DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the different pocket guide shapes as described in claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the main body structure is a single unitary structure of claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9-18 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nathan et al. (US 2007/0083985).
In regard to claim 1, Nathan et al. teaches an undergarment that can be folded in on itself to form a self-contained pouch and un-folded to form a wearable garment (See figures 1-4B), the undergarment comprising: a front panel comprising an interior side and an exterior side, the exterior side comprising a right portion and a left portion (front panel/waistband: 30); a first layer coupled to the front panel along edges of the right portion of the front panel (first layer: 18 coupled to waistband via top edge 32 stitching, paragraph 0013); a second layer coupled to the front panel along edges of the left portion of the front panel (second layer: 52 coupled via seam 54 and top edge stitching at 32: paragraph 0013 and 0014), the first layer overlapping with the second layer in a central portion of the exterior side of the front panel (first panel 18 overlapping second layer 52: see figure 1); and a circular seam joining the first layer, the second layer, and the front panel, the circular seam located in the central portion of the front panel where the first layer overlaps with the second layer (seam: 54, see figure 1 that joins 18 to 52 to waistband/front panel 30, paragraphs 0013-0014), the circular seam defining a shape of the self-contained pouch when the undergarment is folded in on itself (see figures 1-4B).
For the rejection of claim 2, a different interpretation of the Nathan et al. reference is being used for claim 1.
In regard to claim 1, Nathan et al. teaches an undergarment that can be folded in on itself to form a self-contained pouch and un-folded to form a wearable garment (See figures 1-4B), the undergarment comprising: a front panel comprising an interior side and an exterior side (front panel/waistband: 30), the exterior side comprising a right portion and a left portion (waistband: 30); a first layer coupled to the front panel along edges of the right portion of the front panel (first layer: 52 attached to waistband/front panel: 30 seam 54); a second layer coupled to the front panel along edges of the left portion of the front panel (second layer: 18 coupled to front panel/waistband: 20 along seam at upper edge 32, paragraph 0013), the first layer overlapping with the second layer in a central portion of the exterior side of the front panel (see figure 2); and a circular seam joining the first layer, the second layer, and the front panel (Figure 2: circular seam 54 that attaches to first layer: 52 to the second layer: 18 and the front panel/waistband: 30 via seam 54 and top edge 38 via stitching), the circular seam located in the central portion of the front panel where the first layer overlaps with the second layer (see seam: 54 in figure 2), the circular seam defining a shape of the self-contained pouch when the undergarment is folded in on itself (see figures 2-4B).
In regard to claim 2, Nathan teaches wherein a portion of a leftmost edge of the first layer forms an opening within the circular seam (first layer: 52, see figure 4B and uppermost edge forms an opening with seam 54).
In regard to claim 5, Nathan teaches wherein the circular seam (54) is centered relative to a right side and a left side of the undergarment (See figures 4A).
In regard to claim 6, Nathan teaches wherein the circular seam passes through a portion of the front panel (seam 54 intersects/passes through seam at top edge 32 that attaches to waistband: paragraph 0013-0014).
In regard to claim 9, Nathan teaches wherein the undergarment is a re-usable and washable undergarment configured to absorb menstrual fluids (paragraph 0012).
In regard to claim 10, Nathan et al. teaches a garment comprising: a main body structure comprising a front portion and a back portion (main body/waistband: 30); two layers of fabric coupled to the front portion along outer edges of the front portion (one layer: 18, second layer: 52, see figures 1 and 2); and a pocket guide configured to form a self-contained pouch when the garment is reversibly folded in on itself (see figures 1-4B), the pocket guide comprising a seam or weld that joins the two layers of fabric and the front portion of the main body structure (seam: 54 joins 18, 52 and top edge 32 stitching to waistband: 30, paragraphs 0013-0014).
In regard to claim 11, Nathan teaches wherein a portion of an edge of one of the two layers forms an opening of the pocket guide (see figures 2, 4A and 4B, top edge: 56).
In regard to claim 12, Nathan teaches wherein the portion of the edge comprises a curve (see curve edge 56 in figure 2).
In regard to claim 13, Nathan teaches wherein the two layers of fabric overlap in a central region of the front portion (see figures 1 and 2), or wherein the two layers of fabric do not overlap in a central region of the front portion.
In regard to claim 14, Nathan teaches wherein the two layers of fabric are coupled to an exterior side of the front portion, or wherein the two layers of fabric are coupled to an interior side of the front portion (coupled via seam 32 and 54, see figure 1, coupled to the interior side of waistband: 30).
In regard to claim 15, Nathan teaches wherein the pocket guide is circular, elliptical, rectangular, square-shaped, heart-shaped, teardrop-shaped, or oval-shaped (see figures 1 and 2, guide seam; 54).
In regard to claim 16, Nathan teaches wherein the pocket guide is circular (seam: 54 is circular), and wherein the garment comprises an undergarment, a swim garment, or athletic attire comprising a washable material configured to absorb body fluids (paragraph 0012).
In regard to claim 17, Nathan teaches wherein an opening of the pocket guide forms a chord that does not pass through a center of the pocket guide (see opening in figure 2 that does not pass through a center of the seam/guide: 54), or wherein an opening of the pocket guide forms a diameter of the pocket guide.
In regard to claim 18, Nathan teaches wherein the pocket guide is centered between a right outer edge and a left outer edge of the front portion (see figures 1 and 2), or wherein the pocket guide is not centered between a right outer edge and a left outer edge of the front portion.
In regard to claim 20, Nathan teaches wherein the seam or weld (54) passes through the front portion (30) to an interior-most side of the front portion (see seam in figures 1 and 2 extending through the interior and exterior of the garment including at the waistband seam along edge 32), or wherein the seam or weld does not pass through the front portion to an interior-most side of the front portion.
In regard to claim 21, Nathan teaches wherein the main body structure is a single unitary structure, or wherein the main body structure comprises a plurality of portions joined together (see figures 1 and 2, paragraphs 0011-0012).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathan et al. (US 2007/0083985) in view of Thomas (US 7,191,720).
Nathan teaches a undergarment as described above in claim 1. However, Nathan fails to teach the circular seam not passing through the interior side of the front panel.
In regard to claim 7, Thomas teaches an adhesive seam that would not pass through an interior side of garment panels being attached together (figures 1 and 2, column 4, lines 10-20).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the seam of Nathan as an bonded seam as taught by Thomas, since the seam of Nathan provided as a bonded seam would provide a seam that attaches garment panels together without passing through the panels (like stitching) and provides a less bulky attachment means (Thomas: column 4, lines 10-20).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathan et al. (US 2007/0083985) in view of Rabinowicz (US 6,622,312).
Nathan teaches a undergarment as described above in claim 1. However, Nathan fails to teach wherein the front panel comprises at least an exterior front panel layer and an interior front panel layer, and wherein the circular seam passes through the exterior front panel layer but not the interior front panel layer.
In regard to claim 8, Rabinowicz teaches a waistband/front panel that comprises at least an exterior front panel layer and an interior front panel layer (elastic element/interior front panel layer: 52, figure 6 and exterior front panel surrounding the elastic), and wherein the circular seam passes through the exterior front panel layer but not the interior front panel layer (figure 6, column 6, lines 20-38).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the waistband/front panel of Nathan et al. with the elastic interior layer and seam attachment not extending through the interior layer as taught by Rabinowicz, since the waistband/front panel of Nathan et al. provided with an interior elastic layer and seam attachment of just the exterior layer would provide a waistband/front panel that allows for stretch of the elastic interior layer without being limited by a seam attachment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found cited in PTO-892 form submitted herewith. The cited prior art to King (US 3,844,282) is of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732