DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 2018/0262773, already of record, referred to herein as “Chuang”) in view of Xiu et al. (US 2022/0038679, already of record, referred to herein as “Xiu”).
Regarding claim 1, Chuang discloses: A bit-width control method of bi-directional optical flow (BDOF) for decoding a video signal comprising:
obtaining a first reference picture and a second reference picture associated with a 4 X 4 video sub-block, wherein the first reference picture is before a current picture and the second reference picture is after the current picture in a display order (Chuang: Fig. 20, paragraph [0163] and [0164], disclosing a decoder that receives an encoded bitstream that represents video blocks of an encoded video; paragraph [0042], disclosing the use of first and second reference pictures that are to be displayed before—“backward”—or after “forward”—a current picture in a display order; paragraph [0123], disclosing block size of a predefined size including 4x4);
obtaining first prediction samples l(0) for samples in the 4X4 video sub-block from the first reference picture (Chuang: paragraph [0043], disclosing calculation of prediction samples based on motion vectors that indicate a displacement within a reference picture relative to a position in the current block; paragraph [0133], disclosing generation of prediction samples—including a first prediction sample L0—based on motion vectors of a current block; paragraph [0123], disclosing block size of a predefined size including 4x4);
obtaining second prediction samples l(1) for the samples in the 4 X 4 video sub-block from the second reference picture (Chuang: paragraph [0043], disclosing calculation of prediction samples based on motion vectors that indicate a displacement within a reference picture relative to a position in the current block; paragraph [0133], disclosing generation of prediction samples—including a second prediction sample L1—based on motion vectors of a current block; paragraph [0123], disclosing block size of a predefined size including 4x4);
[…]; and
obtaining bi-prediction samples of the samples in the 4 X 4 video sub-block based on the motion refinements (Chuang: paragraphs [0080] and [0098], disclosing performance of bi-directional optical flow during
motion compensation; paragraph [0088], disclosing that predicted motion vectors may be refined during the process; paragraph [0123], disclosing block size of a predefined size including 4x4).
Chuang does not explicitly disclose: obtaining motion refinements for the samples in the 4 X 4 video sub-block based on a 6X 6 window applied to the 4 X 4 video sub-block, by controlling bit-widths of intermediate parameters, wherein the intermediate parameters comprise at least one of horizontal gradients, vertical gradients, and sample differences derived based on the first prediction samples l(0) and the second prediction samples l(1). However, Xiu discloses: obtaining motion refinements for the samples in the 4 X 4 video sub-block based on a 6 X 6 window applied to the 4 X 4 video sub-block, by controlling bit-widths of intermediate parameters (Xiu: paragraph [0074], disclosing sample-wise motion refinement used in bi-directional optical flow coding; paragraph [0080], Table 1, disclosing intermediate parameters used for stages of the bi-directional optical flow coding; paragraph [0076], disclosing use of a 6x6 window around each 4x4 block), wherein the intermediate parameters comprise at least one of horizontal gradients, vertical gradients, and sample differences derived based on the first prediction samples l(0) and the second prediction samples l(1) (Xiu: paragraph [0078], disclosing use of gradients in both the horizontal and vertical directions as well as sample differences).
At the time the application was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the motion refinement of Xiu in the decoding method of
Chuang.
One would have been motivated to modify Chuang in this manner in order to improve
coding efficiency with moderate implementation complexity as compared to previous coding standards as well as addressing large bit-width issues associated with existing bi-directional optical
flow tools (Xiu: paragraphs [0004] and [0073]). Additionally, both Chuang and Xiu are directed to
the same field of endeavor; namely, coding video using bi-directional optical flow techniques
(Chuang: paragraph [0006]; Xiu: paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Chuang and Xiu disclose: The method of claim 1, wherein the obtaining the motion refinements for the samples in the 4 X 4 video sub-block based on a 6 X 6 window applied to the 4 X 4 video sub-block, by controlling bit-widths of intermediate parameters further comprises: controlling bit-widths of the horizontal gradients by performing a right shift operation using a first bit-shift value; and controlling bit-widths of the vertical gradients by performing a right shift operation using the first bit-shift value (Xiu: paragraphs [0079] and [0108], Table 2, disclosing right shifting of gradients).
The motivation for combining Chuang and Xiu has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 3, Chuang and Xiu disclose: The method of claim 1, wherein the obtaining the motion refinements for the samples in the 4 X 4 video sub-block based on a 6 X 6 window applied to the 4 X 4 video sub-block, by controlling the bit-widths of the intermediate parameters further comprises, for one sample in the 4 X 4 video sub-block: obtaining a first correlation value, wherein the first correlation value is a sum of horizontal gradients of the first prediction samples l(0) and the second prediction samples l(1) with respect to said one sample; obtaining a second correlation value, wherein the second correlation value is a sum of vertical gradients of the first prediction samples l(0) and the second prediction samples l(1) with respect to said one sample; obtaining a modified first correlation value by right shifting the first correlation value by one; and obtaining a modified second correlation value by right shifting the second correlation value by one (Xiu: paragraphs [0006], [0087] through [0090] and [0107] through [0116], disclosing motion refinement with the use of correlation values that are the sum of gradients; paragraphs [0079] and [0108], Table 2, disclosing right shifting of gradients).
The motivation for combining Chuang and Xiu has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 2, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise. (Note that Chuang discloses implementation via processor and memory storing instructions in paragraphs [0178]-[0181].)
Regarding claim 13, Chuang and Xiu disclose: A computing device, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory with instructions, which, upon execution by the one or more processor, cause the computing device to perform the method of claim 6 (Chuang: paragraphs [0178]-[0181], disclosing implementation via processor and memory storing instructions).
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 2, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 17, Chuang and Xiu disclose: A method of storing a bitstream, comprising: performing the method of claim 6 to generate a bitstream (Chuang: paragraphs [0077] and [0079], disclosing generation of a bitstream that is received for decoding); and storing the bitstream on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Chuang: paragraphs [0161] and [0179], disclosing non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums and storage of the bitstream).
Regarding claim 20, Chuang and Xiu disclose: A method of transmitting a bitstream, comprising: transmitting a bitstream to a decoding device, wherein the bitstream is generated by the method of claim 6 (Chuang: paragraph [0161], disclosing transmission of the coded bitstream to another device such as a decoder).
Claims 4, 8, 11, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang in view of Xiu as applied to claims 1/6/10/13/17 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0128258 A1, referred to herein as “Chen”).
Regarding claim 4, Chuang and Xiu disclose: The method of claim 1, as discussed above.
Chuang and Xiu do not explicitly disclose: wherein a bitdepth of the video signal is equal to 12.
However, Chen discloses: wherein a bitdepth of the video signal is equal to 12 (Chen: paragraph [0083], disclosing bi-directional optical flow in video coding; paragraph [0098], disclosing input video with a 12-bit bit depth).
At the time the application was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the bit-depth of Chen in the method of Chuang and Xiu.
One would have been motivated to modify Chuang and Xiu in this manner in order to improve motion vector prediction for video coding of videos at particular bit-depths (Chen: paragraphs [0003] and [0096]).
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 4, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 4, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 4, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 4, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claims 5, 6, 12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang in view of Xiu as applied to claims 1/6/10/13/17 above, and further in view of Ikai et al. (US 2015/03268814 A1, referred to herein as “Ikai”).
Regarding claim 5, Chuang and Xiu disclose: The method of claim 1, as discussed above.
Chuang and Xiu do not explicitly disclose: wherein a bitdepth of the video signal is greater than 12.
However, Ikai discloses: wherein a bitdepth of the video signal is greater than 12 (Ikai: paragraph [0429], disclosing coding of a video having a bit depth greater than 12).
At the time the application was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the bit depth video of Ikai in the method of Chuang and Xiu.
One would have been motivated to modify Chuang and Xiu in this manner in order to encode video content having higher bit depths in a way that reducing the memory necessary for residual prediction (Ikai: paragraphs [0008]-[0016]).
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 5, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 5, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 5, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 5, above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 6, 10 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,979,583 in view of Xiu.
Claim 1 of Instant Application
A bit-width control method of bi-directional optical flow (BDOF) for decoding a video signal comprising:
obtaining a first reference picture and a second reference picture associated with a 4 X 4 video sub-block, wherein the first reference picture is before a current picture and the second reference picture is after the current picture in a display order;
obtaining first prediction samples I(0) for samples in the 4X4 video sub-block from the first reference picture;
obtaining second prediction samples I(1) for the samples in the 4 X 4 video sub-block from the second reference picture;
obtaining motion refinements for the samples in the 4 X 4 video sub-block based on a 6 X 6 window applied to the 4 X 4 video sub-block, by controlling bit-widths of intermediate parameters, wherein the intermediate parameters comprise at least one of horizontal gradients, vertical gradients, and sample differences derived based on the first prediction samples I(0) and the second prediction samples I(1) ; and
obtaining bi-prediction samples of the samples in the 4 X 4 video sub-block based on the motion refinements.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,979,583
A bit-width control method of bi-directional optical flow (BDOF) for decoding a video signal comprising:
obtaining a first reference picture and a second reference picture associated with a video sub-block, wherein the first reference picture is before a current picture and the second reference picture is after the current picture in a display order;
obtaining first prediction samples I(0) for samples in the video sub-block from the first reference picture;
obtaining second prediction samples I(1) for the samples in the video sub-block from the second reference picture;
obtaining motion refinements for the samples in the video sub-block by controlling bit-widths of intermediate parameters, wherein the intermediate parameters comprise one or a combination of following parameters: horizontal gradients, vertical gradients, and sample differences based on the first prediction samples I(0) and the second prediction samples I(1); and
obtaining bi-prediction samples for the samples in the video sub-block based on the motion refinements,
wherein the controlling the bit-widths of the intermediate parameters comprises reducing the bit-widths of the horizontal gradients and the vertical gradients by a first bit-shift value, the first bit-shift value being greater than 4.
Table 1.
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,979,583, discloses many of the same or similar limitations as shown in Table 1.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,979,583 does not explicitly disclose a 4 X 4 video sub-block and motion refinement based on a 6 X 6 window applied to the 4 X 4 video sub-block.
However, Xiu discloses a 4 X 4 video sub-block (Xiu: paragraph [0090], disclosing motion refinement on a 4x4 block size) and motion refinement based on a 6 X 6 window applied to the 4 X 4 video sub-block (Xiu: paragraph [0084], disclosing motion refinement on the 4x4 block based on a 6x6 window).
At the time the application was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the 4 x 4 block size of Xiu in the method of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,979,583.
One would have been motivated to modify Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,979,583 in this manner in order to enhance the efficiency of bi-predictive prediction by improving the granularity and the accuracy of motion vectors used for motion compensation (Xiu: paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claims 6 and 10, the claims recite the same or similar limitations as claim 1, above, and are therefore rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,979,583 in view of Xiu for the reasons discussed above.
Regarding claim 3, the claim is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,979,583 in view of Xiu because the claims recite the same or similar limitations.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,979,583 in view of Xiu because the claims recite the same or similar limitations.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 10 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,341,973 in view of Xiu.
Claim 1 of Instant Application
A bit-width control method of bi-directional optical flow (BDOF) for decoding a video signal comprising:
obtaining a first reference picture and a second reference picture associated with a 4 X 4 video sub-block, wherein the first reference picture is before a current picture and the second reference picture is after the current picture in a display order;
obtaining first prediction samples I(0) for samples in the 4X4 video sub-block from the first reference picture;
obtaining second prediction samples I(1) for the samples in the 4 X 4 video sub-block from the second reference picture;
obtaining motion refinements for the samples in the 4 X 4 video sub-block based on a 6X 6 window applied to the 4 X 4 video sub-block, by controlling bit-widths of intermediate parameters, wherein the intermediate parameters comprise at least one of horizontal gradients, vertical gradients, and sample differences derived based on the first prediction samples I(0) and the second prediction samples I(1) ; and
obtaining bi-prediction samples of the samples in the 4 X 4 video sub-block based on the motion refinements.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,341,973
A bit-width control method of bi-directional optical flow (BDOF) for encoding a video signal comprising:
determining a first reference picture and a second reference picture associated with a video sub-block, wherein the first reference picture is before a current picture and the second reference picture is after the current picture in a display order;
determining first prediction samples I(0) for samples in the video sub-block from the first reference picture;
determining second prediction samples I(1) for the samples in the video sub-block from the second reference picture;
determining motion refinements for the samples in the video sub-block by controlling bit-widths of intermediate parameters, wherein the intermediate parameters comprise one or a combination of following parameters: horizontal gradients, vertical gradients, and sample differences obtained based on the first prediction samples I(0) and the second prediction samples I(1); and
determining bi-prediction samples for the samples in the video sub-block based on the motion refinements,
wherein the controlling the bit-widths of the intermediate parameters comprises controlling the bit-widths of the horizontal gradients and the vertical gradients by performing a right shift operation using a first bit-shift value, the first bit-shift value being greater than 4.
Table 2.
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,341,973, discloses many of the same or similar limitations as shown in Table 2.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,341,973 does not explicitly disclose a 4 X 4 video sub-block and motion refinement based on a 6 X 6 window applied to the 4 X 4 video sub-block.
However, Xiu discloses a 4 X 4 video sub-block (Xiu: paragraph [0090], disclosing motion refinement on a 4x4 block size) and motion refinement based on a 6 X 6 window applied to the 4 X 4 video sub-block (Xiu: paragraph [0084], disclosing motion refinement on the 4x4 block based on a 6x6 window).
At the time the application was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the 4 x 4 block size of Xiu in the method of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,341,973.
One would have been motivated to modify Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,341,973 in this manner in order to enhance the efficiency of bi-predictive prediction by improving the granularity and the accuracy of motion vectors used for motion compensation (Xiu: paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claims 6 and 10, the claims recite the same or similar limitations as claim 1, above, and are therefore rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,341,973 in view of Xiu for the reasons discussed above.
Regarding claim 3, the claim is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,341,973 in view of Xiu because the claims recite the same or similar limitations.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,341,973 in view of Xiu because the claims recite the same or similar limitations.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER T. BRANIFF
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/CHRISTOPHER BRANIFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484