DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 07/21/2026
Claims 1 and 5 have been amended and claims 21-22 have been added
Claims 1, 3-13 and 15-22 are presented for examination
This action is Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bristol et al. (US 2022/0231523).
Claim 1. Bristol discloses a charging case 100 for a portable light apparatus which is configured to be worn by a user, the charging case comprising at least:
- a housing 100 comprising a first housing part 108 having a cavity 114 in which the portable light apparatus is insertable to be held and protected and a second housing part 110 configured as a lid to close or open the cavity (fig. 1), and
- a charging operating device 102 arranged in the housing,
- wherein the charging operating device is configured to charge a battery of the portable light apparatus when inserted in the cavity and when the cavity of the first housing part is fully shut by the second housing ([0029], [0056]; fig. 9-11).
Claim 3. Bristol discloses the charging case according to claim 1, wherein the cavity is formed such that an insert direction of the portable light apparatus is defined for the user (fig. 2).
Claim 4. Bristol discloses the charging case according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the housing parts comprises a holding element 104 configured to guide the user to insert the light apparatus and to removably hold the portable light apparatus in place in the cavity [0030].
Claim 6. Bristol discloses the charging case according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises charging electronics for charging the portable light apparatus and at least one charging port 412 to establish a temporary electrical connection to the portable light apparatus (fig. 7-8).
Claim 7. Bristol discloses the charging case according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises at least one rechargeable battery [0108].
Claim 9. Bristol discloses the charging case according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises at least one display device 904 to display a battery status of the charging case and/or the portable light apparatus [0054].
Claim 10. Bristol discloses a chargeable system comprising at least a charging case according to claim 1 and a portable light apparatus which is configured to be worn by a user (abstract).
Claim 11. Bristol discloses the chargeable system according to claim 10, wherein the portable light apparatus are glasses 300 comprising:
- a front frame 308 to house eyeglasses and a pair of side frames 312 connected to the front frame,
- an operating device 302 having at least a battery and at least one main electronic part and at least one light device configured to emit light towards the eye- glasses and/or the user's eyes [0039], [0054],
- wherein the battery is configured to supply energy to the light device via the main electronic part,
- wherein the main electronic part comprises a number of interfaces 304 to couple with the charging case (fig. 3).
Claim 12. Bristol discloses the chargeable system according to claim 10, wherein the holding element of the charging case is a magnet element which is arranged in an area of one of the housing parts configured to correspond to a location of a counter holding element located on the front frame and/or the side frames of the portable light apparatus [0026-0027].
Claim 13. Bristol discloses the chargeable system according to claim 10, wherein the cavity is formed such that the insert direction of the portable light apparatus is defined and the insert direction refers to a specific folding configuration of the side frames of the portable light apparatus (fig. 12-13).
Claim 14. Bristol discloses A chargeable system comprising at least a charging case according to claim 2 and a portable light apparatus which is configured to be worn by a user (abstract).
Claim 15. Bristol discloses the chargeable system comprising at least a charging case according to claim 3 and a portable light apparatus which is configured to be worn by a user (abstract).
Claim 16. Bristol discloses the chargeable system comprising at least a charging case according to claim 4 and a portable light apparatus which is configured to be worn by a user (abstract).
Claim 17. Bristol discloses the chargeable system comprising at least a charging case according to claim 5 and a portable light apparatus which is configured to be worn by a user (abstract).
Claim 18. Bristol discloses the chargeable system comprising at least a charging case according to claim 6 and a portable light apparatus which is configured to be worn by a user (abstract).
Claim 19. Bristol discloses the chargeable system comprising at least a charging case according to claim 7 and a portable light apparatus which is configured to be worn by a user (abstract).
Claim 20. Bristol discloses the chargeable system comprising at least a charging case according to claim 8 and a portable light apparatus which is configured to be worn by a user (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bristol et al. (US 2022/0231523) in view of Lam (US 2005/0194267).
Claim 8. Bristol discloses the charging case according to claim 1, but fails to disclose the storage of multiple devices. Lam teaches wherein the housing comprises at least one separate compartment 38 for storing different exchangeable eyeglasses, the separate compartment is arranged below or above the cavity in which the portable light apparatus is insertable ([0048]; fig. 2B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the housing of Bristol to include the storage compartment of Lam to assist the user in carrying needed accessories for use with other stored products.
Claim 21. Bristol discloses a charging case 100 for a portable light apparatus which is configured to be worn by a user, the charging case comprising at least:
- a housing 100 comprising a first housing part 108 having a cavity 114 in which the portable light apparatus is insertable to be held and protected and a second housing part 110 configured as a lid to close or open the cavity (fig. 1), and
- a charging operating device 102 arranged in the housing,
- wherein the charging operating device is configured to charge a battery of the portable light apparatus when inserted in the cavity and when the cavity of the first housing part is fully shut by the second housing ([0029]; fig. 1).
Bristol fails to disclose a display device. Lam discloses wherein the housing comprises a display device 18 to display a battery status of the charging case and the portable light apparatus to give visual feedback about the charging status of the portable light apparatus and a battery of the charging case ([0045]; fig. 1A,B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the outer housing surface of Bristol to include the display device of Lam to display and notify the user of the status of the stored item status.
Claim 22. Bristol discloses a charging case 100 for a portable light apparatus which is configured to be worn by a user, the charging case comprising at least:
- a housing 100 comprising a first housing part 108 having a cavity 114 in which the portable light apparatus is insertable to be held and protected and a second housing part 110 configured as a lid to close or open the cavity (fig. 1), and
- a charging operating device 102 arranged in the housing,
- wherein the charging operating device is configured to charge a battery of the portable light apparatus when inserted in the cavity and when the cavity of the first housing part is fully shut by the second housing ([0029]; fig. 1).
Bristol fails to disclose multiple compartments. Lam teaches wherein the housing comprises a separate compartment 19 below or above the cavity configured for storing a number of different exchangeable eyeglasses for the portable light apparatus ([0045]; fig. 1B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the charging case of Bristol to include the accessory compartment of Lam to allow product-related items to remain together.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 1, Bristol (US 2022/0231523): The rejection has been updated to reflect the claim amendments. Figure 9 best shows the case in the closed configuration with the first and second housings joined. Charging indicator 904 signals charging once the battery is connected and the lid is closed.
Applicant has not included claim language that teaches the second housing activating the charge of the battery. Currently, the battery is charged once the object enters the cavity first housing and remains (battery) in the charging capacity once the second housing part shuts the case. Applicant is advised to include the claim language based on the argued interpretation. The rejection is respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAVEN COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735