DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barrett (US 20170198957 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Barrett discloses an ice tray structure (Fig. 1-4) for making ice for water glasses, comprising a base #40, and a cavity (#125 & #130) for making an ice block is provided on the base (abstract), characterized in that:
the base has an outer sidewall #15, and the outer sidewall is used to define an outer peripheral contour of the ice block (Fig. 4);
the base has a base plate #25, and the base plate is used to define a bottom surface contour of the ice block (Fig. 4);
the base has a central post #30, and the central post is used to define an inner hole contour of the ice block (Fig. 4);
an inner cavity of the base between the outer sidewall, the base plate and the central post constitutes the cavity (Fig. 4); and
the cavity is provided with a partition layer #22, the partition layer is disposed between the outer sidewall and the central post (Fig. 4), and the partition layer is used to form a groove structure on the ice block #22 forms a groove between ice from #125 and ice from #130.
Note: the limitation “used to form a groove structure on the ice block” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114/Il.
Regarding claim 7:
Barrett further discloses wherein the partition layer is provided on the base plate (Fig. 4), so that the partition layer is disposed between and spaced apart from the outer sidewall and the central post (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrett (US 20170198957 A1).
Regarding claim 2:
Barrett further discloses an upper cover #35, wherein the partition layer is provided on the upper cover (Fig. 1 & 4), and the upper cover covers an upper end surface of the base (Fig. 4), such that the partition layer is extended into the cavity and positioned between the outer sidewall and the central post (Fig. 4).
To the extent that applicant submits that the partition layer is not provided on the upper cover; it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the partition layer on the upper cover; at least by virtue of making the partition contacts the upper cover when the mold system is in use.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided support for the partition so as to limit undesired movement of partition and uneven ice formation from the chambers #125 and #130.
Regarding claim 20:
Barrett further discloses wherein the partition layer is made of a soft material ([0014]).
Barrett does not specifically disclose wherein the base and the central post, and the upper cover are all made of a soft material.
Nonetheless, Barrett acknowledges that the material of the mold system could be changed ([0020]).
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Because some parts of the mold system are made of soft material ([0014]); it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus above with the claimed parts above being made of soft material.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have facilitated manufacturing via uniformity of materials. Other benefits include cheap production of parts, as soft materials such as plastic are known to be excellent ice mold materials while being relatively cheap.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 8-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
There is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Barrett to provide the combination of elements as recited in each of the aforementioned claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zorovich (US 9272444 B2), Horen (US 6751982 B2), Hanley (US 4285490 A), and Fishman (US 3780536 A).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763