DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim for priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202211627955.0 filed under 35 U.S.C. 119 and receipt of the priority document filed on 12/16/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS)(s) submitted on 05/20/2025 and 05/22/2026 has/have been received, considered, and is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) has/have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 8, 13-14, 16 and 18 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 8, 13-14, 16 and 18 recite in part, “the control apparatus is further configured to, when the vehicle is in a motion mode, has a real-time speed.”
Examiner notes removing the comma after “mode” and before “has” and replace it with the term “and” so the corrected claim would then read in part, “the control apparatus is further configured to, when the vehicle is in a motion mode and has a real-time speed.”
Claim(s) 7 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 recites in part, “the third speed value”.
Due to lack of preceding basis, Examiner notes replacing “the” with “a” so the corrected claim would then read in part, “a third speed value.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US. 20210237810 A1 to Yen et al. (Yen) in view of U.S. 9403564 B1 to Al-Huwaider.
Regarding claim 1, Yen discloses an aerodynamic kit control system (Yen discloses active aerodynamic flow control devices 11-17 ([0046] (The aerodynamic device actuators module 190 comprises the electromechanical components necessary to move the active aerodynamic flow control devices 11-17 into the positions determined by the aerodynamic device controller module 185…these components may include…motors, control boards, hydraulic or pneumatic pistons, and assorted mechanical coupling devices) for a vehicle (vehicle 100), comprising:
a rear wing system, arranged at a rear of a vehicle, and comprising a first rear wing Yen discloses a an active spoiler 15 as a rear wing system (see Fig. 1; [0032] (the active aerodynamic control devices include an adjustable air dam 11 and an active grille shutter…the active aerodynamic control devices also comprise a plurality of wheel shutters 12 on the wheels of the vehicle 100, a plurality of deployable side panels 13, at least one active bottom diffuser 14, an active spoiler 15, a plurality of deployable vortex generators 16, and a plurality of deployable top panels 17…control devices 11-17 include both a control surface for directing the flow of air and one or more actuators that control the opening or closing of a control surface and/or how far a control surface is deployed or extended)));
a grille system, arranged at a front bumper of the vehicle, and comprising an air intake port and at least one spoiler blade, wherein each spoiler blade is controllably movable to open or close the air intake port, so as to adjust an airflow into the air intake port (Yen discloses adjustable air dam 11 and active grill shutter 12 as a grille system arranged at the front-end of the vehicle 100, where each (see Fig. 1; [0032] (the active aerodynamic control devices include an adjustable air dam 11 and an active grille shutter, disposed on the front-end of the vehicle 100…control devices 11-17 include both a control surface for directing the flow of air and one or more actuators that control the opening or closing of a control surface and/or how far a control surface is deployed or extended); [0048] (Based on road conditions and the wind strength and speed,…controller module 185 dynamically adjusts the active aerodynamic flow control devices 11-17 to optimize fuel economy and to stabilize vehicle movement…at position A…controller module 185 may deploy the bottom diffuser 14 and the active spoiler 15,…length of the deployment depends on the orientation of the vehicle 220…at position B…controller module 185 may deploy the vortex generators 16, deploy the left-side and right-side panels 13…deploy the bottom diffuser 14 and the active spoiler 15, and may close the active grill shutter 11…at position C…controller module 185 may retract the left-side and right-side panels 13 and may open the wheel shutters 12…at any of positions A, B and C…controller module 185 activates the optimum combination of active aerodynamic flow control devices 11-17 identified by its self-learning module, according to the current driving situation)));
an air dam system, arranged at a bottom of the vehicle, Yen discloses adjustable air dam 11 controllably movable to change position at the front end of the vehicle 100 (see Fig. 1A; [0032] (the active aerodynamic control devices include an adjustable air dam 11 and an active grille shutter, disposed on the front-end of the vehicle 100…the active aerodynamic control devices also comprise a plurality of wheel shutters 12…deployable side panels 13, at least one active bottom diffuser 14, an active spoiler 15, a plurality of deployable vortex generators 16, and a plurality of deployable top panels 17…active aerodynamic control devices 11-17 include both a control surface for directing the flow of air and one or more actuators that control the opening or closing of a control surface and/or how far a control surface is deployed or extended)));
a diffuser system, arranged at a rear bumper of the vehicle, and comprising a second spoiler, wherein the second spoiler is controllably movable to change a position relative to the rear bumper, so as to adjust an airflow at the rear bumper (Yen discloses a diffuser 14 at the rear of the vehicle 100 to adjust airflow at the rear bumper ([0032] (The active aerodynamic control devices also comprise…at least one active bottom diffuser 14, an active spoiler 15, a plurality of deployable vortex generators 16…control devices 11-17 include both a control surface for directing the flow of air and one or more actuators that control the opening or closing of a control surface and/or how far a control surface is deployed or extended); [0048] (Based on road conditions…controller module 185 may deploy the bottom diffuser 14…where the length of the deployment depends on the orientation of the vehicle 220…controller module 185 may…deploy the bottom diffuser 14 and the active spoiler 15, and may close the active grill shutter 11))); and
a control apparatus, configured to control the rear wing system, the grille system, the air dam system, and the diffuser system according to real-time operation data of the vehicle, so as to adjust an airflow (Yen discloses device controller module 185 configured to control the rear wing system 15, the grille system 11, air dam system 11-17 and diffuser system 14 in real-time ([0048] (device controller module 185 dynamically adjusts the active aerodynamic flow control devices 11-17 to optimize fuel economy and to stabilize vehicle movement….at position A…controller module 185 may deploy the bottom diffuser 14 and the active spoiler 15…at position B…controller module 185 may deploy the vortex generators 16,…the left-side and right-side panels 13…bottom diffuser 14 and the active spoiler 15…at position C…controller module 185 may retract the left-side and right-side panels 13 and may open the wheel shutters 12…at any of positions A, B and C,…controller module 185 activates the optimum combination of active aerodynamic flow control devices 11-17 identified by its self-learning module, according to the current driving situation))).
However, Yen does not appear to further expressly disclose:
Al-Huwaider, in the same field of endeavor, further discloses:
Al-Huwaider discloses air foils or spoilers 11a-b as a first and second rear wing(s) that are controllably interlinked to change position relative to the rear of the vehicle; adjusting airflow at the rear of the vehicle (¶ (8) (The dynamically adjustable airfoil system…, provides adjustable downforce to the rear suspension system RS of a road vehicle C…and to improve overall performance and handling…the dynamically adjustable airfoil system 10 includes a pair of left and right airfoils or spoilers 11a, 11b pivotally mounted with respect to each other, and an airfoil lift assembly 20 coupled at one end to a conventional high-mounted, double wishbone suspension system RS mounted to the rear wheels RW of a road vehicle at one end and to the respective airfoil 11a, 11b at the opposite end…the coupling of the airfoil lift assembly 20 permits the respective airfoil 11a, 11b to be independently raised or lowered in response to the generally vertical movements of the rear suspension system); ¶ (10) (airfoil lift assembly 20 provides a direct connection between the airfoils 11a, 11b to the corresponding rear wheel RW and provides for pivoting movements of the airfoils 11a, 11b…each airfoil 11a, 11b is coupled to a respective airfoil lift assembly 20 near the outer end of the respective airfoil 11a, 11b)));
Al-Huwaider discloses spit flaps 12a-b near the outer end of the spoilers 11a-b as a plurality of spoilers distributed on the sides of the air dam system (¶ (15) (Each airfoil 11a, 11b…includes a respective split flap 12a, 12b near the outer end of the airfoils 11a, 11b that can be selectively deployed, depending on the driving conditions…each split flap 12a, 12b is a generally flat, rectangular wing section pivotally mounted on the corresponding airfoil 11a, 11b by one or more hinges 14…deployable or pivotal between a normally closed position and an open position…the closed position is when the split flap 12a, 12b is substantially flush with the top surface of the airfoil 11a, 11b, providing the least wind resistant aerodynamic profile…the open position is when the split flap 12a, 12b is pivoted upward with respect to the corresponding airfoil 11a, 11b, thereby providing increased surface area and increased aerodynamic wind resistance…the extent of wind resistance increases as the split flap 12a, 12b pivots open towards the vertical at increasing angles))).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the active aerodynamic control system of Yen to incorporate the adjustable airfoil system of Al-Hawaider to include spoilers 11a-b coupled with the suspension system to raise and/or lower in response to generally vertical movements of the rear suspension system of the vehicle, wherein the spoilers are distributed on the sides of the air dam system 15, and wherein split flaps 12a-b near the outer end of spoilers 11a-b selectively deploy depending on the road conditions and vehicle dynamics, being selectively deployed based on the vehicle motions, with predictable results, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Yen and Al-Hawaider for the express benefit of including a plurality of spoilers and split flaps on the vehicle that are deployed in real-time according to the road conditions and vehicle dynamics along the path, as explained in Al-Huwaider ¶ (8), (10) and (15).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yen and Al-Hawaider discloses the control system of claim 1 in for example the obviousness to combine in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim 1 above incorporated herein by reference, wherein,
the real-time operation data comprises real-time speed data and motion mode data of the vehicle (in claim 1, e.g. Yen); and
the control apparatus is configured to, when the vehicle is in at least one of conditions in which the vehicle is in a non-motion mode and a real-time speed of the vehicle is less than a first speed value, control each of the rear wing system, the grille system, the air dam system, and the diffuser system to be in a closed state (Yen discloses the active flow control devices 11-17 in real time speed in motion and non-motion based on telemetric information, geometric road data and data from the on-vehicle sensors ([0034] (vehicle 100 further includes a self-learning controller…coupled with the active flow control devices 11-17, may potentially achieve optimum vehicle performance in terms of fuel economy and vehicle stability...using simulations and tunnel test…self-learning controller may continuously refine and update the control algorithm based on…telemetric and on-vehicle sensors…self-learning controller determines which active devices 11-17 to deploy and by what amount); [0035] (self-learning controller uses…weather conditions…geometric road data…and…information from on-vehicle sensors); [0036] (self-learning controller may…adjustable aerodynamic devices 11-17 on the vehicle 100 to achieve collectively an optimal fuel economy and vehicle stability...the self-learning controller determines a configuration of the adjustable devices 11-17 based on actual driving…environment…and terrain…the self-learning controller and system may be self-improved over time by utilizing accumulated data of the vehicle 100 or a group of vehicles in the region))).
It would have been obvious to combine for the reasons set forth in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1 above incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yen and Al-Hawaider discloses a vehicle of claim 1 in for example the obviousness to combine in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1 above incorporated herein by reference, comprising the aerodynamic kit control system for a vehicle according to claim 1 (in claim 1, e.g. Yen & Al-Hawaider).
It would have been obvious to combine for the reasons set forth in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1 above incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yen and Al-Hawaider discloses the vehicle of claim 11 in for example the obviousness to combine in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1-2 and 11 above incorporated herein by reference, wherein,
the real-time operation data comprises real-time speed data and motion mode data of the vehicle (in claim(s) 1 & 2, e.g. Yen); and
the control apparatus is configured to, when the vehicle is in at least one of conditions in which the vehicle is in a non-motion mode and a real-time speed of the vehicle is less than a first speed value, control each of the rear wing system, the grille system, the air dam system, and the diffuser system to be in a closed state (in claim(s) 1 & 2, e.g. Yen).
It would have been obvious to combine for the reasons set forth in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1-2 & 11 above incorporated herein by reference.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US. 20210237810 A1 to Yen in view of U.S. 9403564 B1 to Al-Huwaider, as applied to the claims above, in further view of US. 11164404 B2 to Dudar.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yen and Al-Hawaider discloses the control system of claim 2 in for example the obviousness to combine in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1 and 2 above incorporated herein by reference.
However, the combination of Yen and Al-Hawaider does not appear to further expressly disclose, wherein,
the real-time operation data comprises heat dissipation mode data; and
the control apparatus is further configured to, when the vehicle is in a motion mode, has a real-time speed of less than the first speed value, and is in a heat dissipation mode, control part or all of the spoiler blades of the grille system to be opened to a position at a first preset angle.
Dudar, in the same field of endeavor, further discloses, wherein,
the real-time operation data comprises heat dissipation mode data (Dudar discloses real-time operation comprising heat dissipation mode where waste heat is transferred from the engine 10 under varying vehicle operations, wherein the waste heat is used for (¶ (26) (the amount of waste heat transferred to the coolant from the engine 10 may vary with vehicle operating conditions, thereby affecting the amount of heat transferred to the air flowing through the engine system 100…for example, as engine output torque, or fuel flow, is reduced, the amount of waste heat generated may be proportionally reduced; ¶ (27) (vehicle 102 further includes a vehicle grille 112 providing an opening…for receiving ambient airflow 116…through or near the front end of the vehicle and into the engine compartment…entry of ambient airflow 116 into the engine compartment may be controlled by the AGS system 110…heat may be transferred to ambient airflow 116 via radiator 80, electric fan 92); and
the control apparatus is further configured to, when the vehicle is in a motion mode, has a real-time speed of less than the first speed value, and is in a heat dissipation mode, control part or all of the spoiler blades of the grille system to be opened to a position at a first preset angle (Dudar discloses in real-time speed values, heat dissipation and controlling part or all of the spoiler and/or grill system to cool down the vehicle (¶ (20) (Motor vehicle 102 further includes a cooling system 104 that circulates coolant through internal combustion engine 10 to absorb waste heat and distributes the heated coolant to radiator 80 and/or heater core 90 via coolant lines 82 and 84…FIG. 1 shows cooling system 104 coupled to engine 10 and circulating engine coolant from engine 10 to radiator 80 via…water pump 86, and back to engine 10 via coolant line 82…engine-driven water pump 86 may be coupled to the engine…and rotated proportionally to engine speed...water pump 86 circulates coolant through passages in the engine block, engine head…to absorb engine heat, which is then transferred via the radiator 80 to ambient air)); see ¶ (26)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of the combination of Yen and Al-Hawaider to incorporate the heat dissipation mode of Dudar wherein the cooling system 104 circulates coolant to dissipate heat and permit airflow through the vehicle in real-time and controlling the all or part of the spoiler(s), grille system and/or air dams to circulate hotter air away from locations of heat such as the engine bay, or wheel area, therefore circulating the air and coolant based on the engine speed and dynamics of the vehicle, with predictable results, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Yen, Al-Hawaider and Dudar for the express benefit of including a plurality of a heat dissipation mode and method to keep the vehicle cool and dissipate hot wasteful air away from locations of heat, in real-time, as explained in Dudar ¶ (8), (10) and (15).
Regarding claim 4, Yen discloses the control system of claim 3, wherein,
the real-time operation data comprises braking mode data (Yen discloses braking mode data from an electronic brake control module (EBCM) 150 that selectively controls brakes 154 of vehicle 100, the information of which is stored in control and coordination module 310 and onboard database 350 ([0042] (An electronic brake control module (EBCM) 150 may selectively control brakes 154 of the vehicle); [0044] (driver inputs may include…a brake pedal position (BPP) 170 may be provided to the EBCM 150); [0056] (in 425 the control and coordination module 310 will record in the onboard database 350 the AI state information 321 and other vehicle data corresponding to the optimal fuel economy and/or vehicle stability…in 430, the control and coordination module 310 also may record the AI state information 321 and other vehicle data in the cloud storage database 370…for a given set of current road conditions and current weather conditions, the control and coordination module 310 retrieves from the onboard database 350 the stored settings for one or more of the active aerodynamic flow control devices 11-17 based on the corresponding…set of stored road conditions and weather conditions in the onboard database 350…this enables the aerodynamic device controller module 185 to adjust quickly the aerodynamic flow control devices 11-17 to the optimal settings for the current road conditions and current weather conditions)));
the control apparatus is further configured to, when the vehicle is in a motion mode, has a real-time speed of less than the first speed value, and is in a braking mode, control the rear wing system to move until it is opened to a position where an included angle between a mounting surface of the rear of the vehicle and each of the first rear wing and the second rear wing is a second preset angle (See Yen [0042]-[0044], [0049], [0052]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yen, Al-Hawaider and Dudar discloses the vehicle of claim 12 in for example the obviousness to combine in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1-3 and 12 above incorporated herein by reference, wherein,
the real-time operation data comprises heat dissipation mode data (in claim 3, e.g. Dudar); and
the control apparatus is further configured to, when the vehicle is in a motion mode, has a real-time speed of less than the first speed value, and is in a heat dissipation mode, control part or all of the spoiler blades of the grille system to be opened to a position at a first preset angle (in claim 3, e.g. Dudar).
It would have been obvious to combine for the reasons set forth in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1-3 & 12 above incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 14, Yen discloses the vehicle of claim 13, wherein,
the real-time operation data comprises braking mode data (in claim 4, e.g. Yen);
the control apparatus is further configured to, when the vehicle is in a motion mode, has a real-time speed of less than the first speed value, and is in a braking mode, control the rear wing system to move until it is opened to a position where an included angle between a mounting surface of the rear of the vehicle and each of the first rear wing and the second rear wing is a second preset angle (in claim 4, e.g. Yen).
It would have been obvious to combine for the reasons set forth in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1-4 & 13 above incorporated herein by reference.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US. 20210237810 A1 to Yen in view of U.S. 9403564 B1 to Al-Huwaider, in further view of US. 11164404 B2 to Dudar, as applied to the claims above, in further view of US. 20180134331 to Yoon et al (Yoon).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yen, Al-Hawaider and Dudar discloses the control system of claim 4 in for example the obviousness to combine in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1-4 above incorporated herein by reference.
However, the combination of Yen, Al-Hawaider and Dudar does not appear to further expressly disclose, wherein,
the control apparatus is further configured to, when the vehicle is in a motion mode and has a real-time speed of greater than or equal to the first speed value and less than a second speed value, control each of the first rear wing and the second rear wing of the rear wing system to move to a position where the included angle between each of them and the mounting surface of the rear of the vehicle is a third preset angle, wherein the second speed value is greater than the first speed value, and the third preset angle is smaller than the second preset angle.
Yoon, in the same field of endeavor, further discloses, wherein,
the control apparatus is further configured to, when the vehicle is in a motion mode and has a real-time speed of greater than or equal to the first speed value and less than a second speed value, control each of the first rear wing and the second rear wing of the rear wing system to move to a position where the included angle between each of them and the mounting surface of the rear of the vehicle is a third preset angle, wherein the second speed value is greater than the first speed value, and the third preset angle is smaller than the second preset angle (Yoon discloses wherein the plurality of wings and spoilers deploy at various angles based on the weather, road conditions, vehicle speed and other information pertaining to the vehicle and environmental conditions that is deployed from controller 300 ([0036] (when…it is determined that the speed of the vehicle is in the second range VR2, inputted in the controller 300…controller 300 determines that the current driving mode…is the fuel-efficient mode EM, and controls actuators to an extent corresponding to the first reference value, inputted in the controller 300, to deploy the active air skirt 710, the active rear spoiler 730, and the active rear bumper spoiler 750…active air skirt 710 is deployed 80 mm downward…active rear spoiler 730 is deployed to an angle δ of 0 degrees…active rear bumper spoiler 750 is deployed to an angle θ of 5 degrees…and is then deployed downward 100…the active rear spoiler can be deployed in a range from negative angles to positive angles); [0037] (when…it is determined that the speed of the vehicle is in the third range VR3, inputted in the controller 300, the controller 300 determines that the current driving mode of the vehicle is the driving mode DM and controls the actuators to deploy the active air skirt 710, the active rear spoiler 730, and the active rear bumper spoiler 750 to an extent corresponding to the second reference value inputted in the controller 300…active air skirt 710 is deployed 20 mm downward…active rear spoiler 730 is deployed to an angle δ of 12.7 degrees…and the active rear bumper spoiler 750 is deployed to an angle θ of 5 degrees… and is then deployed downward 100 mm below the vehicle))).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of the combination of Yen, Al-Hawaider and Dudar to incorporate the variable aerodynamic vehicle system of Yoon wherein the plurality of air dam(s), spoiler(s), wing(s) and diffuser(s) are adjusted to different angles and ranges of motion based on the vehicle and environment information output from the vehicle controller, with predictable results, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Yen, Al-Hawaider, Dudar and Yoon for the express benefit of including a range of motion for the rear wing system, grille system, air dam system, and diffuser system to be set at based on the output of the controller, as explained in Yoon [0036]-[0037].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yen, Al-Hawaider, Dudar and Yoon discloses the control system of claim 5 in for example the obviousness to combine in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1-5 above incorporated herein by reference, wherein,
the control apparatus is further configured to, when the vehicle is in a motion mode, has a real-time speed of greater than or equal to the first speed value and less than the second speed value, and is in a braking mode, control each of the first rear wing and the second rear wing of the rear wing system to move to a position where the included angle between each of them and the mounting surface of the rear of the vehicle is the second preset angle, and simultaneously control all of the first spoilers of the air dam system to be opened to a position where included angles between them and the bottom of the vehicle are a fourth preset angle (in claim 5, e.g. Yoon).
It would have been obvious to combine for the reasons set forth in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1-5 above incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yen, Al-Hawaider, Dudar and Yoon discloses the vehicle of claim 14 in for example the obviousness to combine in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1-5 and 14 above incorporated herein by reference, wherein,
the control apparatus is further configured to, when the vehicle is in a motion mode and has a real-time speed of greater than or equal to the first speed value and less than a second speed value, control each of the first rear wing and the second rear wing of the rear wing system to move to a position where the included angle between each of them and the mounting surface of the rear of the vehicle is a third preset angle, wherein the second speed value is greater than the first speed value, and the third preset angle is smaller than the second preset angle (in claim 5, e.g. Yoon).
It would have been obvious to combine for the reasons set forth in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1-5 & 14 above incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yen, Al-Hawaider, Dudar and Yoon discloses the vehicle of claim 15 in for example the obviousness to combine in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1-6 and 15 above incorporated herein by reference, wherein,
the control apparatus is further configured to, when the vehicle is in a motion mode, has a real-time speed of greater than or equal to the first speed value and less than the second speed value, and is in a braking mode, control each of the first rear wing and the second rear wing of the rear wing system to move to a position where the included angle between each of them and the mounting surface of the rear of the vehicle is the second preset angle, and simultaneously control all of the first spoilers of the air dam system to be opened to a position where included angles between them and the bottom of the vehicle are a fourth preset angle (in claim(s) 5 & 6, e.g. Yoon).
It would have been obvious to combine for the reasons set forth in the rejection of corresponding parts of claim(s) 1-6 and 15 above incorporated herein by reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7, 8, 9, 10, 17, 18, 19 and 20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure as teaching the state of the art of aerodynamic kit control system(s) for vehicle, and vehicle(s), at the time of filing. For example:
US 20220126932 A1 to Thomas; Brandon teaches, inter alia SYSTEM AND APPARATUS FOR INCREASING DOWNWARD FORCE EXERTED ON THE AFT END OF A MOTOR VEHICLE in for example the ABSTRACT, Figures and/or Paragraphs below:
“A system and apparatus for increasing the safety of motor vehicles traveling at high speeds in the rearward direction is provided. An air dam hingedly secured to the aft end of a vehicle may remain in a stowed position while the motor vehicle is traveling in a forward direction so as not to interfere with aerodynamic performance. When a motor vehicle begins to enter a spin, the air dam may deploy and increase the downward force on the vehicle and as well as act as an air brake, thereby reducing the likelihood of the aft end of the vehicle lifting from the surface during a spin-out at high speeds.”
US 20180111650 A1 to Swantick; Braden teaches, inter alia AERODYNAMIC ACTUATOR CONTROL SYSTEMS AND METHODS in for example the ABSTRACT, Figures and/or Paragraphs below:
“An aerodynamic control system of a vehicle includes a utilization module that, based on a longitudinal force on a tire in a longitudinal direction and a latitudinal force on the tire in a latitudinal direction, determines a utilization force on the tire of the vehicle and a direction of the utilization force. A maximum module, based on the direction of the utilization force, determines a maximum force of the tire for maintaining traction between the tire and a road surface contacting the tire. A difference module determines a difference between the utilization force on the tire of the vehicle and the maximum force on the tire. An aerodynamic actuator control module selectively adjusts a position of an aerodynamic actuator of the vehicle based on the difference.”
US 9713947 B2 to Irwin; Kevin teaches, inter alia Vehicle Ride-height Determination For Control Of Vehicle Aerodynamics in for example the ABSTRACT, Figures and/or Paragraphs below:
“A system is configured to control aerodynamics of a vehicle. The vehicle includes a vehicle body having a front end facing an ambient airflow when the vehicle is in motion relative to a road surface. The system includes an adjustable aerodynamic-aid element mounted to the vehicle body. The system also includes a mechanism configured to vary a position of the adjustable aerodynamic-aid element relative to the vehicle body and thereby control movement of the airflow. The system additionally includes a sensor configured to detect a height of the vehicle body relative to a predetermined reference frame and a controller configured to receive a signal from the sensor indicative of the detected vehicle body height. The controller is also configured to determine a ride-height of the vehicle using the detected vehicle body height and to regulate the mechanism in response to the determined ride-height to control aerodynamics of the vehicle.”
/ROBERT L PINKERTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665