element to a coating region (see Fig 3a-3b for region 10-1; a reservoir (cylinder 21) configured to contain a spinning dope (ES solution or liquid); a nozzle (syringe 19-1 with a needle) in fluid communication with the reservoir (21) for delivery of the spinning dope to the coating region (see Figs 3a-3b); at least a first electrode (high voltage electrode at the needle 3) and a second electrode (counter electrode 5) in spaced relation; a power supply (11) in electrical communication with at least one of the first electrode (high voltage electrode at the needle 3) and the second electrode; at least one collection surface (collector 8) located between the first electrode (high voltage electrode at the needle 3) and the second electrode (counter electrode 5); and a second twister (see Fig 3a for ES device with the second syringe 19-2) for collecting the fibrous element subsequent to coating within the coating region wherein the power supply (11) is configured to generate an electrostatic field in the coating region between the first electrode and the second electrode (see Fig 3a, and spec page 1 for an electrostatic spinning).
As to claim 4, in WO’129 (see Figs 1 and 3) the first nozzle is a syringe needle (syringe 19 with a needle 3).
Regarding claim 5, in WO’129 (see Figs 1 and 3) the first nozzle (syringe 19) is in physical contact with the first electrode (high voltage electrode at the needle 3).
As to claim 6, WO’129 teaches (see Figs 1 and 3) a first pump (23) in fluid communication with the first reservoir (cylinder 21) for delivering the spinning dope to the nozzle (syringe 19).
Regarding claim 7, WO’129 teaches (see Fig 3a) a second reservoir (21) configured to contain a second spinning dope (2nd ES solution); and a second nozzle (19-2 with a needle) fluid communication with the second reservoir (21) for delivery of the second spinning dope to the coating region (see Fig 3a and specification on page 23 for ES-liquids differing in nature).
Regarding claim 9, in WO’129 the spinning dope and the second spinning dope are capable of being the same material or are different materials (materials used in the system do not add structure to the system, in any event, see specification on page 23 for ES-liquids differing in nature).
As to claim 10, WO’129 teaches (see Fig 3a) a plurality of additional nozzles (syringes with needles) and a plurality of additional reservoirs (cylinders 21 not labeled), wherein each of the plurality of additional nozzles (syringes with needles) is in fluid communication with one of the additional reservoirs (cylinders).
Regarding claim 14, in WO’129 (see Figs 3a-3c) the at least one collection surface (collector 8) is capable of comprising one to ten collection surfaces (substrate/s used in the system do not add structure to the system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BG 113619 (see WO’2024/103129A2 for English Translation) in view of WO 2014/160002A1 and Zhang et al (US 2008/0170982 A1).
Although WO’129 teaches (see specification on page 7) industrialization and control of multi-jet HDV electrospinning system, an electrospinning system provided with first and second control panels controlling twisting and collection rates is not taught in WO’129. WO’002 teaches (see Fig 7, paragraphs [0012], [0017],[0038],[0060] and claims 19 and 40) an electrospinning apparatus provided with a plurality of syringe pumps, control mechanism configured to control the electric potential of the electrified tip, and programmable syringe pumps. Zhang et al also teaches (see para [0308], [0309], [0324], [0332], [0720], [0727]) an electrospinning apparatus with a computer electronic interface controlling twisting level and spinning speed by independently regulating motor speed and applied magnetic field and controlling the relative rotational rates of substrate delivery and collection rollers/mandrels(see para [0720]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include first and second control panels controlling twisting and collection rates as claimed in WO’192 to impose minimal tension to the spun yarns and can handle spinning of yarns with either high or low breaking force as taught by Zhang et al (see para [0308]).
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BG 113619 (see WO’2024/103129A2 for English Translation) in view of WO 2014/160002A1
As to claim 8, WO’129 lacks teaching a second pump. However, WO’002 teaches (see Fig 7 and para [[0038]) a second pump in fluid communication with the second reservoir for delivering the second spinning dope to the second nozzle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second pump in fluid communication with the second reservoir as claimed in WO’129 for example, to selectively supply different spinning material (see para [0055] of WO’002).
As to claim 12, WO’129 teaches a plurality of additional electrodes (high voltage electrode at the needle 3, see Fig 3a), but lacks teaching a plurality of pumps. However, WO’002 teaches (see Fig 7 and para [[0038]) a plurality of syringe pumps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second pump in fluid communication with the second reservoir as claimed in WO’129 for example, to selectively supply different spinning material (see para [0055] of WO’002).
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BG 113619 (see WO’2024/103129A2 for English Translation) in view of WO 2014/160002A1 and KR 20210075743A.
WO’129 teaches a plurality of nozzles (syringes 19) in communication with a plurality of reservoirs (cylinders 21) and electrodes (see Fig 3a), although the number of nozzles is not an even number as claimed (see Fig3a for an odd number “3” of syringes). In any event, an electrospinning apparatus, provided with a plurality of syringes having odd or even numbers, is known in the art; for instance - as taught by KR’743 (see Fig 4 for the number of nozzles being 15 and Fig 14 for the number of nozzles being 20). WO’002 also teaches (see Fig 7) a plurality of nozzles with pumps having an even number (two syringe pumps). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include even number of nozzles/syringes or odd as desired in WO’129 depending the size of the substrate/collection surface treated.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2018/111832A1 teaches a spin dope supply storage (spec on page 10, Figs 1a and 2); an electrospinning machine with array of nozzles (see specification on page 16 for two or more spinneret arrays 64 such that the system can have the desired number of arrays for the nanofibrous mat 90 production size and volume desired); and integrated control system (see spec on page 21).
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/