DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites, “side convex members opposite to a push handle on the mounted fixing clip are provided on the groove walls to prevent the side convex members from being pushed unexpectedly”. However, it is not clear to the Examiner exactly what this means. How does the groove walls to prevent the side convex members from being pushed unexpectedly, and how are side convex members opposite to a push handle? Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5704658, Tozaki.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 7-14 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Tozaki discloses a pipeline joint for automobiles, comprising: a main body (60), a channel (65) for transporting a liquid being provided in the main body, a placement groove (65) being provided at a peripheral wall of the main body along a circumferential direction, and holes (67) being provided through a bottom wall of the placement groove; and a fixing clip (70) formed of an elastic material and nested and connected to the placement groove, an axial position of the fixing clip being limited on the main body by groove walls provided on axial sides of the mounting groove; and wherein protrusions (72) are inwardly convexly formed on inner walls of two legs of the fixing clip, and the protrusions extend into the holes and are convexly formed on an inner wall of the channel in the placement groove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tozaki.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 7-14 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Tozaki discloses the main body comprises a first joint portion (enlarged area near 67) and a second joint portion (61) connected with each other, and the placement groove is disposed on the peripheral wall close to the first joint portion, and side members opposite to a push handle (single 71) on the mounted fixing clip. Tozaki does not disclose convex side members. Applicant has failed to disclose criticality for convex side member, and the Tozaki invention is fully capable of being modified to have convex side members. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to fabricate convex side members, since a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 7-14 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Tozaki discloses a sealing ring (14) is provided in the first joint portion.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 7-14 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Tozaki discloses an inner diameter of the channel in the first joint portion is larger than an inner diameter of the channel in the second joint portion (not shown but implied), the channel in the first joint portion is provided with a limiting ring adjacent to the second joint portion, the limiting ring (next to the seal) is spaced apart from a side wall of the second joint portion to form a receiving groove therebetween, and the sealing ring is located in the receiving groove.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 7-14 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Tozaki discloses the channel forms a channel opening at one end of the first joint portion away from the second joint portion, and the protrusions are formed with an inclined surface (72b) on a side facing the channel opening.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 7-14 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Tozaki discloses the push handle is disposed on the fixing clip.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 7-14 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Tozaki discloses the fixing clip is formed of an annular member having a notch (between double 71), and the push handle is disposed close to the notch.
In regards to claim 8, Tozaki discloses the claimed invention except for the two projections being disposed opposite to each other. Applicant has failed to disclose criticality for the two projections being disposed opposite to each other, and the Tozaki invention is fully capable of being modified to locate the two projections opposite each other. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to locate the two projections opposite each other, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679