DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the applicant's amendment submitted on 09/09/2026. Claims 1 and 4 have been amended. Claims 3, 5, 8 and 10 have been canceled. Thus, claims 1-2, 4, 6-7 and 9 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation recites “a withstand voltage of the first switching transistor is less than a working voltage of the first LED light source” and the limitation recites “a withstand voltage of the second switching transistor is less than a working voltage of the second LED light source” are unclear and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical feature to which it refers. It is unclear that what is “a withstand voltage of the first switching transistor and a withstand voltage of the second switching transistor? And what is a working voltage of the first LED light source and a working voltage of the second LED light source? How does a withstand voltage of the first switching transistor and a withstand voltage of the second switching transistor are respectively less than a working voltage of the first LED light source and a working voltage of the second LED light source?
The term “withstand voltage” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “withstand voltage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
The claim fails to recite sufficiently definite structure, material or acts for achieving the functional result recited in the claim to reasonably apprise one of ordinary skill in the art of the scope of the claim.
Claims 2, 4, 6-7 and 9 are depending on claim 1, and are rejected the same reasons under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Note: for compact prosecution purposes, the examiner interprets the claim above as best understood in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 221807232 U, with English translation attached) in view of Miskin et al. (U.S Publication No. 20230262854 A1), and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S Publication No. 20180027626 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a driving circuit (which is an LED color temperature adjusting device and lamp, see fig. 4a-4h) for lighting and nightlight lighting (paragraph [0001] and [0068]), comprising:
a power control chip (which is a first control chip U1), (see fig. 4e-4h, paragraph [0075]),
a control chip (which is a second control chip U2), (see fig. 4c, see paragraph [0079]),
a rectifier bridge (which is a rectifier bridge BD1), (see fig. 4a-4b, paragraph [0071]),
a first light-emitting diode (LED) light source (which is a first LED light source: 1 to n cool color temperature LEDs connected in series, see fig. 4d, paragraph [0047]), and
a second LED light source (which is a second LED light source: W1 to Wn warm color temperature LEDs connected in series, see fig. 4d, paragraph [0047]),
wherein: an alternating current input end of the rectifier bridge (BD1) is connected to mains electricity (via AC mains, L and N, see fig. 4a and 4b),
a direct current output end of the rectifier bridge (BD1) is connected to a positive electrode of the first LED light source (via the LED driver, see fig. 4b and 4c), the direct current output end of the rectifier bridge (BD1) is connected to a positive electrode of the second LED light source (via the LED driver, see fig. 4b and 4c),
a negative electrode of the first LED light source (via a cathode of n LED) is connected to a first switching transistor (which is transistor Q4), (see fig. 4d),
a negative electrode of the second LED light source (via a cathode of Wn LED) is connected to a second switching transistor (which is transistor Q3), (see fig. 4d),
a signal output end of the control chip (U2) is respectively connected to control electrodes of the first switching transistor (which is transistor Q4) and the second switching transistor (which is transistor Q3), (see fig. 4d),
the negative electrodes of the first LED light source (via LED 1 to n) and the second LED light source (LED W1 to Wn) are connected to floating ground (GND) respectively through the first switching transistor (Q4) and the second switching transistor (Q3), (see fig. 4d by Chen), and
a potential of the floating ground (GND) is higher than potential of a negative terminal of the direct current output end of the rectifier bridge (BD1), (which is well known in the art that potential of the floating ground is higher than potential of a negative terminal of the direct current output end of the rectifier bridge for protection purposes).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the direct current output end of the rectifier bridge is connected to a positive electrode of the second LED light source through a current limiting resistor.
Miskin, on the other hand, discloses a light emitting diodes (LED) and LED drivers comprising inputs 308 and 310 of the bridge rectifier may be provided for direct connection to an AC power supply, it is contemplated by the invention that one input, shown as input 310, may have a capacitor (shown as capacitor 312) or a resistor (shown in FIG. 18 as resistor 313) connected in series in order to control and limit the current passing through the at least one LED. And the lighting device further comprising current limiting resistors electrically connected between the switch and the first and second LED circuits (see paragraph [0140], claims 6 and 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to incorporate a current limiting resistor as taught by Miskin into the LED driving circuit as taught by Chen connected in series in order to control and limit the current passing through the at least one LED (see paragraph [0140] by Miskin).
Chen does not explicitly disclose a withstand voltage of the first switching transistor is less than a working voltage of the first LED light source; and a withstand voltage of the second switching transistor is less than a working voltage of the second LED light source.
Wang, on the other hand, discloses color-temperature adjustable light-emitting diode (LED) lighting device and a method for adjusting the color temperature of an LED lighting device includes a power supply module, a micro-control unit (MCU), an adjustable LED driving power supply having a positive output terminal and a negative output terminal, a cool white LED array, a warm white LED array, a first switch circuit, a second switch circuit, a first current detection circuit, and a second current detection circuit (see abstract). Wang further discloses the first PWM signal may be used to control the on and off states of the first switch circuit 16, so as to further control the on and off states of the cool white LED array 14. The second PWM signal may be used to control the on and off states of the second switch circuit 17, so as to further control the on and off states of the warm white LED array 15. For example, when the first PWM signal is a high-level signal, the second PWM signal may be a low-level signal. Accordingly, the cool white LED array 14 may be turned on and the warm white LED array 15 may be turned off. When the first PWM signal is a low-level signal, the second PWM signal may be a high-level signal. Accordingly, the cool white LED array 14 may be turned off and the warm white LED array 15 may be turned on. The MCU 12 may adjust the ratio of the on-time of the cool white LED array 14 to the on-time of the warm white LED array 15 in a unit of time, through controlling the duty cycles of the first PWM signal and the second PWM signal. By taking advantage the delay of human eyes, variation of color temperature of the disclosed LED lighting device may be implemented. The duty cycle may be a ratio of the time of high-level voltage to the time of low-level voltage, for a signal (see paragraph [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made that to modify the LED driving circuit as taught by Chen in view of Miskin with the LED driving circuit as taught by Wang in order to provide a withstand voltage of the first switching transistor is less than a working voltage of the first LED light source; and a withstand voltage of the second switching transistor is less than a working voltage of the second LED light source as claimed, and also reducing costs.
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Miskin and Wang discloses the driving circuit for lighting and nightlight lighting according to claim 1, except for specifying that wherein: the current limiting resistor comprises at least two resistors connected in series.
However, Miskin disclose while inputs 308 and 310 of the bridge rectifier may be provided for direct connection to an AC power supply, it is contemplated by the invention that one input, shown as input 310, may have a capacitor (shown as capacitor 312) or a resistor (shown in FIG. 18 as resistor 313) connected in series in order to control and limit the current passing through the at least one LED. Additionally, capacitor 314 may be connected across the rectifier inputs to protect against voltage spikes (see paragraph [0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the capacitor in current limiting resistor as taught by Miskin with another resistor connected in series in order to have two resistors connected in series to control and limit the current passing through the at least one LED, and which is also considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Miskin and Wang discloses the driving circuit for lighting and nightlight lighting according to claim 1, wherein: the power control chip (U1) and the control chip (U2) are respectively connected to the floating ground (GND), (see fig. 4d-4g by Chen).
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view Miskin and Wang discloses a lighting device comprising the driving circuit for lighting and nightlight lighting according to claim 1 (see paragraph [0001] and [0068] by Chen).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Miskin and Wang discloses a lighting device comprising the driving circuit for lighting and nightlight lighting according to claim 2 (see paragraph [0001] and [0068] by Chen).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Miskin and Wang discloses a lighting device comprising the driving circuit for lighting and nightlight lighting according to claim 4 (see paragraph [0001] and [0068] by Chen).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, in response to applicant’s arguments on page 4 of the Remarks, particular that "withstand voltage" is a term known to those of ordinary skill in the art. For example, applicant refers to https://hvtesttech.com/en/what-is-withstand-voltage-and-flashover-voltage/, which recites, "withstand voltage refers to the maximum voltage that an electrical component, insulation, or system can endure without experiencing breakdown or degradation over a specified period." The examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument.
The examiner submits that the term “withstand voltage” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “withstand voltage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Second, in response to applicant's argument on pages 5-7 of the Remarks, particular that both Miskin and Wang are silent with respect to a withstand voltage of the first switching transistor and a withstand voltage of the second switching transistor. The first LED light source, the second LED light source, the first switching transistor, and the second switching transistor are nonlinear devices. A current flowing through LED1 and Q2 flows through the following elements in sequence: the positive electrode of the rectifier bridge, the positive electrode of LED1, the negative electrode of LED1, the drain of Q2, the source of Q2, the floating ground (FD), and the negative electrode of rectifier bridge. The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument.
The applicant is advised that in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the interferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In re Preda, 159 USPQ 342 (CCPA 1968). In this case, the examiner submits Miskin discloses a light emitting diodes (LED) and LED drivers comprising inputs 308 and 310 of the bridge rectifier may be provided for direct connection to an AC power supply, it is contemplated by the invention that one input, shown as input 310, may have a capacitor (shown as capacitor 312) or a resistor (shown in FIG. 18 as resistor 313) connected in series in order to control and limit the current passing through the at least one LED. And the lighting device further comprising current limiting resistors electrically connected between the switch and the first and second LED circuits (see paragraph [0140], claims 6 and 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to incorporate a current limiting resistor as taught by Miskin into the LED driving circuit as taught by Chen connected in series in order to control and limit the current passing through the at least one LED (see paragraph [0140] by Miskin).
Wang discloses color-temperature adjustable light-emitting diode (LED) lighting device and a method for adjusting the color temperature of an LED lighting device includes a power supply module, a micro-control unit (MCU), an adjustable LED driving power supply having a positive output terminal and a negative output terminal, a cool white LED array, a warm white LED array, a first switch circuit, a second switch circuit, a first current detection circuit, and a second current detection circuit (see abstract). Wang further discloses the first PWM signal may be used to control the on and off states of the first switch circuit 16, so as to further control the on and off states of the cool white LED array 14. The second PWM signal may be used to control the on and off states of the second switch circuit 17, so as to further control the on and off states of the warm white LED array 15. For example, when the first PWM signal is a high-level signal, the second PWM signal may be a low-level signal. Accordingly, the cool white LED array 14 may be turned on and the warm white LED array 15 may be turned off. When the first PWM signal is a low-level signal, the second PWM signal may be a high-level signal. Accordingly, the cool white LED array 14 may be turned off and the warm white LED array 15 may be turned on. The MCU 12 may adjust the ratio of the on-time of the cool white LED array 14 to the on-time of the warm white LED array 15 in a unit of time, through controlling the duty cycles of the first PWM signal and the second PWM signal. By taking advantage the delay of human eyes, variation of color temperature of the disclosed LED lighting device may be implemented. The duty cycle may be a ratio of the time of high-level voltage to the time of low-level voltage, for a signal (see paragraph [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made that to modify the LED driving circuit as taught by Chen in view of Miskin with the LED driving circuit as taught by Wang in order to provide a withstand voltage of the first switching transistor is less than a working voltage of the first LED light source; and a withstand voltage of the second switching transistor is less than a working voltage of the second LED light source as claimed, and also reducing costs.
Applicant is reminded that claims in a pending application should be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641, 645 (CCPA 1974). Things clearly shown in reference patent drawing qualify as prior art features, even though unexplained by the specification. In re Mraz, 173 USPQ 25, 645 (CCPA 1972). Furthermore, the pending claims must be "given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541,550-51 (CCPA 1969). The claims are interpreted in light of the specification; limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181,26 USPQe2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the examiner interprets the claims as best understood as stated in the office action above.
However, in paragraph [0028] of the instant specification of the application does not disclose “A current flowing through LED1 and Q2 flows through the following elements in sequence: the positive electrode of the rectifier bridge, the positive electrode of LED1, the negative electrode of LED1, the drain of Q2, the source of Q2, the floating ground (FD), and the negative electrode of rectifier bridge.
A total current I = (Vbus - V_LED1 - V_Q2) / (R_LED1 + R_Q2 + R_FD)
A withstand voltage of the first switching transistor Q2 is less than a working voltage of the first LED light source. Meanwhile, the dynamic impedance of LED1 (R_LED1) near the threshold voltage is very large and is roughly hundreds of kΩ-MΩ, the equivalent impedance of Q2 (R_Q2) after breakdown is kΩ-MΩ, and the impedance of the floating ground (R_FD) is also usually at the kΩ level. Assuming that the voltage after the rectifier bridge is 300V, a voltage of LED1 (V_LED1) is 150V, and a voltage of Q2 (V_Q2) is 150V. Therefore, a current after the one-time breakdown is low enough (e.g., measured in µA to several of mA) to avoid the multi-time breakdown. In this way, the first switching transistor Q2 or the second switching transistor Q1 with relatively low withstand voltages can be selected, thereby reducing costs.”
“A current flowing through LED2 and Q1 flows through the following elements in sequence: the positive electrode of the rectifier bridge, the current limiting resistor, the positive electrode of LED2, the negative electrode of LED2, the drain of Q1, the source of Q1, the floating ground (FD), and the negative electrode of rectifier bridge.
A total current I = (Vbus - V_LED2 - V_Q1) / (R_RE + R_LED2 + R_Q1 + R_FD)
A withstand voltage of the second switching transistor Q1 is less than a working voltage of the second LED light source. Meanwhile, the dynamic impedance of LED2 (R_LED2) near the threshold voltage is very large and is roughly hundreds of kQ-MQ, the equivalent impedance of Q1 (R_Q1) after breakdown is kΩ-MΩ, and the impedance of the floating ground (R_FD) is also usually at the kΩ level. Assuming that the voltage after the rectifier bridge is 300V, a voltage of LED2 (V_LED2) is 150V, and a voltage of Q1 (V_Q1) is 150V. Therefore, a current after the one-time breakdown is low enough (e.g., measured in µA to several of mA) to avoid the multi-time breakdown. In this way, the first switching transistor Q2 or the second switching transistor Q1 with relatively low withstand voltages can be selected, thereby reducing costs” as stated on pages 6-7 of the Remarks.
It is also noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the first LED light source, the second LED light source, the first switching transistor, and the second switching transistor are nonlinear devices. A current flowing through LED1 and Q2 flows through the following elements in sequence: the positive electrode of the rectifier bridge, the positive electrode of LED1, the negative electrode of LED1, the drain of Q2, the source of Q2, the floating ground (FD), and the negative electrode of rectifier bridge. A total current I = (Vbus - V_LED1 - V_Q2) / (R_LED1 + R_Q2 + R_FD). A current flowing through LED2 and Q1 flows through the following elements in sequence: the positive electrode of the rectifier bridge, the current limiting resistor, the positive electrode of LED2, the negative electrode of LED2, the drain of Q1, the source of Q1, the floating ground (FD), and the negative electrode of rectifier bridge. A total current I = (Vbus - V_LED2 - V_Q1) / (R_RE + R_LED2 + R_Q1 + R_FD)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant's arguments do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
For the reasons stated as stated above, the examiner still maintains the rejections and makes this office action as final.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Thai Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845 10/09/2026