DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 02/24/2026 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman (US 20060054315) and Dirksen et al. (US 20140124219).
Regarding claim 9, Newman discloses a system for use with a subterranean well (806) (fig 8, [0025]), the system comprising: a tubular string (312) deployed in a wellbore of the well (fig 8); an injector assembly (814) configured to displace the tubular string in the wellbore (fig 8); and a vibration tool (801, 803, 804) configured to vibrate the injector assembly (fig 8, [0025]).
Newman is silent regarding the fact that the tubular string is jointed.
Dirksen teaches the use of a jointed coiled tubing (abstract, fig 3).
Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Newman and Dirksen before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Newman to include a jointed tubular string as taught by Dirksen in order to allow more efficient transfer of power to the drill bit , more efficient hole cleaning, and improved ability to overcome the friction between the wellbore and the tubing ([0003])
Regarding claim 10, Newman further discloses that the vibration tool is connected between the injector assembly and a wellhead (annotated fig 8) of the well (fig 8).
Regarding claim 11, Newman further discloses that the vibration tool is connected between the injector assembly and a support structure (annotated fig 8) that suspends the injector assembly above a wellhead (annotated fig 8) of the well (fig 8).
Regarding claim 12, Newman further discloses that the vibration tool is configured to vibrate the injector assembly as the injector assembly displaces the tubular string in the wellbore ([0025]).
Regarding claim 13, Newman further discloses that the vibration tool is configured to periodically vary a distance between the injector assembly and a wellhead (annotated fig 8) of the well ([0025] discloses causing the injector to axially vibrate, meaning that it is varying distance in the axial direction).
Regarding claim 14, Newman further discloses that the vibration tool is configured to vibrate the injector assembly while an injector chain assembly of the injector assembly grips the tubular string ([0021]).
Regarding claim 15, Newman further discloses that the vibration tool is configured to axially vibrate the tubular string as the vibration tool vibrates the injector assembly ([0025]).
Regarding claim 16, Newman further discloses that the tubular string comprises continuous coiled tubing (312) (fig 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 6-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
05/27/2026