DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remarks filed on 7/06/2026. The amendments filed on 7/06/2026 are entered.
The previous interpretation of claims 3-4 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been withdrawn in light of the applicant’s remarks/amendments.
The previous rejections of claims 8-9 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn in light of the applicant’s remarks/amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urness et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20120203104) hereinafter Urness.
Regarding claim 1, Urness teaches:
An ultrasonic image diagnostic system (abstract) comprising:
an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus that generates a first ultrasonic image based on a first ultrasonic image data obtained by transmitting and receiving ultrasonic signals using an ultrasonic probe, includes a display part that displays the first ultrasonic image ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system; [0023]-[0027]; [0028], first set of imaging data in scanning; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], image displayed at ultrasound imaging system), and
an information terminal including an input part and a display part, connected to the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus via a network ([0019]-[0022], workstation 230 of figure 1 forms an information terminal with an input part including communication 220 and user input of an operator. Display 204 forms a display part and is connected via a network as depicted in figure 1 to the ultrasound imaging system 202; [0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], display 204 of workstation 230; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], workstation 230), wherein
in response to an instruction sent from the input part of the information terminal to the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus ([0019], “The workstation 230 communicates with the ultrasound imaging system 202 to display an image based on image data acquired by the ultrasound imaging system 202 on the display 204.” Remote connection of the information terminal of workstation 230 of figure 1, forms an instruction sent from the input part (user interacting with the terminal) to control the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus and obtain ultrasound images for generation and display; [0020]-[0023], remote connection between ultrasound imaging system 202 and workstation 230 forms instructions that are sent between each device for control and remote operation; [0024], “An operator may remotely access imaging data stored on the ultrasound imaging system 202 from the workstation 230”; [0025]-[0027], provide for remote operation via the workstation 230; [0028]; [0029]-[0031])
the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus generates a second ultrasonic image from a second ultrasonic image data different from the first ultrasonic image data ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”), and
the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus transmits the second ultrasonic image data to the information terminal ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”)
the display part of the information terminal displays the second ultrasonic image independently of the first ultrasonic image while the display part of the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus continues to display the first ultrasonic image without displaying the second ultrasound image ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously, which forms independent display of first and second images across the ultrasonic system 202 and workstation 230; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “The presentation layer 214 may be accessed through a network, web-based browser, or the like. The presentation layer 214 may be displayed on the display 204 as a virtual desktop. In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”).
Regarding claim 2, Urness teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Urness further teaches:
wherein the display part of the information terminal changes from a state in which the first ultrasonic image is displayed to a state in which the second ultrasonic image is independently displayed in response to the instruction ([0024], “An operator may remotely access imaging data stored on the ultrasound imaging system 202 from the workstation 230. For example, the operator may log onto a virtual desktop or the like provided on the display 204 of the workstation 230”; [0025], “The ultrasound imaging system 202 transmits the presentation layer 214 to the display 204 of the workstation 230 so that the presentation layer 214 is viewable on the display 204.”; [0026]-[0027]; [0028], “The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.”; [0031], “The presentation layer 214 may be displayed on the display 204 as a virtual desktop. In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202. It should be noted that multiple workstations 230 may concurrently access image data stored in the memory 212. Additionally, multiple windows or display regions may be provided at the workstation 230.”; The combined teachings of remote viewing using the presentation layer 214 at the workstation 230 of a first set of ultrasound imaging data, as well as the display of second set of imaging data as in paragraph [0028] provides for changing between states of a first ultrasonic image display and a second ultrasonic image display that is independent of the first image).
Regarding claim 3, Urness teaches all of the limitations of claim 2. Urness further teaches:
wherein the information terminal includes a button that gives the instruction from the input part to the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus ([0019]-[0028], operator control of the workstation 230 for connection with the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus, this control requires interaction with graphical user interface buttons on the remote workstation 230, which forms a button on the information terminal to instruct the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus; [0029]-[0031];), and wherein
to allow the display part of the information terminal to independently display the second ultrasonic image ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously, which forms independent display of first and second images across the ultrasonic system 202 and workstation 230; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”;).
Regarding claim 4, Urness teaches all of the limitations of claim 2. Urness further teaches:
wherein the ultrasonic image diagnostic system includes a button that instructs the display part of the information terminal to independently display the second ultrasonic image ([0019]-[0021]; [0022], “In such an embodiment, the presentation layer 214 may be accessible remotely as a virtual desktop that displays the presentation layer 214 in the same manner as the presentation layer 214 is displayed on the display 216.” The presentation layer 214 configured as a virtual desktop forms a “button” within the graphical user interface in which a user can instruct the virtually connected virtual desktop to display the ultrasound image at the workstation 230 remotely; [0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024], “For example, the operator may log onto a virtual desktop or the like provided on the display 204 of the workstation 230. The virtual desktop remotely links to the presentation layer 214 of the ultrasound imaging system 202 to access the memory 212 of the ultrasound imaging system 202.”; [0025]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously, which forms independent display of first and second images across the ultrasonic system 202 and workstation 230; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”; [0047], user interface includes a touchscreen with selectable graphics and icons which form virtual buttons configurable in the remote operation).
Regarding claim 5, Urness teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Urness further teaches:
wherein the display part of the information terminal changes from a state in which the second ultrasonic image is independently displayed to a state in which the first ultrasonic image is displayed ([0024], “An operator may remotely access imaging data stored on the ultrasound imaging system 202 from the workstation 230. For example, the operator may log onto a virtual desktop or the like provided on the display 204 of the workstation 230”; [0025], “The ultrasound imaging system 202 transmits the presentation layer 214 to the display 204 of the workstation 230 so that the presentation layer 214 is viewable on the display 204.”; [0026]-[0027]; [0028], “The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.”; [0031], “The presentation layer 214 may be displayed on the display 204 as a virtual desktop. In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202. It should be noted that multiple workstations 230 may concurrently access image data stored in the memory 212. Additionally, multiple windows or display regions may be provided at the workstation 230.”; The combined teachings of remote viewing using the presentation layer 214 at the workstation 230 of a first set of ultrasound imaging data, as well as the display of second set of imaging data as in paragraph [0028] provides for changing between states of a first ultrasonic image display and a second ultrasonic image display that is independent of the first image).
Regarding claim 6, Urness teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Urness further teaches:
wherein the display part of the information terminal includes a button that allows the display part of the information terminal to change from the state in which the second ultrasonic image is independently displayed to the state in which the first ultrasonic image is displayed ([0019]-[0024], operator control of the workstation 230 for connection with the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus, this control requires interaction with graphical user interface buttons on the remote workstation 230, which forms a button on the information terminal to instruct the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus; Further in [0024], “An operator may remotely access imaging data stored on the ultrasound imaging system 202 from the workstation 230. For example, the operator may log onto a virtual desktop or the like provided on the display 204 of the workstation 230”; [0025], “The ultrasound imaging system 202 transmits the presentation layer 214 to the display 204 of the workstation 230 so that the presentation layer 214 is viewable on the display 204.”; [0026]-[0027]; [0028], “The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.”; [0031], “The presentation layer 214 may be displayed on the display 204 as a virtual desktop. In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202. It should be noted that multiple workstations 230 may concurrently access image data stored in the memory 212. Additionally, multiple windows or display regions may be provided at the workstation 230.”; The combined teachings of remote viewing using the presentation layer 214 at the workstation 230 of a first set of ultrasound imaging data, as well as the display of second set of imaging data as in paragraph [0028] provides for changing between states of a first ultrasonic image display and a second ultrasonic image display that is independent of the first image;).
Regarding claim 8, Urness teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable nonvolatile storage medium storing a computer program that when executed by a processor of an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus including an ultrasonic probe and a display part ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system; [0023]-[0027]; [0028], first set of imaging data in scanning; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], image displayed at ultrasound imaging system), causes the processor to perform
generating first ultrasonic image data from an ultrasonic signal transmitted and received using the ultrasonic probe ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system; [0023]-[0027]; [0028], first set of imaging data in scanning; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], image displayed at ultrasound imaging system);
displaying a first ultrasonic image based on the first ultrasonic image data on the display part ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system; [0023]-[0027]; [0028], first set of imaging data in scanning; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], image displayed at ultrasound imaging system);
transmitting the first ultrasonic image data to an information processing apparatus ([0019]-[0022]; [0023], as depicted in figure 1, transmission of the ultrasonic image data occurs between 218 and 220 to transmit data to the workstation 230 over a network connection, wherein workstation 230 forms the information processing apparatus; [0024]; [0025], “The ultrasound imaging system 202 transmits the presentation layer 214 to the display 204 of the workstation 230 so that the presentation layer 214 is viewable on the display 204.”; [0026]-[0027]; [0028], first set of imaging data in scanning; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], image displayed at ultrasound imaging system);
in response to an instruction from the information processing apparatus [0019], “The workstation 230 communicates with the ultrasound imaging system 202 to display an image based on image data acquired by the ultrasound imaging system 202 on the display 204.” Remote connection of the information terminal of workstation 230 of figure 1, forms an instruction sent from the input part (user interacting with the terminal) to control the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus and obtain ultrasound images for generation and display; [0020]-[0023], remote connection between ultrasound imaging system 202 and workstation 230 forms instructions that are sent between each device for control and remote operation; [0024], “An operator may remotely access imaging data stored on the ultrasound imaging system 202 from the workstation 230”; [0025]-[0027], provide for remote operation via the workstation 230; [0028]; [0029]-[0031]):
independently generating second ultrasonic image data different from the first ultrasonic image data ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”); and
transmitting the second ultrasonic image data to the information processing apparatus ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously, which forms transmitting of second ultrasonic image data across the ultrasonic system 202 and workstation 230; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”).
continuing to display the first ultrasonic image on the display part without displaying a second ultrasonic image based on the second ultrasonic image data on the display part while the information processing apparatus displays the second ultrasonic image independently of the first ultrasonic image ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously, which forms independent display of first and second images across the ultrasonic system 202 and workstation 230; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “The presentation layer 214 may be accessed through a network, web-based browser, or the like. The presentation layer 214 may be displayed on the display 204 as a virtual desktop. In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”).
Regarding claim 9, Urness teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable nonvolatile storage medium storing a computer program that when executed by a processor of an information processing apparatus including an input section and a display part ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system), causes the processor to perform
receiving first ultrasonic image data from an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus that displays a first ultrasonic image ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system; [0023]-[0027]; [0028], first set of imaging data in scanning; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], image displayed at ultrasound imaging system);
displaying a first ultrasonic image based on the first ultrasonic image data on the display part ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system; [0023]-[0027]; [0028], first set of imaging data in scanning; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], image displayed at ultrasound imaging system);
instructing the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus by an input from the input section ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system; [0023]-[0027]; [0028], first set of imaging data in scanning; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], image displayed at ultrasound imaging system);
receiving second ultrasonic image data different from the first ultrasonic image data from the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”); and
wherein the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus generates the second ultrasonic image data in response to an instruction from the input section ([0019], “The workstation 230 communicates with the ultrasound imaging system 202 to display an image based on image data acquired by the ultrasound imaging system 202 on the display 204.” Remote connection of the information terminal of workstation 230 of figure 1, forms an instruction sent from the input part (user interacting with the terminal) to control the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus and obtain ultrasound images for generation and display; [0020]-[0023], remote connection between ultrasound imaging system 202 and workstation 230 forms instructions that are sent between each device for control and remote operation; [0024], “An operator may remotely access imaging data stored on the ultrasound imaging system 202 from the workstation 230”; [0025]-[0027], provide for remote operation via the workstation 230; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”); and
displaying a second ultrasonic image based on the second ultrasonic image data on the display part independently of the first ultrasonic image displayed on the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus, while the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus continues to display the first ultrasonic image without displaying the second ultrasonic image ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously, which forms independent display of first and second images across the ultrasonic system 202 and workstation 230; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “The presentation layer 214 may be accessed through a network, web-based browser, or the like. The presentation layer 214 may be displayed on the display 204 as a virtual desktop. In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”).
Regarding claim 10, Urness teaches:
An ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system) comprising:
an image data generation section that generates first ultrasonic image data and/or second ultrasonic image data based on ultrasonic signals transmitted and received by using an ultrasonic probe ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system; [0023]-[0027]; [0028], first set of imaging data in scanning; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], image displayed at ultrasound imaging system);
a display part that displays an ultrasonic image generated based on the first ultrasonic image data or the second ultrasonic image data ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system; [0023]-[0027]; [0028], first set of imaging data in scanning; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], image displayed at ultrasound imaging system); and
a communication section that transmits the first ultrasonic image data or the second ultrasonic image data to an information processing apparatus and receives an instruction from the information processing apparatus ([0019]-[0022], workstation 230 of figure 1 forms an information terminal with an input part including communication 220 and user input of an operator. Display 204 forms a display part and is connected via a network as depicted in figure 1 to the ultrasound imaging system 202; [0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], display 204 of workstation 230; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], workstation 230), wherein
in response to the instruction from the information processing apparatus ([0019], “The workstation 230 communicates with the ultrasound imaging system 202 to display an image based on image data acquired by the ultrasound imaging system 202 on the display 204.” Remote connection of the information terminal of workstation 230 of figure 1, forms an instruction sent from the input part (user interacting with the terminal) to control the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus and obtain ultrasound images for generation and display; [0020]-[0023], remote connection between ultrasound imaging system 202 and workstation 230 forms instructions that are sent between each device for control and remote operation; [0024], “An operator may remotely access imaging data stored on the ultrasound imaging system 202 from the workstation 230”; [0025]-[0027], provide for remote operation via the workstation 230; [0028]; [0029]-[0031])
the image data generation section independently generates the second ultrasonic image data different from the first ultrasonic image data according to the instruction received by the communication section when the first ultrasonic image is displayed on the display part ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”), and
the communication section transmits the second ultrasonic image data to the information processing apparatus such that the information processing apparatus displays a second ultrasonic image independently of the first ultrasonic image based on the second ultrasonic image data while the display part continues to display the first ultrasonic image without displaying the second ultrasonic image. ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously, which forms independent display of first and second images across the ultrasonic system 202 and workstation 230; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “The presentation layer 214 may be accessed through a network, web-based browser, or the like. The presentation layer 214 may be displayed on the display 204 as a virtual desktop. In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”).
Regarding claim 11, Urness teaches:
An ultrasonic image diagnostic method performed by an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus including a processor and a display part, the method comprising generating first ultrasonic image data from ultrasonic signals transmitted and received using an ultrasonic probe ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system);
displaying a first ultrasonic image based on the first ultrasonic image data on the display part ([0019]-[0022], ultrasound imaging system 202 of figure 1 includes the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for generating a first ultrasonic image via a probe 206 and for display on the display 216 provided within the ultrasound system; [0023]-[0027]; [0028], first set of imaging data in scanning; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], image displayed at ultrasound imaging system);
transmitting the first ultrasonic image data to an information processing apparatus ([0019]-[0022], workstation 230 of figure 1 forms an information terminal with an input part including communication 220 and user input of an operator. Display 204 forms a display part and is connected via a network as depicted in figure 1 to the ultrasound imaging system 202; [0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], display 204 of workstation 230; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], workstation 230);
in response to an instruction from the information processing apparatus ([0019], “The workstation 230 communicates with the ultrasound imaging system 202 to display an image based on image data acquired by the ultrasound imaging system 202 on the display 204.” Remote connection of the information terminal of workstation 230 of figure 1, forms an instruction sent from the input part (user interacting with the terminal) to control the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus and obtain ultrasound images for generation and display; [0020]-[0023], remote connection between ultrasound imaging system 202 and workstation 230 forms instructions that are sent between each device for control and remote operation; [0024], “An operator may remotely access imaging data stored on the ultrasound imaging system 202 from the workstation 230”; [0025]-[0027], provide for remote operation via the workstation 230; [0028]; [0029]-[0031])
independently generating second ultrasonic image data different from the first ultrasonic image data based on the instruction ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”); and
transmitting the second ultrasonic image data to the information processing apparatus such that the information processing apparatus displays a second ultrasonic image independently of the first ultrasonic image based on the second ultrasonic image data while the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus continues to display the first ultrasonic image on the display part without displaying the second ultrasonic image on the display part ([0019]-[0023], network connection between workstation 230 and ultrasound imaging system 202; [0024]-[0027]; [0028], “the ultrasound imaging system 202 is capable of simultaneous scanning and image data acquisition. The ultrasound imaging system 202 may be utilized to acquire a first set of imaging data, while a second set of imaging data is accessed to display on the display 204 of the workstation 230 an image based on the second set of imaging data.” The second set of imaging data forms a second ultrasonic image displayed on the information terminal in response to the instruction from the user to display the data simultaneously, which forms independent display of first and second images across the ultrasonic system 202 and workstation 230; [0029]-[0030]; [0031], “The presentation layer 214 may be accessed through a network, web-based browser, or the like. The presentation layer 214 may be displayed on the display 204 as a virtual desktop. In an exemplary embodiment, the presentation layer 214 displays a first image that may be remotely accessed at the workstation 230, while an operator simultaneously views a second image on a second presentation layer 214 displayed at the display 216 of the ultrasound imaging system 202”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urness as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20240008852) hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 7, primary reference Urness teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Urness further fails to teach:
wherein the instruction is an instruction for the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus to specify a predetermined mode or a preset
However, the analogous art of Lee of an ultrasound remote diagnostis system (abstract) teaches:
wherein the instruction is an instruction for the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus to specify a predetermined mode or a preset ([0184]-[0188], remote device 720 includes a “measurement mode” that is selectable by a user to be provided as a display output; [0213]-[0224], measurement mode executed through remote device 720 forms a predetermined mode as the instruction for the ultrasound diagnosis apparatus in the combined invention with Urness).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasonic imaging and remote displaying system of Urness to incorporate the instruction for setting a predetermined mode as taught by Lee because it enables real-time image analysis by a remote user throughout an ultrasound procedure, providing increased clinical diagnostic capabilities to a secondary remote device, and improved patient outcomes through additional real-time physician feedback (Lee, [0006]; [0184]-[0188]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Responses to each of the applicant’s arguments are detailed below.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments on pages 9-11 of the remarks, the applicant argues that the present amendments to the independent claims differentiate from the prior art reference of Urness and its teachings of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus 202 and the workstation 230 that is remotely connected to the ultrasound system. The applicant argues that the image data itself is not transferred to the workstation 230 and that this differentiates from the transmitting of second ultrasonic image data to the information terminal. This narrow scope of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language is not currently read into the claims and therefore the teachings of the Urness reference to viewing the ultrasound images at the remote workstation, in part through a virtual desktop of presentation layer 214, necessarily requires a transmission of image data in order for the remote user to view an image on the display. The Urness reference does provide sufficient support that displayable image data to view the image within a remote virtual desktop is transmitted and this is sufficient to teach to the current broadest reasonable interpretations of the claims. This connection between the workstation 230 and the ultrasound system 202 is disclosed in at least [0022], [0028], and [0031] of Urness and the remotely accessible virtual desktop on the workstation 230 is sufficient to also include any and all instructions that are required for a remote user to remotely access a memory of an ultrasound system and access files that are stored on the device. Furthermore, the applicant argues that image manipulation is not an instruction to cause an ultrasound system to generate a second ultrasonic image, but one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a generation of the second ultrasonic image, via a remote virtual desktop, on the display 204 of workstation 230 would be sufficient to teach to the claim limitation.
The applicant further argues that the additional limitations of independent display of the second image at the information terminal while the first image remains on the ultrasonic image display without displaying the second image is not taught by the Urness reference. As cited in the current rejections above, and in particular paragraphs [0022], [0028], and [0031] provide disclosures that virtual desktop remote viewing of the presentation layer 214 is performed at the display 204 of workstation 230 of the second ultrasound image while the first set of imaging data is acquired (and viewed) on the ultrasound imaging system 202. These cited portions, as interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art, are interpreted as the ultrasound system 202 is operable for imaging and display of the acquired images, while a remote viewer accesses second image data remotely without disrupting the first image data acquisition at the imaging system itself. This interpretation fully teaches to the current amended claim limitations, and therefore the applicant’s arguments directed to the independent display of both images at different locations are not persuasive.
For these reasons, the applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210128265) teaches to an ultrasound probe device with real-time visualization of ultrasound images within augmented reality displays.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN A FRITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798