DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 10/2/2025 have been fully considered.
This application has been inherited by a different examiner and this action is a second nonfinal as the previously indicated allowable claims do not appear allowable as noted by the new art cited below. Additionally, 35 USC 112b new matter rejections have been set forth as the amended claim set filed 10/2/2025 appears to present new limitations not disclosed in the originally filed specification and claim set.
It appears that the previous objections to the specification have been overcome.
It appears that new drawing 4E has been submitted which appears to just be separating out elements from figure 4D. Additionally, the specification appears to have been updated accordingly. This appears to have overcome the remaining examiner objections/rejections. It would be helpful for applicant to note where support can be found in the three provisional applications for the baffle and separation system.
Regarding claim 47, applicant remarks that claim 50 was incorporated into claim 47, however, the claim set filed 10/2/25 does not appear to contain this amendment. Claim 47 is rejected below with new art and also rejected using the previously presented rejection. It is noted that now canceled claim 50, if it had been added to the method of claim 47, i.e. that the method of claim 47 can be operated under aerobic conditions to support aquaculture, this does not appear allowable. Note that Wolverton (Journal (Water Pollution Control Federation, Vol. 51, No. 2, Feb., 1979, Upgrading Facultative Wastewater Lagoons with Vascular Aquatic Plants) teaches that it is known to utilize plants in lagoon system to minimize algae growth and that if claim 50 had been added to claim 47, it does not appear to put claim 47 in condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 and those that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The original claims filed 5/21/2025 do not contain language “a conduit comprising nitrifying organisms connecting the first part of the lagoon to the second part”. It appears this language was added in an amendment on 6/20/25 (new claim 44) and also appears in claim 31 of the 10/2/2025 claim set. This appears to be new matter as it cannot be located in the original specification.
It is noted that PG Pub [0049] does appear to talk about seeding with nitrifying agents and [0109] recites generally that there are channels, but does not recite or explain the channel location or their specific use. Additionally, [0206] recites that nitrifiers can be routed to the lagoon, but it is not seen where a conduit is described in the original specification or originally filed claims to connect the parts and to house nitrifiers.
Regarding claim 39 and any that depend therefrom, claim 39 recites that the treatment unit is integrated into the partition; however, support cannot be located in the originally filed specification or the originally filed claim set. The first mention of this is in the amended claim set filed 6/20/2025.
The amended claim sets filed 6/20/25 or 10/2/2025 do not appear to provide mapping to where support can be found in the specification for the amendments, which would be helpful to ensure no additional new matter has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-38, 40-43, 47-49 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoffland (US 20060060525).
Regarding claim 31, 34, 37, 38, 41, 42, 47, 45, 47, 49 and 51, Hoffland teaches a method of use and lagoons for the treatment of animal waste [0086] comprising:
a divided lagoon (see fig. 12-14) note that partitions/openings #240 with baffles/valves that divide the lagoon into aerobic #265 and anaerobic #245 areas [0085];
the first anaerobic #245 area is configured to generate biogas #260 (claim 34);
a treatment unit #270 that is in the second part of the lagoon and lowers the pH by providing air supply #280;
the second part of the lagoon also comprises nitrifying organisms that lower the amount of ammonia in the second part;
and an outlet that directs the treated water for use as flush water #575.
Regarding claim 32, Hoffland teaches the Nitrosomas bacteria is in the second lagoon and that the aerator is in the second lagoon which both read on a treatment unit [0113-114].
Regarding claim 33, Hoffland teaches the first part of the lagoon is covered [0127-128].
Regarding claims 35, 36 and 48, Hoffland teaches the apparatus may also further comprise a means to add various chemicals known or used by one skilled in the art for sewage treatment. Further, the apparatus may comprise means to adjust the pH of the wastewater [0151]. Hoffland teaches that the aerators can be automatically controlled [0137] and that the valves can be controlled manually or automatically to control flow [0105].
Regarding claim 40, Hoffland teaches that aeration unit can be at the bottom of the lagoon (see fig. 14, #275).
Regarding claim 43, note that the flush water is the intended use of the device, i.e. “use as flush water” in claim 31. Note that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCPA 1963). MPEP 2115.
Claim(s) 47 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Silver (US 20150114904).
Regarding claims 47 and 49, Silver teaches a method of treating agricultural wastewater comprising [0027]:
contacting wastewater with oxygen and nitrifying organisms in a wastewater treatment unit (see fig. 2) to generate a treated effluent using anoxic #116 and anaerobic #114 conditions to reduce a level of nitrogen within the treated effluent [0035],
wherein the wastewater is in a partitioned lagoon (#114 and #116 which are divided by baffle #118 [0045-48]) and the wastewater treatment unit #116 is within one part of the lagoon.
Claim(s) 47 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vogel (US 6136194).
Regarding claim 47, Vogel teaches a divided lagoon system for treating wastewater comprising:
a lagoon having a first portion #30 and a second position #32 divided by baffle #42 (see fig. 2);
a wastewater treatment unit #46/38 (oxygenating device) in one part of the lagoon (col. 4, lines 40-67) and nitrifying device (col. 4, lines 40-42).
Regarding claim 49, Vogel teaches the use of anaerobic zones (see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Previous rejection of claim 47 from the nonfinal dated 7/2/2025 (no remarks appear regarding this rejection):
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teran (US6398959) in view of Braun (US6379546) or Tokutomi (US20050242027) and Lin (US20110180467).
Regarding claim 47, Teran describes an animal wastewater treating system in which animal wastewater from bulk solids separation unit 206 [col 17/line 57) is received by and microbiologically 13 treated in aerated lagoon 208 ("to greatly reduce organics and 13 Teran at col 18) reservoir. Additionally, to improve the system efficiency, specialized bacteria should be isolated and propagated from the animal waste to be treated to create a selective dominance within the primary aeration reservoir that aids in the digestion of waste odor and promotes nitrification converting ammonia to nitrates" col 17 line 65). The aerated nitrified stream from aerated lagoon 208 may be reused as deluge flush water in the animal houses (Fig. 1 and col 5 lines 27-40). Additionally, the supernatant of the aerated lagoon-treated effluent is further treated with supplemental nitrification-enhancing microorganisms¹⁴ in aerated vessel 217. Disclosure of an air supply to Teran's aerated lagoon 217 is inherently described by "aerated". A denitrification-bypassed portion 15 of the vessel 217-effluent and an anoxic vessel 210-denitrified portion of the vessel 217-effluent are then "reused". Among the various uses described by Teran is "deluge flushing" of the animal houses using aerobically treated
wastewater, e.g., both vessel 217 effluents, as described at col line or portrayed visually (see Fig1) returned to an animal facility, e.g., confined livestock, e.g., pigs/hogs, building, for use as flush water [0018] or [0006].
Teran does not expressly state that nitrification reduces wastewater pH , but Teran's disclosure of nitrification inherently described a lowering of pH, as shown by either Braun (see col 13) or Tokutomi at [0011].
Teran does not appear to describe or suggest a partition in either the aerated lagoon 208 or aerated vessel 217.
Lin, directed to sewage treatment [0002], describes a nitrification-effecting [0019] aerated wastewater treatment unit floating within a wastewater treatment lagoon [0005]. The modular unit includes partitions (panels) 11 and 12. Per claim 40, air is admitted at the bottom (4) of the unit. Air-induced circulation of water is indicated at bottom right of the bottom right drawing.
It would have been obvious to have situated at least one of Lin's modular
wastewater treatment units each comprising two partitions (panels 11 and 12) to
facilitate simplify Teran's treatment methods at reduced electrical power consumption at higher contaminant removal efficiency, and increased processing flexibility as noted by Lin [0004].
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silver (US 20150114904) in view of Robertson (US20130240420).
Regarding claim 48, Silver does not specifically teach monitoring pH levels.
However, Robertson notes that biological treatment systems can be flexible and robust and that temperature, pH, oxygen content, and contaminant levels are variables to be controlled for optimum performance [0009]. Robertson teaches a wastewater treatment system like that of Silver wherein the process is controlled by utilizing measurements of pH, temperature, and oxygen saturation of the wastewater [0035].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date to monitor and control the pH in Silver as taught by Robertson in order for optimal system performance.
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogel (US 6136194) in view of Van Loosdrecht (US6383390).
Regarding claim 48, Vogel does not specifically teach monitoring pH levels.
However, Van Loosdrecht also teaches controlling nitrification rate by controlling pH (see claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date to monitor and control the pH in Vogel as taught by Van Loosdrecht in order to control ammonia in the wastewater.
Claim(s) 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hoffland (US 20060060525).
Regarding claim 39, Hoffland does not specifically disclose the aeration and nitrifying is integrated into the partition.
However, Hoffland does teach that the nitrifying portion can be stepped and would have a portion against the partition and that the aeration device can be at the bottom or float on the top.
Also, note the 35 USC 112a new matter rejection above in that support for this cannot be found in the originally filed specification.
However, it is noted that The use of a one-piece, integrated construction instead of the structure disclosed or taught in the prior art would have been within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date to integrate some nitrifying elements into the separating area in Hoffland to jump start the aeration/denitrification process.
Claim(s) 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hoffland (US 20060060525) in view of JP4573313 or Hill (US20150251936).
Regarding claim 45, Hoffland does not specifically disclose the use of heaters.
However, Prentice, also in the water treatment art, teaches the optimal temperature range for the growth of nitrifying bacteria such as nitrite bacteria and nitrate bacteria that are aerobic bacteria that live in the aerobic tank is 30°C. or more and 40°C. or less, and that a heater can be utilized to keep the temperature in the aerobic tank at an optimal temperature range.
Also, Hill teaches a wastewater treatment system [0034] which uses a source of heat to regulate water temperature in the nitrification reactor and it can be located within the nitrification reactor. For example, the source of heat could be a number of electrical resistance-based immersion heaters distributed around and/or throughout the interior of the nitrification reactor vessels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date to utilize heaters in Hoffland as taught by either Hill or JP313 to keep the nitrifying bacteria at optimal temperature ranges.
Claim(s) 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hoffland (US 20060060525) in view of Prentice (US20140197091).
Regarding claim 46, Hoffland teaches the use of valves which separate the lagoon and the water stream from moving from one part to another. If these valves are not seen as baffles, int is noted that Prentice, also in the water treatment art, teaches that baffles are utilized to deflect the flow of water and/or direct the water through a water flow path from the inlet of the tank to the outlet of the tank. In some embodiments, the baffles are integral to the tank. In some embodiments, the baffles are adjustable and/or removable from the tank [0128].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date to utilize baffles in Hoffland as taught by Prentice as baffles are known devices that help direct fluid flow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776