Claim Objections
Claim 12, line 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the droplet shape of the pins” should be - -a droplet shape of the pins- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 6-7; claim 13, lines 8-9 recite “wherein the set of pins of the ring retainer extend in a parallel configuration” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the set of pins extend in a parallel configuration. The instant specification states in Paragraph 0093 that each pin parallel to one another, but in Figure 4D and 4E of the instant application, it appears that the rightmost pin of either the first or second row is not oriented parallel to the leftmost pin of the respective first or second row. For this reason, this claim limitation is considered indefinite.
Claim 9, lines 3-4; claim 20, line 3-4 recites “the second portion having a triangular shape” which renders the claim indefinite because the pins in Figure 4D and 4E of the instant application do not have a second portion having a triangular shape, but rather a trapezoidal shape. For this reason, this claim limitation is considered indefinite.
Claim 10, line 1-2 recites “a height of each pin tapers from the first portion to the second portion” which renders the claim indefinite because the pins in Figure 4D and 4E of the instant application do not taper between the first and second portion, but rather only the second portion tapers. For this reason, this claim limitation is considered indefinite.
Claims dependent thereon are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 13, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonnelie (US 5570573).
Annotated Figure 2 of Bonnelie
Regarding claim 1, Bonnelie discloses a joint (Figure 2) for a rocket motor (Column 1, lines 6-9. A thruster as defined by Dictionary.com and Cambridge is a small rocket) comprising:
a casing (Figure 2; 11) of a cylindrical shape (Figure 3; lines 46-47 states 11 is a tubular structure), the casing comprising a set of engagement holes (The holes in Figure 2; 11 for 13) disposed circumferentially (Column 3, lines 60-62) around one end (The end of Figure 2; 11 with the holes for 13) of the casing;
a plurality of ring retainers (The portion of Figure 2; 12 that axially encompasses Figure 2; 12a and the corresponding 13 and 14, and the portion of 12 that axially encompasses 12b and the corresponding 13 and 14. For clarification the portion of Figure 2; 12 to the left of Annotated Figure 2; labeled dashed line and the portion of Figure 2; 12 between Annotated Figure 2; labeled dashed and dotted line) coupled to an inner surface (The inner surface of Figure 2; 11) of the casing, each ring retainer comprising:
a set of pins (Each row of Figure 2; 13) extending from an outer surface (The outer surface of Figure 2; 12a and 12b) of the ring retainer, wherein the set of pins of the ring retainer extend in a parallel configuration (Each row being circumferential is in a parallel configuration) to engage with a subset (The corresponding sets of holes in Figure 2; 11 for 13) of the engagement holes of the casing.
Regarding claim 7, Bonnelie discloses the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie further discloses wherein the set of pins on each ring retainer includes two or more rows of pins parallel to one another (The set of pins include two rows that are parallel to one another).
Regarding claim 8, Bonnelie discloses the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie further discloses wherein the set of pins on each ring retainer includes two or more rows of pins offset to one another (The set of pins include two rows that are offset to one another).
Regarding claim 13, Bonnelie discloses a rocket motor (Column 1, lines 6-9. A thruster as defined by Dictionary.com and Cambridge is a small rocket) comprising:
a joint (Figure 2) comprising:
a casing (Figure 2; 11) of a cylindrical shape (Figure 3; lines 46-47 states 11 is a tubular structure), the casing comprising a set of engagement holes (The holes in Figure 2; 11 for 13) disposed circumferentially (Column 3, lines 60-62) around one end (The end of Figure 2; 11 with the holes for 13) of the casing;
a plurality of ring retainers (The portion of Figure 2; 12 that axially encompasses Figure 2; 12a and the corresponding 13 and 14, and the portion of 12 that axially encompasses 12b and the corresponding 13 and 14. For clarification the portion of Figure 2; 12 to the left of Annotated Figure 2; labeled dashed line and the portion of Figure 2; 12 between Annotated Figure 2; labeled dashed and dotted line) coupled to an inner surface (The inner surface of Figure 2; 11) of the casing, each ring retainer comprising:
a set of pins (Each row of Figure 2; 13) extending from an outer surface (The outer surface of Figure 2; 12a and 12b) of the ring retainer, wherein the set of pins of the ring retainer extend in a parallel configuration (Each row being circumferential is in a parallel configuration) to engage with a subset (The corresponding sets of holes in Figure 2; 11 for 13) of the engagement holes of the casing.
Regarding claim 18, Bonnelie discloses the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie further discloses wherein the set of pins on each ring retainer includes two or more rows of pins parallel to one another (The set of pins include two rows that are parallel to one another).
Regarding claim 19, Bonnelie discloses the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie further discloses wherein the set of pins on each ring retainer includes two or more rows of pins offset to one another (The set of pins include two rows that are offset to one another).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-6, 14, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnelie in view of Khadduri et al (US H001049)
Regarding claim 2, Bonnelie discloses the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie further discloses wherein each ring retainer includes a sloped inner surface (The sloped inner surface of each ring retainer) opposite the outer surface, the joint further comprising:
a fixture (Figure 2; 12, 18) configured to secure a cartridge of the rocket motor inside the casing (Functional Language, Figure 2; 17, 18 can secure a cartridge inside the casing), the fixture comprising:
a lateral portion (The curved portion of Figure 2; 18 that contacts the sloped inner surfaces of the ring retainers) with a frustum shape (The lateral portion has a frustum shape) configured to engage with the sloped inner surfaces of the ring retainers (Functional Language, the lateral portion engages the sloped inner surfaces);
a bottom portion (Figure 2; 17) coupled to an aft end (The left end of Figure 2; 18) of the lateral portion and securable to an end cap of the cartridge (Functional Language, the bottom portion can be secured to an end cap of the cartridge).
Bonnelie does not disclose wherein the fixture is a press fixture.
However, Khadduri teaches wherein a fixture is a press fixture (Figure 1A: 15. Column 4, lines 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bonnelie wherein the fixture is a press fixture as taught by and suggested by Khadduri in order to maximize propellant weight (Column 4, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 5, Bonnelie in view of Khadduri teaches the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie further discloses wherein the lateral portion of the fixture (In the combined invention of Bonnelie in view of Khadduri, this is a press fixture) comprises a sloped outer surface (The sloped outer surface of Figure 2; 18) complementing the sloped inner surface of the ring retainer (In the combined invention of Bonnelie in view of Khadduri, 18 is press fitted into 12 and by doing so, 18 meets the functional limitation of applying an outward force to the ring retainers).
Regarding claim 6, Bonnelie in view of Khadduri teaches the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie further discloses wherein the bottom portion of the fixture (In the combined invention of Bonnelie in view of Khadduri, this is a press fixture) has an annular shape (At least a portion of Figure 2; 17 has an annular shape, such as the portion of 17 above and contacting 18).
Regarding claim 14, Bonnelie discloses the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie further discloses wherein each ring retainer includes a sloped inner surface (The sloped inner surface of each ring retainer) opposite the outer surface, the joint further comprising:
a fixture (Figure 2; 12, 18) configured to secure a casing (Functional Language, Figure 2; 17, 18 can secure a cartridge inside the casing) of the rocket motor inside the casing, the fixture comprising:
a lateral portion (The curved portion of Figure 2; 18 that contacts the sloped inner surfaces of the ring retainers) with a frustum shape (The lateral portion has a frustum shape) configured to engage with the sloped inner surfaces of the ring retainers (Functional Language, the lateral portion engages the sloped inner surfaces);
a bottom portion (Figure 2; 17) coupled to an aft end (The left end of Figure 2; 18) of the lateral portion and securable to an end cap of the cartridge (Functional Language, the bottom portion can be secured to an end cap of the cartridge).
Bonnelie does not disclose wherein the fixture is a press fixture.
However, Khadduri teaches wherein a fixture is a press fixture (Figure 1A: 15. Column 4, lines 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bonnelie wherein the fixture is a press fixture as taught by and suggested by Khadduri in order to maximize propellant weight (Column 4, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 16, Bonnelie in view of Khadduri teaches the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie further discloses wherein the lateral portion of the fixture (In the combined invention of Bonnelie in view of Khadduri, this is a press fixture) comprises a sloped outer surface (The sloped outer surface of Figure 2; 18) complementing the sloped inner surface of the ring retainer (In the combined invention of Bonnelie in view of Khadduri, 18 is press fitted into 12 and by doing so, 18 meets the functional limitation of applying an outward force to the ring retainers).
Regarding claim 17, Bonnelie in view of Khadduri teaches the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie further discloses wherein the bottom portion of the fixture (In the combined invention of Bonnelie in view of Khadduri, this is a press fixture) has an annular shape (At least a portion of Figure 2; 17 has an annular shape, such as the portion of 17 above and contacting 18).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnelie in view of Khadduri as applied to claim 2, 14 above, and further in view of Avery (US 3136119)
Regarding claim 3, Bonnelie in view of Khadduri teaches the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie in view of Khadduri does not teach wherein the press fixture further comprises a set of fasteners for securing the press fixture to the end cap of the cartridge.
However, Avery teaches wherein a fixture (Figure 1; 46, 31) further comprises a set of fasteners (Figure 1; 31) for securing the fixture to an end cap (Figure 1; 26) of a cartridge (Figure 1; 16, 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bonnelie in view of Khadduri wherein the fixture (In the combined invention of Bonnelie in view of Khadduri, this is a press fixture) further comprises a set of fasteners for securing the fixture to the end cap of the cartridge as taught by and suggested by Avery because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Avery’s closure of a rocket cartridge according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Bonnelie in view of Khadduri’s joint, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case to be able to closing an end of a rocket cartridge, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the press fixture securing an end cap of a cartridge).
Regarding claim 4, Bonnelie in view of Khadduri and Averyteaches the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie in view of Khadduri does not teach wherein the plurality of ring fasteners includes one or more of: screws, nuts and bolts, adhesives, pins, and clamps.
However, Avery teaches wherein the plurality of ring fasteners includes one or more of: screws, nuts and bolts (Figure 2; 31 are nuts and bolts), adhesives, pins, and clamps.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bonnelie in view of Khadduri wherein the plurality of ring fasteners includes one or more of: screws, nuts and bolts, adhesives, pins, and clampsas taught by and suggested by Avery because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Avery’s closure of a rocket cartridge according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Bonnelie in view of Khadduri’s joint, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case to be able to closing an end of a rocket cartridge, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (This is the same modification as claim 3).
Regarding claim 15, Bonnelie in view of Khadduri teaches the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie in view of Khadduri does not teach wherein the press fixture further comprises a set of fasteners for securing the press fixture to the end cap of the cartridge.
However, Avery teaches wherein a fixture (Figure 1; 46, 31) further comprises a set of fasteners (Figure 1; 31) for securing the fixture to an end cap (Figure 1; 26) of a cartridge (Figure 1; 16, 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bonnelie in view of Khadduri wherein the fixture (In the combined invention of Bonnelie in view of Khadduri, this is a press fixture) further comprises a set of fasteners for securing the fixture to the end cap of the cartridge as taught by and suggested by Avery because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Avery’s closure of a rocket cartridge according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Bonnelie in view of Khadduri’s joint, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case to be able to closing an end of a rocket cartridge, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the press fixture securing an end cap of a cartridge).
Claim(s) 9, 12, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnelie in view of Yamamoto (US 20230280192).
Regarding claim 9, Bonnelie discloses the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie does not disclose wherein each pin has a droplet shape comprising:
a first portion having a semi-circular shape; and
a second portion coupled to the first portion, the second portion having a triangular shape.
However, Yamamoto teaches wherein a pin has a droplet shape (The droplet shape of Figure 10; 372) comprising:
a first portion (The portion of Figure 10; 372 with a semi-circular shape, Paragraph 0094) having a semi-circular shape; and
a second portion (The portion of Figure 10; 372 with a triangular shape, Paragraph 0094) coupled to the first portion, the second portion having a triangular shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bonnelie wherein each pin has a droplet shape comprising: a first portion having a semi-circular shape; and a second portion coupled to the first portion, the second portion having a triangular shape as taught by and suggested by Yamamoto because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Yamamoto’s use of droplet shape pins according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Bonnelie’s joint, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case retaining two components, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification makes each pin and corresponding hole have a droplet shape).
Regarding claim 12, Bonnelie discloses the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie does not disclose wherein each engagement hole has a droplet shape complementing the droplet shape of the pins.
However, Yamamoto teaches wherein each engagement hole (Figure 10; 352b (352a) has a droplet shape) has a droplet shape complementing a droplet shape of a pin (Figure 10; 372 has a droplet shape).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bonnelie wherein each engagement hole has a droplet shape complementing a droplet shape of the pins as taught by and suggested by Yamamoto because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Yamamoto’s use of droplet shape pins according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Bonnelie’s joint, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case retaining two components, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification makes each pin and corresponding hole have a droplet shape).
Regarding claim 20, Bonnelie discloses the invention as claimed.
Bonnelie does not disclose wherein each pin has a droplet shape comprising:
a first portion having a semi-circular shape; and
a second portion coupled to the first portion, the second portion having a triangular shape.
However, Yamamoto teaches wherein a pin has a droplet shape (The droplet shape of Figure 10; 372) comprising:
a first portion (The portion of Figure 10; 372 with a semi-circular shape, Paragraph 0094) having a semi-circular shape; and
a second portion (The portion of Figure 10; 372 with a triangular shape, Paragraph 0094) coupled to the first portion, the second portion having a triangular shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Bonnelie wherein each pin has a droplet shape comprising: a first portion having a semi-circular shape; and a second portion coupled to the first portion, the second portion having a triangular shape as taught by and suggested by Yamamoto because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Yamamoto’s use of droplet shape pins according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Bonnelie’s joint, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case retaining two components, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification makes each pin and corresponding hole have a droplet shape).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10, 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grooms et al (US 20220034509) in paragraph 0054 that an interference fit is a bonded fit
Grooms et al (US 20220034261) in paragraph 0055 that an interference fit is a bonded fit
Howard et al (US 20150085895) states in Paragraph 0028 that a press fit can be used instead of an adhesive bond
Lacy et al (US 20130094971) states in Paragraph 0033 that a press fit can be used instead of an adhesive bond
Vick et al (US 20120093661) states in Paragraph 0038 that a press fit can be used instead of an adhesive bond
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741