Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to new claims 7-10 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not directly apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: inquiry receiver, obtainer and generator in claims 7-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160071541 A1 to Miner in view of US 20210383124 A1 to Imes.
Consider claim 7, Miner discloses an information processing device comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a plurality of images from each of one or more mobile terminals installed on a plurality of performers (par. [0006]: “Sensors and video cameras … can be worn by participants, can be movable within the venue”; par. [0066] and fig. 11: “Cameras 1100 can be connected to the server storage 1104 over any communication medium that allows for the transmission of the video data 1102”);
an inquiry receiver configured to receive an inquiry including a performer condition for identifying [a performer]
Although Miner discloses inputting/receiving information identifying a user, Miner fails to explicitly disclose inputting/receiving identifying information regarding a plurality of users.
In analogous art, Imes discloses inputting/receiving identifying information regarding a plurality of users ([Abstract]: a system for monitoring athletic activity; par. [0346]-[0348]: generating a combined video using segments of a single player or multiple players; par. [0205], [0232]: receiving a selection of a particular player(s) such as by manual input from a mobile app).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Miner in view of the above teachings of Imes to allow identifying multiple players to be identified for inclusion into a composite video, such as a group of golfers.
Miner in view of Imes further discloses:
an obtainer configured to obtain the plurality of images corresponding to the plurality of performers satisfying the performer condition (Miner: par. [0034] and [0044] as discussed above. Miner obtains the images for a single performer and Imes: par. [0348]: teaches obtaining images for a plurality of performers);
a generator configured to generate one image using the plurality of images obtained by the obtainer (Miner: par. [0014]: “The high resolution files also can be used to generate still images and/or composite images on demand”; par. [0052]: “the clips then can be combined in time order, for example according to time stamps from the sensor data or tag data.” Miner does not teach generating the composite image including a plurality of performers, but Imes: par. [0348]-[0349]: teaches compositing the images from the plurality of performers either in series or in split-screen); and
a transmitter configured to transmit the one image generated by the generator to the user terminal (Miner: par. [0044] and fig. 1: “The compilation system 100 then can provide a list of clips 130, compiled video 106 or other output based on the retrieved video clips 128”; par. [0012]: “For example, an individual may receive a link to a data file stored on a computer, such as a uniform resource locator (URL) for accessing a data file accessible through a server computer on a computer network”).
Consider claim 8, modified Miner discloses the information processing device according to claim 7, wherein the generator is configured to generate the one image by combining the plurality of images in a time series manner or by merging the plurality of images in a spatial manner (Miner: par. [0014]: “The high resolution files also can be used to generate still images and/or composite images on demand”; par. [0052]: “the clips then can be combined in time order, for example according to time stamps from the sensor data or tag data.” Miner does not teach generating the composite image including a plurality of performers, but Imes: par. [0348]-[0349]: teaches compositing the images from the plurality of performers either in series or in split-screen).
The motivation to combine references is the same as regarding claim 7.
Consider claim 10, the method is rejected based on the same rationale as the device of claim 7.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miner in view of Imes, further in view of US 9454993 B1 to Lawson et al., hereinafter “Lawson”.
Consider claim 9, modified Miner discloses the information processing device according to claim 7, further comprising:
a position receiver configured to receive a positional information from each of the one or more mobile terminals (Miner: par. [0034]: “For each participant in an activity being recorded by the system, time-stamped location information can be logged (via RFID, GPS, BlueTooth, WiFi, or any other means of identifying individuals at a specific location);
an object generator configured to generate an operation object including the one or more positional information received by the position receiver for selecting each of the plurality of performers corresponding each of the one or more positional information (Miner: par. [0034]: logging the location for each participant. Miner does not teach selecting more than one participant at the same time, but Imes: par. [0348]: selecting more than on participant at the same time. Imes also teaches: par. [0013]-[0016]: detecting the position of the participants and capturing images of participants within a specified area).
Modified Miner fails to explicitly disclose: an object transmitter configured to transmit the operation object to the user terminal, wherein the inquiry receiver is configured to receive the inquiry based on a selection of the plurality of performers with respect to the operation object, and the obtainer is configured to obtain the image corresponding to the plurality of performers satisfying the inquiry.
In analogous art, modified Miner further in view of Lawson discloses an object transmitter configured to transmit the operation object to the user terminal, wherein the inquiry receiver is configured to receive the inquiry based on a selection of the plurality of performers with respect to the operation object, and the obtainer is configured to obtain the image corresponding to the plurality of performers satisfying the inquiry (Lawson: Col. 3 Ln. 22-37: “a server system, in communication with … user devices each running a mobile application, that receives indications of game actions of players presently engaged, or previously engaged, in a sports game, and associates an indicated game action with a portion of a received video of the sports game”; Col. 7 Ln. 42-64: “The representation includes indications of game actions that one or more players (e.g., players 1-3) have performed during the selected game 14. Each indication of a game action includes a starting location of the player … the user interface 10 may include various game action filters that are selectable to only view certain types of game actions (e.g., shots only, shots resulting in goals only, and so on), or game actions by a particular player or category of players”; Col. 17 Ln. 40-55: “The user device can then present a portion of the video associated with the selected game action”. Note, therefore Lawson discloses selecting a category of player and obtaining associated video clips. Note, Imes is relied on for generating the combined video using segments of a single player or multiple players as discussed regarding claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of modified Miner further in view of the above teachings of Lawson so that a user of the indexed video can view portions of video associated with selected game actions of interest to the user (Lawson: Col. 1 Ln. 55-62).
Conclusion
STEPHEN R. SMITH
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484