Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/21/26, 07/14/26, 04/01/26 and 05/21/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3.) Claim(s) 1-9 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) (a2) as being anticipated by Davis et al. (US Pub No.: 2014/0300805A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Davis et al. disclose a filter module (Optical filter unit 102 and optical element 152 make up a first filter unit rotatably mounted about a pivot point 154, Paragraphs 0051, 0077, 0116-0125; Figures 1B, 5A-5F) usable in conjunction with an imaging apparatus including an imaging element (A camera includes an image sensor within a camera housing that converts light entering the camera housing through an optical filter into digital image data. The camera housing 104 is provided with a lens mount interface 110 for releasable attachment with a corresponding interface 112 of the lens mount 106. The lens mount 106 further includes a lens interface 114 configured to accept and support the lens 108, Abstract; Paragraph 0046; Figure 1B. Image sensor 114 includes an imaging surface sensor on which light is incident, Paragraph 0049; Figure 1B), the filter module comprising:
a first optical filter (Optical filter unit 102 and optical element 152 make up a first filter unit rotatably mounted about a pivot point 154, Paragraphs 0051, 0077, 0116-0125; Figures 1B, 5A-5F);
a first support member supporting the first optical filter (A mechanism is provided along with the lens mount 150 for driving/moving the first optical filter, Paragraphs 0116-0125; Figures 5A-5F); and
a first drive unit moving the first support member (A mechanism is provided along with the lens mount 150 for driving/moving the first optical filter, Paragraphs 0116-0125; Figures 5A-5F),
wherein the filter module is configured to be positioned along an optical axis of the imaging element included in the imaging apparatus (Optical filter unit 102 and optical element 152 make up a first filter unit rotatably mounted about a pivot point 154, Paragraphs 0051, 0077, 0116-0125; Figures 1B, 5A-5F. FIGS. 5A-F sequentially illustrate movement of the substitute optical element 152 into the optical path, and the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. Figure 5A shows the optical filter 102 within the optical path (first filtering position). For instance, FIGS. 5A-C show rotation of the substitute optical element 152 about the pivot point 154 and into the optical path, and FIGS. 5D-F show rotation of the optical filter 102 out of the optical path, Paragraphs 0116-0125; Figures 5A-5F),
the first optical filter being rotationally movable by the first drive unit between a first position (in optical path) and a second position (out of optical path) (FIGS. 5A-F sequentially illustrate movement of the substitute optical element 152 into the optical path, and the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. Figure 5A shows the optical filter 102 within the optical path (first filtering position). For instance, FIGS. 5A-C show rotation of the substitute optical element 152 about the pivot point 154 and into the optical path, and FIGS. 5D-F show rotation of the optical filter 102 out of the optical path, Paragraphs 0116-0125; Figures 5A-5F),
wherein the first position is a position within an imaging range of the imaging element (A controller 116 manages, controls and synchronizes the operation of the optical filter 102 which is in front of the image sensor 114. The lens 108 can include one or more optics and focus incoming light onto a light-sensitive surface of the image sensor 114. The optical filter 102 can additionally or alternatively include one or more rotatable polarizers, an exposure control wafer including perforations, or one or more other optical filters usable to vary the instantaneous illumination on the image sensor 114 over the course of one or more exposures. The lens mount controller 118 and/or the optical filter 102 can include drive electronics for changing the opacity of or otherwise driving the optical filter 102, Paragraphs 0047-0051, 0056-0059; Figures 1B and 5A-5F), and
wherein the second position is a position out of the imaging range of the imaging element (The optical filter can be removed from the optical path and out of the front of the imaging surface, Paragraphs 0126-0130; Figures 5A-5F).
With regard to Claim 2, Davis et al. disclose the filter module according to claim 1, wherein the first drive unit includes a first drive mechanism and a first power source supplying power to the first drive mechanism (Actuation of the mechanism is at least partially electronically or magnetically controlled, and can be initiated via user interaction with a GUI, button, or other camera control. By varying the supply of power to the liquid crystal element, the polarity of the liquid crystal element can be varied so as to control the illumination from opaque to transparent. Drive electronics for driving the optical filter 102, Paragraphs 0051, 0113-0114, 0120-0124).
Regarding Claim 3, Davis et al. disclose the filter module according to claim 2, wherein the first power source is a motor (As shown, the optical filter 102 can be connected to a controller, which may be the lens mount controller 118 described above with respect to FIG. 1A, for example, and may include drive electronics for driving the optical filter 102, Paragraphs 0120-0124).
In regard to Claim 4, Davis et al. disclose the filter module according to claim 2, wherein the first power source is a rotary knob operated by a user (Actuation of the mechanism is achieved via a mechanical control in certain embodiments. For instance, a lever or knob mechanically coupled to the mechanism can be provided on the outside of the lens mount, camera body, or other component housing the mechanism. Actuation of the lever or knob results in movement of the optical filter 102 into and out of the optical path, as desired, Paragraphs 0120-0124).
With regard to Claim 5, Davis et al. disclose the filter module according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second optical filter (Substitute optical element 152, Paragraphs 0116-0124; Figures 5A-5F);
a second support member supporting the second optical filter (Rotation of the substitute optical element 152 about the pivot point 154 and into the optical path, and FIGS. 5D-F show rotation of the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. As shown, the substitute optical element 152 and the optical filter 102 can generally swap positions. When use of the optical filter 102 is desired, a similar process may be used to move the substitute optical element 152 back out of the optical path and to move the optical filter 102 back into the optical path, Paragraph 0120. A mechanism is provided along with the lens mount 150 for driving/moving the second optical filter 152, Paragraphs 0116-0125; Figures 5A-5F); and
a second drive unit moving the second support member (When use of the optical filter 102 is desired, a similar process may be used to move the substitute optical element 152 back out of the optical path and to move the optical filter 102 back into the optical path, Paragraph 0120. A mechanism is provided along with the lens mount 150 for driving/moving the second optical filter 152, Paragraphs 0116-0125; Figures 5A-5F),
wherein the second optical filter being rotationally movable by the second drive unit between the first position and the second position (FIGS. 5A-F sequentially illustrate movement of the substitute optical element 152 into the optical path, and the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. For instance, FIGS. 5A-C show rotation of the substitute optical element 152 about the pivot point 154 and into the optical path, and FIGS. 5D-F show rotation of the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. As shown, the substitute optical element 152 and the optical filter 102 can generally swap positions, Paragraphs 0116-0125; Figures 5A-5F).
Regarding Claim 6, Davis et al. disclose the filter module according to claim 5, wherein when the first optical filter is located at the first position, the second optical filter is located at the second position, and wherein when the second optical filter is located at the first position, the first optical filter is located ate the second position (Rotation of the substitute optical element 152 about the pivot point 154 and into the optical path, and FIGS. 5D-F show rotation of the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. As shown, the substitute optical element 152 and the optical filter 102 can generally swap positions. When use of the optical filter 102 is desired, a similar process may be used to move the substitute optical element 152 back out of the optical path and to move the optical filter 102 back into the optical path, Paragraph 0120. A mechanism is provided along with the lens mount 150 for driving/moving the second optical filter 152, Paragraphs 0116-0125; Figures 5A-5F. FIGS. 5A-F sequentially illustrate movement of the substitute optical element 152 into the optical path, and the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. For instance, FIGS. 5A-C show rotation of the substitute optical element 152 about the pivot point 154 and into the optical path, and FIGS. 5D-F show rotation of the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. As shown, the substitute optical element 152 and the optical filter 102 can generally swap positions, Paragraphs 0116-0125; Figures 5A-5F).
In regard to Claim 7, Davis et al. disclose the filter module according to claim 6, wherein the second drive unit includes a second drive mechanism and a second power source supplying power to the second drive mechanism (Actuation of the mechanism is at least partially electronically or magnetically controlled, and can be initiated via user interaction with a GUI, button, or other camera control. By varying the supply of power to the liquid crystal element, the polarity of the liquid crystal element can be varied so as to control the illumination from opaque to transparent. Drive electronics for driving the optical filter 102, Paragraphs 0051, 0113-0114, 0120-0124. When use of the optical filter 102 is desired, a similar process may be used to move the substitute optical element 152 back out of the optical path and to move the optical filter 102 back into the optical path, Paragraph 0120. A mechanism is provided along with the lens mount 150 for driving/moving the second optical filter 152, Paragraphs 0116-0125; Figures 5A-5F. The controller 116 can provide a signal to the lens mount controller 118 to cause the substitute element to be moved or removed from the optical path in accordance with the instruction, Paragraphs 0051, 0113, 0114, 0124, 0128).
With regard to Claim 8, Davis et al. disclose the filter module according to claim 5, wherein the first drive unit includes a first drive mechanism and a first power source supplying power to the first drive mechanism, wherein the second drive unit includes a second drive mechanism and a second power source supplying power to the second drive mechanism, and wherein the first and second power sources are a common power source (Actuation of the mechanism is at least partially electronically or magnetically controlled, and can be initiated via user interaction with a GUI, button, or other camera control. By varying the supply of power to the liquid crystal element, the polarity of the liquid crystal element can be varied so as to control the illumination from opaque to transparent. Drive electronics for driving the optical filter 102, Paragraphs 0051, 0113-0114, 0120-0124. When use of the optical filter 102 is desired, a similar process may be used to move the substitute optical element 152 back out of the optical path and to move the optical filter 102 back into the optical path, Paragraph 0120. A mechanism is provided along with the lens mount 150 for driving/moving the second optical filter 152, Paragraphs 0116-0125; Figures 5A-5F. The controller 116 can provide a signal to the lens mount controller 118 to cause the substitute element to be moved or removed from the optical path in accordance with the instruction, Paragraphs 0051, 0113, 0114, 0124, 0128).
Regarding Claim 9, Davis et al. disclose the filter module according to claim 5, wherein the first and second optical filters is rotated about a common rotation center line (FIGS. 5A-F sequentially illustrate movement of the substitute optical element 152 into the optical path, and the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. For instance, FIGS. 5A-C show rotation of the substitute optical element 152 about the pivot point 154 and into the optical path, and FIGS. 5D-F show rotation of the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. As shown, the substitute optical element 152 and the optical filter 102 can generally swap positions in the illustrated embodiment, which can minimize the real estate and foot print required to house the mechanism, Paragraphs 0118-0120; Figures 5A-5F).
With regard to Claim 13, Davis et al. disclose the filter module according to claim 1, wherein when the imaging apparatus including a lens mount to which a lens device is detachably attached (A lens mount includes the variable opacity optical filter and is releasably attachable to the housing. The lens mount is configured to accept a lens assembly, Paragraph 0005; Figure 3), the first optical filter is located in an extending direction of an optical axis of the imaging apparatus between imaging element and the lens mount (The lens 108 can be supported by the lens mount 106 and camera housing 104 in a manner that leaves the lens 108 exposed at the outer surface of the camera housing 104. The lens 108 can include one or more optics and focus incoming light onto a light-sensitive surface of the image sensor 114. The lens mount controller 118 can also control operation of the optical filter 102, e.g., at the direction of the controller 116. The optical filter 102 can be an electronically-controllable optical element, Paragraphs 0050-0052, 0119-0125; Figure 3. FIGS. 5A-F sequentially illustrate movement of the substitute optical element 152 into the optical path, and the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. For instance, FIGS. 5A-C show rotation of the substitute optical element 152 about the pivot point 154 and into the optical path, and FIGS. 5D-F show rotation of the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. As shown, the substitute optical element 152 and the optical filter 102 can generally swap positions in the illustrated embodiment, which can minimize the real estate and foot print required to house the mechanism, Paragraphs 0118-0120; Figures 5A-5F).
In regard to Claim 14, Davis et al. disclose the filter module according to claim 5, wherein when the imaging apparatus including a lens mount to which a lens device is detachably attached (A lens mount includes the variable opacity optical filter and is releasably attachable to the housing. The lens mount is configured to accept a lens assembly, Paragraph 0005; Figure 3), the second optical filter is located in an extending direction of an optical axis of the imaging apparatus between imaging element and the lens mount (The lens 108 can be supported by the lens mount 106 and camera housing 104 in a manner that leaves the lens 108 exposed at the outer surface of the camera housing 104. The lens 108 can include one or more optics and focus incoming light onto a light-sensitive surface of the image sensor 114. The lens mount controller 118 can also control operation of the optical filter 102, e.g., at the direction of the controller 116. The optical filter 102 can be an electronically-controllable optical element, Paragraphs 0050-0052, 0119-0125; Figure 3. FIGS. 5A-F sequentially illustrate movement of the substitute optical element 152 into the optical path, and the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. For instance, FIGS. 5A-C show rotation of the substitute optical element 152 about the pivot point 154 and into the optical path, and FIGS. 5D-F show rotation of the optical filter 102 out of the optical path. As shown, the substitute optical element 152 and the optical filter 102 can generally swap positions in the illustrated embodiment, which can minimize the real estate and foot print required to house the mechanism, Paragraphs 0118-0120; Figures 5A-5F).
Regarding Claim 15, Davis et al. disclose the filter module according to claim 5, wherein the first optical filter is an optical filter having a changeable light transmittance (Light passing through the optical filter 102 in some cases is color shifted. The optical filter 102 can include a liquid crystal panel that can pass more blue light than other colors of light as the opacity of the optical filter 102 increases. This effect may occur when the optical filter 102 is operating in the neutral density mode, for example, and relative amount of blue shift may generally increase with an increasing neutral density filtering stop value. Thus, the sensor can generate image data during capture that is biased towards blue such that blue values of the image data can be relatively higher than values for other colors of the image data. Depending on the type of the optical filter 102 used, other types of color shifting may occur (e.g., a shift in red, green, a shift in two colors, etc.). As another example, the white point of light passing through the optical filter 102 may shift, e.g., when the optical filter 102 is operating in a temporal filtering mode, Paragraph 0097), and wherein the second optical filter is an optical filter having a fixed light transmittance (A substitute optical element configured to mechanically move into the optical path in place of the variable opacity optical filter when the variable opacity optical filter is moved out of the optical path. The camera can include an actuator actuatable by a user to effect the movement of the variable opacity optical filter into and out of the optical path. The substitute optical element can include substantially transparent material, such as glass, Paragraphs 0019, 0116-0117; Figures 5A-5F).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.) Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US Pub No.: 2014/0300805A1) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Ozawa et al. (US Pub No.: 2015/0212394A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Davis et al. do not explicitly disclose the filter module according to claim 1, wherein the first optical filter is rotatable by 90 degrees between the first and second positions. Ozawa et al. teach of a filter module wherein first optical filter is rotatable by 90 degrees between the first and second positions, (Ozawa et al. teach of a camera that has an optical unit includes: a base plate; a plurality of openings which is provided on the base plate and each of which has a substantially rectangular opening shape having long sides and short sides; and a plurality of optical components each of which covers any of the plurality of openings. The plurality of openings is disposed to be cyclically placed in one optical path through rotation of the base plate, and is disposed such that a part of a long side of each opening thereof faces a part of a short side of another opening thereof adjacent thereto, Abstract and Figures 4-5 of Ozawa et al.. Ozawa et al. teach of a base plate 181 having a discoidal shape (a shape of the XY plane is circular), and the plurality of (here, four) optical components 18A to 18D held on the base plate 181. The optical components 18A to 18D are optical filters that have optical functions such as functions of controlling transmittances, wavelengths, or polarization of light. Examples of such optical filters includes an ND filter (dark filter), a PL filter (polarization filter), and the like. As the optical components 18A to 18D, (plural types of) optical filters having functions different from one another are used, Paragraph 0046 of Ozawa et al.. When the base plate 181 is rotated, the shapes and the positions are designed to coincide with one another for every 90 degrees, Paragraphs 0054-0055 and Figures 4-5 of Ozawa et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the first optical filter in the teachings of Davis et al. to be rotatable by 90 degrees between the first and second positions as taught by Ozawa et al., because doing so helps provide for an efficient use of space, Paragraphs 0009-0011, 0054-0055 of Ozawa et al.).
With regard to Claim 11, Davis et al. do not explicitly disclose the filter module according to claim 5, wherein the second optical filter is rotatable by 90 degrees between the first and second positions. Ozawa et al. teach of a filter module wherein a second optical filter is rotatable by 90 degrees between first and second positions, (Ozawa et al. teach of a camera that has an optical unit includes: a base plate; a plurality of openings which is provided on the base plate and each of which has a substantially rectangular opening shape having long sides and short sides; and a plurality of optical components each of which covers any of the plurality of openings. The plurality of openings is disposed to be cyclically placed in one optical path through rotation of the base plate, and is disposed such that a part of a long side of each opening thereof faces a part of a short side of another opening thereof adjacent thereto, Abstract and Figures 4-5 of Ozawa et al.. Ozawa et al. teach of a base plate 181 having a discoidal shape (a shape of the XY plane is circular), and the plurality of (here, four) optical components 18A to 18D held on the base plate 181. The optical components 18A to 18D are optical filters that have optical functions such as functions of controlling transmittances, wavelengths, or polarization of light. Examples of such optical filters includes an ND filter (dark filter), a PL filter (polarization filter), and the like. As the optical components 18A to 18D, (plural types of) optical filters having functions different from one another are used, Paragraph 0046 of Ozawa et al.. When the base plate 181 is rotated, the shapes and the positions are designed to coincide with one another for every 90 degrees, Paragraphs 0054-0055 and Figures 4-5 of Ozawa et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the second optical filter in the teachings of Davis et al. to be rotatable by 90 degrees between the first and second positions as taught by Ozawa et al., because doing so helps provide for an efficient use of space, Paragraphs 0009-0011, 0054-0055 of Ozawa et al.).
5.) Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638