DETAILED ACTION
1. Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on August 5, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-17, 24 and 25 have been canceled. Claims 26-30 have been added. Claims 18-23 and 26-30 are currently pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 21, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 19, 22, 23 and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The pending claims are drawn to a method comprising the administration of a composition comprising Bacillus velezensis BV379 or a progeny thereof, wherein a sample of the strain has been deposited under ATCC Accession No. PTA-127359.
Applicant should note the following: this rejection is being made because the specification does not state at paragraph 0069 or any other spaces within that the deposit has been made and accepted under the Budapest Treaty as required by MPEP 2409. Further, none of the required statements (identified below) have been made nor has a deposit receipt supplied.
Because it is not clear that cell lines possessing the properties of Bacillus velezensis BV379 (ATCC Accession No. PTA-127359) are known and publicly available or can be reproducibly isolated from nature without undue experimentation and because the claims require the use of a suitable deposit for patent purposes a deposit in a public repository is required. Without a publicly available deposit of the above Bacillus velezensis BV379 (ATCC Accession No. PTA-127359), one of ordinary skill in the art could not be assured of the ability to practice the invention as claimed. Exact replication of the cell line is an unpredictable event.
Applicant’s referral to the deposit of Bacillus velezensis BV379 (ATCC Accession No. PTA-127359) in paragraph 0069 of the specification is an insufficient assurance that all required deposits have been made and all the conditions of 37 CFR 1.801-1.809 have been met.
If the deposit has been made under the provisions of the Budapest Treaty, filing of an affidavit or declaration by applicant or assignees or a statement by an attorney of record who has authority and control over the conditions of deposit over his or her signature and registration number stating that the deposit has been accepted by the International Depository Authority under the provisions of the Budapest Treaty and that all restrictions upon public access to the deposit will be irrevocably removed upon the grant of a patent on this application. These requirements are necessary when deposits are made under the provisions of the Budapest Treaty as the Treaty leaves this specific matter to the discretion of each State. Amendment of the specification to recite the date of the deposit and the complete name and full street address of the depository is required.
If the deposits have not been made under the provisions of the Budapest Treaty, then in order to certify that the deposits comply with the criteria set forth in 37 CFR 1.801-1.809, assurances regarding availability and permanency of deposits are required. Such assurance may be in the form of an affidavit or declaration by applicants or assignees or in the form of a statement by an attorney of record who has the authority and control over the conditions of deposit over his or her signature and registration number averring: (a) during the pendency of this application, access to the deposits will be afforded to the Commissioner upon request; (b) all restrictions upon the availability to the public of the deposited biological material will be irrevocably removed upon the granting of a patent on this application; (c) the deposits will be maintained in the public repository for a period of at least thirty years from the date of deposit or for the enforceable life of the patent of or for a period of five years after the date of the most recent request for the furnishing of a sample of the deposited biological material, whichever is longest; and (d) the deposits will be replaced if they should become nonviable or non-replicable.
In addition, a deposit of biological material that is capable of self-replication either directly or indirectly must be viable at the time of deposit and during the term of deposit. Viability may be tested by the repository. The test must conclude only that the deposited material is capable of reproduction. A viability statement for each deposit of biological material not made under the Budapest Treaty must be filed in the application and must contain: 1) The name and address of the depository; 2) The name and address of the depositor; 3) The date of deposit; 4) The identity of the deposit and the accession number given by the depository; 5) The date of the viability test; 6) The procedures used to obtain a sample if test is not done by the depository; and 7) A statement that the deposit is capable of reproduction. As well as a statement that removes restrictions to provide access to this strain upon granting of a patent has not made, either in the instant Specification, nor in Applicant's Remarks.
One of the critical conditions of Deposit is defined in 37 CFR 1.808 requires that the deposit of biological material be made under two conditions: (A) access to the deposit will be available during pendency of the patent application making reference to the deposit to one determined by the Commissioner to be entitled thereto under 37 CFR 1.14 and 35 U.S.C. 122, and (B) with one exception, that all restrictions imposed by the depositor on the availability to the public of the deposited biological material be irrevocably removed upon the granting of the patent. Upon making this statement, the rejection under 35 USC 112, first paragraph will be withdrawn. This rejection can be obviated through perfection of the Deposit and amendment of the claims to clearly set forth the Deposited strains.
As a possible means for completing the record, applicant may submit a copy of the contract with the depository for deposit and maintenance of each deposit.
If the deposit was made after the effective filing date of the application for patent in the United States, a verified statement is required from a person in a position to corroborate that the Bacillus velezensis BV379 (ATCC Accession No. PTA-127359) described in the specification as filed is the same as that deposited in the depository. Corroboration may take the form of a showing a chain of custody from applicant to the depository coupled with corroboration that the deposit is identical to the biological material described in the specification and in the applicant’s possession at the time the application was filed.
Applicant’s attention is directed to In re Lundack, 773 F.2d.1216, 227 USPQ (CAFC 1985) and 37 CFR 1.801-1.809 for further information concerning deposit practice.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 18-23 and 26-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,350,299 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are drawn to a method of reducing gastrointestinal symptoms, supporting digestive health, decreasing pathogenic microbes in the gut microbiota, increasing beneficial microbes in the gut microbiota, or inhibiting the growth of pathogenic microbes in the gastrointestinal tract, in a human or an animal in need thereof, comprising administering an effective amount of a composition comprising Bacillus velezensis to said human or animal.
Meanwhile, the patented claims are drawn to a method increasing, modulating, or maintaining the level of Bifidobacterium or Lactobacillus in a human or animal microbiome; as well as a method of maintaining intestinal barrier integrity or promoting gut immune health. Both methods comprising the administration of an effective amount of a composition comprising lyophilized or spray-dried Bacillus velezensis strain BV379 or progeny thereof, deposited under ATCC Accession No. PTA-127359.
The patented claims anticipates and/or makes obvious the pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Byun et al., Journal of Bacteriology, 2023 (May 17); 205(6):1-11.
Independent claim 18 is drawn to a method of reducing gastrointestinal symptoms, supporting digestive health, decreasing pathogenic microbes in the gut microbiota, increasing beneficial microbes in the gut microbiota, or inhibiting the growth of pathogenic microbes in the gastrointestinal tract, in a human or an animal in need thereof, comprising administering an effective amount of a composition comprising Bacillus velezensis to said human or animal.
Byun et al., disclose introducing either BVM7 vegetative cells or spores into mice precolonized with V. cholerae or Enterococcus faecalis significantly reduced the burden of infection. Interestingly, we also observed that BVM7 was sensitive to a group of Lactobacillus probiotic strains and that inoculation of Lactobacilli could eliminate BVM7 and potentially restore the native gut microbiome (see abstract).
Further, Byun discloses that the rise of antibiotic-resistant pathogens poses a challenge to public health. The gut microbiome presents a promising source of new antimicrobials and treatments. By screening murine gut commensals, it was found that a spore-forming Bacillus velezensis strain, BVM7, that exhibited antimicrobial activity toward a wide array of enteric and opportunistic bacterial pathogens. BVM7 vegetative cells and spores can be used to treat infections of both Gram-positive and Gram-negative pathogens in vivo (see page 1; importance; both paragraphs meeting claim 18).
As it pertains to claim 20, Byun follows the same method steps as those as claimed. The administration of Bacillus velezensis necessarily reduces or treats burping, abdominal bloating, flatulence, stomach rumbling, diarrhea, constipation, loose stool, or firm stool, absent evidence to the contrary.
6. Claim(s) 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al., Microbial Pathogenesis, 2019, 136(103671):1-5.
Independent claim 18 is drawn to a method of reducing gastrointestinal symptoms, supporting digestive health, decreasing pathogenic microbes in the gut microbiota, increasing beneficial microbes in the gut microbiota, or inhibiting the growth of pathogenic microbes in the gastrointestinal tract, in a human or an animal in need thereof, comprising administering an effective amount of a composition comprising Bacillus velezensis to said human or animal.
Li discloses that probiotic supplementation can improve the balance of gut microbiota of animals. Li discloses results which demonstrated that Bacillus velezensis supplementation showed beneficial effects on the gut microbiota of mice. Specifically, Bacillus velezensis supplementation increased the population of Lactobacillus and Ruminococcus in the duodenum, and Candidatus Arthromitus in the jejunum (see abstract; meets claim 18). The disorder of the intestinal bacterial community can affect the maturation of the immune system and induce diarrhea (see page 3, meets claim 20).
7. Claim(s) 18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Colosimo et al., US2024/0299469 A1; Filed: 3/9/23.
Independent claim 18 is drawn to a method of reducing gastrointestinal symptoms, supporting digestive health, decreasing pathogenic microbes in the gut microbiota, increasing beneficial microbes in the gut microbiota, or inhibiting the growth of pathogenic microbes in the gastrointestinal tract, in a human or an animal in need thereof, comprising administering an effective amount of a composition comprising Bacillus velezensis to said human or animal.
Colosimo discloses that nutritional supplements reduces inflammation in a subject. In some embodiments, the nutritional supplement treats or prevents a symptom associated with inflammation in a subject as well diarrhea (see paragraph 0037; meets claim 18 and 20). Moreover, Colosimo produces a nutritional supplement comprising Bacillus velezensis (see paragraph 0044; meets claim 18).
As it pertains to claim 21, the method of Colosimo is the same as the claimed invention to treat diarrhea. The Office takes the position that said diarrhea is caused by one of the pathogenic bacteria, namely those commonly caused by Salmonella and E. coli, absent evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
8. No claim is allowed.
/LAKIA J JACKSON-TONGUE/Examiner, Art Unit 1645 October 15, 2026
/BRIAN GANGLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645