This application has been examined on merits. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) to Korean Patent Application No. 10-2024-0066549, filed May 22, 2024 (Spec. ¶ [0001]). For purposes of this action the effective filing date is taken to be May 22, 2024. Every reference applied below was published years before that date, so the outcome of this action does not depend on whether applicant is entitled to the priority date.
3. The Group and/or Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2175.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites that the set-previous-data logic stores the value of the buffer-data variable in the previous-data variable “in a corresponding update interval.” Claim 10, from which claim 12 depends through claim 11, recites a predetermined update interval in each of the first and second control periods, and claim 11 refers to “a next control period.” Claim 12 does not state what the update interval “corresponds” to: the interval in which the update logic updated the register with the previous-data value, the interval of the next control period, or some other interval. The scope of the claim therefore cannot be determined. The specification describes the storing step as occurring “in the update interval UT1 of the corresponding control period” (Spec. ¶ [0090]; see also ¶ [0151]), which suggests that the intended meaning is the update interval of the control period in which the register was updated with the previous-data value. Applicant should amend the claim to state the intended relationship expressly.
6. Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
The claims use the terms “calculation logic,” “data sharing logic,” “data obtaining logic,” “update logic,” “flag management logic” and “set-previous-data logic.” None is introduced by “means” or “step for.” Each is recited as being executed by a recited processing structure - a “core” or a “multichannel sequencer” - and the specification states that such logic is embodied in, or included with, a processor and memory (Spec. ¶ [0047]; see also ¶¶ [0096]-[0101] and the flowcharts of FIGS. 10-14). The terms are therefore read as the program flow executed by the recited core and sequencer rather than as generic placeholders for a function, and the claims are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Applicant is invited to advise the Office if a different construction is intended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art is that of a person with a bachelor’s degree in electrical or computer engineering and about two years of experience designing microcontroller-based motor-drive or inverter control hardware and firmware, including timer/PWM peripherals and data exchange between processing units that share memory.
8. Claims 1, 2, 4, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehl et al. (US 9,367,516 B2, hereinafter “Boehl”) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 7,057,910 B2, hereinafter “Takahashi”) and further in view of Lamport, “Concurrent Reading and Writing,” Communications of the ACM, vol. 20, no. 11, pp. 806-811 (Nov. 1977) (hereinafter “Lamport”).
In order to expedite and avoid piecemeal prosecution, the following rejection is made to the extent that the claims are understood, by considering those elements which are understood and interpreting their function in a manner which is consistent with the recited goals of the claims, and then applying the best available art.
The examiner relies on the entire teachings of Boehl, Takahashi and Lamport references; the applicant should carefully consider the entire teachings of the above-mentioned references to better understand the examiner’s position.
References. Boehl (Robert Bosch GmbH; issued Jun. 14, 2016; Appl. No. 13/638,125, the U.S. national stage of PCT/EP2011/054109 filed Mar. 18, 2011, published as WO 2011/120823 on Oct. 6, 2011 and as US 2013/0111189 A1 on May 2, 2013; claiming priority to EP 10158595.8, filed Mar. 31, 2010) describes the Generic Timer Module (GTM), in which a CPU, a Multi Channel Sequencer (MCS), shared RAM pages and PWM output channels (TOM/ATOM) cooperate through an Advanced Routing Unit (ARU). Each reference is prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Regarding claim 1, Boehl discloses a CPU (the claimed “core”) that sets up and feeds a Multi-Channel Sequencer and PWM output channels. The CPU and the MCS exchange data through RAM pages that both can access: “[b]oth RAM pages may contain arbitrary sized code and data sections that are accessible by all MCS-channels and the CPU via AEI” (col. 163:58-60), and “[w]henever data has to be exchanged between different MCS-channels or the CPU, the connected RAM pages, which are accessible by all MCS-channels and the CPU, can be used” (col. 164:49-51; FIG. 40). A CPU write of a PWM parameter into such a RAM location is the claimed storing of the28 switching PWM control value “in a new-data variable in a shared memory.” The CPU serves the parameters of complex PWM outputs (col. 5:9-18); the parameters are, for example, “the duty cycle and period duration” of “an output PWM to be generated” (col. 4:6-12), and “some applications may process data provided by the CPU within the MCS sub module, and the calculated results are sent to the outputs using the ATOM sub modules” (col. 163:43-45). The MCS (col. 163:31-60, FIG. 40) is a programmable sequencer of eight MCS-channels, each running a micro-program from the RAM pages with its own program counter and register bank R0-R7 (col. 163:54-57; col. 164:36-44).
Its instruction set supplies the operations needed for the claimed data obtaining logic: reading a memory word into a channel register (MRD, col. 168:2-14), writing a register to memory (MWR, col. 168:15-29), subtraction and less-than comparison whose zero flag distinguishes equal from unequal operands (SUB, col. 173:30-48; LT, col. 176:9-24), and conditional jumps on a status bit (JBS/JBC, col. 177:29-52). The value that an MCS-channel has read into its register R0-R7 corresponds to the claimed “buffer-data variable.”
The MCS then updates the PWM hardware: the AWR instruction “[p]erform[s] a blocking write access to the ARU and transfer[s] two 24 bit values to the ARU port using the registers A and B” (col. 171:64-172:15); an ATOM channel loads those ARU data into its shadow registers SR0/SR1 (col. 127:3-19; FIG. 34), which “act as a buffer between the ARU and the channel operation registers,” so that “a new parameter set for a PWM can be reloaded via ARU into the shadow registers, while the operation registers work on the actual parameter set” (col. 125:21-28), and the operation registers CM0 and CM1 are then updated with the shadow register content (col. 93:20-31; col. 127:7-19). The shadow-register and operation-register update therefore updates a register with the value held in the MCS channel register, i.e., with “a value of the buffer-data variable,” which is the first alternative of the final wherein clause. Finally, the ATOM channel in PWM mode produces the output “by comparing its operation registers with a sub module internal counter” (col. 125:55-61; col. 92:52-93:17; col. 126:2-17; FIGS. 25, 33), which is the claimed PWM control circuit outputting a switching PWM signal by using the register value.
Boehl does not teach (a) that the calculation uses an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) sampling value for an inverter, or that the PWM signal controls an inverter; (b) that the core increments a data counter after storing the PWM control value in the new-data variable; or (c) that the sequencer, based on determining that the data counter differs from a previous-data counter, stores the new-data value in the buffer-data variable and stores the counter value in the previous-data counter. Boehl’s only data-valid indications of this kind are the NEWVAL/DVAL flags of the TIM input channels (col. 72:1-27), which are not a counter hand-off between the CPU and the MCS.
In the same field of endeavor of microcomputer PWM generation for inverters, Takahashi teaches a semiconductor device that “generates PWM signals used for controlling an inverter and is typically realized in a microcomputer” (col. 4:31-36; FIG. 1; claim 1), with a cycle timer 14, cycle set register 12 and duty set register 16 that define the PWM period and on-time (col. 4:37-51).
In Embodiment 7 the inverter circuit 42 “outputs an analog signal SB corresponding to a current value of a heating coil current,” the semiconductor device 41 “includes an A/D converter 43 and converts the accepted analog signal SB,” and, when the converted value does not fall within a predetermined range, the dead time is changed “with the appropriate dead time set value” (col. 9:1-18; FIGS. 17, 18). The decision values and the dead time set values are changed “by, for example, software” (col. 9:19-31; col. 8:21-33; FIG. 16). The dead time set value is a value that fixes the switching timing of the PWM signals SU and SL, and those signals are supplied to the inverter circuit to control it (col. 8:21-28; col. 9:1-6). Takahashi thus teaches determining a switching PWM control value from an ADC sampling value for an inverter and outputting the resulting switching PWM signal to control the inverter.
Also in the same field of endeavor of data exchange between asynchronous processing units that share memory, Lamport teaches a producer/consumer “message buffer” in which the sender places a message in a shared buffer and then increments a count of messages sent, and the receiver waits until that count differs from its own count of messages received, reads the message and updates its count: sender, “put message in B[ms mod P]; ms := ms + 1”; receiver, “wait until mr < ms; read message in B[mr mod P]; mr := mr + 1” (p. 809, “Message Buffer”). The count ms is incremented only after the message has been stored, and mr serves as the receiver’s record of the count already consumed. Lamport’s “mailbox” variant has the sender write a message number msg.no after placing the message in the mailbox, and the receiver copy that number into a receiver-side variable after reading the message - “temp := msg.no; read message in mailbox; msg.rd := temp” - so that msg.no = msg.rd shows that the current message has been received (p. 810, “Mailbox”). In the combination, ms or msg.no is the claimed data counter, mr or msg.rd is the claimed previous-data counter, the message location B[ ] or the mailbox is the new-data variable, and the receiver’s local copy is the buffer-data variable. Lamport’s algorithms use no mutual exclusion and rely only on data written by one process and read by the other (Abstract; p. 806, Introduction).
Boehl and Takahashi are both directed to microcomputer timer/PWM output hardware whose parameters are supplied by software. Boehl states that its GTM is a generic timer that “serves different application domains” (col. 2:6-13), generates PWM outputs whose parameters are served by the CPU (col. 5:9-18), and supports a BLDC motor drive (col. 5:9-18), and that it is designed to relieve the CPU of interrupt load (col. 1:37-40; col. 2:21-27). Takahashi shows the standard application of such PWM hardware: an inverter whose output is measured through an A/D converter and whose PWM timing parameters are adjusted by software accordingly (col. 9:1-31). A person of ordinary skill applying Boehl’s CPU, MCS and ATOM/TOM channels to an inverter would have used the ADC measurement of the inverter as the input from which the CPU computes the PWM parameters, because a closed-loop inverter requires exactly that feedback. This is the combination of familiar elements according to known methods with predictable results (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007); MPEP 2143(I)(A), (D)). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, because Boehl’s PWM channels accept arbitrary duty and period values and Takahashi’s ADC feedback only changes the values that are supplied.
In Boehl’s arrangement the CPU and the MCS run asynchronously and in parallel (col. 2:21-27) and exchange the PWM parameters through shared RAM (col. 164:49-51). The parameter set is more than one atomic unit - at least the 24-bit duty and period words of the ARU data word (col. 4:6-12) - and Boehl states no protocol that guarantees that the MCS reads a complete, consistent parameter set while the CPU is writing it; the only arbitration it describes is RAM-access priority between the CPU and an MCS-channel (col. 164:65-67). The problem of reading a multi-unit data item while another process writes it is the problem that Lamport addresses (p. 806, Introduction, where a reader can obtain “199” while a writer changes “99” to “100”), and Lamport offers a solution that avoids mutual exclusion, which “requires that a writer wait until all current read operations are completed” and “may be undesirable if the writer has higher priority than the readers” (p. 806). The CPU-to-MCS data path in Boehl has exactly this priority relationship, because the CPU’s output computation must not be held up by the sequencer that feeds a real-time PWM output.
A person of ordinary skill would therefore have programmed the CPU and the MCS micro-program, using the MRD, MWR, SUB/LT and JBS/JBC instructions that Boehl already provides, to follow Lamport’s sender/receiver counter protocol. The result is the claimed hand-off: the counter is incremented after the new value is stored, the MCS acts only when the counter differs from the counter it last recorded, and the MCS records the counter when it copies the value. To the extent that the Message Buffer receiver advances mr by one rather than copying ms, Lamport’s Mailbox receiver expressly copies the sender’s number into a receiver-side variable (msg.rd := temp), and the two are interchangeable ways of recording the last count consumed; choosing the copy is a predictable selection between two taught alternatives. The combination applies a known technique to a known device to improve it in the same way, with a reasonable expectation of success because every operation of the protocol is a memory read, compare, write or jump that Boehl’s instruction set performs (KSR, 550 U.S. at 416-17; MPEP 2143(I)(C), (D)).
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1, Boehl’s MCS can be programmed to execute its update routine at predetermined times. The MCS “calculate[s] complex output sequences that may depend on the time base values of the TBU” (col. 163:35-38); the time bases TBU_TS0-TBU_TS2 are operands of the MCS instruction set (col. 166:14-15); an MCS-channel can be suspended until a trigger event (WTRG, col. 178:34-60) or for a programmed number of instruction cycles (WTC, col. 179:2-21); and under round-robin scheduling the execution time is deterministic (col. 165:40-41; col. 166:14-15). The AWR update of col. 171:64-172:15 can therefore be executed at a predetermined time.
Boehl does not teach dividing each switching PWM period into a first control period and a second control period and executing the update logic in a predetermined time interval of each.
In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi teaches that, in every PWM period, interrupt-service is executed on the match of cycle timer 14 and duty set register 16 and again on the match of cycle timer 14 and cycle set register 12, and “at the timings of the respective interrupts” data are transferred from buffer register 23 to the dead time set register 24b and from register 24b to register 24a (col. 5:3-20; FIGS. 1, 2, 4, 6, 8). The two update timings in each PWM period divide the period into two segments, each ending in a predetermined register update; in Embodiment 2 the buffer register “is used simply for transferring data to the dead time set register at given timing (periodically)” (col. 6:1-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to schedule the MCS update routine of Boehl, using its time-base-driven triggering, at a fixed point in each of two segments of every PWM period, as Takahashi updates its PWM registers at two fixed points in every period. The motivation is the one Takahashi gives: updating the register at a defined timing in the period, instead of at an arbitrary time, avoids having to stop the PWM output and keeps the register update at the “optimum timing” (col. 5:43-60). The combination uses known timing techniques to obtain predictable updates, with a reasonable expectation of success because the MCS already provides time-base and delay instructions (KSR, 550 U.S. at 416; MPEP 2143(I)(A), (D)).
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 2, Boehl’s MCS runs its channel micro-programs under round-robin scheduling in which each MCS-channel receives an equal time slice (col. 165:10-11), every instruction takes exactly nine clock cycles (col. 166:14-15) and the round trip time is deterministic (col. 165:40-41; FIG. 41). An MCS-channel loop that reads the data counter (MRD) and tests it (SUB/LT with JBS/JBC) therefore examines the counter at a fixed, regular interval, which is polling.
Boehl does not expressly state that the data counter is polled, and it does not state that the update logic runs once in each control period.
In the same field of endeavor, Lamport teaches that the receiver’s “wait until” statement is a polling loop - “wait until condition” is “equivalent to the following waiting loop: L: if not condition then goto L fi” (p. 808) - and Takahashi performs one register update at each of its two update timings in every PWM period (col. 5:3-20), i.e., once in each of the two segments of the period.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Lamport’s wait on the counter as a polling loop in the MCS micro-program, because the MCS has no interrupt-driven alternative within a channel other than the trigger wait of col. 178:34-60, and a polling loop adds no hardware and checks the counter at the deterministic interval that the round-robin schedule gives. It would also have been obvious to run the update once per segment, as in Takahashi, to avoid redundant writes to the shadow registers. The motivation, the known-elements rationale and the expectation of success are those given for claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 15, Boehl, Takahashi and Lamport teach the claimed method of multichannel sequencing for the reasons given for claim 1. The preamble is met by Boehl’s MCS operating together with the ATOM channels that output a PWM signal from register values (Boehl col. 125:55-61; col. 163:43-45; col. 171:64-172:15; FIGS. 25, 33, 40) and by Takahashi’s PWM signals that control an inverter (col. 4:31-36; col. 8:21-28). The step of “checking a data counter that is incremented by a core configured to calculate a switching PWM control value by using an [ADC] sampling value for the inverter, wherein the data counter is incremented after the core stores the switching PWM control value in a new-data variable of a shared memory” is met by Boehl’s CPU, which calculates and writes PWM parameters into RAM shared with the MCS (col. 4:6-12; col. 5:9-18; col. 163:43-45; col. 163:58-60; col. 164:49-51); by Takahashi’s determination of a PWM control value from the A/D-converted inverter signal (col. 9:1-31; FIG. 18); and by Lamport’s receiver, which checks the count ms that the sender increments after putting the message in the buffer (“wait until mr < ms,” p. 809). The step of “based on a determination that a value of the data counter is different from a value of a previous-data counter, storing a value of the new-data variable in a buffer-data variable and storing the value of the data counter in the previous-data counter” is met by Lamport’s receiver, which acts when mr < ms, reads the stored message into its local copy and records the count (pp. 809-810, “Message Buffer” and “Mailbox”), executed in Boehl by an MCS-channel micro-program with MRD, SUB/LT, JBS/JBC and MWR instructions (col. 168:2-29; col. 173:30-48; col. 176:9-24; col. 177:29-52). The step of “updating the register with a value of the buffer-data variable or a value of a previous-data variable” is met, in the buffer-data alternative, by Boehl’s AWR transfer of the channel register values to the ATOM shadow registers and thence to the operation registers CM0/CM1 (col. 125:21-28; col. 127:3-19; col. 171:64-172:15). As for claim 1, Boehl does not teach the ADC-based inverter calculation or the counter hand-off, which Takahashi and Lamport supply, and the reasons to combine are those stated for claim 1 above, which are incorporated here.
Regarding claim 16, which depends from claim 15, Boehl’s MCS can execute its register update at predetermined times (col. 163:35-38; col. 166:14-15; col. 178:34-179:21; col. 165:40-41), but Boehl does not teach that each switching PWM period is divided into a first and a second control period with a predetermined update interval allocated to each. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi performs a register update at each of two timings in every PWM period - the match of cycle timer 14 with duty set register 16 and the match of cycle timer 14 with cycle set register 12 - and transfers the buffered value into the set registers “at given timing (periodically)” (col. 5:3-20; col. 6:1-20; FIGS. 2, 4, 6). Each of the two segments of the PWM period thus has an allocated, predetermined update timing at which the register is updated from the buffer register, and, as shown for claim 15, the register in Boehl is updated with the value of the buffer-data variable. The motivation to combine is that stated for claim 2, which is incorporated here.
Examiner's note:
Closest Issues and Potential Allowable Subject Matter
The following points are noted so that applicant can respond to the rejections directly.
(a) The weakest link in the combination is the read of “a switching PWM control value” on Takahashi’s dead time set value, which is determined in response to the A/D-converted inverter signal (col. 9:1-31). Takahashi’s ADC signal selects between dead-time settings; it is not a duty-cycle calculation. If applicant contests this read, the Office may supplement the rejection with art that computes the duty value directly from sampled inverter current. Applicant’s own background statements on this point (Spec. ¶¶ [0006]-[0008]) are expressly not offered as an admission (Spec. ¶ [0010]) and are not relied upon.
(b) Claim 1 and claim 15 recite that the register is updated with the buffer-data variable or the previous-data variable. The rejection relies on the buffer-data alternative; the previous-data alternative, and the wherein clause defining the previous-data variable, are not needed to meet the claim as written. If the claims are amended to require both alternatives with a rule for choosing between them, the analysis above for claims 3, 5 and 10 indicates where the art is deficient.
(c) Lamport’s Message Buffer receiver advances mr by one, while the claim stores “the value of the data counter” in the previous-data counter; the rejection relies on Lamport’s Mailbox receiver (msg.rd := temp, with temp := msg.no) for the copy, and on the interchangeability of the two recording methods.
(d) The subject matter that carries allowance is the selection between a buffered value and a previously buffered value, whether by the control period (claims 3, 17), by a status variable (claim 5) or by the timing of the new-data update relative to the update interval (claim 10), which is the inventive core described at Spec. ¶¶ [0065]-[0070], [0084]-[0094] and [0111].
(e) Informally, claims 6, 7 and 9 recite third, fourth and seventh values without a fifth or sixth value; applicant may wish to renumber the values for clarity. This is not a ground of rejection.
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passages as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 10-11, 13-14 are allowable over the prior of records.
10. Claims 3, 5-9 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10 Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is an Examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 3, 5, 10 are allowable over the prior art of record because the prior arts, cited in its entirety, or in combination, do not teach:
Claim 3 and claim 17 require that, when the core calculates once in each switching PWM period, the register is updated with the previous-data variable in the first control period and with the buffer-data variable in the second control period. No applied reference teaches or suggests this alternation. Takahashi’s two update timings (col. 5:3-20) perform the same pair of register transfers at each timing and do not select between a buffered and a previously buffered value according to the control period.
Claim 5 (and claims 6-9, which depend from it) requires a status variable in the shared memory that the data sharing logic sets to a first value when storing the PWM control value and the data obtaining logic sets to a second value when buffering it, with the update logic updating the register with the previous-data variable at the first value and with the buffer-data variable at the second value. No applied reference teaches selecting the source of the register update in this way. Lamport states that “a simple ‘I am writing’ flag will not work” (p. 808, “General Readers/Writer Solution”), and Boehl’s NEWVAL/DVAL data-valid flags (col. 72:1-27) mark input data as consumed or valid; they do not select between a buffered value and a previously buffered value as the register update source.
Independent claim 10 requires that the update logic update the register with the buffer-data variable when the time point of updating the new-data variable is earlier than the start of the predetermined update interval, and with the previous-data variable (which stores a previous value of the buffer-data variable) when that time point is later. The closest art is Boehl col. 93:65-94:4 (a late update of CM1 takes effect in the current or the following period), col. 127:7-19 (the operation registers receive either all old or all new shadow data) and col. 131:3-20 (a late update of the compare registers is refused and flagged), and Takahashi col. 5:43-60 (update at optimum timing through a buffer register). None of them updates a register with a software-held previous-data variable according to whether the new-data update preceded or followed the start of an update interval. Claim 10 and its dependent claims 11, 13 and 14 are therefore not rejected over the art of record, and claim 12 would be free of it once the § 112(b) issue above is resolved.
Conclusion
12. Claims 1-2, 4, 12, 15-16, are rejected. Claims 3, 5-9, and 17 are objected. Claims 10-11, 13-14 are allowed.
13. The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nortman, US 11,429,290 B2 (Argo AI), teaches lockless access to a shared-memory buffer ring in which a publisher increments a buffer counter before and after each write and a subscriber compares the counter value read before and after its read to detect a concurrent write (Abstract; description of the “buffer counter” and the subscriber read procedure). A seqlock-type alternative to Lamport for the counter hand-off, but it is not directed to PWM or inverter control and does not store the counter in a previous-data counter.
Robert Bosch GmbH, EP 2 553 540 B1 (and WO 2011/120823 A1), teach the European grant and the PCT publication corresponding to the applied Boehl patent; the same Generic Timer Module disclosure, cited as counterparts of the applied reference.
Communications via Internet e-mail regarding this application, other than those under 35 U.S.C. 132 or which otherwise require a signature, may be used by the applicant and should be addressed to [raymond.phan@uspto.gov].
All Internet e-mail communications will be made of record in the application file. PTO employees do not engage in Internet communications where there exists a possibility that sensitive information could be identified or exchanged unless the record includes a properly signed express waiver of the confidentiality requirements of 35 U.S.C. 122. This is more clearly set forth in the Interim Internet Usage Policy published in the Official Gazette of the Patent and Trademark on February 25, 1997 at 1195 OG 89.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the TC 2100 central telephone number is (571) 272-2100.
/RAYMOND N PHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175