DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Non-Final.
Claims 1, 11 and 18 are independent claims. Claims 2-10, 12-17, 19-20 are dependent claims.
This action is responsive to the following communication: corresponding claims filed on 05-21-2025.
Continuation Application
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application and names an inventor or inventors named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application constitutes a continuation claiming benefit of the filing date of July 17, 2020 which is acknowledged.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. under 35 U.S.C. 120 (continuation) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date:
a) The later filed Application is filed prior to the patent issued of the earlier application. [copendency; MPEP 211.01(b) (I)]
b) At least one common inventor [MPEP 201.07]
c) The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05-21-2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. See In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and, In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
For faster processing of Terminal Disclaimer the USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/ patent/patents-forms. The filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA /25, or PTO/AIA /26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/ eTD-info-I.jsp.
As per claims 1-20 of the instant application, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. 11,582,048 (hereinafter Patent ‘048), over claims 1-20 of Patent No. 11,831,450 (hereinafter Patent No. ‘450) and over claim 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,395,365 (hereinafter, Patent No. ‘365). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the following:
As per claims 1, 11, 18, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 discloses a system comprising:
a plurality of network devices comprising a plurality of ports that connect the plurality of network devices to at least one other network device, wherein at least one of the plurality of network devices receives utility power; and (Patent No. ‘048: network devices having ports to receive utility power; claim 1, claim 6 ), & (Patent No. ‘450: a plurality of network devices comprising a plurality of ports and utility power; Claims 1, 6) & (Patent No. ‘365: identifying an available power and allocating the available power to said plurality of ports; wherein said plurality of ports comprises: a plurality of PSE (Power Sourcing Equipment)
a controller for identifying an available power and allocating the available power to the plurality of ports, (Patent No. ‘048: identifying available power and allocating power to said plurality of ports; claim 1) & (Patent No. ‘450:identifying an available power and allocating the available power to said plurality of ports; claims 1, 9) & (Patent No. ‘365: identifying an available power and allocating the available power to said plurality of ports; wherein said plurality of ports comprises: a plurality of PSE (Power Sourcing Equipment)
wherein the plurality of ports are bi-directional ports, each configurable to operate as a power sourcing equipment (PSE) port to transmit the available power to a first device connected to one of the plurality of ports or as a powered device (PD) port to receive the available power from the first device, (Patent No. ‘048: wherein power is shared between said plurality of network devices over the common shared power bus and bi-directional PoE ports each configurable to operate as a PSE PoE port to transmit power to a device connected to one of the bi-directional PoE ports ; claim 1 Also claim 10 that discloses bi-directional PoE (Power over Ethernet) ports each configurable to operate as a PSE) & (Patent No. ‘450: identifying an available power and allocating the available power to said plurality of ports; wherein said plurality of ports comprises: a plurality of PSE (Power Sourcing Equipment) PoE (Power over Ethernet) ports, each operable to transmit the power to a first device connected to one of the PSE PoE ports; claims 1, 9) & ( Patent No. ‘365: a plurality of network devices comprising a plurality of ports; a power bus connecting said plurality of network devices; and a controller for identifying an available power and allocating the available power to said plurality of ports; wherein said plurality of ports comprises: a plurality of PSE (Power Sourcing Equipment) fault management power (FMP) ports, each operable to transmit the available power to a first device connected to one of the PSE FMP ports; a plurality of PD (Powered Device) ; claim 1)
wherein at least one port of the plurality of ports is configured to receive the available power from a second device connect to the at least one port, and wherein the first device is a rechargeable battery. (Patent No. ‘048: available power in the system and allocates the available power to the plurality of ports of the plurality of network devices; claims 1, 5-6) & (Patent No. ‘450: identifying an available power and allocating the available power to said plurality of ports; wherein said plurality of ports comprises: a plurality of PSE (Power Sourcing Equipment) PoE (Power over Ethernet) ports, each operable to transmit the power to a first device connected to one of the PSE PoE ports; a plurality of PD (Powered Device) PoE ports each operable to receive the power from a second device connected to one of the PD PoE ports; and a plurality of bi-directional PoE ports each configurable to operate as a PSE PoE port to transmit the power to a third device connected to one of the bi-directional PoE ports or as a PD PoE port to receive the power from the third device; claims 1, 9 & 5) & ( Patent No. ‘365: a plurality of network devices comprising a plurality of ports; a power bus connecting said plurality of network devices; and a controller for identifying an available power and allocating the available power to said plurality of ports; wherein said plurality of ports comprises: a plurality of PSE (Power Sourcing Equipment) fault management power (FMP) ports, each operable to transmit the available power to a first device connected to one of the PSE FMP ports; a plurality of PD (Powered Device) ( claim 1) and rechargeable battery claim 5 )
As per claim 2, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein the second device is a solar device and the controller is configured to: identify available utility power, available battery power, and available solar power, and determine a portion of each of the available utility power, the available battery power, and the available solar power to use for powering the plurality of ports. (Patent No. ‘048; claim 6) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claims 10, 19-20 ) & (Patent No. ‘365: claims 7-8)
As per claim 3, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein the plurality of ports are fault managed power (FMP) ports. (Patent No. ‘048; claim 7) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claim 6) & (Patent No. ‘365: claim 1 )
As per claim 4, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein the plurality of ports are Power over Ethernet (PoE) ports. (Patent No. ‘048; claim 1) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claim 1) & (Patent No. ‘365: plurality of PD (Powered Device) coupled to PSE, hence POE ports; claim 1 )
As per claim 5, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system further comprising: a power bus connecting the plurality of network devices. (Patent No. ‘048; claim 1) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claim 1) & (Patent No. ‘365: claim 1 )
As per claim 6, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein the power bus is configured to couple together the plurality of network devices such that the available power received via a first network device of the plurality of network devices is provided to a second network device of the plurality of network devices. (Patent No. ‘048; claims 1, 5-6) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claims 1, 9-10) & (Patent No. ‘365: claims 1, 4, 7-8 )
As per claim 7, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein the controller is located at one of the plurality of network devices. (Patent No. ‘048; claim 5) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claim 8) & (Patent No. ‘365: claim 6 )
As per claim 8, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein the controller is a system power controller that identifies the available power in the system and allocates the available power to the plurality of ports of the plurality of network devices. (Patent No. ‘048; claims 1, 5-6) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claims 1, 9-10) & (Patent No. ‘365: claims 1, 4, 7-8 )
As per claim 9, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein one of the plurality of ports is configured to transmit excess power back to a utility power source. (Patent No. ‘048; claim 1) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claim 6) & (Patent No. ‘365: claim 9 )
As per claim 10, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein one of the plurality of ports is configured to provide the available power to a third device, which is a powered device. (Patent No. ‘048; claim 7) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claim 6) & (Patent No. ‘365: claim )
As per claim 12, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein each of said plurality of bi- directional power ports comprises a PD circuit and a PSE circuit connected to a same set of transformers coupled to twisted pairs of an Ethernet cable, the PSE circuit comprising a PSE controller with an enable signal input for use in switching between PD and PSE operation. (Patent No. ‘048; claim 13) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claim 3 ) & (Patent No. ‘365: claim 13, 15 )
As per claim 13, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system 13. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein at least one of the plurality of bi- directional power ports supports an Ethernet cable or at least one twisted pair.
As per claim 14, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system 14. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the power supply unit is a removable module.
As per claim 15, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system 15. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein a bi-directional power port of the plurality of bi-directional power ports is operable to transmit or receive a fault managed power (FMP) from a plurality of devices connected to the bi-directional power port on a single pair cable in a multi-drop arrangement. C/P/1029682/US/CON/3
As per claim 16, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein each of the plurality of bi-directional power ports comprises a voltage conditioner to account for different cable lengths connecting the plurality of bi-directional power ports to a plurality of connected devices. (Patent No. ‘048; claim 17) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claim 16) & (Patent No. ‘365: claim 16)
As per claim 17, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein the plurality of bi-directional power ports are bi-directional Power over Ethernet (PoE) ports. (Patent No. ‘048; claim 1) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claim 1) & (Patent No. ‘365: claim 1 )
As per claim 19, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein the at least two power sources further include:a utility power source, andat least one reusable energy power source. (Patent No. ‘048; claim 2) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claim 5) & (Patent No. ‘365: claim 5 )
As per claim 20, Patent No. ‘048, Patent No. ‘450 and Patent No. ‘365 2 discloses a system wherein the at least one reusable energy power source includes a solar power source and a wind power source and wherein allocating the available power further comprises allocating the available power to charge the rechargeable battery or add the available power to the utility power source. (Patent No. ‘048; claim 5, 9) & ( Patent No. ‘450: claims 5-6) & (Patent No. ‘365: claims 3, 8)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,256,263 (hereinafter, “Narayanan”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0064938 (hereinafter, “Balasubramanian”)
As per claim(s) 1, 11, 18, Narayanan discloses a system comprising:
a plurality of network devices comprising a plurality of ports that connect the plurality of network devices to at least one other network device, (Fig. 1 illustrates power supply system 10 which supplies power to network switches 12A-12D, of which each network switch has a plurality of ports labeled as 25 for which PDs are connected)
a controller for identifying an available power and allocating the available power to the plurality of ports, (The available power is allocated according to a scheme that is “shared” and “allocated based on per-port characteristics of any network switch or other type of electronic equipment receiving power”; Col 1 lines 55-57) & (power supply system 10 “includes controller 11 that computes the available power and directs the power to .....coupled to the network switches 12; Col 3 lines 17-20 )
each configurable to operate as a power sourcing equipment (PSE) port to transmit the available power to a first device connected to one of the plurality of ports or as a powered device (PD) port to receive the available power from the first device, (Fig. 1 illustrates power supply system 10 which supplies power to network switches 12A-12D, of which each network switch has a plurality of ports labeled as 25 for which PDs are connected)
wherein at least one port of the plurality of ports is configured to receive the available power from a second device connect to the at least one port, and (Fig. 1 illustrates a how power devices (PDS) to receive power from switches that receive power from (primary power supplies) PPSs, (redundant ) RPSs)
Narayanan does not distinctly discloses the following:
wherein at least one of the plurality of network devices receives utility power;
wherein the plurality of ports are bi-directional ports; and
wherein the first device is a rechargeable battery.
However, Balasubramanian explicitly discloses the following:
wherein at least one of the plurality of network devices receives utility power; ( battery feed or AC power grid connection of network device 102.; ¶ [0038])
wherein the plurality of ports are bi-directional ports; and (a bi-directional power converter to selectively convert power in either (i) a first direction and to provide converted power to the network port when the PoE port unit operates as the PSE port unit, or (ii) in a second direction to convert power received from the network port when the PoE port unit operates as the PD port unit; abstract)
wherein the first device is a rechargeable battery. ( battery feed or AC power grid connection of network device 102.; ¶ [0038])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Narayanan and Balasubramaniam because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Balasubramaniam’s teaching of dual-power ports would enhance Narayanan's system by allowing available power to be distributed among various components based on needs thus enhancing power distribution.
As per claim 2, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein the second device is a solar device and the controller is configured to: identify available utility power, available battery power, and available solar power, and determine a portion of each of the available utility power, the available battery power, and the available solar power to use for powering the plurality of ports. (Balasubramaniam: the local power source may include, solar panel; ¶ [0022], [0025], the local power source may include, but is not limited to, a battery ¶ [0022] and if local power source 130(1) has excess power available after powering the local circuits in ED 104(1), the local power source may also provide the excess power to network device 102 over Ethernet cable 108(1).; ¶ [0022] )
As per claim 3, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein the plurality of ports are fault managed power (FMP) ports. ( ¶ [0063] of Balasubramaniam states that “periodic messages (e.g., once per second) are transmitted from each PoE port unit to the network device or other host of central control. If the current sourced from the PSE end of a link does not closely match the current entering the PD end of the link, this mismatch could indicate a cable fault or other abnormal condition.” Therefore, Balasubramaniam’s system is capable of determining a “cable fault or other condition” between network device 102 and endpoint device 104s, which are connected via a port units 121s as illustrated by Fig. 1 Additionally, Balasubramaniam discloses how power distribution between network devices is bi-directional (i.e., reversed energy transfer) that allows network installations to provide power that is “fault toleran[nt]” . For example, according to ¶ [0061], is configured to “recover” power flow when voltage detection is not optimal or less than 10V between ports of network devices. To a PHOSITA, this suggests that the system is equipped with a controller that can detect power distribution disturbances and manage to recover these power distributions disturbances, thus making it a fault tolerant power distribution system.)
As per claim 4, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein the plurality of ports are Power over Ethernet (PoE) ports. (Balasubramaniam: Power-over-Ethernet (PoE) port; abstract)
As per claim 5, Narayanan as modified discloses a system further comprising: a power bus connecting the plurality of network devices. (Narayanan: Fig. 1 illustrates at least one power bus connecting network switches and PDs) & (Balasubramaniam: sub-assembly bus coupling to endpoint devices; Fig 1)
As per claim 6, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein the power bus is configured to couple together the plurality of network devices such that the available power received via a first network device of the plurality of network devices is provided to a second network device of the plurality of network devices. (Narayanan: Fig. 1 illustrates at least one power bus connecting network switches and PDs, The available power is allocated according to a scheme that is “shared” and “allocated based on per-port characteristics of any network switch or other type of electronic equipment receiving power”; Col 1 lines 55-57 ) & (Balasubramaniam: sub-assembly bus coupling to endpoint devices; Fig 1, if local power source 130(1) has excess power available after powering the local circuits in ED 104(1), the local power source may also provide the excess power to network device 102 over Ethernet cable 108(1).; ¶ [0022] )
As per claim 7, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein the controller is located at one of the plurality of network devices. (Narayanan ; Controller 11; Fig. 1) & (Balasubramanian: microcontroller 36 and running power locally as illustrated by locally; Fig 2)
As per claim 8, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein the controller is a system power controller that identifies the available power in the system and allocates the available power to the plurality of ports of the plurality of network devices. (Narayanan: Fig. 1 illustrates at least one power bus connecting network switches and PDs, The available power is allocated according to a scheme that is “shared” and “allocated based on per-port characteristics of any network switch or other type of electronic equipment receiving power”; Col 1 lines 55-57 ) & (Balasubramaniam: sub-assembly bus coupling to endpoint devices; Fig 1, if local power source 130(1) has excess power available after powering the local circuits in ED 104(1), the local power source may also provide the excess power to network device 102 over Ethernet cable 108(1).; ¶ [0022] )
As per claim 9, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein one of the plurality of ports is configured to transmit excess power back to a utility power source. (Balasubramanian: ¶ [0024])
As per claim 10, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein one of the plurality of ports is configured to provide the available power to a third device, which is a powered device. (Balasubramanian: ¶ [0024])
As per claim 11, Narayanan as modified discloses a system comprising: a plurality of bi-directional power ports, each configurable to operate as a Power Sourcing Equipment (PSE) power port to transmit power to a device connected to a first power port of the plurality of bi-directional power ports or as a Powered Device (PD) power port to receive the power from the device; (Narayanan: Fig. 1 illustrates a how power devices (PDS) to receive power from switches that receive power from (primary power supplies) PPSs, (redundant ) RPSs) & (Balasubramaniam: a bi-directional power converter to selectively convert power in either (i) a first direction and to provide converted power to the network port when the PoE port unit operates as the PSE port unit, or (ii) in a second direction to convert power received from the network port when the PoE port unit operates as the PD port unit; abstract)
a power supply unit; and (Narayanan: PPS, RPS; Fig 1) & (Balasubramaniam: ¶ [0022])
a power management module having a second power port of the plurality of bi-directional power ports for receiving the power and for transmitting the power to the power supply unit, wherein the power management module is aligned for connection with the power supply unit. (Narayanan: Fig. 3 illustrates a table where each switch contains a plurality of POE ports that be selectively activated for supplying power to PDs; Col 5 lines 42-57) Further, Fig. 1 illustrates how a backup redundant power supplies (RPSs) to provide power that does not include a primary power supply via a switch to the PDs) & (Balasubramanian: Fig. 1 illustrates a plurality of POE links that use ports to provide power to PDs)
As per claim 12, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein each of said plurality of bi- directional power ports comprises a PD circuit and a PSE circuit connected to a same set of transformers coupled to twisted pairs of an Ethernet cable, the PSE circuit comprising a PSE controller with an enable signal input for use in switching between PD and PSE operation. (Balasubramaniam: Power converter 422(i) may be, e.g., a 2-quadrant switching power supply/converter, although other configurations are possible. Such a power supply typically includes switching regulator transistors, transformers ¶ [0032], twisted pair of conductors ¶ [0031], dynamically and selectively switch power flow direction to and from endpoint and network devices may also be used in highly distributed energy systems. ¶ [0064] selection signal [0021] )
As per claim 13, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein at least one of the plurality of bi- directional power ports supports an Ethernet cable or at least one twisted pair. (Balasubramaniam: twisted pair of conductors; ¶ [0031] )
As per claim 14, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein the power supply unit is a removable module. (Narayanan: Col 1 lines 13-50)
As per claim 15, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein a bi-directional power port of the plurality of bi-directional power ports is operable to transmit or receive a fault managed power (FMP) from a plurality of devices connected to the bi-directional power port on a single pair cable in a multi-drop arrangement. (Balasubramaniam: a bi-directional power converter to selectively convert power in either (i) a first direction and to provide converted power to the network port when the PoE port unit operates as the PSE port unit, or (ii) in a second direction to convert power received from the network port when the PoE port unit operates as the PD port unit; abstract)
As per claim 17, Narayanan as modified discloses a system wherein the plurality of bi-directional power ports are bi-directional Power over Ethernet (PoE) ports. (Balasubramaniam: a bi-directional power converter to selectively convert power in either (i) a first direction and to provide converted power to the network port when the PoE port unit operates as the PSE port unit, or (ii) in a second direction to convert power received from the network port when the PoE port unit operates as the PD port unit; abstract)
As per claim 18, Narayanan as modified discloses a method comprising:
identifying an available power from at least two power sources, (Narayanan: total available RPS power; col 1 lines 0-50) (Balasubramaniam: excess power available; ¶ [022] or a power need, a power production ¶ [0012] )
wherein the at least two power sources are different power source types and (RPS 13A-B) & (Balasubramaniam: ¶ [0022])
at least one of the at least two power sources is a rechargeable battery; (Balasubramaniam: battery; ¶ [0022] )
identifying active bi-directional ports in a power system; and (Balasubramaniam: Fig 2 illustrates the need for providing bidirectional power) & (Narayanan: assigning power available to devices such as ports residing within individual switches in a multiple switch network; Fig 1 )
allocating the available power from one or more of the at least two power sources to power the active bi-directional ports by determining a portion of the available power to select of the at least two power sources for powering the active bi- directional ports or for charging one of the at least two power sources. (Narayanan: assigning power available from at least two RPSs to devices such as ports residing within individual switches in a multiple switch network; Fig 1 ) (Balasubramaniam: power available; ¶ [022] or a power need, a power production ¶ [0012] where the network device 202(1) includes a power supplies 204(1) to supply power to all of network devices 202(1)-202(3); Fig 3 and where the he local power source may include, but is not limited to, a battery, solar panel, energy harvesting subsystem, and an alternating current (AC) power source.¶ [0022)
As per claim 17, Narayanan as modified discloses a method wherein the at least two power sources further include:a utility power source, andat least one reusable energy power source. (Balasubramaniam: power available; ¶ [022] or a power need, a power production ¶ [0012] where the network device 202(1) includes a power supplies 204(1) to supply power to all of network devices 202(1)-202(3); Fig 3 and where the he local power source may include, but is not limited to, a battery, solar panel, energy harvesting subsystem, and an alternating current (AC) power source.¶ [0022] )
As per claim 20, Narayanan as modified discloses a method wherein the at least one reusable energy power source includes a solar power source and a wind power source and wherein allocating the available power further comprises allocating the available power to charge the rechargeable battery or add the available power to the utility power source. (Balasubramaniam: power available; ¶ [022] or a power need, a power production ¶ [0012] where the network device 202(1) includes a power supplies 204(1) to supply power to all of network devices 202(1)-202(3); Fig 3 and where the he local power source may include, but is not limited to, a battery, solar panel, energy harvesting subsystem, and an alternating current (AC) power source.¶ [0022] and power fed to power source ¶ [0024] ) & (Narayanan: assigning power available from at least two RPSs to devices such as ports residing within individual switches in a multiple switch network; Fig 1 )
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,256,263 (hereinafter Narayanan) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0064938 (hereinafter Balasubramaniam) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0363980 (hereinafter Spiel).
As per claim 16, Narayanan as modified does disclose a system wherein each of the plurality of bi-directional power ports comprises connecting the plurality of bi-directional power ports to a plurality of connected devices. (Balasubramaniam: a bi-directional power converter to selectively convert power in either (i) a first direction and to provide converted power to the network port when the PoE port unit operates as the PSE port unit, or (ii) in a second direction to convert power received from the network port when the PoE port unit operates as the PD port unit; abstract)
Narayanan as modified does not distinctly disclose a voltage conditioner to account for different cable lengths.
However, Spiel explicitly discloses a voltage conditioner to account for different cable lengths. (¶[0033], Fig 3)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Narayanan as modified and Spiel because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Spiel’s teaching of adjusting power supplied to the power device would enhance Narayanan's as modified system by compensating the loss power due to various cable faults, thus improving power distribution for the computer system.
Conclusion
With respect to any newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims. See MPEP §714.02 and § 2163.06. For example, when responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov