DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application filed May 21, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
2. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite “recognize an object around a vehicle; specify the object present within a predetermined distance threshold around the vehicle as a display target object; and set the distance threshold when a predetermined vehicle position condition or a predetermined time condition related to a predetermined object for early display is satisfied to be greater than the distance threshold when the vehicle position condition and the time condition are not satisfied.”
The recited limitations above are a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “display control apparatus”, “object recognition unit”, “display target specification unit” and “display control unit” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “recognize”, “specify”, and “set” in the context of this claim encompasses the user to mentally determine a pedestrian around the vehicle and determine the pedestrian is too close to a vehicle and then set a minimum separation distance.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite the additional elements- “display control apparatus”, “object recognition unit”, “display target specification unit” and “display control unit” to perform the above recited steps. The computer elements recited at a high-level of generality (generic computer elements performing a generic computer function of determining a distance and setting a distance) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, the additional elements recited do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the computer elements to perform the steps of claim 1 amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding the additional element of display the display target object on a display unit, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, is recited at a high level of generality and encompasses merely transmitting or generating information (e.g., transmitting/outputting a signal). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 1-5 are directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Interpretation
2. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: object recognition unit, display target specification unit and display control unit in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seder et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0253492 (referred to hereafter as Seder).
As to claim 1, Seder teaches a display control apparatus comprising:
an object recognition unit configured to recognize an object around a vehicle based on a detection result of an external sensor mounted on the vehicle (see para. 164);
a display target specification unit configured to specify the object present within a predetermined distance threshold around the vehicle as a display target object; and a display control unit configured to display the display target object on a display unit (see para. 164 and 196),
wherein the display target specification unit sets the distance threshold when a predetermined vehicle position condition or a predetermined time condition related to a predetermined object for early display is satisfied to be greater than the distance threshold when the vehicle position condition and the time condition are not satisfied (see para. 196 and 198).
As to claim 2, Seder teaches the display control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display target specification unit sets the distance threshold according to a type of the object and increases the distance threshold when the vehicle position condition or the time condition is satisfied for each type of the object (see para. 164 and 198).
As to claim 3, Seder teaches the display control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the object recognition unit recognizes an obstacle hindering a movement of the object around the vehicle based on the detection result of the external sensor, and the display target specification unit does not increase the distance threshold in a direction in which the obstacle is present, even if the vehicle position condition or the time condition is satisfied (see para. 164, 196 and 198).
As to claim 4, Seder teaches the display control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the object for early display is a child among pedestrians, and the vehicle position condition is satisfied when a vehicle position of the vehicle is included in a school zone (see para. 164).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seder in view of Takhirov, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0234751.
As to claim 5, Seder teaches the display control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the object for early display is a child among pedestrians (see para. 164). Seder does not explicitly teach the time condition is satisfied when a current time falls within a predetermined school commute time period.
However, Takhirov teaches increasing probability of collision if a time condition is satisfied when a current time falls within a predetermined school commute time period (see para. 32).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to increase probability of collision if a time condition is satisfied when a current time falls within a predetermined school commute time period in Seder as taught by Takhirov. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Takhirov that doing so would minimize the probability of collision.
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669