DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
· The limitation “the first end of each of the connecting pieces is provided with a protrusion diameter, so that the connecting piece serves as an enlarged head” recited in claim 5. The drawings appears to show the protrusion diameter on only one of the connecting pieces (i.e., 40).
· The limitation “ the first end of each of the connecting pieces is provided with an external thread, so that the connecting piece serves as an inner end portion” recited in claim 6. The drawings appear to show the external thread on only one of the connecting pieces (i.e., 50). Further, the drawings appears to show that the second end of the connecting piece is provided with an external thread, not the first end as recited in the claim 6.
2. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because the following reference characters have both been used to designate the same element:
· Fig. 3: reference characters "40A" and "40"
· Fig. 4: reference characters "403A" and "403"
· Fig. 5: reference characters "503A" and "503"; reference characters "50A" and "50"
· Fig. 9: reference characters "104A" and "104"
· Fig. 10: reference characters "70A" and "70"
· Fig. 16: reference characters "70A" and "70"
· Fig. 17: reference characters "503B" and "503"; reference characters "50B" and "50"
· Fig. 18: reference characters "403C" and “403”; reference characters "40C" and "40"
· Fig. 19: reference characters "503C" and “503”; reference characters "50C" and "50"
· Fig. 20: reference characters "104B" and “104”
· Fig. 21: reference characters "70B” and “70”
· Fig. 31: reference characters "40D” and “40”
· Fig. 32: reference characters "405A” and “405”; reference character “404B” and “404”
· Fig. 33: reference characters "405A” and “405”; reference character “404A” and “404”
· Fig. 34: reference characters "405B” and “405”; reference character “404A” and “404”
· Fig. 35: reference characters "50D” and “50”
Reference characters cannot share the same leader line.
3. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
· “a spoke main body 3” in line 1 of para [098]
4. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
· Reference character “F” in Figs. 12-14
5. Figures 12 and 13 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
6. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
· “2: 1” should be replaced with --2:1-- in line 5 of para [0104] on page 12 of the specification.
· “2: 1” should be replaced with --2:1-- in line 8 of para [0104] on page 13 of the specification
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Objections
7. Claims 4, 7-9, 15-17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
· Claim 4: “a hole inwall of the first section” should be replaced with --an inner wall of a hole of the first section-- for clarity in line 6
· Claim 4: “a hole inwall of the second section” should be replaced with --an inner wall of a hole of the second section-- for clarity in line 6
· Claim 7: “the hole inwall of the first section” should be replaced with --the inner wall of the hole of the second section-- for clarity in line 1
· Claim 8: “the hole inwall of the second section” should be replaced with --the inner wall of the hole of the second section-- for clarity in line 1
· Claim 9: “2: 1” should be replaced with --2:1-- to correct a typographical error in line 2
· Claim 15: “a hole inwall of the hole” should be replaced with --an inner wall of the hole-- for clarity in lines 1-2
· Claim 15: “an “-“-shaped insert” should be replaced with --a “-“-shaped insert-- for consistency in line 2
· Claim 16: “a hole inwall of the hole” should be replaced with --an inner wall of the hole-- for clarity in lines 1-2
· Claim 17: “a hole inwall of the hole” should be replaced with --an inner wall of the hole-- for clarity in lines 1-2
· Claim 17: “an “-“-shaped insert” should be replaced with --a “-“-shaped insert-- for consistency in line 2
· Claim 19: “the spoke fiber” should be replaced with --the fiber spoke-- for consistency in line 2
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
· The limitation “ the first end of each of the connecting pieces is provided with a protrusion diameter, so that the connecting piece serves as an enlarged head” recited in claim 5 is not described by the specification.
· The limitation “ the first end of each of the connecting pieces is provided with an external thread, so that the connecting piece serves as an inner end portion” recited in claim 6 is not described by the specification.
11. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
12. The phrase “extending from a tail end to a middle” recited in line 5 of claims 1 and 11 renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is unclear what structure the recited “middle” is with respect to. The claim does not provide an objective reference for determining the location of the “middle”, e.g., whether the “middle” refers to a middle portion of the rod-shaped spoke main body, the outer end thereof, or another structure.
13. The phrase “an inner end portion” recited in lines 2-3 of claim 6 renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is unclear what structure the recited “inner end portion” is with respect to. The claim does not provide an objective structural reference for determining what the connecting piece constitutes an inner end portion of.
14. Claim 12 is indefinite because the claim includes multiple recitations of the same element without clarity as to whether the recited elements refer to the same element previously set forth in the claim or to an additional element. Please note the following: “a material” in line 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
17. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Tien (US 2018/0022147 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Tien discloses a fiber spoke A (Figs. 1 and 2), comprising a rod-shaped spoke main body 10 and connecting pieces 20A/20B fixedly connected to an outer end of the rod-shaped spoke main body (“a first joint 20A and a second joint 20B are respectively mounted to the two opposite ends of the carbon fiber stick 10” per para [0027]; Figs. 1 and 2), wherein each of the connecting pieces 20A/20B comprises a columnar main body (Fig. 1) and a hole 21 (Fig. 2) extending in a direction of a central axis (The central axis is implicitly shown in Figs. 1 and 2) of the rod-shaped spoke main body 10, the outer end of the rod-shaped spoke main body 10 is provided with a section of notch (Refer to the notch in the annotated Fig. 4 below) extending from a tail end (Refer to the tail end in the annotated Fig. 4 below) to a middle (As best understood, Tien discloses the section of the notch extending from a tail end to a middle as shown in the annotated Fig. 4 below) in an axis direction (The claimed axis direction corresponds to the central axis of the rod-shaped spoke main body 10), the outer end of the rod-shaped spoke main body 10 is divided into at least two forking portions (Refer to the forking portions in the annotated Fig. 4 below) through the notch, the fiber spoke A further comprises an insert 30 (Fig. 2) capable of being matched with the notch (Fig. 2; Note that the phrase “capable of being matched” merely describes a capability and does not impose any specific structural limitation as to how the components are matched), the outer end of the rod-shaped spoke main body 10 is arranged in the hole 21 (Fig. 2), and in the hole 21, the insert 30 is wedged into the notch (Figs. 2 and 4), so that the rod-shaped spoke main body 10 and a corresponding one of the connecting pieces 20A/20B can be wedged (Figs. 2 and 4; Note that the phrase “can be wedged” merely describes a capability and does not impose any specific structural limitation as to how the connecting pieces are wedged) in the hole 21 by virtue of acting forces between the insert 30 and the at least two forking portions at the outer end of the rod-shaped spoke main body 10 (Fig. 5 shows the plug 30 inserted between and engaging the at least two forking portions of the enlarged section 11, such that forces necessarily act between the plug 30 and the forking portions; Para [0032]-[0033]; Further, the embodiment of Fig. 9 similarly shows the plug 30C disposed within and engaging the enlarged section 11, and para [0036] expressly describes the relative tension/pressure associated with this arrangement), wherein the insert is made from a material with a yield strength (“The plug 30 is formed by a material selected from a group consisted of aluminum, plastic and solid material” per para [0030]. Based on the description, Aluminum inherently possesses a yield strength. Accordingly, the limitation is met).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 4 of Tien
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
21. Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tien as applied to claims 11, 19, and 20 above.
Regarding claim 12, Tien discloses the fiber spoke according to claim 11, but fails to expressly disclose the insert is made from a material with a relatively low yield strength, an elasticity limit of the material being smaller than 10 kgf/mm2.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the insert of Tien by selecting a material having an appropriate elasticity limit, including one smaller than 10 kgf/mm2, based on the desired mechanical properties and deformation requirements of the plug, since selection of a material having a suitable elasticity limit would have involved routine material selection to achieve the desired performance.
Regarding claim 13, Tien discloses the fiber spoke according to claim 12 and Tien further discloses the insert 30 is made from a metal element aluminum (Para [0030]), a tin alloy, a metal element tin, a lead alloy or a metal element lead.
22. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tien as applied to claims 11, 19, and 20 above, and further in view of Johnson (US 5110190 A).
Regarding claim 14, Tien discloses the fiber spoke according to claim 11, but fails to disclose the rod-shaped spoke main body is a rod formed by curing a plurality of bundled fibers made from a high-strength and high-modulus material.
Johnson, however, teaches a rod-shaped spoke formed from a plurality of bundled high-strength, high-modulus fibers impregnated with a resin and cured to form a rigid unitary composite spoke (Lines 63-68 of col. 4 and lines 1-7 of col. 5; lines 37-41 of col. 5; lines 67-68 of col. 11 and lines 1-11 of col. 12; lines 58-64 of col. 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rod-shaped spoke main body 10 of Tien by forming a plurality of bundled high-strength, high-modulus fibers impregnated with a resin and cured, as taught by Johnson, with a reasonable expectation of success in providing a lighweight, high-strength spoke having the desired structural integrity.
Allowable Subject Matter
23. Claims 1-10 and 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
24. Claims 15-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
25. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references disclose an attachment system for spokes in a bicycle wheel.
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615