DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
the “a regulator” of Claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) ( a regulator suggests there is a second regulator different from the pressure regulator of Claim 1); and
“a controller area network (CAN) bus” in Claims 2 and Claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s)
No new matter should be entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant' s election without traverse of Claims 1-14 in the reply filed on November 19, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
In re Claim 5, the recitation “prior to the receiving the first pressure” should be amended to recite—prior to receiving the first pressure--to avoid potential ambiguities and/or § 112(b) issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3, 6, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 3, the phrase "a regulator" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether this is the same as the pressure regulator in Claim 1 or a different regulator. For purposes of examination: in order to expedite prosecution, this phrase/term is interpreted as the pressure regulator.
In re Claim 6, the claims recite the limitation "the first tank OTV" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination: this phrase/term is interpreted as the OTV of the first tank.
In re Claim 13 and Claim 14, the claims recite the limitation "the first tank OTV" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination: this phrase/term is interpreted as a first tank OTV.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miki (US 20060246177 A1).
In re Claim 1, Miki discloses hydrogen storage system (Fig. 8) for a fuel cell electric vehicle (See Fig. 7; [0063] and [0083]: configured as a device that is mounted on a fuel cell electric vehicle) (FCEV),
the system comprising:
a controller (340) in electronic communication (See [0067]) with an on tank valve (351) (OTV) associated with an OTV (351[1]) of a first tank (350[1]);
a pressure regulator pressure sensor (354) associated with a pressure regulator (355) in electronic communication with the controller (340),
the pressure regulator (355) being in fluid communication with at least
a fuel cell supply line (322),
wherein the pressure regulator pressure sensor (355) is configured to sense a pressure ([0092]) in the at least
the fuel cell supply line (See [0092]; 355),
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0085) in electronic communication with the controller (340), having instructions stored thereon ([0085]: operations of each unit are controlled according to a control program stored in the ROM) that, in response to execution by the controller (340), cause
the controller (340) to perform operations (See [0085]) comprising:
receiving, by the controller (340) and during at least one of a driving condition ([0067]: during drive mode),
a first pressure ([0028]: ) from the pressure regulator pressure sensor (354) representing the fuel cell supply line (322),
commanding, by the controller (340), the OTV (351) to close for a predetermined time interval ([0069-0070]);
receiving, by the controller (340), a second pressure ([0092]: pressure after initial reduction of pressure) from the pressure regulator pressure sensor (355) representing at least one of the fuel cell supply line (322),
determining, by the controller (340), the absolute value of the difference between the first pressure and the second pressure ([0100]) to yield an absolute pressure difference (an absolute value difference is necessarily the result of calculating a pressure difference);
determining, by the controller (340), whether the absolute pressure difference is greater than a predetermined threshold ([0100]: it may be concluded that the supply pressure Pa has fallen when the absolute value of the temporal rate of reduction of the supply pressure Pa is greater than a specific threshold); and
in response to finding that the absolute pressure difference is greater than the predetermined threshold ([0100]), transmitting, by the controller (351), a stuck OTV fault ([0098]: if the supply pressure Pa has not dropped (Step S312), then the control unit 340 concludes that either there is a leak in the valve 351 of one of the hydrogen tanks 350, or that the valve 351 is stuck in the open position, and the control unit 340 performs a fault determination procedure; See also Fig. 9: S318).
In re Claim 3, Miki discloses wherein the hydrogen storage system (Fig. 8) further comprises the pressure regulator (355) in electronic communication with the controller (340).
In re Claim 4 and Claim 11, Miki discloses wherein the operations are commenced in response to the driving condition ([0067]: operations start during drive mode).
In re Claim 5 and Claim 12, Miki discloses wherein the commanding, by the controller (340), the OTV (351) to close occurs prior to the receiving ([0069-0070]) the first pressure ([0028]).
In re Claim 6 and Claim 14, Miki discloses wherein the instructions ([0085]: operations of each unit are controlled according to a control program stored in the ROM) further comprise waiting ([0075]), by the controller (340), after the commanding the first tank OTV (351[1]) to close and prior to the receiving the second pressure ([0092]: pressure after initial reduction of pressure), for the predetermined time interval ([0069-0070]).
In re Claim 7, Miki discloses further comprising a fueling valve (Fig. 1: B1) of the first tank (350 [1]), wherein the instructions ([0085]: operations of each unit are controlled according to a control program stored in the ROM) further comprise commanding, by the controller (340) and prior to the receiving the first pressure ([0028]), the OTV (351) to close.
In re Claim 8, Miki discloses wherein the instructions ([0085]: operations of each unit are controlled according to a control program stored in the ROM) further comprise:in response to finding that the absolute pressure difference is greater than the predetermined threshold initiating ([0098]), by the controller (340), a stuck OTV fault diagnostic process ([0098]).
In re Claim 9, Miki discloses An article of manufacture including a tangible, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0085]: operations of each unit are controlled according to a control program stored in the ROM) in electronic communication with a controller (340), having instructions stored thereon ([0085]) that, in response to execution by the controller (340), cause the controller (340) to perform operations comprising:
receiving, by the controller (340) and during a driving condition ([0067]: during drive mode) a first pressure ([0028]) from a pressure regulator pressure sensor (354) representing at a fuel cell supply line (322);
commanding, by the controller (340), an on tank valve (351) (OTV) to close for a predetermined time interval ([0069-0070]);
receiving, by the controller (340), a second pressure ([0092]: pressure after initial reduction of pressure) from the pressure regulator pressure sensor (355) representing at least one of the fuel cell supply line (322);
determining, by the controller (340), the absolute value of the difference between the first pressure and the second pressure ([0100]) to yield an absolute pressure difference (an absolute value difference is necessarily the result of calculating the absolute value of a pressure difference);
determining, by the controller (340), whether the absolute pressure difference is greater than a predetermined threshold ([0100]: it may be concluded that the supply pressure Pa has fallen when the absolute value of the temporal rate of reduction of the supply pressure Pa is greater than a specific threshold); and
in response to finding that the absolute pressure difference is greater than the predetermined threshold ([0100]), transmitting, by the controller (340), a stuck OTV fault ([0098]: if the supply pressure Pa has not dropped (Step S312), then the control unit 340 concludes that either there is a leak in the valve 351 of one of the hydrogen tanks 350, or that the valve 351 is stuck in the open position, and the control unit 340 performs a fault determination procedure; See also Fig. 9: S318).
In re Claim 13, Miki discloses wherein the instructions ([0085]: operations of each unit are controlled according to a control program stored in the ROM) further comprise waiting, by the controller (340), after commanding the first tank OTV (351[1]) and prior to receiving the first pressure ([0028]), for the predetermined time interval ([0069-0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki (US 20060246177 A1) in view of Cun (US 20190255952 A1).
In re Claim 2 and 10, Miki discloses wherein the controller (340) transmits the stuck OTV fault ([0098]).
However, Miki does not explicitly teach, a controller area network (CAN) bus.
On the other hand, Cun (Fig. 2) teaches ([0039]: a bus 216 (e.g., a controller Area Network (CAN)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Miki and to have modified them by a controller area network (CAN) bus as taught by Cun, in order to transmits control data from the various valve control units (See also Cun [0039]), without yielding unpredictable results.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM A. MICHAEL ADENIJI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763