DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 3 and 5 - 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23 – 25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Polk (U.S. Patent # 2733969).
Regarding Claim 23, Polk discloses a seal (fig 5), comprising:
an axial U-shaped primary sealing ring (3) made of elastic polymer material (Col 2 Lines 14 – 17: 3 made of elastic or plastic material), wherein the axial U-shaped primary sealing ring has a base ring section (7) with a radial inner side and a radial outer side (radial inner and outer sides 8, 8 of 3), two sealing lips extending axially away from the base ring section and being spaced apart from each other and curved outwards in the radial direction (sealing lips of 3), and an annular groove provided between the sealing lips (groove between lips of 3) and being axially open in the direction away from the base ring section (groove of 3 axially open in the direction away from the base ring section 7), and wherein the sealing lips protrude radially beyond the radial inner and outer sides of the base ring section (lips of 3 protrude radially beyond the radial inner and outer sides of the base ring section 7);
a circumferential spring (9) disposed within the annular groove (groove of 3) for energizing the sealing lips (fig 5); and
a secondary sealing ring (1) made of a material stiffer than a polymer material of the primary sealing ring (Col 2 Lines 8 – 13: 1 made of hard nonextrudible bearing material);
wherein the base ring section of the axial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring axially abut each other (7 and base ring section of 1 abut axially);
wherein the base ring section of the axial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring axially abut each other by axial end sides one of which is curved convexly in the axial direction and the other one is curved concavely in the axial direction (base ring section of 3 curved convexly and base ring section of 1 curved concavely); and
wherein a radial width of the secondary sealing ring is at least twice an axial thickness of the secondary sealing ring (radial width of the secondary sealing ring 1 is at least twice an axial thickness of the secondary sealing ring 1).
Regarding Claim 24, Polk discloses the seal, wherein the sealing lips of the axial U- shaped primary sealing ring are curved convexly in the radial direction (lips of 3 curved convexly).
Regarding Claim 25, Polk discloses the seal, wherein the secondary sealing ring is radially flush with the radial inner and outer sides of the base ring section of the axial U- shaped primary sealing ring or radially protrudes over the radial inner and outer sides on both sides (secondary sealing ring 1 is radially flush with the radial inner and outer sides of the base ring section of the axial U- shaped primary sealing ring 3) (one of the two limitation is met).
Regarding Claim 28, Polk discloses a sealing arrangement (Polk fig 1 same as fig 3) including the seal for sealing a connecting of two components (seal between 5 and 6, Polk fig 1), the sealing arrangement comprising a first component and a second component at least one of which has a ring groove or a stepped recess (recess of 6, Polk fig 1), and wherein the seal is disposed within the ring groove or the stepped recess (seal within recess of 6, fig 1), wherein the end side, facing away from the sealing lips, of the secondary sealing ring or, if available, the backup ring abuts one of the two opposite groove flanks of the ring groove or on a step of the stepped recess, wherein the sealing lips are compressed and elastically deformed between the two components and pressed against the two components by the compressed circumferential spring to seal the connection of the two components (secondary sealing ring 1 abuts one of the two opposite groove flanks of the ring groove or on a step of the stepped recess of 6, wherein the sealing lips are configured to be compressed and elastically deformed between the two components and pressed against the two components by the compressed circumferential spring to seal the connection of the two components).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5 - 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LoGiudice et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20170328472) in view of Rowe (U.S. PG Pub # 20140124193).
Regarding Claim 1, LoGiudice discloses a seal (fig 1), comprising:
a radial U-shaped primary sealing ring made of elastic polymer material (Para 0045 – 12 may be made of elastic polymer), wherein the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring has a base ring section with two parallel axial outer sides (as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below), two sealing lips extending radially away from the base ring section and being spaced apart from each other and curved outwards in the axial direction (sealing lips of 12 curved outwards axially), and an annular groove (20) provided between the sealing lips (fig 1) and being radially open in the direction away from the base ring section (20 open away from base ring section), and wherein the sealing lips protrude axially beyond the axial outer sides of the base ring section ( sealing lips of 12 protrude axially beyond the axial outer sides of the base ring section as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below) (one of the two limitations is met), or,
a circumferential spring (Para 0034 – annular spring 36) disposed within the annular groove for energizing the sealing lips (as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below);
and a secondary sealing ring (18 as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below) made of a material stiffer than a polymer material of the primary sealing ring ( Para 0045 – 18 made of PTFE stiffer than 12 made of the elastic polymer material), wherein an axial width of the secondary sealing ring is at least an axial width of the primary sealing ring (axial width of 18 is at least an axial width of 12);
wherein the base ring section of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring abut radially each other (as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below);
wherein the primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring are separate from each other and wherein the base ring section of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring are held on each other in an axially non- displaceable manner (12 and 18 are separate and axially non-displaceable).
LoGiudice does not disclose where the axial width of the secondary sealing ring is at least twice a radial thickness of the secondary sealing ring.
However, Rowe teaches where the axial width of the secondary sealing ring (27, fig 3) is at least twice a radial thickness of the secondary sealing ring (axial width of 27 is at least twice the radial thickness of 27, fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the axial width and the radial thickness of the secondary sealing ring of LoGiudice with the secondary sealing ring of Rowe with a reasonable expectation of success so that the secondary sealing ring abuts the primary sealing ring to form a sealing system that blocks pressure in one direction (Rowe Para 0045).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal, wherein the annular groove of the radial U- shaped primary sealing ring is radially open inwards (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below) and the base ring section of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring is surrounded by and in contact with the secondary sealing ring (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below), or, wherein the annular groove of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring is radially open outwards and the secondary sealing ring is surrounded by and in contact with the base ring section of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring (one of the two limitations is met).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal, wherein the sealing lips of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring are curved convexly in the axial direction (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal, wherein the base ring section of the radial U- shaped primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring radially abut each other by radial end sides (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below) one of which is curved convexly in the radial direction and the other one is curved concavely in the radial direction (base ring section curved convexly and the secondary sealing ring 18 curved concavely as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal, wherein the secondary sealing ring is axially flush with the axial outer sides of the base ring section of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring or protrudes over the axial outer sides on both sides ( LoGiudice 18 protrudes over both axial outer sides of the base ring section as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal, further comprising a backup ring made of a high strength polymer material (LoGiudice Para 0045 – 16 made of carbon filled PEEK), wherein the secondary sealing ring of the radial U- shaped primary sealing ring and the backup ring radially abut each other (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal, wherein the secondary sealing ring of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the backup ring are held on each other in an axially non-displaceable manner (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal, wherein the secondary sealing ring of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the backup ring radially abut each other by radial end sides (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below) one of which is curved convexly in the radial direction (18 curved convexly as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below) and the other one is curved concavely in the radial direction (16 curved concavely as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal, wherein the secondary sealing ring is made from a metallic or polymer material (LoGiudice Para 0045 – 18 made of PTFE).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal.
LoGiudice does not disclose wherein the secondary sealing ring is plated with a material softer than the metallic material.
However, Rowe teaches wherein the secondary sealing ring is plated with a material softer than the metallic material (Para 0045 - metal seal may be coated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the secondary sealing ring of LoGiudice with the coating of the sealing ring of Rowe with a reasonable expectation of success so that the secondary sealing ring provides less wear and tear when compressed.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses a sealing arrangement including the seal for sealing a connecting of two components (LoGiudice Para 0042 - mandrel 8 and bore 6, fig 1), the sealing arrangement comprising a first component (LoGiudice 6) and a second component (LoGiudice 8) at least one of which has a ring groove (LoGiudice - groove of 6) or a stepped recess, and wherein the seal is disposed within the ring groove or the stepped recess (LoGiudice 10 within the bore of 6), wherein the end side, facing away from the sealing lips, of the secondary sealing ring or, if available, the backup ring abuts one of the two opposite groove flanks of the ring groove or on a step of the stepped recess (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below), wherein the sealing lips are compressed and elastically deformed between the two components and pressed against the two components by the compressed circumferential spring to seal the connection of the two components (sealing lips of 12 pressed against 6 and 8 as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the sealing arrangement, wherein a further seal is disposed within the ring groove between the seal and the other of the two groove flanks of the ring groove (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below), wherein the further seal is pressed against the other groove flank by the compressed circumferential spring which protrudes over the sealing lips (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the sealing arrangement, wherein the further seal comprises a further secondary sealing ring (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below) made of metallic or polymer material (Para 0045 – 12 made of PTFE) and a further backup ring (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below) made of a high strength polymer material (LoGiudice Para 0045 – 16 made of PEEK), which abut each other with the further secondary sealing ring facing the seal (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below) and the further backup ring abutting the other groove flank (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the sealing arrangement, wherein the further secondary sealing ring is held on the further backup ring in an axially non-displaceable manner (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal, wherein the base ring section of the radial U- shaped primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring are held on each other in an axially non-displaceable manner by means of a positive-locking connection (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal, wherein the base ring section of the radial U- shaped primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring radially abut each other by radial end sides (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below) one of which is curved convexly in the radial direction (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below) and the other one is curved concavely in the radial direction (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below), with the same curvature (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal, wherein the secondary sealing ring of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the backup ring are held on each other in an axially non-displaceable manner by means of a positive-locking connection (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the seal, wherein the secondary sealing ring of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the backup ring radially abut each other by radial end sides (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below) one of which is curved convexly in the radial direction and the other one is curved concavely in the radial direction with the same curvature (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the sealing arrangement, wherein the further secondary sealing ring is held on the further backup ring in an axially non-displaceable manner by means of a positive-locking connection (as seen in examiner annotated LoGiudice fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 22, LoGiudice discloses a seal (fig 1), comprising:
a radial U-shaped primary sealing ring ( 12) made of elastic polymer material (Para 0045 – 12 may be made of elastic polymer material), wherein the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring has a base ring section with two parallel axial outer sides ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below), two sealing lips (sealing lips of 12) extending radially away from the base ring section ( sealing lips of 12 curved outwards axially) and being spaced apart from each other (sealing lips of 12 spaced apart) and curved outwards in the axial direction (sealing lips of 12 curved outwards axially), and an annular groove (20) provided between the sealing lips ( fig 1) and being radially open in the direction away from the base ring section (20 radially open), and wherein the sealing lips protrude axially beyond the axial outer sides of the base ring section ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below); a circumferential spring (36) disposed within the annular groove for energizing the sealing lips (fig 1); and
LoGiudice does not disclose a secondary sealing ring made of a material stiffer than the polymer material of the primary sealing ring, wherein the base ring section of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring abut radially each other;
wherein the primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring are separate from each other and wherein the base ring section of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring are held on each other in an axially non- displaceable manner.
However, Rowe teaches a secondary sealing ring (27, fig 3) made of a material stiffer than the polymer material of the primary sealing ring (Para 0030 - 27 made of metal, 28 made of PEEK).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the secondary sealing ring of Rowe with the primary sealing ring of LoGiudice with a reasonable expectation of success so that the secondary sealing ring abuts the primary sealing ring to form a sealing system that blocks pressure in one direction (Rowe Para 0045).
The combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses wherein the base ring section of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring abut radially each other (Castleman 212 and Rowe 27 abut each other radially);
wherein the primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring are separate from each other (Castleman 212 and Rowe 27 are separate) and wherein the base ring section of the radial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring are held on each other in an axially non- displaceable manner (Castleman 212 with base ring section and Rowe 27 together are axially non-displaceable).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LoGiudice in view of Rowe and in further view of Castleman et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20100052267).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of LoGiudice and Rowe discloses the sealing arrangement, wherein the circumferential spring is a coiled metallic energizing helical spring.
The combination of LoGiudice and Rowe does not disclose wherein the circumferential spring is a coiled metallic energizing helical spring.
However, Castleman teaches wherein the circumferential spring is a coiled metallic energizing helical spring (224, fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the primary sealing ring of LoGiudice with the coiled helical spring of Castleman with a reasonable expectation of success so that the sealing lips of the primary sealing ring surround the coiled helical spring for a contiguous energizing force.
Claims 26, 27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polk in view of Castleman (U.S. PG Pub # 20100052267).
Regarding Claim 26, Polk discloses the seal.
Polk does not disclose further comprising a backup ring made of a high strength polymer material, wherein the secondary sealing ring of the radial U- shaped primary sealing ring and the backup ring axially abut each other.
However, Castleman teaches further comprising a backup ring (133, fig 2) made of a high strength polymer material (Para 0038 – harder material of 133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the seal assembly of Polk with the backup ring of Castleman with a reasonable expectation of success so that the backup ring provides strength and stability without negatively affecting sela performance ( Castleman Para 0042).
The combination of Polk and Castleman discloses wherein the secondary sealing ring of the radial U- shaped primary sealing ring and the backup ring axially abut each other (Polk 1 and Castleman 133 axially abut each other).
Regarding Claim 27, the combination of Polk and Castleman discloses the seal, wherein the secondary sealing ring of the axial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the backup ring axially abut each other by axial end sides one of which is curved convexly in the axial direction and the other one is curved concavely in the axial direction (secondary sealing ring 1of Polk of the axial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the backup ring 133 of Castleman axially abut each other by axial end sides one of which Polk - 3 is curved convexly in the axial direction and the other one Polk – 1 is curved concavely in the axial direction).
Regarding Claim 29, the combination of Polk and Castleman discloses the seal, wherein the base ring section of the axial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the secondary sealing ring axially abut each other by axial end sides (Polk - base ring section of 3 and 1 abut axially) one of which is curved convexly in the axial direction and the other one is curved concavely in the axial direction with the same curvature (Polk - 3 curved convexly and 1 curved concavely).
Regarding Claim 30, the combination of Polk and Castleman discloses the seal, wherein the secondary sealing ring of the axial U-shaped primary sealing ring and the backup ring axially abut each other by axial end sides (Polk 3 and 1 abut axially) one of which is curved convexly in the axial direction and the other one is curved concavely in the axial direction with the same curvature (3 curved convexly and 1 curved concavely).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L. SUSMITHA KONERU/Examiner, Art Unit 3675