CLAIMS 1-21 ARE PRESENTED FOR EXAMINATION
Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed May 27, 2025, June 05, 2025 and July 15, 2025 have been received and entered into the application. As reflected by the attached, completed copies of form PTO/SB/08, the cited references have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha, (U.S. 2024/0474594, (effective 09/29/21 via Prov. Application 63/250,009), in view of Reynolds et al.,
"Investigation of the Effect of Tablet Surface Area/Volume on Drug Release from Hydroxypropylmethylcellulose Controlled-Release Matrix Tablets", Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy, 28(4), 457-466 (2002), (hereinafter “Reynolds”, cited by Applicant).
Sinha teaches a method of treating hair loss, comprising orally administering a dosage form to a human patient experiencing hair loss, wherein the dosage form comprises “about 5 mg to about 10 mg” of minoxidil (see at least the abstract, [0013], [0012], (claims 10 and 16). The dosage form may provide delayed, sustained or enteric release, [0043], and contain one or more diluents, carriers, excipients, fillers, disintegrants, solubilizing agents, dispersing agents, lubricants, binders etc., [0046]-[0047].
The differences between the above and the claimed subject matter lie in that Sinha fails to teach (a) hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as being present in the oral dosage form; (b) a dosage frequency of once or twice daily, (c) the pharmacokinetic parameters of present claims 4-5; (d) the types of hair loss as in present claims 7-13 and (e) the lack of symptomology as in present claims 16-21).
However, the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains because (a) Sinha explicitly teaches; extended release dosage forms, [0043]; that among the auxiliary agents present, carriers/excipients may be used, (e.g., [0046]); that the compositions he teaches may be produced in accordance with general practice in the pharmaceutical industry, ([0045]); and that large macromolecules such as polysaccharides can be used as carrier compounds for the compositions, ([0049]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as an extended release carrier in the compositions of Sinha because Reynolds teaches that “hydrophilic polymers, such as hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC), are commonly used as rate-controlling polymers for controlled drug release from matrix-type dosage forms”. It is further believed that, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the determination of the optimum carrier percentage to employ would have been a routine determination of the skilled artisan. This is also true for active ingredient dosage frequency in regards to difference (b) above because the optimization of the dosing of active agents in the pharmaceutical/medical arts is a primary concern when considering an effective therapeutic regimen for a given patient or patient group.
Regarding differences (c) and (e), because the reference teaches the presently claimed dosage amounts, it must be true that the pharmacokinetic parameters and non-symptomology associated with such amounts after administration would be present in the prior art whether reported or not or else recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding difference (d), at least present claim 1 encompasses “hair loss” in general and thus would have readily suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art the specific types of hair loss known in the art at the time of the invention.
Accordingly, for the above reasons, the claims are deemed properly rejected.
Double Patenting
Provisional
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20, (unless otherwise specified), of copending Application Nos. (reference applications). 19/094,703; 19/422,011; 19/413,834; 19/242,858; 19/404,931; 19/241,304; 19/230,051; 19/236,933; 19/235,535; 19/250,029; 19/324,046; 19/234,212; 19/329,476, (claims 1-19); 19/245,208; 19/303,300; 19/315,441; 19/230,007, (claims 1-21); 19/409,546; 19/414,251 or 19/397,854.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims in each application are directed to either treating hair loss in general or to specific types of hair loss as is presently claimed or else encompassed by present claim 1. Also, overlapping or the same percentages of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose appears in the either the independent or dependent copending claims. The presently claimed dosage amount of “about 8.5 mg” of minoxidil, dosage frequency, other non-active agents and symptomology resulting from the administration are either recited in or else encompassed by the copending claims as are the pharmacokinetic parameters required by the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Non-Provisional
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,268,688, (cited by Applicant) or (b) claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 19/094,703, (allowed and soon to be patented).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the minoxidil formulations of the patented or soon to be patented claims are species of the presently claimed dosage form which is orally administered. The blood concentration ranges of the patented and soon to be patented claims would also be within the scope of the presently claimed subject matter.
Accordingly, the claims are deemed properly rejected and none are currently in condition for allowance.
/RAYMOND J HENLEY III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629
November 22, 2025