DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to amendment received on 04/15/26. Claims 1, 3, 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18, 20 and 21 have been amended and claims 24-28 have been newly added. Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 12-14, 16, 18, 20-21 and 24-28 are examined herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, main body structure being a unitary member as provided in claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is over 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The use of the term Zorb® (paragraph 0038), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be entirely capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 12-14, 16, 18, 20-21, 24-26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nathan et al. (US 2007/0083985).
In regard to claim 10, Nathan et al. teaches a garment comprising: a main body structure comprising a front portion and a back portion (main body/waistband: 30); two layers of fabric coupled to the front portion along outer edges of the front portion (one layer: 18, second layer: 52, see figures 1 and 2); and a pocket guide configured to form a self-contained pouch when the garment is reversibly folded in on itself (see figures 1-4B), the pocket guide comprising a circular seam or weld that joins the two layers of fabric and the front portion of the main body structure (seam: 54 joins 18, 52 and top edge 32 stitching to waistband: 30, paragraphs 0013-0014), wherein a portion of an edge of one of the two layers forms an opening of the pocket guide (see edge of outer layer 52 forming opening), wherein the edge of the one of the two layers is offset a distance from a center of the pocket guide (an edge of both 18 and 52 is offset a distance from a center of the pocket guide), and wherein the opening is offset the distance from the center of the pocket guide (opening formed by top edge 56 is offset the distance from the center of the pocket guide: see figure 2).
In regard to claim 12, Nathan teaches wherein the portion of the edge comprises a curve (see curve edge 56 in figure 2).
In regard to claim 13, Nathan teaches wherein the two layers of fabric overlap in a central region of the front portion (see figures 1 and 2).
In regard to claim 14, Nathan teaches wherein the two layers of fabric are coupled to an exterior side of the front portion (coupled via seam 32 and 54, see figure 1, coupled to the exterior side of waistband: 30 as positioned in figure 2).
In regard to claim 16, Nathan teaches wherein the garment comprises an undergarment, a swim garment, or athletic attire comprising a washable material configured to absorb body fluids (paragraph 0012).
In regard to claim 18, Nathan teaches wherein the pocket guide is centered between a right outer edge and a left outer edge of the front portion (see figures 1 and 2).
In regard to claim 20, Nathan teaches wherein the seam or weld (54) passes through the front portion (30) to an interior-most side of the front portion (see seam in figures 1 and 2 extending through the interior and exterior of the garment including at the waistband seam along edge 32).
In regard to claim 21, Nathan teaches wherein the main body structure is a single unitary structure (see figures 1 and 2, body is formed into a single unitary structure).
In regard to claim 24, Nathan teaches wherein the layers of fabric do not overlap in a central region of the front portion (layers 18 and 52 do not overlay at opening formed by edge 56 in the front portion).
In regard to claim 25, Nathan teaches wherein the two layers of fabric are coupled to an interior side of the front portion (coupled via seam 32 and 54, see figure 1, coupled to the interior side of waistband: 30).
In regard to claim 26, Nathan teaches wherein the pocket guide is not centered between a right outer edge and a left outer edge of the front portion (see opening to pocket guide that is not the pocket guide and therefore not centered at the opening between the left and right side).
In regard to claim 28, Nathan teaches wherein the main body structure comprises a plurality of portions joined together (see figures 1 and 2, paragraphs 0011-0012).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathan et al. (US 2007/0083985) in view of Thomas (US 7,191,720).
Nathan teaches a undergarment as described above in claim 1. However, Nathan fails to teach the circular seam not passing through the interior side of the front panel.
In regard to claim 27, Thomas teaches an adhesive seam that would not pass through the front portion to an interior-most side of the front portion attaching the garment panels together (figures 1 and 2, column 4, lines 10-20).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the seam of Nathan as an bonded seam as taught by Thomas, since the seam of Nathan provided as a bonded seam would provide a seam that attaches garment panels together without passing through the panels (like stitching) and provides a less bulky attachment means (Thomas: column 4, lines 10-20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3 and 5-9 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant remarks that claim 10 was amended to include the allowable subject matter of dependent claims 2 and 4.
The examiner notes that claims 2 and 4 were allowable based upon the subject matter of intendent claim 1. Claim 10 is an independent claim that does not contain the subject matter that gets around the Nathan reference and as detailed above in the office action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732