DETAILED ACTION
In Applicant’s Response filed 7/6/26, Applicant amended claims 1-16 and added new claims 17-19. Currently, claims 1-19 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/6/26. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bialick (US 3203421).
With respect to claim 1, Bialick discloses an incontinence clamp (clamp device 10) comprising:
a removable guide (pressure exerting means such as element 23 which is interpreted as being “removable” because the element 23 is "adjustably" mounted by guide pins 25 which move through apertures 26 on arm 11 and thus are interpreted as being capable of permitting removal of the pressure exerting means – see col 2 lines 40-43) dimensioned to span a majority of an arcuate inner surface of a movable clamp arm of the incontinence clamp (as shown in fig 1, element 23 covers at least half of the inner surface of arm 11 and thus is interpreted as spanning a "majority" of the inner surface; also, as shown in fig 1, the arm 11 includes a bent or curved portion 11a thus giving it an “arcuate” shape), the movable clamp arm (11) dimensioned to partially encircle a penis of a user (as shown in fig 1), the removable guide (23) comprising a curved concave-inner surface (the surface that faces the user's body member within the clamp as shown in figure 1 is curved and is a concave face 24), a convex outer surface (the surface that faces element 31 in figure 1 has a convex shape), and an attachment for removably coupling the removable guide with the movable clamp arm (element 23 is mounted on arm 11 by guide pins 25 – col 2 lines 41-43; the attachment is interpreted as being “removable” because the element 23 is "adjustably" mounted by guide pins 25 which move through apertures 26 on arm 11 and thus are interpreted as being capable of permitting removal of element 23 – see col 2 lines 40-43), and
a padding attached to cover the removable guide (sheath portion 33 that is formed of rubber and encases element 23 – col 2 lines 52-69; fig 1; rubber material is interpreted as providing a padded surface), exclusive of the attachment (the sheath portion 33 is structurally independent of the guide pins 25 as shown in fig 1).
With respect to claim 8, Bialick discloses the device as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Bialick also discloses that the connector (pins 25) comprises a plurality of connecting positions, wherein each of the connecting positions couples with the movable clamp arm (col 2 lines 40-51; element 23 is moved by jack screw 27 which is rotatably engaged in the body of element 23 and the element 23 is moved towards or away from arm 11 guided by pins 25 and thus includes multiple positions along each pin 25 where element 23 is connected during adjustment while remaining coupled to arm 11 via the pins 25 – see also figures 1, 3 and 5 which show the element 23 at various different positions along the pins 25 while the pins still couple the element 23 to the arm 11).
With respect to claim 9, Bialick discloses an incontinence clamp (clamp device 10) comprising: a removable guide (element 23; interpreted as being “removable” because the element 23 is "adjustably" mounted by guide pins 25 which move through apertures 26 on arm 11 and thus are interpreted as being capable of permitting removal of the element – see col 2 lines 40-43) configured to releasably couple with an arcuate clamp arm of the incontinence clamp (element 23 is "adjustably" mounted by guide pins 25 which move through apertures 26 on arm 11 and thus is interpreted as being capable of permitting removal of the element 23 from arm 11 – see col 2 lines 40-43; as shown in fig 1, the arm 11 includes a bent or curved portion 11a thus giving it an “arcuate” shape), the removable guide dimensioned to span a majority of an arcuate inner surface of the arcuate clamp arm of the incontinence clamp (as shown in fig 1, element 23 covers at least half of the inner surface of arm 11 and thus is interpreted as spanning a "majority" of the inner surface; also, as shown in fig 1, the arm 11 includes a bent or curved portion 11a thus giving it an “arcuate” shape), the removable guide having an attachment to couple the removable guide with the inner surface of the arcuate clamp arm (element 23 is mounted on arm 11 by guide pins 25 – col 2 lines 41-43; the attachment is interpreted as being “removable” because the element 23 is "adjustably" mounted by guide pins 25 which move through apertures 26 on arm 11 and thus are interpreted as being capable of permitting removal of element 23 – see col 2 lines 40-43) and a padding that covers the guide (sheath portion 33 that is formed of rubber and encases element 23 – col 2 lines 52-69; fig 1; rubber material is interpreted as providing a padded surface).
With respect to claim 10, Bialick discloses the device as claimed (see rejection of claim 9) and Bialick also discloses that the removable guide is dimensioned to selectively adjust a size of the incontinence clamp to a user's penis (element 23 is moved by jack screw 27 which is rotatably engaged in the body of element 23 and functions such that the element 23 is moved towards or away from arm 11 guided by pins 25 to thereby adjust size – see col 1 lines 31-35, 45-48; col 2 lines 40-51; col 3 lines 47-54).
With respect to claim 19, Bialick discloses a removable compression element (pressure exerting means such as element 23 which is interpreted as being “removable” because the element 23 is "adjustably" mounted by guide pins 25 which move through apertures 26 on arm 11 and thus are interpreted as being capable of permitting removal of the pressure exerting means – see col 2 lines 40-43) for an incontinence clamp (clamp device 10), the incontinence clamp including a clamp arm (arm 11; fig 2) dimensioned to partially encircle a penis of a user (as shown in fig 1) the removable compression element comprising:
a guide (element 23); and
a padding (sheath portion 33 which is formed of rubber material which is interpreted as providing a padded surface; fig 1) disposed over the guide so as to cover the guide (sheath portion 33 encases element 23 – col 2 lines 52-69; fig 1) and to contact the penis of the user during use (as shown in fig 1);
wherein the guide and the padding together form a unitary compression element (when assembled as shown in fig 2, the element 23 with sheath 33 encasing it are a unitary element) configured to be removably coupled to the clamp arm and to be removed from the clamp arm by the user as a single unit (element 23 is removably mounted by guide pins 25 which move through apertures 26 on arm 11 and, thus, are interpreted as being capable of permitting removal of the element 23 and, thus, the sheath 33 covering it– see col 2 lines 40-43);
wherein the guide (23) is configured to contour to said penis (as shown in fig 1) and spans a majority of an arcuate inner surface of the clamp arm (as shown in fig 1, element 23 covers at least half of the inner surface of arm 11 and thus is interpreted as spanning a "majority" of the inner surface; also, as shown in fig 1), wherein an attachment couples the guide with the clamp arm (element 23 is mounted on arm 11 by guide pins 25 – see col 2 lines 40-43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 11, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bialick (US 3203421) in view of Rennich (US 2005/0085835).
With respect to claim 2, Bialick discloses the device as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) but does not explicitly disclose that the padding is releasably secured over the guide.
Rennich teaches an analogous clamp that includes a pad 40 for increasing wearing comfort and a removable sleeve 42 that is provided for covering the pad 40 to prevent soiling thereof (para [0034]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the sheath portion 33 of Bialick so that it is releasably secured over element 23, like the sleeve 42 that removably covers pad 40 in Rennich, is order to protect the element 23 and prevent soiling of the element.
With respect to claim 11, Bialick discloses the device as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) but does not explicitly disclose that the padding is releasably secured over the removable guide.
Rennich teaches an analogous clamp that includes a pad 40 for increasing wearing comfort and a removable sleeve 42 that is provided for covering the pad 40 to prevent soiling thereof (para [0034]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the sheath portion 33 of Bialick so that it is releasably secured over element 23, like the sleeve 42 that removably covers pad 40 in Rennich, is order to protect the element 23 and prevent soiling of the element.
With respect to claim 17, Bialick discloses a removable compression element (pressure exerting means such as element 23 which is interpreted as being “removable” because the element 23 is "adjustably" mounted by guide pins 25 which move through apertures 26 on arm 11 and thus are interpreted as being capable of permitting removal of the pressure exerting means – see col 2 lines 40-43) for an incontinence clamp (clamp device 10), the incontinence clamp including a clamp arm (arm 11; fig 2) that includes an arcuate inner surface (as shown in fig 1, the arm 11 includes an inner surface and includes a bent or curved portion 11a thus giving it an “arcuate” shape) dimensioned to partially encircle a penis of a user (as shown in fig 1), the removable compression element comprising:
a guide configured to be removably coupled to the clamp arm (element 23 which is interpreted as being “removable” because the element 23 is "adjustably" mounted by guide pins 25 which move through apertures 26 on arm 11 and thus are interpreted as being capable of permitting removal of the element – see col 2 lines 40-43); and
a padding element (sheath portion 33 which is formed of rubber material which is interpreted as providing a padded surface; fig 1) that is a separate component from the guide (the sheath portion 33 is structurally independent of the element 23 as shown in fig 1) and is secured to the guide so as to cover the guide (sheath portion 33 encases element 23 – col 2 lines 52-69; fig 1) and to contact the penis of the user during use (as shown in fig 1);
wherein the guide (23) is dimensioned to span the arcuate inner surface (as shown in fig 1, element 23 covers at least half of the inner surface of arm 11 and thus spans the inner surface; also, as shown in fig 1, the arm 11 includes a bent or curved portion 11a thus giving it an “arcuate” shape), the guide (23) further comprising a curved concave-inner surface conforming with the arcuate inner surface (as shown in fig 1; the surface of element 23 that faces arm 11 conforms with the arm as shown in fig 2 and is interpreted as having an arcuate surface since it corresponds to the arm which is bent and thus presents an arcuate surface) and an outer surface oriented to connect the penis of the user (the surface that faces the user's body member within the clamp as shown in figure 1).
Bialick does not, however, disclose that the padding is detachably secured to the guide and configured to be selectively removed from and replaced on the guide.
Rennich teaches an analogous clamp that includes a pad 40 for increasing wearing comfort and a removable sleeve 42 that is provided for covering the pad 40 to prevent soiling thereof (para [0034]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the sheath portion 33 of Bialick so that it is releasably secured over element 23 so that it is detachable and can be selectively removed from and replaced on the guide, like the sleeve 42 that removably covers pad 40 in Rennich, in order to protect the element 23 and prevent soiling of the element.
With respect to claim 18, Bialick discloses a compression element (pressure exerting means such as element 23 which is interpreted as being “removable” because the element 23 is "adjustably" mounted by guide pins 25 which move through apertures 26 on arm 11 and thus are interpreted as being capable of permitting removal of the pressure exerting means – see col 2 lines 40-43) for an incontinence clamp (clamp device 10), the incontinence clamp including a clamp arm (arm 11; fig 2) dimensioned to partially encircle a penis of a user (as shown in fig 1) the compression element comprising:
a guide coupled to the clamp arm and configured to be adjustably positioned relative to the clamp arm to vary a compression applied to the penis of the user (element 23 is "adjustably" mounted by guide pins 25 which move through apertures 26 on arm 11 and thus are interpreted as being capable of permitting adjustment of the element to thereby vary compression on the penis during use– see col 2 lines 40-43); and
a padding element (sheath portion 33 which is formed of rubber material which is interpreted as providing a padded surface; fig 1) that is a separate component from the guide (the sheath portion 33 is structurally independent of the element 23 as shown in fig 1) and is secured to the guide so as to cover the guide (sheath portion 33 encases element 23 – col 2 lines 52-69; fig 1) and to contact the penis of the user during use (as shown in fig 1);
wherein the guide (23) is dimensioned to span a majority of an inner surface (as shown in fig 1, element 23 covers at least half of the inner surface of arm 11 and thus is interpreted as spanning a "majority" of the inner surface; also, as shown in fig 1), the guide (23) having an attachment to couple the guide with the inner surface of the clamp arm (element 23 is mounted on arm 11 by guide pins 25 – see col 2 lines 40-43).
Bialick does not, however, disclose that the padding is detachably secured to the guide and configured to be selectively removed from and replaced on the guide.
Rennich teaches an analogous clamp that includes a pad 40 for increasing wearing comfort and a removable sleeve 42 that is provided for covering the pad 40 to prevent soiling thereof (para [0034]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the sheath portion 33 of Bialick so that it is releasably secured over element 23 so that it is detachable and can be selectively removed from and replaced on the guide, like the sleeve 42 that removably covers pad 40 in Rennich, in order to protect the element 23 and prevent soiling of the element.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bialick (US 3203421) in view of Rennich (US 2005/0085835) and further in view of Garcia Berruezo (US 2014/0041672).
With respect to claims 3 and 12, Bialick in view of Rennich discloses the device substantially as claimed (see rejections of claims 2 and 11) and Bialick discloses that the sheath portion 33 is formed of rubber or any synthetic plastic material having moisture impervious and elastic characteristics (see col 2 lines 52-69) but does not explicitly disclose that the padding is formed of a thermoplastic elastomer.
Garcia Berruezo teaches a device for urinary incontinence which includes a flexible metal structure coated by injection of thermoplastic or silicone rubber (para [0014]; thermoplastic rubber is a thermoplastic elastomer). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have used a thermoplastic rubber as taught by Garcia Berruezo as the rubber of the padding on the device of Bialick in view of Rennich in order to provide a soft, flexible material which is still durable and tough (as these are inherent characteristics of thermoplastic rubber) and, furthermore, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bialick (US 3203421) in view of Rennich (US 2005/0085835) and further in view of Johnson (US 5842968).
With respect to claim 4, Bialick in view of Rennich discloses the device substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 2) but does not disclose that the padding comprises a plurality of ridges formed on an outer surface.
Johnson, however, teaches an analogous clamp device used for treating male urinary
incontinence (abstract; col 2 lines 24-30) wherein the device includes a cushion 12 having a
plurality of ridges formed on an outer surface (key ridge portion 1 attached to the inside
surface of straps 5 and 6 - shown in figures 1-2; and including high portions 2 through which
notches 3 are formed which notches close up when the device is wrapped around the penis - col 3 lines 3-6; key ridge portion 1 and high portions 2 are interpreted as providing a plurality of
ridges on the outer surface of the cushion 12) and wherein the ridges (key ridge 1) are adapted
to be in contact with a user's body during use (as shown in figure 5 - col 3 lines14-16) and are
compressed to close off the flow of urine from the bladder through the urethra (col 3 lines 35-
39). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the padding on the device of Bialick in view of Rennich to include a plurality of ridges on an outer surface of the padding as taught by Johnson in order to provide flexibility for wrapping the device around the penis and furthermore to provide areas configured to be compressed to close off the flow of urine from the bladder through the urethra as taught by Johnson.
With respect to claim 13, Bialick in view of Rennich discloses the device substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 11) but does not disclose that the padding comprises a plurality of ridges protruding from an outer surface of the padding.
Johnson, however, teaches an analogous clamp device used for treating male urinary
incontinence (abstract; col 2 lines 24-30) wherein the device includes a cushion 12 having a
plurality of ridges protruding from an outer surface of the cushion (key ridge portion 1 attached to the inside surface of straps 5 and 6 - shown in figures 1-2; and including high portions 2 through which notches 3 are formed which notches close up when the device is wrapped around the penis - col 3 lines 3-6; key ridge portion 1 and high portions 2 are interpreted as providing a plurality of ridges that protrude from the outer surface of the cushion 12) and wherein the ridges (key ridge 1) are adapted to be in contact with a user's body during use (as shown in figure 5 - col 3 lines14-16) and are compressed to close off the flow of urine from the bladder through the urethra (col 3 lines 35-39). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the padding on the device of Bialick in view of Rennich to include a plurality of ridges protruding from an outer surface of the padding as taught by Johnson in order to provide flexibility for wrapping the device around the penis and furthermore to provide areas configured to be compressed to close off the flow of urine from the bladder through the urethra as taught by Johnson.
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bialick (US 3203421) in view of Chadwick (US 5571125).
With respect to claims 5-6, Bialick discloses the device as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) but does not explicitly disclose that the guide is formed of a rigid polymer, wherein the rigid polymer is acrylonitrile butadiene styrene.
Chadwick teaches a penile clamp device that includes a pad 13 which is analogous to the guide (element 23 of Bialick) which can be made from plastic (plastic is a rigid polymer) such as closed-cell polypropylene, styrene, abs cycolac, etc., so as to create lower manufacturing costs and facilitate cleaning (col 4 lines 29-32). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have formed the guide (element 23) of Bialick from a rigid polymer, wherein the rigid polymer is acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, as taught by Chadwick, in order to lower manufacturing costs and facilitate cleaning.
With respect to claims 14-15, Bialick discloses the device as claimed (see rejection of claim 9) but does not explicitly disclose that the removable guide is formed of a rigid polymer, wherein the rigid polymer is acrylonitrile butadiene styrene.
Chadwick teaches a penile clamp device that includes a pad 13 which is analogous to the guide (element 23 of Bialick) which can be made from plastic (plastic is a rigid polymer) such as closed-cell polypropylene, styrene, abs cycolac, etc., so as to create lower manufacturing costs and facilitate cleaning (col 4 lines 29-32). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have formed the removable guide (element 23) of Bialick from a rigid polymer, wherein the rigid polymer is acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, as taught by Chadwick, in order to lower manufacturing costs and facilitate cleaning.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bialick (US 3203421) in view of Krause et al (US 2002/0111640).
With respect to claim 7, Bialick discloses the device as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) but does not disclose that the curved concaved inner surface further comprises: a curved convex protrusion extending from a middle portion of the curved concave inner surface.
Krause teaches an incontinence clamp 10 (fig 2) that includes a body member 200 that has a curved concaved inner surface (surface that faces the body during use has a slightly curved, concave shape as shown in fig 2) with a raised portion or protrusion 215 configured as a curved convex protrusion as shown in figure 2 in the approximate center of the member such that when the device is clamped about the central body of the penis 250, the protrusion 215 applies increased pressure on the urethra 255, by squeezing it between the hump and the internal structures of the penis, to prevent the flow of urine (para [0030]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the guide of Bialick so that the curved concaved inner surface further comprises: a curved convex protrusion extending from a middle portion of the curved concave inner surface, like the protrusion 215 on body member 200 of Krause, in order to apply increased pressure on the urethra to prevent the flow of urine when the device is clamped about the central body of the penis.
With respect to claim 16, Bialick discloses the device as claimed (see rejection of claim 9) but does not disclose a protrusion extending from a medial position of the concave inner surface of the removable guide, the protrusion dimensioned to exert a pressure against a urethra of a user when the incontinence clamp is in a closed position.
Krause teaches an incontinence clamp 10 (fig 2) that includes a body member 200 that has a curved concaved inner surface (surface that faces the body during use has a slightly curved, concave shape as shown in fig 2) with a raised portion or protrusion 215 in the approximate center of the member such that when the device is clamped about the central body of the penis 250, the protrusion 215 applies increased pressure on the urethra 255, by squeezing it between the hump and the internal structures of the penis, to prevent the flow of urine (para [0030]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the removable guide of Bialick to include a protrusion extending from a medial position of the concave inner surface of the removable guide, the protrusion dimensioned to exert a pressure against a urethra of a user when the incontinence clamp is in a closed position, like the protrusion 215 on body member 200 of Krause, in order to apply increased pressure on the urethra to prevent the flow of urine when the device is clamped about the central body of the penis.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 7/6/26 have been fully considered as follow:
Regarding the objections to the claims, Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the objections which, accordingly, have been withdrawn.
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments on pages 9-11 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Specifically, the Office has noted Applicant’s arguments that independent claims 1 and 9, as amended, are allowable because the claims incorporate the subject matter deemed allowable in the '148 application. The Office is not persuaded by these arguments, however, because claims 1 and 9 in the ‘148 application are directed to, specifically, an upper guide on an upper clamp arm, whereas claims 1 and 9 in the present application do not require the guide to be an upper guide or require attachment to an upper clamp arm of an incontinence clamp. Additionally, the claims in the ‘148 application are allowed for including subject matter that could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record “in combination with the other elements in the claims” wherein the claims include additional limitations that are not recited in claims 1 and 9 of the present application. Therefore, for at least these reasons, the Office is not persuaded by Applicant’s arguments and the claims are not considered to be in condition for allowance at this time. The Office maintains and reaffirms that the prior art of record reads on the claims substantially as recited in the present application.
Regarding the Double Patenting Rejections, the terminal disclaimer filed 7/6/26 has been reviewed and accepted. The terminal disclaimer is sufficient to overcome the Double Patenting rejections which, accordingly, have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAITLIN A CARREIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786