DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komatsu (US PGPub 20180131344).
As per claim 1:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6:
An acoustic wave filter comprising:
an input port (202);
an output port (204);
a plurality of acoustic wave resonators (series resonators 222 and parallel resonators 224 in filter 220) electrically connected between the input port and the output port; and
an impedance matching acoustic wave resonator (210, [0040]) electrically connected on one side to a node between the plurality of acoustic wave resonators and one of the input port or the output port, and on a second side to one of ground or to the one of the input port or the output port (as seen in Fig. 5), the impedance matching acoustic wave resonator having a resonance frequency below a low edge of a passband of the acoustic wave filter and an antiresonance frequency above a high edge of the passband of the acoustic wave filter ([0041]), the impedance matching acoustic wave resonator being one of a surface acoustic wave resonator having a multilayer piezoelectric substrate or a bulk acoustic wave resonator ([0043]).
As per claims 2 & 13:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the impedance matching acoustic wave resonator is inductive at all frequencies within the passband of the acoustic wave filter ([0048]).
As per claims 3 & 17:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6:
The acoustic wave filter of claim 1 or 12 configured as a ladder filter ([0038]).
As per claims 5 & 19:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6 & 16:
The acoustic wave filter of claim 1 configured as one of a receive filter or a transmit filter of a duplexer ([0086]).
As per claims 7 & 14:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the plurality of acoustic wave resonators are surface acoustic wave resonators ([0038]).
As per claims 8 & 15:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the plurality of acoustic wave resonators are bulk acoustic wave resonators ([0042]).
As per claims 9 & 16:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6:
the plurality of acoustic wave resonators include at least one surface acoustic wave resonator and at least one bulk acoustic wave resonator ([0042]).
As per claim 10:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6 & 16:
A radio frequency device module including the radio frequency filter of claim 1 (Fig. 16 shows the filter 200 included as a module as part of a duplexer, [0083]).
As per claim 11:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6 & 16:
A radio frequency device including the radio frequency device module of claim 10 (phone, tablet, modem, etc. [0084]).
As per claim 12:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6 & 15-16:
An acoustic wave device configured as one of a duplexer or a diversity receive module ([0083]) and including at least one acoustic wave filter comprising:
an input port (202);
an output port (204);
a plurality of acoustic wave resonators (series resonators 222 and parallel resonators 224 in filter 220) electrically connected between the input port and the output port; and
an impedance matching acoustic wave resonator (210, [0040]) electrically connected on one side to a node between the plurality of acoustic wave resonators and one of the input port or the output port, and on a second side to one of ground or to the one of the input port or the output port (as seen in Fig. 5), the impedance matching acoustic wave resonator having a resonance frequency below a low edge of a passband of the acoustic wave filter and an antiresonance frequency above a high edge of the passband of the acoustic wave filter ([0041]), the impedance matching acoustic wave resonator being one of a surface acoustic wave resonator having a multilayer piezoelectric substrate or a bulk acoustic wave resonator ([0043]).
As per claim 20:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6 & 16:
A radio frequency device including the acoustic wave device of claim 12 (phone, tablet, modem, etc. [0084]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu (US PGPub 20180131344)
As per claim 6:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6 & 15-17:
The acoustic wave filter of claim 1 included in a receive module ([0087]), and that the module may use multiple antennas ([0084]).
Komatsu does not disclose:
The acoustic wave filter of claim 1 included in a diversity receive module.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the acoustic wave filter of claim 1 included in a diversity receive module as a known in the art type of receive module that can be used with multiple antennas, as is well-understood in the art.
Claim(s) 4 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu (US PGPub 20180131344) in view of Bauer et al. (US PGPub 20100127799)
As per claims 4 & 18:
Komatsu discloses in Figs. 3-6:
The filter may include a longitudinal-coupling-type filter ([0042]).
Komatsu does not disclose:
a hybrid dual mode surface acoustic wave resonator/ladder filter (first partial filter TF1 is a ladder filter, second partial filter TF2 is a DMS filter, abstract).
Bauer et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
a hybrid dual mode surface acoustic wave resonator/ladder filter.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
For the filter of Komatsu to be formed as a hybrid dual mode surface acoustic wave resonator/ladder filter as an alternative/equivalent filter able to provide the same function and further improve power-compatibility and suppression as taught by Bauer et al. ([0011-0012])
Conclusion
/Samuel S Outten/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843