Detailed Action
The communications received 05/21/2025 have been filed and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1-4 and 9-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 11, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermans et al (US 2016/0319488) hereinafter HER in view of Dyer et al (US 2008/0073045) hereinafter DYE.
As for claim 1, HER teaches A multi-ply tissue product comprising:
a. a first creped, through-air dried tissue ply having a first and a second outer surface, the first outer surface (via adhesive creping) [0051]; and
b. a second creped, through-air dried tissue ply having a first and a second outer surface, the first outer surface(via adhesive creping) [0051];
wherein the first and second plies are plied together in facing arrangement such that the first outer surfaces face one another and wherein the product has a basis weight from about 45 to about 65 grams per square meter (gsm) (45-60 gsm which falls within the claimed range) [0033],
GMT a geometric mean tensile strength (GMT) from about 1,500 to about 2,500 g/3" (2000-2500 g/3”) [0034],
a geometric mean slope (GM Slope) from about 4-10.0 (less than about 10) [0008] and
a bulk from about 12.0-16.0 cc/g (greater than 15 cc/g which overlaps the claimed range) [0042].
But it does not teach the latex binder.
DYE teaches that multi-ply tissue products which employ adhesive can utilize latex based binders in particular an ethylene-vinyl acetate adhesive [Abstract; 0164]. This binder aids in the secure attachment of the webs together [0164].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the adhesive of DYE as the adhesive used in the adhesive creping to produce the multi-ply tissue of HER as this would provide a secure attachment of the webs together. As both DYE and HER pertain to multi-ply tissues they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
As for claim 2, HER/DYE teach claim 1 and that the latex binder comprises a vinyl acetate-ethylene polymer [DYE: 0164].
As for claim 3, HER/DYE teach claim 1 and HER further teaches that the stiffness index is less than about 5 [0036].
As for claim 4, HER/DYE teach claim 1 and HER further teaches a geometric mean stretch from about 20-25% (15-25) [0040].
As for claim 11, HER/DYE teach claim 1 and HER further teaches that the MD TEA which is substantially the GM TEA follows an equation which given the GMT 1,500 to about 2,500 g/3” [0005] which gives around 21-53 g*cm/cm squared which overlaps the claimed range.
As for claim 13, HER/DYE teach claim 1 and HER teaches that the basis weight is greater than 30 gsm [0004].
As for claim 14, HER/DYE teach claim 1 and HER further teaches having GM Slope less than 10 kg which overlaps the claimed range [0008; 0011].
As for claim 15, HER/DYE teach claim 1 and HER further teaches a Stiffness index of 2-5 [0036].
As for claim 16, HER/DYE teach claim 1 and a HER further teaches a geometric mean stretch from about 15-25% [claim 1] combined with a machine direction stretch from 45-55% [claim 5]. Solving for the cross-machine direction stretch from a geometric average results in a range for the cross-machine direction stretch of 4-13% which overlaps the claimed range.
As for claim 17, HER/DYE teach claim 15 and HER further teaches a GM Slope from 5.8-12.1 kg [0036-38] and MD Slope less than 10 kg [0035] when solving for the CD Slope in a manner similar to claim 16, this results in a cross-machine direction slope of 3.4-14.6 kg which overlaps the claimed range.
As for claim 18, HER/DYE teach claim 16 and HER further teaches a GM Tea of greater than 40 g*cm/cm squared [0010] and an MD Tea of 70-90 g*cm/cm squared [0041]. When solving for CD Tea in a manner similar to claim 16, this results in a CD TEA of greater than 17.8-22.9 g*cm/cm squared which overlaps the claimed range.
As for claim 19, HER/DYE teach claim 16 and HER further teaches a GM tensile strength of about 1500-3000 g/3” [0034; 0036]. While an MD tensile strength is not explicitly given, it is understood that the tensile strengths of the inventive product of HER are “particularly high” [0034] with the disclosure suggesting that a comparatively low tensile strength would be less than about 1000 g/3” [0002] so the CD tensile strength as one of the multiple possible tensile strengths of HER would be at least greater than 1000 g/3” which overlaps the claimed range.
In addition the tensile strengths in the machine direction and cross machine direction [0004] are aspects that are adjusted to achieve desired GM tensile strengths, directional slopes, and stretch [0026-28; 0036] so that the tissue web is strong enough to endure customer usage without being overly stiff [0034-35]. This suggests therefore that the CD tensile is a routinely optimized variable which value would be determined via routine experimentation to obtain desired GM strengths, directional slopes, and stretch such that the tissue web is strong enough to endure customer usage without being overly stiff.
In accordance with the MPEP "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) [MPEP: 2144.05(II)(A)]. Therefore the range of CD tensile is obvious.
As for claim 20, HER/DYE teaches claim 1 and it is understood that as the adhesive creping technique is used to unite the two layers that there would not be creping composition on the outer surfaces.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermans et al (US 2016/0319488) hereinafter HER in view of Dyer et al (US 2008/0073045) hereinafter DYE as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Merker et al (US 2002/0084048) hereinafter MER.
As for claim 9, HER/DYE teach claim 2 but does not teach that the vinyl acetate-ethylene polymer is crosslinked.
MER teaches that one bonding adhesive that is based on ethylene vinyl acetate is one that is a latex which is cross-linked with N-methyl acrylamide groups [Abstract; 0015].
In accordance with the MPEP a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the latex adhesive of HER/DYE with the one of MER as this would amount to a simple substitution of one latex adhesive for another to obtain the predictable result of bonding. As both MER and HER/DYE pertain to creped tissues they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermans et al (US 2016/0319488) hereinafter HER in view of Dyer et al (US 2008/0073045) hereinafter DYE as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Lane et al (US 2006/0251889) hereinafter LAN.
As for claim 10, HER/DYE teach claim 1 and does not teach wherein the first outer surface or the second through-air dried tissue ply comprises an anti-blocking agent disposed thereon.
LAN teaches that in multi layered products [Abstract] that an anti-blocking layer can be placed on an outer layer of the multi-ply as this allows for a smoother release of the product [0081].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the anti-blocking agent of LAN to either the first or second creped ply of HER/DYE as this would allow for a smoother release of the multi-ply of HER/DYE. As both LAN and HER/DYE pertain to multiple layered products they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermans et al (US 2016/0319488) hereinafter HER in view of Dyer et al (US 2008/0073045) hereinafter DYE as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Bradley et al (US 2016/0017542) hereinafter BRA.
As for claim 12, HER/DYE teach claim 1 but fails to teach a wet dry ratio.
BRA teaches that in creped tissue paper [Abstract] that superior durability when wet is achieved by a wet/dry ratio of greater than 0.3 which overlaps the claimed range [0002; 0003].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted the wet/dry ratio of HER/DYE to be the one of BRA in order to improve the durability when wet. As both HER/DYE and BRA pertain to tissue paper they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
Conclusion
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/RITA P ADHLAKHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711