DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/21/2025, 12/17/2025, 02/06/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN 113542993 A) and in view of Rahn (US 2016/0028474).
Re Claim 1, Sun discloses a method, comprising:
carrying a first indication in overheads of a first data unit frame, wherein the first indication indicates a bandwidth resize location of the first data unit frame (Pg. 5, Fig. 4, the bandwidth increase message is used to indicate the position of the start byte of the byte set in the second payload partition where the bandwidth increases and becomes part of the first payload partition (first data unit frame));
mapping first partial bytes that are in the first data unit frame and that are located before the bandwidth resize location to a first service container of a second data unit frame (Pg. 5, Fig. 4, the first payload indicates the first part of the data frame where the first payload is before the bandwidth increase message (resize), and the information includes the start byte of the byte set in the second payload partition where the bandwidth increase will start); and
mapping second partial bytes that are in the first data unit frame and that are located after the bandwidth resize location to a second service container of the second data unit frame (Pg. 5, Fig. 4, The network device (OLT) allocates the byte set originally belonging to the second payload partition to the first payload partition according to the bandwidth increase message. The first payload includes N bytes and the byte set allocated by the network device to the first payload partition includes M bytes, then the allocated first payload partition includes N+M bytes.),
wherein a first quantity of first slots occupied by the first service container and a second quantity of second slots occupied by the second service container are different (Pg. 4, case 1, discloses that a first payload with service N and partitions part of the second payload time slots to bear the service M, the hybrid transmission frame can now carry the service N and M at the same time. Pg. 6, fig.7 the network device may map each TUflex to a flexible optical data unit (flexible optical data unit, ODUflex).
While Sun discloses ODUflex, Sun does not explicitly disclose a container, however Rahn discloses a container ([0007], [0025], ODUflex container).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Sun’s ODUflex with Tian’s ODUflex container in order to include a well-known OTN service container. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to recognize that the ODUflex is well known as part of OTN.
Re claim 2, Sun discloses wherein a first location to which the first indication is mapped and that is in the second data unit frame is X, wherein a second location to which a byte on the bandwidth resize location is mapped and that is in the second data unit frame is Y, and wherein Y is related to X (Pg. 5, Fig. 4, The network device (OLT) allocates the byte set originally belonging to the second payload partition to the first payload partition according to the bandwidth increase message. The first payload includes N bytes and the byte set allocated by the network device to the first payload partition includes M bytes, then the allocated first payload partition includes N+M bytes. This is equivalent to the frame X and Frame Y).
Re claim 3, Sun discloses wherein the first indication is a bandwidth resize indicate (Pg. 5, step 602, the bandwidth increase message is used to indicate the event of increasing the bandwidth of the partition). One of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Sun for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Rahn discloses BWR_IND ([0061], discloses bandwidth resize indicator BWR_IND)
Re claim 4, Sun discloses indicates that a rate of the first data unit frame needs to be adjusted (Pg. 5, step 602, the bandwidth increase message is used to indicate the event of increasing the bandwidth of the partition). One of ordinary level of skill in the art would have been compelled to make the proposed modification to Sun for the same reasons identified in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Rahn discloses wherein the BWR_IND is 1 and indicates that a rate of the first data unit frame needs to be adjusted ([0061], discloses BWR_IND is set from “0” to “1” to indicate the ODUflex source is adjusting to the ODUflex signal bit rate).
Re claim 5, Sun discloses wherein both the first data unit frame and the second data unit frame are optical transport network (OTN) frames (Pg. 4, case 1, OTN device, and the transmission frame is an OTU frame. OTU frame is a specific OTN frame).
Re claim 6, Sun discloses wherein mapping the first partial bytes comprises mapping the first partial bytes to M slots of the second data unit frame, and wherein mapping the second partial bytes comprises mapping the second partial bytes to M+N slots or M−N slots of the second data unit frame Sun ((Pg. 5, Fig. 4, The network device (OLT) allocates the byte set originally belonging to the second payload partition to the first payload partition according to the bandwidth increase message. The first payload includes N bytes and the byte set allocated by the network device to the first payload partition includes M bytes, then the allocated first payload partition includes N+M bytes. Which means the remaining second payload is what’s left (M-N). Pg. 4, case 1, discloses that a first payload with service N and partitions part of the second payload time slots to bear the service M, the hybrid transmission frame can now carry the service N and M at the same time.). Sun also discloses it is known that the partition payload is divided into multiple time slots, multiple code blocks, or multiple bytes. Therefore, it is well known that the mappings of the frames/bytes correspond to the slots that are needed).
Re claim 7, Sun discloses wherein a first overhead area of the second data unit frame comprises a first overhead region corresponding to each slot in a payload area of the second data unit frame, and wherein a second overhead region of a last slot in the first service container comprises a mapping overhead of mapping the first data unit frame to the first service container ((Pg. 5, Fig. 4, The network device (OLT) allocates the byte set originally belonging to the second payload partition to the first payload partition according to the bandwidth increase message. The first payload includes N bytes and the byte set allocated by the network device to the first payload partition includes M bytes, then the allocated first payload partition includes N+M bytes. Which means the remaining second payload is what’s left (M-N). Pg. 4, case 1, discloses that a first payload with service N and partitions part of the second payload time slots to bear the service M, the hybrid transmission frame can now carry the service N and M at the same time.). Sun also discloses it is known that the partition payload is divided into multiple time slots, multiple code blocks, or multiple bytes. Therefore, it is well known that the mappings of the frames/bytes correspond to the slots that are needed).
Re claims 8-20 are similar to claims 1-7 and therefore are rejected for the same reasons above.
Conclusion
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443