DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coogan (US5,056,667), in view of Darden (20120012492).
1. Coogan teaches a collapsible, stackable cargo unit (Fig. 1) having an erected configuration (Fig. 1) in which the cargo unit may define an enclosed interior, and a collapsed configuration (Fig. 5) in which the cargo unit may be stored and transported compactly, the cargo unit comprising: a base (bottom) having a front (23), a rear (25) and two sides (29 and 27); front and rear walls extending upward from the base (Fig. 1); first (29) and second side walls (27) extending upward from the base between the front and rear walls, the first side wall (29) having a length greater than the second side wall (27) (See abstract); an integrated lid (30) hingedly attached to one or more of the front, rear, and side walls; and corner posts (12), wherein the front, rear, first side, and second side walls, and the integrated lid are positioned below the corner posts (Fig. 5, column 2, lines 53-60) in the collapsed configuration to permit the cargo unit to stack upon another cargo unit (column 7, lines 50-66). Coogan Differs in that it does not disclose a receptacle portion in the lower portion of the base, the receptacle portion sized and positioned to receive corner posts from a lower, stackable cargo unit when in the collapsed configuration. Attention, However, is directed to Darden, which discloses such a stacking arrangement (Fig. 18, Paragraph 0053, last 3 lines). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Coogan, in view of the teachings of Darden, in order to employ an alternative durable stacking feature that is ridged during stacking.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coogan, in view of Darden, in further view of Nesting (US6,877,628).
3. The cargo unit of claim 1, the references DIFFER in that they do not disclose wherein the integrated lid comprises a first lid member that includes a hinged edge hingedly attached to the first side wall, and a second lid member that includes a hinged edge hingedly attached to the second side wall. Attention, however is directed to Nesting which discloses two lid members (see Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the references, in view of the teachings of Nesting, in order to have a dual lid that can allow access to one side of the container while blocking access to the other side of the container, if desired by a user.
4. The cargo unit of claim 3, the references DIFFER in that they do not disclose wherein in a collapsed configuration, the first lid member is rotated to rest on the first side wall the second lid member is generally coplanar with the second side wall. Attention, however is directed to Nesting which discloses two lid members (see Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the references, in view of the teachings of Nesting, in order to have a dual lid that can allow access to one side of the container while blocking access to the other side of the container, if desired by a user (doing so would allow the container to collapse, as claimed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Amended claims 9-19 are allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAREEN K THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736