DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to claims filed on May 20, 2025.
Claims 34-41 were previously cancelled.
Claims 1-33 are being examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation: “relative rotation between a packaging material dispenser and the load about an axis of rotation,” (emphasis added) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which element(s) is/are being rotated, and which axis of rotation is being claimed.
Claims 31-33 are rejected for similar reasons, as stated above.
Claims 2-30 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by W.B. Hullhorst et al. (US 3,327,449, herein Hullhorst).
Regarding claim 1, Hullhorst discloses a method of generating a wrapped load (14) having a first length in a first lateral direction (Fig. 4), the method comprising:
receiving a load (14) that is unwrapped (Fig. 1) and that has a second length in the first lateral direction that is larger than the first length in the first lateral direction;
applying a compressive force (Figs. 3) to opposing sides of the load (14) along the first lateral direction to compress the load to a third length in the first lateral direction that is smaller than the first length in the first lateral direction (Figs. 4);
wrapping the load (14) with packaging material (22) using a load wrapping apparatus by generating relative rotation between a packaging material dispenser (56) and the load (14) about an axis of rotation; and
allowing the load (14) to recover (Fig. 4) in the first lateral direction such that the load (14) has the first length in the first lateral direction after the load (14) has been wrapped with packaging material (22).
In the above interpretation, Examiner has deemed Hullhorst as disclosing relative rotation between a packaging material dispenser (having an axis of rotation running through the center of the roll, 56; Fig. 1) and the load being conveyed (via 30,36; having an axis or rotation running through rollers 34, Fig. 1). These two elements rotating within the same system can be considered as having “relative rotation” in relation to one another.
Regarding claim 3, Hullhorst discloses (Figs. 2, 3) wherein applying the compressive force is performed prior to wrapping the load.
Regarding claim 8, Hullhorst discloses (Fig. 3) wherein applying the compressive force is performed while the load is supported by a conveyor (30,36).
Regarding claim 9, Hullhorst discloses (Fig. 3) wherein the opposing sides includes first and second sides, and applying the compressive force is performed using first and second opposing press members (30,36) respectively contacting the first and second sides.
Regarding claim 10, Hullhorst discloses (Fig. 3) wherein the first and second press members (30,36) respectively contact the first and second sides substantially across at least about 50 percent of the second length.
Regarding claim 11, Hullhorst discloses (Fig. 3) wherein the first and second sides have respective first and second heights, and wherein the first and second press members (30,36) respectively contact the first and second sides across at least about 50 percent of the first and second heights.
Regarding claim 12, Hullhorst discloses (Fig. 3) wherein the first and second press members (30,36) respectively contact the first and second sides proximate midpoints of the first and second sides.
Regarding claim 13, Hullhorst discloses (Fig. 3) wherein the first and second press members (30,36) respectively include first and second planar surfaces that respectively contact the first and second sides.
Regarding claim 14, Hullhorst discloses (Figs. 2, 3) wherein applying the compressive force includes moving the first and second press members (30,36) a predetermined distance.
In the above interpretation, Examiner has deemed Hullhorst as disclosing the first and second press members moving a predetermined distance, as Fig. 2 indicates the planar movement of conveyor belt (36), and Fig. 3 indicates rotational movement of both conveyor belts (30, 36) in order to apply the compressive force and further transport the load.
Regarding claim 15, Hullhorst discloses (Figs. 2, 3) wherein applying the compressive force includes moving the first and second press members (30,36) to apply a predetermined force to the load.
In the above interpretation, Examiner has deemed Hullhorst as disclosing the first and second press members moving a predetermined distance, as Fig. 2 indicates the planar movement of conveyor belt (36), and Fig. 3 indicates rotational movement of both conveyor belts (30, 36) in order to apply the compressive force and further transport the load.
Regarding claim 16, Hullhorst discloses (Col. 2, line 35 – Col. 3, line 27) determining at least one of a distance to move the first and second press members and a force to apply with the first and second press members based on the first and second lengths.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-7, and 17-30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 31-33 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kramps (US 6,223,500 B1) discloses an apparatus for wrapping compressible box-like articles (10) such as a stock of newspapers or magazines, with a web-like wrapping material (12). The apparatus has three serially arranged belt conveyors (16, 18, 20), and the second belt conveyor (18) is in the form of a bearing table (24) which can be rotated about a vertical axis (26). The bearing table mounts two pressure-exerting members (30, 32). The article (10') which is to be wrapped is introduced in a compressed state.
However, Kramps does not expressly disclose allowing the load to recover in the first lateral direction such that the load has the first length in the first lateral direction after the load has been wrapped with packaging material.
Furthermore, in regards to claims 31-33, Kramps does not disclose applying a first compressive force to a first set of opposing sides of the load along the first lateral direction and a second compressive force to a second set of opposing sides of the load.
Furthermore, Hullhorst (relied upon in the prior art rejection above) does not disclose applying a first and second compressive force to a first and second set of opposing sides of the load.
Conclusion
/Praachi M Pathak/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
September 15, 2026