DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) as follows:
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 16/197,911, filed 11/21/2018, and Application No. 14/207,813, filed 3/13/2014, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application. Accordingly, the effective filing date of the claimed invention is 10/05/2021.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first interlocking feature in claim 1 and second interlocking feature in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first interlocking features" in 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been interpreted as “the first interlocking feature”.
Claims 2-14 are rejected for their dependency on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyodo (US 2011/0288579 A1) in view of Siegal (US 2008/0208255 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hyodo discloses a surgical device (see for example manipulator 1, while reference is made to the embodiment of Fig. 1 for like parts, the embodiment of Figs. 11A-11C is being used in the current rejection), comprising: a first clamp jaw (see for example lower gripping member 16, which is replaced by an opposing gripping member of the gripping member 73 of Figs. 11A-11C); a second clamp jaw (gripping member 73) rotatably coupled to the first clamp jaw such that the first clamp jaw and the second clamp jaw pivot between a first unclamped position (Fig. 11A) and a second clamped position (Fig. 11C), the second clamp jaw (73) comprising: an inner profile (grasping face 73A); and a deflection control profile opposite the inner profile (profile of surface opposing 73A; Fig. 11A), wherein the deflection control profile comprises a first abutment surface (single planar surface formed on one side of first stopper 75A) formed in the second clamp jaw (73) and a second abutment surface (single planar surface formed on the opposing side of the first stopper 75A; Fig. 11A) formed in the second clamp jaw, wherein in the first unclamped position (Fig. 11A), the first abutment surface is disposed remote from the second abutment surface (as there is a gap between the first stopper surfaces), and wherein in the second clamped position (Fig. 11C), all or a portion of the first abutment surface contacts all or a portion of the second abutment surface (as the gap between the first stopper surfaces is closed); wherein in the first unclamped position (Fig. 11A), the inner profile (73A) of the second clamp jaw has a first shape (linear shape) and in the second clamped position (Fig. 11C), the inner profile (73A) of the second clamp jaw has a second shape (curved or bent shape).
Hyodo fails to disclose wherein the first abutment surface includes a first interlocking feature and the second abutment surface includes a second interlocking feature, and wherein in the second clamped position the first interlocking feature operatively engages the second interlocking feature.
However, Siegal teaches an elongated element (Figs. 15A-15B) with a deflection control profile (side of segments 12 with cutouts) opposite an inner profile (side of segments 12 without cutouts), wherein the deflection control profile comprises a first abutment surface (abutment surface 18) and a second abutment surface (abutment surface 16), wherein the first abutment surface (18) includes a first interlocking feature (interpreted under 112(f) as a protrusion and equivalents thereof, and Siegal teaches projecting ridges 36; Fig. 15A; [0112]) and the second abutment surface (16) includes a second interlocking feature (interpreted under 112(f) as a channel and equivalents thereof, and Siegal teaches slots 34), and wherein in a second clamped position (Fig. 15B) the first interlocking feature (36) operatively engages the second interlocking feature (34; Fig. 15B; [0112]) for the purpose of providing various forms of interlocking, thereby improving mechanic stability of the predefined curved configuration ([0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second abutment surfaces of Hyodo to include first and second interlocking features as claimed, as taught by Siegal in order to improve mechanic stability of the predefined curved configuration in the clamped configuration.
Regarding claim 2, Hyodo modified discloses wherein the first interlocking feature (36) of the first abutment surface (18) is a protrusion (projecting ridge; Fig. 15A of Siegal), and the second interlocking feature (34) of the second abutment surface (16) is a channel (slot; Fig. 15A of Siegal), and in the second clamped position, all or a portion of the first abutment surface contacts all or a portion of the second abutment surface such that all or a portion of the protrusion (36) of the first abutment surface is received into the channel (34) of the second abutment surface (as projecting ridges 36 are configured for engaging slots 34; [0112]; Fig. 15B of Siegal).
Regarding claim 3, Hyodo modified discloses wherein in the first unclamped position (Fig. 15A of Siegal), the protrusion (36) of the first abutment surface (18) is disposed external to the channel (34) of the second abutment surface (16; Fig. 15A of Siegal).
Regarding claim 4, Hyodo modified discloses wherein the protrusion (36 of Siegal) of the first abutment surface (18) has a first uniform cross-sectional shape along the length of the protrusion (Fig. 15A) and the channel (34 of Siegal) of the second abutment surface (16) has a second uniform cross-sectional shape along the length of the channel (Fig. 15A of Siegal).
Regarding claim 5, Hyodo modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Hyodo further discloses the second clamp jaw (73) further comprising a flexion assistance void (circular opening of first buffer part 76A) formed in the second clamp jaw, wherein the flexion assistance void is defined by one or more surfaces (surface(s) along circular opening; Fig. 11A).
Regarding claim 6, Hyodo modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Hyodo further discloses wherein a first portion (half of circular opening of 76A) of the one or more surfaces defining the flexion assistance void is in contact with or adjacent to a portion of a surface at least partially defining the first abutment surface (planar surface of 75A; Fig. 11A).
Regarding claim 7, Hyodo modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Hyodo further discloses wherein a second portion (other half of circular opening of 76A) of the one or more surfaces defining the flexion assistance void is in contact with or adjacent to a portion of a surface at least partially defining the second abutment surface (opposing planar surface of 75A; Fig. 11A).
Regarding claim 8, Hyodo modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Hyodo further discloses wherein a first planar surface (planar surface on one side of first stopper 76A) at least partially defines the first abutment surface and a second planar surface (planar surface on other side of first stopper 76A) at least partially defines the second abutment surface (Fig. 11A), wherein in the first unclamped position (Fig. 11A), the first planar surface and the second planar surface cooperate to define a slot (gap between surfaces of 76A) formed in the second clamp jaw (Fig. 11A).
Regarding claim 9, Hyodo modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Hyodo further discloses wherein the flexion assistance void is defined by a plurality of surfaces (Fig. 11A) but fails to disclose the plurality of surfaces cooperate to form a substantially triangular shape. Instead, the flexion assistance void is formed in a substantially circular shape (76A; Fig. 11A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the flexion assistance void of modified Hyodo to be substantially triangular instead of substantially circular as an obvious matter of design choice, since applicant has not disclosed that the triangular shape solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the claimed shape. For example, applicant states “other embodiments may use other shapes” [0060], including flexion assistance voids 202 “which are substantially circular” [0068], equivalent to those disclosed by Hyodo.
Regarding claim 11, Hyodo modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Hyodo further discloses the second clamp jaw (73) further comprising a plurality of flexion assistance voids (openings of 76A, 76B) formed in the second clamp jaw (Fig. 11A), and wherein each of the plurality of flexion assistance voids is defined by one or more surfaces (circular surfaces surrounding 76A, 76B).
Regarding claim 12, Hyodo modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Hyodo further discloses wherein the first abutment surface (single planar surface formed on one side of first stopper 75A) and the second abutment surface (single planar surface formed on the opposing side of the first stopper 75A; Fig. 11A) define a first set of abutment surfaces (Fig. 11A) formed in the second clamp jaw, and the deflection control profile comprises at least a second set of abutment surfaces (set of planar surfaces at 74B) and a third set of abutment surfaces (while only two sets are shown, three or more buffer parts i.e. sets of abutment surfaces may be provided; [0099]).
Regarding claim 13, Hyodo modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Hyodo further discloses wherein the inner profile (73A) comprises a smooth surface (as surface 73A is smooth; Fig. 11A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sauer (US 2015/0257776 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sauer discloses a surgical device (Figs. 1A, 16A, 16B, wherein the surgical clamp jaw 256 may replace jaw 32; [0075]), comprising: a first clamp jaw (30); a second clamp jaw (256) rotatably coupled to the first clamp jaw such that the first clamp jaw and the second clamp jaw pivot between a first unclamped position (Fig. 2A) and a second clamped position (Fig. 2B), the second clamp jaw (256) comprising: an inner profile (inner surface of 256); and a deflection control profile (outer surface of 256) opposite the inner profile (Figs. 16A-16B), wherein the deflection control profile comprises a first abutment surface (260A) formed in the second clamp jaw and a second abutment surface (260B) formed in the second clamp jaw, wherein the first abutment surface includes a first interlocking feature (258A) and the second abutment surface includes a second interlocking feature (258B); wherein in the first unclamped position, the first abutment surface is disposed remote from the second abutment surface (Fig. 16A), and wherein in the second clamped position, all or a portion of the first abutment surface contacts all or a portion of the second abutment surface such that the first interlocking features operatively engages the second interlocking feature (Fig. 16B), and wherein in the first unclamped position, the inner profile of the second clamp jaw has a first shape (Fig. 16A) and in the second clamped position, the inner profile of the second clamp jaw has a second shape (see for example, Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 2, Sauer discloses wherein the first interlocking feature (258A) of the first abutment surface is a protrusion (Fig. 16B), and the second interlocking feature (258B) of the second abutment surface is a channel (Fig. 16B), and in the second clamped position, all or a portion of the first abutment surface contacts all or a portion of the second abutment surface such that all or a portion of the protrusion of the first abutment surface is received into the channel of the second abutment surface (see for example, Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 3, Sauer discloses wherein in the first unclamped position, the protrusion of the first abutment surface is disposed external to the channel of the second abutment surface (Fig. 16B).
Regarding claim 4, Sauer discloses wherein the protrusion of the first abutment surface has a first uniform cross-sectional shape along the length of the protrusion and the channel of the second abutment surface has a second uniform cross-sectional shape along the length of the channel (Fig. 16B).
Regarding claim 5, Sauer discloses the second clamp jaw further comprising a flexion assistance void (see for example, 136, Fig. 5B) formed in the second clamp jaw, wherein the flexion assistance void is defined by one or more surfaces (Figs. 16A-16B).
Regarding claim 6, Sauer discloses wherein a first portion of the one or more surfaces defining the flexion assistance void is in contact with or adjacent to a portion of a surface at least partially defining the first abutment surface (Figs. 16A-16B).
Regarding claim 7, Sauer discloses wherein a second portion of the one or more surfaces defining the flexion assistance void is in contact with or adjacent to a portion of a surface at least partially defining the second abutment surface (Figs. 16A-16B).
Regarding claim 8, Sauer discloses wherein a first planar surface at least partially defines the first abutment surface and a second planar surface at least partially defines the second abutment surface (Figs. 16A-16B), wherein in the first unclamped position, the first planar surface and the second planar surface cooperate to define a slot formed in the second clamp jaw (Figs. 16A-16B).
Regarding claim 9, Sauer discloses wherein the flexion assistance void is defined by a plurality of surfaces, and the plurality of surfaces cooperate to form a substantially triangular shape (Figs. 16A-16B).
Regarding claim 10, Sauer discloses wherein in the first shape, at least a portion on the inner profile has a concave shape (Fig. 16A), and in the second shape, at least a portion on the inner profile has a convex shape (as jaw 256 may be in a clamped shape similar to jaw 160 in Fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 11, Sauer discloses the second clamp jaw further comprising a plurality of flexion assistance voids (see for example, 136, Fig. 5B) formed in the second clamp jaw, and wherein each of the plurality of flexion assistance voids is defined by one or more surfaces (Figs. 16A-16B).
Regarding claim 12, Sauer discloses wherein the first abutment surface and the second abutment surface define a first set of abutment surfaces formed in the second clamp jaw, and the deflection control profile comprises at least a second set of abutment surfaces and a third set of abutment surfaces (Figs. 16A-16B).
Regarding claim 13, Sauer discloses wherein the inner profile comprises a smooth surface (Fig. 16A).
Regarding claim 14, Sauer discloses wherein in the first shape, at least a portion on the inner profile has a first concave shape (Fig. 16A), and in the second shape, at least a portion on the inner profile has a second concave shape that is different than the first concave shape (as jaw 256 may be in a clamped shaped similar to jaw 140 in Fig. 6C).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 in view of Siegal (US 2008/0208255 A1).
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 claims a surgical device, comprising: a first clamp jaw (claims 1, lines 1-2); a second clamp jaw rotatably coupled to the first clamp jaw such that the first clamp jaw and the second clamp jaw pivot between a first unclamped position and a second clamped position (claim 1, lines 3-6), the second clamp jaw comprising: an inner profile (claim 1, line 8); and a deflection control profile opposite the inner profile, wherein the deflection control profile comprises a first abutment surface formed in the second clamp jaw and a second abutment surface formed in the second clamp jaw (claim 1, lines 9-13); wherein in the first unclamped position, the first abutment surface is disposed remote from the second abutment surface, and wherein in the second clamped position, all or a portion of the first abutment surface contacts all or a portion of the second abutment surface (claim 1, lines 14-18), and wherein in the first unclamped position, the inner profile of the second clamp jaw has a first shape and in the second clamped position, the inner profile of the second clamp jaw has a second shape (claim 1, lines 19-22).
U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 fails to claim wherein the first abutment surface includes a first interlocking feature and the second abutment surface includes a second interlocking feature, and wherein in the second clamped position the first interlocking feature operatively engages the second interlocking feature.
However, Siegal teaches an elongated element (Figs. 15A-15B) with a deflection control profile (side of segments 12 with cutouts) opposite an inner profile (side of segments 12 without cutouts), wherein the deflection control profile comprises a first abutment surface (abutment surface 18) and a second abutment surface (abutment surface 16), wherein the first abutment surface (18) includes a first interlocking feature (interpreted under 112(f) as a protrusion and equivalents thereof, and Siegal teaches projecting ridges 36; Fig. 15A; [0112]) and the second abutment surface (16) includes a second interlocking feature (interpreted under 112(f) as a channel and equivalents thereof, and Siegal teaches slots 34), and wherein in a second clamped position (Fig. 15B) the first interlocking feature (36) operatively engages the second interlocking feature (34; Fig. 15B; [0112]) for the purpose of providing various forms of interlocking, thereby improving mechanic stability of the predefined curved configuration ([0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second abutment surfaces of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 to include first and second interlocking features as claimed, as taught by Siegal in order to improve mechanic stability of the predefined curved configuration in the clamped configuration.
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 modified discloses wherein the first interlocking feature (36) of the first abutment surface (18) is a protrusion (projecting ridge; Fig. 15A of Siegal), and the second interlocking feature (34) of the second abutment surface (16) is a channel (slot; Fig. 15A of Siegal), and in the second clamped position, all or a portion of the first abutment surface contacts all or a portion of the second abutment surface such that all or a portion of the protrusion (36) of the first abutment surface is received into the channel (34) of the second abutment surface (as projecting ridges 36 are configured for engaging slots 34; [0112]; Fig. 15B of Siegal).
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 modified discloses wherein in the first unclamped position (Fig. 15A of Siegal), the protrusion (36) of the first abutment surface (18) is disposed external to the channel (34) of the second abutment surface (16; Fig. 15A of Siegal).
Regarding claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 modified discloses wherein the protrusion (36 of Siegal) of the first abutment surface (18) has a first uniform cross-sectional shape along the length of the protrusion (Fig. 15A) and the channel (34 of Siegal) of the second abutment surface (16) has a second uniform cross-sectional shape along the length of the channel (Fig. 15A of Siegal).
Regarding claim 14, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 modified claims the invention as disclosed above, and further claims wherein in the first shape, at least a portion on the inner profile has a first concave shape, and in the second shape, at least a portion on the inner profile has a second concave shape that is different than the first concave shape (claim 1, lines 23-27).
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 in view of Siegal (US 2008/0208255 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 claims the second clamp jaw further comprising a flexion assistance void formed in the second clamp jaw, wherein the flexion assistance void is defined by one or more surfaces (claim 2, lines 1-4).
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 in view of Siegal (US 2008/0208255 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 claims wherein a first portion of the one or more surfaces defining the flexion assistance void is in contact with or adjacent to a portion of a surface at least partially defining the first abutment surface (claim 3, lines 1-4).
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 in view of Siegal (US 2008/0208255 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 claims wherein a second portion of the one or more surfaces defining the flexion assistance void is in contact with or adjacent to a portion of a surface at least partially defining the second abutment surface (claim 4, lines 1-5).
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 in view of Siegal (US 2008/0208255 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 claims wherein a first planar surface at least partially defines the first abutment surface and a second planar surface at least partially defines the second abutment surface, wherein in the first unclamped position, the first planar surface and the second planar surface cooperate to define a slot formed in the second clamp jaw (claim 5, lines 1-7).
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 in view of Siegal (US 2008/0208255 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 claims wherein the flexion assistance void is defined by a plurality of surfaces, and the plurality of surfaces cooperate to form a substantially triangular shape (claim 6, lines 1-4).
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 in view of Siegal (US 2008/0208255 A1).
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 claims a surgical device, comprising: a first clamp jaw (claims 10, lines 1-2); a second clamp jaw rotatably coupled to the first clamp jaw such that the first clamp jaw and the second clamp jaw pivot between a first unclamped position and a second clamped position (claim 10, lines 3-6), the second clamp jaw comprising: an inner profile (claim 10, line 8); and a deflection control profile opposite the inner profile, wherein the deflection control profile comprises a first abutment surface formed in the second clamp jaw and a second abutment surface formed in the second clamp jaw (claim 10, lines 9-13); wherein in the first unclamped position, the first abutment surface is disposed remote from the second abutment surface, and wherein in the second clamped position, all or a portion of the first abutment surface contacts all or a portion of the second abutment surface (claim 10, lines 14-18), and wherein in the first unclamped position, the inner profile of the second clamp jaw has a first shape and in the second clamped position, the inner profile of the second clamp jaw has a second shape (claim 10, lines 19-22); wherein in the first shape, at least a portion on the inner profile has a concave shape, and in the second shape, at least a portion on the inner profile has a convex shape (claim 10, lines 23-25).
U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 fails to claim wherein the first abutment surface includes a first interlocking feature and the second abutment surface includes a second interlocking feature, and wherein in the second clamped position the first interlocking feature operatively engages the second interlocking feature.
However, Siegal teaches an elongated element (Figs. 15A-15B) with a deflection control profile (side of segments 12 with cutouts) opposite an inner profile (side of segments 12 without cutouts), wherein the deflection control profile comprises a first abutment surface (abutment surface 18) and a second abutment surface (abutment surface 16), wherein the first abutment surface (18) includes a first interlocking feature (interpreted under 112(f) as a protrusion and equivalents thereof, and Siegal teaches projecting ridges 36; Fig. 15A; [0112]) and the second abutment surface (16) includes a second interlocking feature (interpreted under 112(f) as a channel and equivalents thereof, and Siegal teaches slots 34), and wherein in a second clamped position (Fig. 15B) the first interlocking feature (36) operatively engages the second interlocking feature (34; Fig. 15B; [0112]) for the purpose of providing various forms of interlocking, thereby improving mechanic stability of the predefined curved configuration ([0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second abutment surfaces of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 to include first and second interlocking features as claimed, as taught by Siegal in order to improve mechanic stability of the predefined curved configuration in the clamped configuration.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 in view of Siegal (US 2008/0208255 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 claims the second clamp jaw further comprising a plurality of flexion assistance voids formed in the second clamp jaw, and wherein each of the plurality of flexion assistance voids is defined by one or more surfaces (claim 7, lines 1-5).
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 in view of Siegal (US 2008/0208255 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 claims wherein the first abutment surface and the second abutment surface define a first set of abutment surfaces formed in the second clamp jaw, and the deflection control profile comprises at least a second set of abutment surfaces and a third set of abutment surfaces (claim 8, lines 1-6).
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 in view of Siegal (US 2008/0208255 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13, U.S. Patent No. 12,324,600 B2 claims wherein the inner profile comprises a smooth surface (claim 9, lines 1-2).
Conclusion
/SARAH A LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771