DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/27/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the claims on 5/21/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 13, 14, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2011095405A, Yoshihiro [English Translation Provided].
2. Regarding Claim 1 Yoshihiro discloses A projection apparatus (Fig. 2A, page 2 para 1, “projector 100”) comprising:
a projection portion (Page 2 para 6-7, projection unit including light source 121, and projection optical system 123);
a processor (page 3, para 4, “the projection optical system control unit 135”); and
a first communication portion (communication unit 133; Page 3 para 5, “The communication unit 133 includes a communication network such as a LAN and a communication interface (I / F) conforming to a standard such as IEEE 1394, and transmits / receives data to / from another projector having the same function as the projector 100”),
wherein the projection apparatus is capable of forming a transmission path with at least one other projection apparatus (Page 3 para 5, “The communication unit 133 includes a communication network such as a LAN and a communication interface (I / F) conforming to a standard such as IEEE 1394, and transmits / receives data to / from another projector having the same function as the projector 100”),
the projection portion projects a partial image of a projection image to a first projection region having an overlapping part with a projection region of the other projection apparatus forming the transmission path (Figs. 2, 3, 5; projectors 1-4 each project regions T1-T4, respectively, to from a composite region, and that the projection regions of adjacent projectors have overlapping parts to prevent a gap from occurring between the projection regions, see page 3 para 4, page 3 para 13-14, page 5 para 1-2),
the processor is configured to, in response to the first communication portion receiving an enlarging or reducing instruction of a projection region including an enlarging or reducing ratio, calculate at least any of a direction or an amount of shifting of the first projection region based on the enlarging or reducing ratio and on positional information related to a position of the partial image in the projection image (each projector 100 receives a control signal indicating an enlargement ratio or reduction ratio via its communication unit 133, see page 4 para 1, page 6 para 7. Upon receiving a control signal, the control unit of each projector 100 calculates a lens shift amount for the projection region using expressions (6), (7), (9), and (10), wherein the calculation is based on the enlargement ratio or reduction ratio Z and on the horizontal width w and vertical width h of the projection region, which constitute positional information identifying the positional relationship between the composite region and each projection region as stored in each projector 100, see page 5 para 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. The calculated lens shift amount inherently defines and encompasses at least a direction or an amount of shifting of the first projection region, as the shift is calculated along defined X and Y axes corresponding to the coordinate system of the projection region, see Figs. 5c-5f), and
the processor is configured to calculate at least any of the direction or the amount of
shifting of the first projection region such that a ratio of the overlapping part in the first projection region is maintained before and after enlarging or reducing and shifting the first projection region based on the enlarging or reducing instruction (the lens shift amount is calculated using expressions (6), (7), (9), and (10) to prevent an overlap or a gap from occurring between the projection regions after the enlarging or reducing operation, thereby maintaining the overlapping relationship between adjacent projection regions before and after the enlarging or reducing and shifting, see page 4, para 8-9, page 5 para 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8).
3. Regarding Claim 2 Yoshihiro discloses The projection apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second communication portion,
wherein the first communication portion receives the enlarging or reducing instruction
from a front stage of the projection apparatus in the transmission path (Fig. 2b, Page 4 para 8, “In step S305, the operation signal processing unit 134 determines whether or not the input operation signal is a signal for instructing enlargement or reduction of the projection area.” Page 3 para 8, “data is transmitted / received to / from another projector, data may be directly transmitted / received between the projectors as shown in FIG. 2 (b). Communication unit 133 provides both front-stage and rear-stage communication interfaces within a single daisy-chain-connected system.), and
the processor is configured to perform a control of transmitting an instruction including the enlarging or reducing instruction to a rear stage of the projection apparatus in the transmission path from the second communication portion (Page 3 para 8, “data is transmitted / received to / from another projector, data may be directly transmitted / received between the projectors as shown in FIG. 2 (b). Communication unit 133 provides both front-stage and rear-stage communication interfaces within a single daisy-chain-connected system.).
4. Regarding Claim 3 Yoshihiro discloses The projection apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is configured to control the projection portion to execute enlarging or reducing of the first projection region based on the enlarging or reducing instruction Page 4 para 9, “The signal for instructing enlargement or reduction is a signal for instructing an enlargement ratio or reduction ratio, or a signal for designating the size of a projection area.” Each projector 100 executes the enlarging or reducing of its projection region) and shifting of the first projection region based on at least any of the calculated direction or the calculated amount of shifting Figs. 5C-5F, page 4 para 5, “the lens shift amount is a control signal output from the lens shift amount control unit 137 to the lens shift unit 125.” Page 5 para 1, “In step S 306, the calculation unit 133 shifts the lens to prevent an overlap or a gap between the projection areas when the zoom amount is changed according to the operation signal instructing the enlargement or reduction of the projection area or the synthesis area” see also page 5 para 3-4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 14).
5. Regarding Claim 4 Yoshihiro discloses The projection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to calculate the direction of shifting based on the positional information (Page 2 para 10, “The lens shift unit 125 is configured by a motor or the like for moving the position of the lens 126 in the vertical and horizontal directions.” Page 5 para 1, “In step S 306, the calculation unit 133 shifts the lens to prevent an overlap or a gap between the projection areas when the zoom amount is changed according to the operation signal instructing the enlargement or reduction of the projection area or the synthesis area” see also page 5 para 3-4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 14).
6. Regarding Claim 5 Yoshihiro discloses The projection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to calculate the amount of shifting based on the enlarging or reducing ratio and on the positional information (Page 2 para 10, “The lens shift unit 125 is configured by a motor or the like for moving the position of the lens 126 in the vertical and horizontal directions.” Page 5 para 1, “In step S 306, the calculation unit 133 shifts the lens to prevent an overlap or a gap between the projection areas when the zoom amount is changed according to the operation signal instructing the enlargement or reduction of the projection area or the synthesis area” see also page 5 para 3-4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 14).
7. Regarding Claim 7 Yoshihiro discloses The projection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first communication portion receives instruction information related to projection, including an instruction value (the specific enlargement or reduction ration, i.e., the magnitude of zoom) and type information (whether the signal indicates an enlargement ratio or a reduction ratio, i.e., the type of zoom operation) of the instruction value, and the processor is configured to control projection of the projection portion based on the type information and on the instruction value (page 4 para. 9, “The signal for instructing enlargement or reduction is a signal for instructing an enlargement ratio or reduction ratio, or a signal for designating the size of a projection area”- the enlargement/reduction ratio constituting the instruction value, and whether the signal instructs enlargement vs. reduction constituting the type information).
8. Regarding Claim 8 Yoshihiro discloses The projection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, in a case where shifting of the first projection region by the calculated amount of shifting is unavailable in the projection portion, control the projection portion to execute shifting of the first projection region of an amount available in the projection portion and enlarging or reducing of the first projection region corresponding to shifting of the first projection region of the amount available in the projection portion (Page 6 para 10, “the calculation unit 133 recalculates the lens shift amount for forming the composite region having a size different from the desired size within a range in which the composite region can be formed, and the recalculated result is used as the lens shift amount.”).
9. Regarding Claim 13 Yoshihiro discloses The projection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the enlarging or reducing instruction includes an instruction for shifting resulting from enlarging or reducing of the projection region, and
the processor is configured to calculate at least any of the direction or the amount of shifting of the first projection region based on the instruction for shifting (page 4 paras. 8-9, operation signal processing unit 134 determining “whether or not the input operation signal is a signal for instructing enlargement or reduction of the projection area”; page 5 para 1, step S306, “the calculation unit 133 shifts the lens to prevent an overlap or a gap between the projection areas when the zoom amount is changed according to the operation signal instructing the enlargement or reduction of the projection area” the shift being calculated directly from the received enlarging/reducing instruction such that the instruction such that the instruction inherently includes the information needed to instruct shifting, under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
10. Regarding Claim 14 Yoshihiro discloses A projection system comprising:
a projection apparatus included in a plurality of projection apparatuses capable of
forming a transmission path; and a control device capable of transmitting projection image data representing a projection image and instruction information related to projection through the transmission path (Fig. 8, projection system 800; the communication unit 821 of control device 820 disclosed as “an interface that inputs and outputs various signals” in page7 para 12., transmitting and receiving “transmits and receives signals indicating the lens shift amount and the zoom amount to the projection control units 841, 842, and 843,” while the image processing unit 812 outputs divided image data to the projection devices 840, 850, 860),,
wherein a first projection apparatus included in the plurality of projection apparatuses projects a partial image of the projection image to a first projection region having an overlapping part with a projection region of the other projection apparatus forming the transmission path and, in response to an enlarging or reducing instruction of a projection region including an enlarging or reducing ratio being received, calculates at least any of a direction or an amount of shifting of the first projection region based on the enlarging or reducing ratio and on positional information related to a position of the partial image in the projection image, and the first projection apparatus calculates at least any of the direction or the amount of shifting of the first projection region such that a ratio of the overlapping part in the first projection region is maintained before and after enlarging or reducing and shifting the first
projection region based on the enlarging or reducing instruction ((Fig. 9, steps S901-S904; projection position determination unit 823 disclosed as determination unit 823 disclosed as determining “the position of each projection region to be projected by the projection units 842, 852, and 862 to form a composite region whose size has been changed” in page 7 last para. See also Fig. 7, projection regions H, I, J).
11. Claim 17 is a method claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in system claim 1.
17. A control method of a projection apparatus including a projection portion, a processor, and
a first communication portion and being capable of forming a transmission path with at least
one another projection apparatus, the projection portion projecting a partial image of a projection image to a first projection region having an overlapping part with a projection region of the other projection apparatus forming the transmission path, the method comprising:
calculating, in response to the first communication portion receiving an enlarging or reducing instruction of a projection region including an enlarging or reducing ratio, at least any of a direction or an amount of shifting of the first projection region via the processor based on the enlarging or reducing ratio and on positional information related to a position of the partial image in the projection image; and
calculating at least any of the direction or the amount of shifting of the first projection region such that a ratio of the overlapping part in the first projection region is maintained before and after enlarging or reducing and shifting the first projection region based on the enlarging or reducing instruction
12. Claim 18 is a non-transitory CRM claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in system claim 1.
18. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a control program of a
projection apparatus including a projection portion,
a processor, and
a first communication portion and being capable of forming a transmission path with at least one another projection apparatus,
the projection portion projecting a partial image of a projection image to a first projection region having an overlapping part with a projection region of the other projection
apparatus forming the transmission path, the program causing the processor to execute a process comprising:
calculating, in response to the first communication portion receiving an enlarging or reducing instruction of a projection region including an enlarging or reducing ratio, at least any of a direction or an amount of shifting of the first projection region based on the enlarging or reducing ratio and on positional information related to a position of the partial image in the projection image; and
calculating at least any of the direction or the amount of shifting of the first projection region such that a ratio of the overlapping part in the first projection region is maintained before and after enlarging or reducing and shifting the first projection region based on the enlarging or reducing instruction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2011095405A, Yoshihiro.
14. Regarding Claim 6 Yoshihiro discloses The projection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the enlarging or reducing instruction includes an enlarging or reducing center (Page 4 para 8, “the operation signal processing unit 134 determines whether or not the input operation signal is a signal for instructing enlargement or reduction of the projection area”), and
the processor is configured to calculate at least any of the direction or the amount of shifting of the first projection region based on the enlarging or reducing center
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include an enlarging or reducing center as an additional parameter in the enlarging or reducing center as an additional parameter in the enlarging or reducing instruction, as designating a center point about which enlarging or reducing is performed is a well-known and routine feature of zoom control systems for projectors and imaging devices generally. Including such a center parameter and calculating the shift direction or amount based on that center is a predictable extension of the shift calculation already taught by Yoshihiro, requiring no more than ordinary skill and yielding no unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim(s) 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2011095405A, Yoshihiro.
16. Regarding Claim 15 Yoshihiro discloses The projection system according to claim 14, wherein the control device (control device 820) is capable of transmitting the instruction information by issuing an interrupt during transmission of the projection image data (communication unit 821 in fig. 8)
But does not explicitly disclose that the control device is capable of transmitting the instruction information by issuing an interrupt during transmission of the projection image data.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that transmitting control/instruction information by issuing an interrupt during the transmission of ongoing data (e.g., image, video, or other streaming data) is well known and routine technique in the data communications and display control arts. Interrupt-driven signalizing allows a receiving device to be notified of time-sensitive control information without waiting for a data transmission to complete, and is a standard mechanism for coordinating control commands with continuous data streams in multi-device systems such as the multi-projector system of Yoshihiro.
17. Regarding Claim 16 Yoshihiro discloses The projection system according to claim 14, wherein the control device (control device 820) transmits the instruction information (communication unit 821 in fig. 8) by issuing an interrupt in accordance with a transmission state of the projection image data being transmitted.
But does not explicitly disclose that the control device transmits the instruction information by issuing an interrupt in accordance with a transmission state of the projection image data being transmitted.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that gating or timing the transmission of control/instruction signals based on the current state of an ongoing data transmission (e.g., the amount of data remaining, whether a transmission buffer threshold has been reached, or whether a logical segment boundary has been crossed) is a well-known and routine technique in data communications and streaming-control systems.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 9 Yoshihiro discloses The projection apparatus according to claim 8,
However, Yoshihiro does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to, in a case where shifting of the first projection region by the calculated amount of shifting is unavailable in the projection portion, perform a control of transmitting information related to the enlarging or reducing ratio of the projection region corresponding to shifting of the first projection region of the amount available in the
projection portion to the other projection apparatus forming the transmission path.
Regarding Claim 10 Yoshihiro discloses The projection apparatus according to claim 9,
However, Yoshihiro does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to, in response to information related to an enlarging or reducing ratio different from the enlarging or reducing ratio of the enlarging or reducing instruction being received from the other projection apparatus forming the transmission path, control the projection portion to execute enlarging or reducing and shifting of the first projection region based on the information related to the different enlarging or
reducing ratio.
Regarding Claim 11 Yoshihiro discloses The projection apparatus according to claim 1,
However, Yoshihiro does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to, in a case where shifting of the first projection region based on the enlarging or reducing instruction is unavailable, control the projection portion not to execute enlarging or reducing and shifting of the first projection region.
Regarding Claim 12 Yoshihiro discloses The projection apparatus according to claim 11,
However, Yoshihiro does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to:
perform a control of transmitting information related to availability of shifting of the first projection region based on the enlarging or reducing instruction to the other projection apparatus forming the transmission path; and
in response to a projection apparatus that is unavailable to perform shifting of the projection region based on the enlarging or reducing instruction being present among other projection apparatuses forming the transmission path based on the information related to the availability of shifting of the projection region based on the enlarging or reducing instruction and received from the other projection apparatuses forming the transmission path,
control the projection portion not to execute enlarging or reducing and shifting of the first projection region.
Conclusion
/OMER KHALID/Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/BRIAN P YENKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422