DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for priority as a continuation of application no. 19/173,183 filed 08 April 2025 and for priority to provisional application no. 63/632,884 filed 11 April 2024.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Figures 1-3) in the reply filed on 08 September 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 4-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 23 January 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The rejections of claims 1-3 and 12-16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been obviated in view of Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 14 January 2026 except with regards to the “means of attachment” in claim 1. See below.
The rejections of claims 1-3 and 12-16 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been obviated in view of Applicant’s amendments filed 14 January 2026 and are withdrawn.
The provisional, statutory rejection of claims 1-3 and 12-16 over claims of copending application no. 19/173,183 has been obviated by Applicant’s amendments, but the claims are still not patentably distinct from each other. The claims are now provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting. See below.
New claims 17-20 have been added. Claims 4-11 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected species.
Claims 1-20 are still pending. Claims 1-3 and 12-20 are examined on the merits as follows.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitations are:
“means of attachment between the pulley and the rigid body structure” in claims 1 and 17 is not described with sufficient structure in the specification. The limitation meets the three-prong test as follows:
the limitation uses the term “means;”
the functional language is “of attachment between the pulley and the rigid body structure;” and
the term “means” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
“means for attachment” in claim 15 is interpreted as “a clip, carabiner, u-bolt, hook, or similar means of attachment” as described in paragraph [0041] of the specification, and equivalents thereof. The limitation meets the three-prong test as follows:
the limitation uses the term “means;”
the functional language is “for attachment;” and
the term “means” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the weight cable” in line 12. However, claim 1 previously recites “a weight cable or a weight cable extension” in line 7. Reciting only one of the two options previously recited renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the weight cable extension is an option.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the weight cable” in line 11. However, claim 1 previously recites “a weight cable or a weight cable extension” in line 7. Reciting only one of the two options previously recited renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the weight cable extension is an option.
Claim limitation “means of attachment between the pulley and the rigid body structure” in claim 1 and 17 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hall et al. (US 10,792,532, hereinafter Hall).
Regarding claim 1, Hall teaches a portable platform accessory for linear-pull weight machines, comprising:
a rigid body structure (user support 202) with a standing surface (foot platforms 212) on top (Fig. 3); and
a pulley mechanism attached to the rigid body structure (Fig. 12), wherein:
the pulley mechanism comprises a pulley (pulley wheel 310) and a means of attachment (pulley plates 306 form a bracket that attaches the pulley mechanism to the user support 202) between the pulley and the rigid body structure (Figs. 11, 12); and
the pulley is configured to redirect a weight cable or a weight cable extension (cable 292) from a linear-pull weight machine (front leg 204) upward toward a user position above the standing surface (Col. 8, lines 25-28: “apparatus 200 is also provided with a cable 292 that is connected to the lever arm 264 and that is routed, via front and back pulley assemblies, to the user area formed above the foot platforms 212.” Front leg 204 is a weight machine with a resistance mechanism that can be used with a linear or roughly linear pull and is thus interpreted as a linear-pull weight machine, as defined by Applicant [see paragraph [0034] of the specification].);
wherein the rigid body structure is configured to be stabilized on a ground surface against horizontal forces from the weight cable by a downward vertical force applied to the standing surface, said downward vertical force comprising the weight of a user and a downward force from the redirected weight cable (Fig. 3. A user standing on the user support 202 would cause sufficient friction to prevent movement of the device against the horizontal force of the weight cable. The Examiner notes that the claim is directed to functional/intended use recitations.).
Regarding claim 2, Hall teaches the portable platform accessory of claim 1, wherein:
the rigid body structure has a raised standing surface sufficient to accommodate the pulley mechanism underneath the standing surface (Figs. 3-5);
the pulley mechanism is attached to the rigid body structure underneath the standing surface (Figs. 4-5 show the pulley mechanism under the standing surface.);
and the standing surface has an opening through which the redirected weight cable or weight cable extension may be routed (Fig. 3 shows an opening between the foot platforms; the Examiner notes that “may be” does not require the cable extension to be routed through the opening.).
Regarding claim 3, Hall teaches the portable platform accessory of claim 2, wherein:
the rigid body structure is in the form of a step stool (Fig. 3 shows user support in the form of a step stool.);
the means of attachment is a bracket (pulley plates 306), post, or pole (Fig. 12 shows the pulley plates 306 forming a bracket for attaching the pulley mechanism to the user support 202.); and
the pulley mechanism comprises a redirectional pulley and a stabilizing pulley affixed to one or more plates (swivel plates 302), the redirectional pulley being configured to guide the weight cable or weight cable extension from a roughly horizontal orientation up through the opening to an upward orientation, and the stabilizing pulley being configured to keep the weight cable in line with the redirectional pulley (See annotated Fig. 13 below.); and
the one or more plates are attached to the bracket, post, or pole by a swivel (pivot tube 304) configured to allow horizontal rotation of the one or more plates (Col. 8, lines 48-51: “The swivel plates 302 are each connected to a pivot tube 304 and then the pivot tube is connected between a pair of back pulley plates 306.” Pivot tube 304 allows the swivel plates 302 to swivel and rotate around a horizontal axis.).
Regarding claim 13, Hall teaches the portable platform accessory of claim 1, wherein the standing surface further comprises a high-friction surface configured to prevent users from slipping while standing on the standing surface (Col. 6, lines 3-6: “Each of the foot platforms 212 is provided with a deck surface that, in this particular case, is formed using a slip resistant diamond plate sheet metal surface.”).
Regarding claim 14, Hall teaches the portable platform accessory of claim 1, further comprising the weight cable extension (Figs 4-5: Cable 292 is a weight cable extension in as much as is described by Applicant. Cable 292 has a means of attachment on both ends.).
Regarding claim 15, Hall teaches the portable platform accessory of claim 14, wherein the weight cable extension has a means for attachment (carabiner 308) at either end or both ends (Fig. 11 shows a carabiner 308 at one end of the cable 292.).
Regarding claim 16, Hall teaches the portable platform accessory of claim 15, wherein the means for attachment is a clip, carabiner (carabiner 308), u-bolt, or hook (Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall (US 10,792,532) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hoole (US 8,147,389).
Regarding claim 12, Hall teaches the portable platform accessory of claim 1, further comprising pad support plates (256) mounted to the feet comprising a padded lower surface that rests on the ground surface (Figs. 6, 8).
Hall does not expressly teach further comprising a high-friction material attached to a bottom portion of the rigid body structure, the high-friction material being configured to increase a coefficient of friction between the portable platform accessory and the ground surface.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hoole teaches a squat platform comprising a high-friction material (anti-slip pads 110) attached to a bottom portion, the high-friction material being configured to increase a coefficient of friction between the platform and the ground surface (Col 10, lines 49-51: “Squat platform anti-slip pads 110 were made of rubber, synthetic, or any other appropriate anti-slip material.” Applicant’s specification discloses “a high-friction material such as rubber” in paragraph [0039].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pads of Hall by making them of rubber, as taught by Hoole. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “help hold [the] platform in position,” as suggested by Hoole (Col. 8, lines 19-22).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall (US 10,792,532) in view of Hoole (US 8,147,389).
Regarding claim 17, Hall teaches a portable platform accessory used by a user for linear-pull weight machines, comprising:
a rigid body structure (user support 202) with a standing surface (foot platforms 212) on top (Fig. 3); and
a pulley mechanism attached to the rigid body structure (Fig. 12), wherein:
the pulley mechanism comprises a pulley (pulley wheel 310) and a means of attachment (pulley plates 306 form a bracket that attaches the pulley mechanism to the user support 202) between the pulley and the rigid body structure (Figs. 11, 12); and
the pulley is configured to redirect a weight cable or a weight cable extension (cable 292) from a linear-pull weight machine (front leg 204) upward toward a user position above the standing surface (Col. 8, lines 25-28: “apparatus 200 is also provided with a cable 292 that is connected to the lever arm 264 and that is routed, via front and back pulley assemblies, to the user area formed above the foot platforms 212.” Front leg 204 is a weight machine with a resistance mechanism that can be used with a linear or roughly linear pull and is thus interpreted as a linear-pull weight machine, as defined by Applicant [see paragraph [0034] of the specification].);
wherein the rigid body structure is configured to be stabilized on a ground surface against horizontal forces from the weight cable by a downward vertical force applied to the standing surface, said downward vertical force comprising the weight of the user and a downward force from the redirected weight cable (Fig. 3. A user standing on the user support 202 would cause sufficient friction to prevent movement of the device against the horizontal force of the weight cable. The Examiner notes that the claim is directed to functional/intended use recitations.).
Hall teaches pad support plates (256) mounted to the feet comprising a padded lower surface that rests on the ground surface (Figs. 6, 8), but does not expressly teach a high-friction material attached to a bottom portion of the rigid body structure, the high-friction material being configured to increase a coefficient of friction between the portable platform accessory and the ground surface.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hoole teaches a squat platform comprising a high-friction material (anti-slip pads 110) attached to a bottom portion, the high-friction material being configured to increase a coefficient of friction between the platform and the ground surface (Col 10, lines 49-51: “Squat platform anti-slip pads 110 were made of rubber, synthetic, or any other appropriate anti-slip material.” Applicant’s specification discloses “a high-friction material such as rubber” in paragraph [0039].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pads of Hall by making them of rubber, as taught by Hoole. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “help hold [the] platform in position,” as suggested by Hoole (Col. 8, lines 19-22).
Regarding claim 18, Hall in view of Hoole teaches the portable platform accessory of claim 17, wherein:
the rigid body structure has a raised standing surface sufficient to accommodate the pulley mechanism underneath the standing surface (Figs. 3-5);
the pulley mechanism is attached to the rigid body structure underneath the standing surface (Figs. 4-5 show the pulley mechanism under the standing surface.);
and the standing surface has an opening through which the redirected weight cable or weight cable extension may be routed (Fig. 3 shows an opening between the foot platforms; the Examiner notes that “may be” does not require the cable extension to be routed through the opening.).
Regarding claim 19, Hall in view of Hoole teaches the portable platform accessory of claim 17, wherein:
the rigid body structure is in the form of a step stool (Fig. 3 shows user support in the form of a step stool.);
the means of attachment is a bracket (pulley plates 306), post, or pole (Fig. 12 shows the pulley plates 306 forming a bracket for attaching the pulley mechanism to the user support 202.); and
the pulley mechanism comprises a redirectional pulley and a stabilizing pulley affixed to one or more plates (swivel plates 302), the redirectional pulley being configured to guide the weight cable or weight cable extension from a roughly horizontal orientation up through the opening to an upward orientation, and the stabilizing pulley being configured to keep the weight cable in line with the redirectional pulley (See annotated Fig. 13 above with regards to claim 3.); and
the one or more plates are attached to the bracket, post, or pole by a swivel (pivot tube 304) configured to allow horizontal rotation of the one or more plates (Col. 8, lines 48-51: “The swivel plates 302 are each connected to a pivot tube 304 and then the pivot tube is connected between a pair of back pulley plates 306.” Pivot tube 304 allows the swivel plates 302 to swivel and rotate around a horizontal axis.).
Regarding claim 20, Hall in view of Hoole teaches the portable platform accessory of claim 17. Hall in view of Hoole is silent to the coefficient of friction and does not expressly teach wherein the coefficient of friction is between 0.28 and 0.65. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Hall in view of Hoole to have a coefficient of friction between 0.28 and 0.65, because the platform would not operate differently with the claimed dimension because a coefficient of friction between 0.28 and 0.65 would be appropriate for keeping the platform in place on the ground, as desired by Hall. Such modifications involve the mere optimization of a variable within a working range to yield predictable results which fail to distinguish the invention over the prior art. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the specified dimension (see MPEP 2144.05).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 12-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 12-16 of copending Application No. 19/173,183 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each limitation is anticipated by claims 1-3 and 12-16 of the copending application. In particular, in claims 1 and 17, the limitation of “wherein the rigid body structure is configured to be stabilized on a ground surface against horizontal forces from the weight cable by a downward vertical force applied to the standing surface, said downward vertical force comprising the weight of the user and a downward force from the redirected weight cable” is anticipated by the limitation of claim 1 of the copending application of “wherein the weight of a user’s body while standing on the standing surface combined with the downward force of the redirected weight cable or weight cable extension causes sufficient friction between the rigid body structure and a ground surface so as to prevent movement of the portable platform accessory toward the linear-pull weight machine due to horizontal forces from the weight cable or weight cable extension.” The two limitations are simply reworded, but cover the same patentable scope. See the table below for corresponding claims of the copending application and the instant application.
Instant claim
Copending application 19/173,183 claim
1
1
2
2
3
3
12
12
13
13
14
14
15
15
16
16
17
1 and 12
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been considered but are moot because Applicant’s amendments have obviated the rejections.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues that Hall does not teach a portable platform accessory. The Office respectfully disagrees. The user support of Hall is portable, because it is not directly attached to the ground and is capable of being transported. Applicant argues that Hall discloses a complete, integrated, and standalone belt squat apparatus and is thus not an accessory. The Office respectfully disagrees. The front leg 204 of the apparatus can be removed from and separated from the user support 202. Hall teaches wherein the front leg 204 is mounted to the main mounting plate 260 which can be detached from a front cross member 208 of the user support 202. Even though the user support 202 and front leg 204 are shown as being attached, this does not mean that the user support 202 is not an accessory of the overall apparatus.
Applicant further argues that Hall does not teach the originally filed functional limitation of “wherein the weight of a user’s body… causes sufficient friction… so as to prevent movement of the portable platform accessory toward the linear-pull weight machine.” The Office respectfully disagrees. The newly amended claim limitation reads “wherein the rigid body structure is configured to be stabilized on a ground surface against horizontal forces from the weight cable by a downward vertical force applied to the standing surface, said downward vertical force comprising the weight of a user and a downward force from the redirected weight cable.” This is a functional/intended use recitation. It makes no difference if the devices of the prior art are used in a different way since a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, the limitation is met. In this instance, Hall is capable of meeting the claimed intended use recitations since the device comprises the structures recited by the claim and is capable of being stabilized on a ground surface against horizontal forces from the weight cable by a downward vertical force. The downward vertical forces would be the weight of the user and the downward force of the redirected weight cable.
Regarding claim 3, Applicant argues that Hall fails to teach a stabilizing pulley configured to keep the weight cable in line with the redirectional pulley. The Office respectfully disagrees. The stabilizing pulley 298 is shown as keeping the cable 292 in line with the redirectional pulley in Figure 13. Figure 3 of the instant application shows the stabilizing pulley 124 aligned with the redirectional pulley 125 in a similar way to keep the cable in line.
Regarding claims 14-16, Applicant further argues that Hall does not teach a weight cable extension. The Office respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0041] of the specification of the instant application recites “the weight cable 130 may be an extension cable that is pre-threaded through the pulleys with a means for attachment at either end 132a,b, or both ends, such as a clip, carabiner, u-bolt, hook, or similar means of attachment.” Paragraph [0035] of the specification of the instant application further recites “in some linear-pull weight machines, there may be no weight cable and an extension cable from the platform may be attached directly to the linear-pull weight machine.” The cable 292 of Hall is shown in at least Figure 11 as being pre-threaded through the pulleys with means for attachment at both ends and attached directly to the linear-pull weight machine via connection 294.
Regarding claim 12, Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine Hall in view of Hoole to teach the high-friction material attached to a bottom portion of the rigid structure. The Office respectfully disagrees. Hall teaches padded material on a bottom of the device on pad support plates 256 shown in Figure 4. Hall recites “Pad support plates 256 are mounted to each of the feet. Pad support plates 256 have a planar and preferably padded lower surface that rests on the ground surface” in Col. 6, lines 13-16. Hall is silent to the material of the padded material and does not expressly teach wherein it is a high-friction material. However, Hoole teaches anti-slip pads that are made of rubber. The combination of Hall in view of Hoole teaches wherein the pads of Hall are made of rubber, as taught by Hoole. Applicant argues that Hall’s apparatus is stable and would not require the rubber pads of Hoole. Hall already has pads for added stability. Hoole is relied upon only for the high-friction, rubber material of the pads.
Applicant further argues against the combination of Hall and Hoole because Hall teaches adjusting exercise difficulty through different cable attachment points on the lever arm, rather than by introducing a high-friction material which teaches away from Hoole’s use of a friction material to vary resistance. The Office respectfully disagrees. The high-friction, rubber pads of Hoole are not meant to vary resistance. Hoole teaches wherein the platform anti-slip pads 110 “serve to help hold squat platform 100 in position” (see Col. 8, lines 19-22). The rubber material of the anti-slip pads would also serve to hold the apparatus of Hall in position. Many exercise devices use high-friction material or pads to keep the devices in place in order to prevent injury.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 1 for the recitation of “sufficient friction” have been considered but are moot because Applicant’s amendments have removed the limitation from the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 2 for the recitation of “sufficient to accommodate” has been considered and is persuasive. Applicant stated that “sufficient to accommodate” would be readily understood as “the standing surface must be raised high enough to fit the pulley mechanism underneath it, as depicted in Figure 1.”
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 3 for the recitation of the “two pulleys,” “redirectional pulley,” and “stabilizing pulley” have been considered, but are moot because Applicant’s amendments have overcome the rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation of “means of attachment” have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant brings attention to several places with the specification, but none of them describe a “means of attachment” as recited in the claims. If Applicant intends on the “means of attachment” to be interpreted as bracket 123, for example, Applicant should amend the specification to clearly disclose this. It is also noted that references made to paragraphs [0049], [0055], [0057], and Figures 4-8 are for non-elected species.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, Applicant’s amendments have resulted in withdrawal of the provisional, statutory rejection of the claims over the claims of copending application no. 19/173,183, but the claims at issue are still not patentably distinct from each other. Therefore, the claims are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over the claims of copending application no. 19/173,183.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3784
/Megan Anderson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784