DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument with respect to pending claims 1-20 filed on 07/0/2026 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Summary of Arguments:
Regarding claim 1, applicant argue that the features of claim 1 are supported by the provisional application 62/810,323 filed on 02/25/2029 accordingly Lee cannot qualify as a prior art.
Examiner’s Response:
In view of applicant’s argument, upon further consideration of the current application and the prior arts, it has been determined that the features of claim 1 are supported by the provisional application 62/810,323 filed on 02/25/2029. It has been further determined that Zhao alone discloses all of the features of claim 1. Thus, reliance upon Lee is withdrawn. See below a new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US 20200154100 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches the claim limitation as follows:
A method of prediction coding of a current block implemented by a decoding device or an encoding device, comprising: obtaining an intra prediction mode of a left neighbor block of the current block (Figs. 6-7, ¶0055: candIntraPredModeA indicates the associated intra prediction mode of block A- the left neighboring coding unit of current coding unit); obtaining an intra prediction mode of an above neighbor block of the current block (Figs. 6-7, ¶0055: candIntraPredModeB indicate the associated intra prediction mode of block B- the above neighboring coding unit of current coding unit); constructing a Most Probable Mode (MPM) list of intra prediction modes for the current block (¶0055-0056: MPM list construction, See the table includes MPM lists); when both of the intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block and the intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block are angular modes (¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeB is equal to candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeA is greater than INTRA_DC…), the MPM list comprising at least 5 entries of intra prediction modes as follows: a) {above mode, left mode, 2+((minAB+61)%64), 2+(( maxAB -1)%64), 2+ ( ( minAB+ 60 ) % 64 )} when maxAB - minAB is equal to 1 (¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB are both greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows: candModeList[ 0 ] = candIntraPredModeA candModeList[ 1 ] = candIntraPredModeB…If maxAB − minAB is equal to 1, the following applies: candModeList[ 2 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 3 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 4 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 60 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 5 ] = 2 + ( maxAB % 64 ) ); or b) {above_mode, left_ mode, 2 +((minAB - 1 ) %64), 2+((minAB+ 61 ) %64), 2 + ( ( maxAB - 1 ) % 64 )} when maxAB - minAB is equal to 2 (¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB are both greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows: candModeList[ 0 ] = candIntraPredModeA candModeList[ 1 ] = candIntraPredModeB…Otherwise if maxAB − minAB is equal to 2, the following applies: candModeList[ 2 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 3 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 4 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 5 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 60 ) % 64 )); or c) {above_mode, left_mode, 2+((minAB-1)%64), 2+((maxAB +61) % 64), 2+( minAB % 64 )} when maxAB - minAB is greater than 61(¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB are both greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows: candModeList[ 0 ] = candIntraPredModeA candModeList[ 1 ] = candIntraPredModeB…Otherwise if maxAB − minAB is greater than 61, the following applies: candModeList[ 2 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 3 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 4 ] = 2 + ( minAB % 64 ) candModeList[ 5 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB + 60 ) % 64 ) ); or d) otherwise, {above_mode, left_mode, 2 +(( minAB + 61 ) % 64 ), 2 + ( ( minAB - 1) % 64), 2+((maxAB+61)%64)} (¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB are both greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows: candModeList[ 0 ] = candIntraPredModeA candModeList[ 1 ] = candIntraPredModeB…Otherwise, the following applies: candModeList[ 2 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 3 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 4 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 5 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB − 1 ) % 64 ) ); wherein above_mode represents the intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block, left_mode represents the intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block (Figs. 6-7: ¶0055: candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB indicate the associated intra prediction modes of block A and B respectively), minAB represents a minimum intra prediction mode between the above_mode and left_mode, maxAB represents a maximum intra prediction mode between the above_mode and left_mode (¶0056: See the table: i.e., minAB, maxAB).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising coding the intra prediction mode of the current block based on the MPM list (¶0053-0055: intra coding by constructing MPM list).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising determining the intra prediction mode of the current block (¶0055-0056: in FIG. 7. In FIG. 7, the block A denotes the left neighboring coding unit of current coding unit, block B denotes the above neighboring coding unit of current coding unit, and variables candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB indicate the associated intra prediction modes of block A and B respectively) and, when the determined intra prediction mode of the current block is listed in the MPM list, coding the determined intra prediction mode of the current block by a corresponding index of the MPM list (¶0055-0056: If candIntraPredModeB is equal to candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeA is greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows…See the table at ¶0056: candModeList[ 0 ] - candModeList[ 5 ]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: signaling a flag to indicate that whether the intra prediction mode of the current block is a PLANAR mode or not (¶0154-0155: the signaled flag indicates current intra prediction mode is non-angular mode, another flag may be signaled to indicate whether current mode is planar mode or not…when the signaled mode is Planar or DC mode, one flag may be used to signal whether PDPC is applied or not).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the MPM list consists of the at least 5 entries (¶0056: See the table: candModeList[0]- candModeList[5]) and further comprising multiple reference line coding using the MPM list (Fig. 8, ¶0055-0056: the size of MPM list is set equal to 6 for both the adjacent reference line (also referred to zero reference line) and non-adjacent reference lines (also referred to non-zero reference lines).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao teaches the claim limitation as follows:
A device of prediction coding of a current block for use in a decoding device or an encoding device, comprising: a memory comprising instructions; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the instructions causing the at least one processor (¶0025, 0225: each of the embodiments may be implemented by processing circuitry (e.g., one or more processors or one or more integrated circuits). In one example, the one or more processors execute a program that is stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium) to be configured to: obtain an intra prediction mode of a left neighbor block of the current block (Figs. 6-7, ¶0055: candIntraPredModeA indicates the associated intra prediction mode of block A- the left neighboring coding unit of current coding unit); obtain an intra prediction mode of an above neighbor block of the current block (Figs. 6-7, ¶0055: candIntraPredModeB indicate the associated intra prediction mode of block B- the above neighboring coding unit of current coding unit); construct a Most Probable Mode (MPM) list of intra prediction modes for the current block (¶0055-0056: MPM list construction. See the table includes MPM lists); when both of the intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block and the intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block are angular modes (¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeB is equal to candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeA is greater than INTRA_DC…), the MPM list comprising at least 5 entries of intra prediction modes as follows:
a) {above mode, left mode, 2+((minAB+61)%64), 2+(( maxAB -1)%64), 2+ ( ( minAB+ 60 ) % 64 )} when maxAB - minAB is equal to 1(¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB are both greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows: candModeList[ 0 ] = candIntraPredModeA candModeList[ 1 ] = candIntraPredModeB…If maxAB − minAB is equal to 1, the following applies: candModeList[ 2 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 3 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 4 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 60 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 5 ] = 2 + ( maxAB % 64 ) ) ; or
b) {above_mode, left_ mode, 2 +((minAB - 1 ) %64), 2+((minAB+ 61 ) %64), 2 + ( ( maxAB - 1 ) % 64 )} when maxAB - minAB is equal to 2(¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB are both greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows: candModeList[ 0 ] = candIntraPredModeA candModeList[ 1 ] = candIntraPredModeB…Otherwise if maxAB − minAB is equal to 2, the following applies: candModeList[ 2 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 3 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 4 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 5 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 60 ) % 64 )); or
c) {above_mode, left_mode, 2+((minAB-1)%64), 2+((maxAB +61) % 64), 2+( minAB % 64 )} when maxAB - minAB is greater than 61(¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB are both greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows: candModeList[ 0 ] = candIntraPredModeA candModeList[ 1 ] = candIntraPredModeB…Otherwise if maxAB − minAB is greater than 61, the following applies: candModeList[ 2 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 3 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 4 ] = 2 + ( minAB % 64 ) candModeList[ 5 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB + 60 ) % 64 ) ); or
d) otherwise, {above_mode, left_mode, 2 +(( minAB + 61 ) % 64 ), 2 + ( ( minAB - 1) % 64), 2+((maxAB+61)%64)}(¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB are both greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows: candModeList[ 0 ] = candIntraPredModeA candModeList[ 1 ] = candIntraPredModeB…Otherwise, the following applies: candModeList[ 2 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 3 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 4 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 5 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB − 1 ) % 64 ) ); wherein above_mode represents the intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block, left_mode represents the intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block, minAB represents a minimum intra prediction mode between the above_mode and left_mode, maxAB represents a maximum intra prediction mode between the above_mode and left_mode (¶0056: See the table: i.e., minAB, maxAB).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is drawn to a device claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 2, and is rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is drawn to a device claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 3, and is rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is drawn to a device claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 4, and is rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is drawn to a device claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 5, and is rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 20200154100 A1) in view of Jun et al. (US 20190166375 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao does not explicitly teach wherein if an intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block is not available, the intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block is set as planar; if an intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block is not available, the intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block is set as planar.
However, Jun teaches wherein if an intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block is not available, the intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block is set as planar; if an intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block is not available, the intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block is set as planar (Fig. 15, ¶0169: An intra prediction mode corresponding to the unavailable neighbor block may be replaced with a DC mode, a Planar mode, or a predetermined intra prediction mode).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao’s image encoding/decoding technique by incorporating the teaching of Jun as noted above, in order to provide a method and apparatus for encoding/decoding an image using intra prediction to enhance compression efficiency (Jun:¶0004-0005).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is drawn to a device claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 6, and is rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 6.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 20200154100 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20200267382 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao does not explicitly teach wherein a top left corner of the left neighbor block is located at (xCb−1, yCb+cbHeight−1) and a top left corner of the above neighbor block is located at (xCb+cbWidth−1, yCb−1), wherein xCb, yCb, cbHeight and cb Width denote a location of a top left corner of the current block in a width direction, a location of the top left corner of the current block in a height direction, a height of the current block and a width of the current block, respectively.
However, Li teaches wherein a top left corner of the left neighbor block is located at (xCb−1, yCb+cbHeight−1) and a top left corner of the above neighbor block is located at (xCb+cbWidth−1, yCb−1), wherein xCb, yCb, cbHeight and cb Width denote a location of a top left corner of the current block in a width direction, a location of the top left corner of the current block in a height direction, a height of the current block and a width of the current block, respectively (Fig. 11, ¶0178: the neighboring block A may be a block including a sample at (xCb−1, yCb+cbHeight−1) coordinates. ¶0184: the neighboring block B may be a block including a sample at (xCb+cbWidth−1, yCb−1) coordinates).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao’s image encoding/decoding technique by incorporating the teaching of Li as noted above, in order to effectively compress and transmit or store and playback information of high-resolution and high-quality images and video having such various characteristics (Li: ¶0005).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is drawn to a device claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 7, and is rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 7.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 20200154100 A1) in view of Ramasubramonian et al. (US 20190327477 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao teaches the claim limitation as follows:
A method for storing a bitstream, comprising: … encoded picture data and information for decoding the encoded picture data, the information for decoding the encoded picture data comprises a Most Probable Mode (MPM) list index (¶0055-0056: MPM list construction. See the table: candModeList[0]- candModeList[5]). Note that the method disclosed in Zhao is image encoding/decoding method and the constructed MPM list is used for that purpose, wherein when both of an intra prediction mode of a left neighbor block and an intra prediction mode of an above neighbor block are angular modes (¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeB is equal to candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeA is greater than INTRA_DC…), a MPM list comprises at least 5 entries of intra prediction modes list as follows: a) {above_mode, left_mode, 2+ (minAB + ) % 64 2+ (maxAB 1)%64),2+(( minAB + 60 % when maxAB minAB is equal to 1 (¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB are both greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows: candModeList[ 0 ] = candIntraPredModeA candModeList[ 1 ] = candIntraPredModeB…If maxAB − minAB is equal to 1, the following applies: candModeList[ 2 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 3 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 4 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 60 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 5 ] = 2 + ( maxAB % 64 ) ); or b) {above_mode, left_mode,2 + (minAB 1) % 64), 2+ (minAB + ) % 64 2 + (( maxAB - ) % when maxAB - minAB is equal to 2 (¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB are both greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows: candModeList[ 0 ] = candIntraPredModeA candModeList[ 1 ] = candIntraPredModeB…Otherwise if maxAB − minAB is equal to 2, the following applies: candModeList[ 2 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 3 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 4 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 5 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 60 ) % 64 )); or c) {above_mode, mode, 2+ (minAB 1) % 64 ), 2+ (maxAB + 61 % 64 ), 2 + ( minAB % 64 when maxAB - minAB is greater than 61(¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB are both greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows: candModeList[ 0 ] = candIntraPredModeA candModeList[ 1 ] = candIntraPredModeB…Otherwise if maxAB − minAB is greater than 61, the following applies: candModeList[ 2 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 3 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 4 ] = 2 + ( minAB % 64 ) candModeList[ 5 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB + 60 ) % 64 ) ); or d) otherwise, {above_mode, left_mode, 2+ (minAB + ) % 64 ), 2 + ( (minAB - 1) %64), 2 + (maxAB + % 64) (¶0056: See the table: If candIntraPredModeA and candIntraPredModeB are both greater than INTRA_DC, candModeList[ x ] with x = 0..5 is derived as follows: candModeList[ 0 ] = candIntraPredModeA candModeList[ 1 ] = candIntraPredModeB…Otherwise, the following applies: candModeList[ 2 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 3 ] = 2 + ( ( minAB − 1 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 4 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB + 61 ) % 64 ) candModeList[ 5 ] = 2 + ( ( maxAB − 1 ) % 64 ) ); wherein above_mode represents the intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block, left_mode represents the intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block, minAB represents a minimum intra prediction mode between the above_mode and left_mode, maxAB represents a maximum intra prediction mode between the above_mode and left_mode (¶0056: See the table: minAB, maxAB).
Zhao (Prov. 62/805163) does not disclose receiving or transmitting the bitstream through a communication interface; storing the bitstream in one or more storage mediums.
However, Ramasubramonian teaches receiving or transmitting the bitstream through a communication interface (¶0032: See FIGS. 1, 3, 4: Destination device 116 includes input interface 122); storing the bitstream in one or more storage mediums (¶01113: CPB memory 320 may store video data, such as an encoded video bitstream).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao by incorporating the teaching of Ramasubramonian in order to allow the encoded data to be decoded and reproduced by the destination device (Ramasubramonian: ¶0031).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is drawn to a method claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 2, and is rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is drawn to a method claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 4, and is rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is drawn to a method claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 5, and is rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 5.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 20200154100 A1) in view of Ramasubramonian et al. (US 20190327477 A1) as applied to claim 15, and further in view of Jun et al. (US 20190166375 A1).
Zhao in view of Ramasubramonian do not teach, if an intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block is not available, the intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block is set as planar; if an intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block is not available, the intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block is set as planar.
However, Jun teaches if an intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block is not available, the intra prediction mode of the above neighbor block is set as planar; if an intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block is not available, the intra prediction mode of the left neighbor block is set as planar(Fig. 15, ¶0169: An intra prediction mode corresponding to the unavailable neighbor block may be replaced with a DC mode, a Planar mode, or a predetermined intra prediction mode).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao’s image encoding/decoding technique by incorporating the teaching of Jun as noted above, in order to provide a method and apparatus for encoding/decoding an image using intra prediction to enhance compression efficiency (Jun:¶0004-0005).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 20200154100 A1) in view of Ramasubramonian et al. (US 20190327477 A1) as applied to claim 15, and further in view of Li et al. (US 20200267382 A1).
Zhao in view of Ramasubramonian do not teach wherein a top left corner of the left neighbor block is located at (xCb-1, yCb+cbHeight -1) and a top left corner of the above neighbor block is located at (xCb+cbWidth-1, yCb -1), wherein xCb, yCb, cbHeight and cbWidth denote a location of a top left corner of a current block in a width direction, a location of the top left corner of the current block in a height direction, a height of the current block and a width of the current block, respectively.
However, Li teaches wherein a top left corner of the left neighbor block is located at (xCb-1, yCb+cbHeight -1) and a top left corner of the above neighbor block is located at (xCb+cbWidth-1, yCb -1), wherein xCb, yCb, cbHeight and cbWidth denote a location of a top left corner of a current block in a width direction, a location of the top left corner of the current block in a height direction, a height of the current block and a width of the current block, respectively(Fig. 11, ¶0178: the neighboring block A may be a block including a sample at (xCb−1, yCb+cbHeight−1) coordinates. ¶0184: the neighboring block B may be a block including a sample at (xCb+cbWidth−1, yCb−1) coordinates).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao’s image encoding/decoding technique by incorporating the teaching of Li as noted above, in order to effectively compress and transmit or store and playback information of high-resolution and high-quality images and video having such various characteristics (Li: ¶0005).
Conclusion
/NATHNAEL AYNALEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488