Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,368,139 B2.
As set forth below, the chart identifies which claims from the current application corresponds to conflicting claims found in the cited US Patent.
Current Application
USPAT 11,368,139 B2
1
1
2
1
3
3
4
6
6
6
As disclosed in the chart above, the US patent claims 1, 3 and 6 substantially recite the same limitations recited in claims 1-4 and 6 of the current application as listed above. However, the following differences between the US patent claims and the current application claims are present as set forth below:
The US patent claim 1 has the additional limitation of wherein a first reflector element proximate and parallel to the first finger and a second reflector element proximate and parallel to the n’th finger (i.e. last finger) which isn’t required in the present application claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1, 3 and 6 of the patent meets claims 1-4 and 6 of the present application under an “anticipation” analysis in an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,341,490 B2.
The US patent claim 4 substantially recite the same limitations recited in claim 1 of the current application. However, the following differences between the US patent claim and the current application claim is present as set forth below:
The US patent claim 4 has the additional limitation of the piezoelectric layer forming a diaphragm which isn’t required in the present application claim 1.
Therefore, claim 4 of the patent meets claim 1 of the present application under an “anticipation” analysis in an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,341,493 B2.
The US patent claim 3 substantially recite the same limitations recited in claim 1 of the current application. However, the following differences between the US patent claim and the current application claim is present as set forth below:
The US patent claim 3 has the additional limitation of the piezoelectric layer forming a diaphragm which isn’t required in the present application claim 1.
Therefore, claim 3 of the patent meets claim 1 of the present application under an “anticipation” analysis in an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,040,779 B2.
The US patent claim 4 substantially recite the same limitations recited in claim 1 of the current application. However, the following differences between the US patent claim and the current application claim is present as set forth below:
The US patent claim 4 has the additional limitation of wherein the IDT is configured to excite a primary shear acoustic mode in the piezoelectric layer which isn’t required in the present application claim 1.
Therefore, claim 4 of the patent meets claim 1 of the present application under an “anticipation” analysis in an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,040,783 B2.
As set forth below, the chart identifies which claims from the current application corresponds to conflicting claims found in the cited US Patent.
Current Application
USPAT 12,040,783
1
1
2
1
3
4
4
2
6
2
7
1
8
1
9
1
10
1
As disclosed in the chart above, the US patent claims 1, 2 and 4 substantially recite the same limitations recited in claims 1-4 and 6-10 of the current application as listed above. However, the following differences between the US patent claims and the current application claims are present as set forth below:
The US patent claim 1 has the additional limitation of the piezoelectric layer forming a diaphragm which isn’t required in the present application claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1, 2 and 4 of the patent meets claims 1-4 and 6-10 of the present application under an “anticipation” analysis in an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,278,617 B2.
As set forth below, the chart identifies which claims from the current application corresponds to conflicting claims found in the cited US Patent.
Current Application
USPAT 12,278,617 B2
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
4
7
8
8
8
9
8
10
8
As disclosed in the chart above, the US patent claims 1-5 and 8 substantially recite the same limitations recited in claims 1-10 of the current application as listed above. However, the following differences between the US patent claims and the current application claims are present as set forth below:
The US patent claim 1 has the additional limitation of having an acoustic Bragg reflector between a surface of the substrate and a back surface of the piezoelectric layer which isn’t required in claim 1 of the present application.
Therefore, claims 1-5 and 8 of the patent meets claims 1-10 of the present application under an “anticipation” analysis in an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,255,618 B2.
As set forth below, the chart identifies which claims from the current application corresponds to conflicting claims found in the cited US Patent.
Current Application
USPAT 12,255,618 B2
1
1
3
3
As disclosed in the chart above, the US patent claims 1 and 3 substantially recite the same limitations recited in claims 1 and 3 of the current application as listed above. However, the following differences between the US patent claims and the current application claims are present as set forth below:
The US patent claim 1 has the additional limitation of wherein the IDT is configured to excite a primary shear acoustic mode in the piezoelectric layer which isn’t required in the present application claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1 and 3 of the patent meets claims 1 and 3 of the present application under an “anticipation” analysis in an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US 2006/0152107 A1, Cited by Applicant).
In regards to claim 1, Tanaka teaches in annotated Fig. 1 below an acoustic lamb wave resonator device (20) comprising the following:
A piezoelectric layer (10); and
A conductor pattern formed at a top surface of the piezoelectric plate (100), the conductor pattern comprising:
An interdigital transducer (IDT) (21 and 22) including a first busbar (upper busbar), a second busbar (lower busbar), and interleaved parallel fingers (21A and 21B) extending from respective first top busbar and second bottom busbar, wherein the interleaved parallel fingers comprising a first finger (Annotated Finger F1) and a last finger (Annotated Finger F2) at opposing ends of the IDT;
A right first reflector element (Annotated Finger F3) proximate and parallel to the rightmost IDT first finger (Annotated Finger F1); and a left second reflector element (Annotated Element F4) proximate and parallel to the leftmost IDT last finger (Annotated Finger F2);
Tanaka discloses a distance pr between the first reflector element and the first finger and between the second reflector element and the last finger is set to (1/2)nλ where n is an integer (see section [0063], lines 8-13 thereof) so that if n=1 then the distance pr = λ/2 and does equal the pitch of the IDT (pitch = p = λ/2), but if n is any other integer greater than 1, such as 2, then the distance pr = λ = 2.0 times a pitch p of the IDT which is greater than a pitch p of the IDT resulting in the center-to-center space from the first reflector element to the first finger and the second reflector element to the last finger to be greater than the pitch of the IDT.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2006/0152107 A1, Cited by Applicant) in view of Mineyoshi et al. (USPAT 5,631,515).
As disclosed above, Tanaka teaches the claimed invention as recited in claim 1. Tanaka does not teach: in regards to claim 3, wherein a mark/width of the first and second reflector elements is configured to improve a Q-factor of the device at a predetermined frequency.
Mineyoshi et al. discloses that it would have been known to improve the energy trapping of a resonator by appropriately choosing the width/mark L6 (see Figs. 3 and 4) of the reflector elements as relating to that of the IDT, wherein for Fig. 3 an “extremely high enclosure efficiency” can be obtained at a particular reflector element width L6 (see col. 7, lines 20-25). Improving energy trapping, a.k.a. “enclosure efficiency”, increases a Q-factor, by definition of Q-factor as admitted and evidenced by Applicant’s supporting definition of Q-factor (see e.g. the specification section [0043], lines 1-3 thereof) because if “total energy dissipated or lost” (ibid.) is minimized so that energy trapping or enclosure is improved, then the Q-factor is necessarily and inherently by definition increased.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the acoustic resonator of Tanaka by having selected the width/“mark” of the reflector elements of the resonators to increase the Q-factor of the device at a predetermined frequency because designing such acoustic wave resonator to have increased Q-factor by improving energy trapping/enclosure efficiency and minimizing loss at predetermined frequencies would have been a desirable result in the art as evidenced by Mineyoshi (see e.g. col. 7, lines 20-30 and col. 9, lines 18-20), and because Mineyoshi specifically suggests that the width/“mark” L6 (see e.g. Mineyoshi Fig. 3) be chosen to increase Q-factor by increasing energy trapping and minimizing loss (ibid.) wherein such a benefit as increased Q-factor to be achieved would have motivated one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the modification.
Claims 4-6, 12, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2006/0152107 A1, Cited by Applicant) in view of Maehara et al. (USPAT 6,570,470).
As disclosed above, Tanaka teaches the claimed invention as recited in claim 1 and teaches most of the limitations recited in claim 12. Tanaka does not teach: in regards to claims 4 and 17, wherein the first reflector element is connected to a same one of the first busbar and the second busbar as the first finger, and the second reflector element is connected to a same one of the first busbar and the second busbar as the last finger; in regards to claims 5 and 18, wherein the first reflector element is connected to an opposite one of the first busbar and the second busbar as the first finger, and the second reflector element is connected to an opposite one of the first busbar and the second busbar as the last finger; and in regards to claim 6, wherein either the first reflector extends from one of the first busbar or the second busbar, and the second reflector extends from one of the first busbar or the second busbar; in regards to claim 12, a plurality of bulk acoustic resonators.
Maehara et al. shows and provides evidence that it would have been well known in the art to use acoustic wave resonators to form a bandpass ladder filter (see Fig. 1) in which the ladder filter can be form by either not connecting the reflector fingers to the busbars as in the series resonators (54-56), or to alternatively connect the reflector fingers to the same busbars as the nearest IDT finger as in the parallel resonators (58 and 59), where for example, in resonator (59) a first reflector element (59b) is connected to a same rightmost IDT busbar as adjacent IDT first finger (59a), and a second reflector element (59c) is connected to a same leftmost IDT busbar as adjacent last IDT finger (59a) which is done for ease of electrical connections to the parallel resonators. Furthermore, Maehara et al. Fig. 4 shows all of the resonators including the series resonators having the reflector fingers connected to a same busbar or opposite busbar as an adjacent IDT finger.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the acoustic resonator device of Tanaka in a ladder filter and have connected the reflectors to a same busbar or opposite busbar as the adjacent IDT finger at each opposing end thereof as suggested by the exemplary teaching of Maehara et al. (see e.g. resonators 58, 59 in Fig. 1), because such an obvious modification would have been a mere art recognized alternative as evidenced by Maehara et al. (see the Fig. 1 reflectors in resonators 58-59 vs. the reflectors in resonators 54-56) which would have provided the advantageous benefits of forming a bandpass filter having compact electrical connection to the parallel resonators without other dedicated lines, wherein such benefits to be achieved would have motivated one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the modification. As an obvious consequence of the modification, the ladder filter will comprise a plurality of lamb acoustic wave resonators, in which a lamb wave comprises a portion of the wave in the bulk of the piezoelectric layer, therefore, the plurality of lamb acoustic wave resonators can be considered to be a plurality of bulk acoustic wave resonators.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 13-16, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843