Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. – hereinafter Anderson (US 11,283,736) in view of Harris et al. – hereinafter Harris (US 2024/0256784)
As per claim 1, Anderson discloses a method for providing a chatbot service by a server, comprising: providing a first chatbot service to enable one-on-one chatting with a first chatbot; and (Col 2 lines 22-36; In an exemplary embodiment, a master chatbot 130 receives chat messages from user computers 110; Col 3 lines 57-62; User interface 114 represents an interface, such as a graphical user interface (GUI) for a user at user computer 110 displayed such as via display screen 920 to make selections presented to him or her. The selections are presented by the master chatbot 130 such as by utilization of the graphic-user interface)
in response to a request received from a user terminal to add a second chatbot to a chat room where a plurality of user accounts participate, providing a second chatbot service through the chat room to enable chatting with the second chatbot, (Col 3 lines 35-56; Chat module 112 may also be utilized to present to user of user computer 110 which chatbot of master chatbot 130 and modular chatbot 150 will respond to chat messages and return the selection to the master chatbot 130, if this functionality is utilized.)
Anderson fails to disclose wherein the first chatbot and the second chatbot operate in a corresponding relationship.
Harris discloses wherein the first chatbot and the second chatbot operate in a corresponding relationship. ([0026];The responses provided by chatbot 140 may be further processed by extensions 150 according to configurations 152. These responses may then be provided to other chatbot extensions 150, which may or may not invoke chatbot 140, enabling multiple chatbot extensions 150 to form a chain of extensions. Each extension in the chain of extensions may invoke chatbot 140 before returning a response to a subsequent chatbot extension 150 or the user.)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the teachings of Anderson to be modified so that the first chatbot and the second chatbot has a corresponding relationship with a chain of extensions that facilitate inter-messaging between the chatbots. This would have been advantageous to leverage functionality provided by other extensions, log output, execute tasks in parallel, and test extensions. (Harris, [0005])
As per claim 2, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 1. Harris discloses wherein first chatbot information provided through the first chatbot service and second chatbot information provided through the second chatbot service comprise correspondence information associated with the corresponding relationship. ([0026]; The responses provided by chatbot 140 may be further processed by extensions 150 according to configurations 152. These responses may then be provided to other chatbot extensions 150, which may or may not invoke chatbot 140, enabling multiple chatbot extensions 150 to form a chain of extensions. Each extension in the chain of extensions may invoke chatbot 140 before returning a response to a subsequent chatbot extension 150 or the user.)
As per claim 3, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 2. Harris discloses wherein the correspondence information comprises at least one of chatbot name information, chatbot profile information, chatbot profile image information, chatbot guide information, or predefined command information requesting a chatbot to provide a message. [0028] Identifier 202 maybe any unique sequence of numbers or letters usable to refer to a particular chatbot extension. Name 204 refers to a descriptive name of the chatbot extension 150A associated with configuration 152.
As per claim 4, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 3. Anderson discloses wherein the command information comprises at least one command interface that is provided for selection by a user account. (Col 3 lines 35-56; Chat module 112 may also be utilized to present to user of user computer 110 which chatbot of master chatbot 130 and modular chatbot 150 will respond to chat messages and return the selection to the master chatbot 130, if this functionality is utilized.)
As per claim 5, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 1. Harris discloses wherein providing the second chatbot service comprises providing a connection interface for connecting to the first chatbot service through the chat room. ([0024] Chatbot user interface 110 includes prompt 112 entered into prompt entry box 114.)
As per claim 6, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 5. Anderson discloses wherein providing the connection interface comprises: receiving, from a terminal of an account participating in the chat room, interaction information for at least one of profile information or a message of the second chatbot provided through the chat room; and in response to the interaction information, providing information comprising the connection interface to the terminal of the account participating in the chat room. ([0056] Next at operation 610, the second chatbot extension 150B is provided with the prompt 312 and the first response 320A. In this way, the result of the first extension 150A may be used by the second extension 150B. For example, the first extension 150A may remove offensive language, returning the resulting text in first response 320A. The second chatbot extension 150B may then use first response 320A to synthesize speech, post to a social networking account, or perform some other action on the sanitized result.)
As per claim 9, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 1. Anderson discloses wherein providing the second chatbot service comprises:
providing a chatbot add interface for adding a chatbot to the user terminal through the chat room and receiving an interaction with the interface from the user terminal; and providing a chatbot list comprising the second chatbot to the user terminal. (Col 2 lines 22-36; In an exemplary embodiment, a master chatbot 130 receives chat messages from user computers 110; Col 3 lines 57-62; User interface 114 represents an interface, such as a graphical user interface (GUI) for a user at user computer 110 displayed such as via display screen 920 to make selections presented to him or her. The selections are presented by the master chatbot 130 such as by utilization of the graphic-user interface)
As per claim 10, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 1. Anderson discloses further comprising: after providing the second chatbot service, providing the first chatbot service to a terminal of an account participating in the chat room,
wherein providing the first chatbot service to the terminal of the account participating in the chat room comprises providing the terminal with a message of the first chatbot based on a usage history associated with the second chatbot service.
As per claim 11, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 1. Anderson discloses wherein: in providing the first and second chatbot services, the messages of the first and second chatbots are acquired from a same chatbot engine, and the chatbot engine is included in the server or accessible by the server. (Col 4 line 51- Col 5 line 3; Chatbot ranker 135 represents software for ranking the master chatbot 130 and/or modular chatbots 150 to determine which is the best, i.e. highest ranked, to respond to the chat messages received by the message receipt module 131. The master chatbot 130 and modular chatbots 150 each have specialty areas each is best at responding to, as well as other considerations including historical record of achieving satisfaction, present availability, and cost of access as further discussed below)
As per claim 12, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 1. Harris discloses wherein providing the second chatbot service further comprises suspending provision of the second chatbot service when the message of the second chatbot satisfies a predefined condition. ([0045] In some configurations, chatbot extensions 150 leverage a chatbot 140 without registering to be invoked. For example, extension 150A receives request 310A which includes prompt 312. Extension 150A may modify prompt 314 before forwarding it to chatbot 140. For example, extension 150A may sanitize prompt 312, removing offensive language.)
As per claims 13-14, please see the discussion under claim 1 as similar logic applies.
As per claim 15, please see the discussion under claim 5 as similar logic applies.
As per claim 16, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 15. Anderson discloses wherein displaying the connection interface comprises: receiving an interaction from a user with at least one of profile information or a message of the second chatbot, which is included in the information on the second chatbot; and displaying the connection interface in response to the interaction.( Col 5 lines 30-38;The ranking algorithm may consider a high similarity factor regarding the intent of the one or more received chat messages and the entities contained within the one or more chat messages versus a profile for each of the master chatbot 130 and modular chatbots 150.)
As per claim 17, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 14. Harris discloses further comprising: displaying, through the third chat room, information indicating that the information on the second chatbot is shared with the third chat room,
wherein displaying the information indicating that the information on the second
chatbot is shared with the third chat room comprises displaying a connection interface
for connecting to a one-on-one chat service with the first chatbot, through the
information on the second chatbot displayed through the third chat room. ([0024];
Chat bot user interface 110 shows a history of messages between user 102 and chatbot 140, such as prompt 122 and response 124.; [0026]; The responses provided by chatbot 140 may be further processed by extensions 150 according to configurations 152. These responses may then be provided to other chatbot extensions 150, which may or may not invoke chatbot 140, enabling multiple chatbot extensions 150 to form a chain of extensions.)
As per claim 18, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 14. Anderson discloses wherein displaying the information on the second chatbot comprises: displaying a chatbot add interface for adding a chatbot in the second chat room and receiving an interaction from a user with the interface; and in response to the interaction, displaying a chatbot list comprising the second chatbot.(Col 3 lines 35-56; Chat module 112 may also be utilized to present to user of user computer 110 which chatbot of master chatbot 130 and modular chatbot 150 will respond to chat messages and return the selection to the master chatbot 130, if this functionality is utilized.)
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 11,283,736) /Harris (US 2024/0256784) further in view of Park et al. – hereinafter Park (US 2021/0234826)
As per claim 7, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 1. Anderson fails to disclose further comprising: in response to a request to share a message of the second chatbot, which is provided through the chat room, with a different chat room, providing the message through the different chat room, wherein providing the message through the different chat room comprises providing a connection interface for connecting to the first chatbot service through at least one of profile information or the message of the second chatbot provided through the different chat room
Park discloses further comprising: in response to a request to share a message of the second chatbot, which is provided through the chat room, with a different chat room, providing the message through the different chat room, wherein providing the message through the different chat room comprises providing a connection interface for connecting to the first chatbot service through at least one of profile information or the message of the second chatbot provided through the different chat room. ([0043] In one embodiment, the method further includes receiving an event sharing group join request chatting message of the first user, including a second chatbot user ID and requesting group join of the second chatbot user ID, from the first chatting server, wherein the second chatbot user ID includes the ID of a second chatbot communicating with a second chatting server using a second chatting protocol and the ID of a second user, that is, a chatting counterpart of the second chatbot, and transmitting an event sharing group join request, including an event sharing group ID and the second chatbot user ID, to the cross chatbot gateway.)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date of the invention for the combined teachings of Anderson / Harris to be modified so that the first and second chatbot shares messages when requested between each other through an interface with a second chatbot. This would have been to provide a unified context and better customer service experience.
As per claim 8, Anderson / Harris disclose the method of claim 1. Park discloses further comprising: in response to a request to share a message of the second chatbot, which is provided through the chat room, with a different chat room, providing the message through the different chat room, wherein providing the message through the different chat room ([0043] In one embodiment, the method further includes receiving an event sharing group join request chatting message of the first user, including a second chatbot user ID and requesting group join of the second chatbot user ID, from the first chatting server, wherein the second chatbot user ID includes the ID of a second chatbot communicating with a second chatting server using a second chatting protocol and the ID of a second user, that is, a chatting counterpart of the second chatbot, and transmitting an event sharing group join request, including an event sharing group ID and the second chatbot user ID, to the cross chatbot gateway.)
comprises providing a chatbot add interface for adding the second chatbot to the different chat room. ([0114]; The user ID may be unique with respect to the entire corresponding messenger, but a user ID that is unique with respect to a specific chatbot is assigned when a user adds the specific chatbot as a friend or follows the specific chatbot, in general.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent toapplicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from theexaminer should be directed to Chirag R Patel whose telephone number is (571)272-7966. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday from 9:00AM to 6:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, theexaminer's supervisor, Glenton Burgess, can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceedingis assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Chirag R Patel/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454