DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 10 recites “sensor is attached to said user’s chest” in line 2. Specifically, the claiming of structures being in contact with the body amounts to an inferential recitation of the body, which renders these claims non-statutory. The examiner recommends changing “is attached to” to --is configured to be attached--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trapero et al. (US 11,116,448 B1).
As to claim 1, Trapero et al. discloses a wearable physiological signal sensing system (Abstract; Figures 1, 5 and 7) comprising: a circuit board (printed circuit board, PCB; depicted in Figure 2; col. 10, lines 20-40) having an upper surface and a lower surface (Figure 2; col. 10, lines 20-40); a stethoscope (col. 10, lines 12-19; “electronics module 102 as an auscultation device in a fashion similar to that of a stethoscope”) formed on said lower surface and electrically connected to said circuit board for sensing a user's heart, lung or intestinal sound signal (col. 11, line 29- col. 12, line 12); and a plurality of ECG electrodes (depicted as 230 in Figure 2; col. 10, lines 41-58) disposed on said lower surface for sensing an ECG signal of said user (Figure 2; col. 10, line 41- col. 11, line 2).
As to claim 8, Trapero et al. discloses said stethoscope includes a diaphragm (sensor window, depicted as 112 in Figure 1; diaphragm is a partition. As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the sensor window is a diaphragm) disposed on said lower surface of said circuit board (Figure 1 and 5).
As to claim 9, Trapero et al. discloses a sound isolation ring (bottom portion, depicted as 106 in Figure 1 and 406 in Figure 4) surrounds said diaphragm, thereby forming a resonance cavity with said circuit board (Figures 1 and 4).
As to claim 10, Trapero et al. discloses a piezoelectric sensor (col. 34, lines 21-34). The piezoelectric sensor is an audio signaling device (e.g., a buzzer) that that provides output feedback to alert the wearer of events or alerts (col. 34, lines 21-34). Therefore, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the piezoelectric signaling device is a piezoelectric sensor that by notifying the patient of “medical alerts” effectively “monitors physiological signals” of the patient. Furthermore, Trapero et al. disclose placing the device on the users chest (Figure 7), thus the examiner considers the piezoelectric sensor is attached to the user’s chest.
As to claim 11, Trapero et al. discloses said wearable physiological signal sensing system is connected to an external mobile device to transmit said physiological signal (Figure 19A-19B).
As to claim 12, Trapero et al. discloses said wearable physiological signal sensing system is connected to a cloud server (col. 32, line 16- col. 33, line 3) or an edge computing device to process and analyze said physiological signal (col. 32, line 16- col. 33, line 46).
As to claim 13, Trapero et al. discloses an e-SIM formed on said circuit board (col. 32, lines 16-41).
As to claim 14, Trapero et al. discloses said wearable physiological signal sensing system is connected to an external mobile device through said e-SIM to transmit said physiological signal (col. 32, lines 16-57).
As to claim 15, Trapero et al. discloses said wearable physiological signal sensing system is connected to a cloud server through said e-SIM to transmit said physiological signal (col. 32, line 16- col. 33, line 3).
As to claim 16, Trapero et al. discloses said wearable physiological signal sensing system is connected to an edge computing device through said e-SIM to transmit said physiological signal (col. 32, line 16- col. 33, line 46).
As to claim 17, Trapero et al. discloses said stethoscope collects biometrics identity (col. 31, lines 8-60; col. 42, lines 41-45; microphone for sensing voice signals and thus collects biometrics identity data).
As to claim 18, Trapero et al. discloses said stethoscope performs heart rate analysis to determine whether it is an emergency (col. 11, lines 29-48; “Determining the origin location of an auscultatory signal can be useful in diagnosing a user”. Therefore, based on a broadest reasonable interpretation, “diagnosing a user”, would “determine whether it is an emergency”; also see col. 37, lines 27-34).
As to claim 19, Trapero et al. discloses wireless charging coils (col. 9, lines 28-47).
As to claim 20, Trapero et al. discloses said stethoscope includes a plurality of through holes to allow sound to be received by a resonance cavity (col.7, line 64- col.8, line 4; col. 8, line 41-col. 9, line 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trapero et al. (US 11,116,448 B1).
As to claim 2, Trapero et al. discloses an oximeter for sensing a blood oxygen level and a pulse wave signal of said user (col. 37, lines 35-54). However, Trapero et al. disclose the oximeter is arranged on the lower surface of the circuit board (col. 8, line 41-col. 9, line 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the location of the oximeter, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (see MPEP 2144.04). Furthermore, such a modification to the PCB to modify the location of the components would provide the predictable results of providing “a space saving design” by using both the upper and lower surfaces of the PCB (col. 8, line 41-col. 9, line 6).
As to claim 3, Trapero et al., and thus the modified Trapero et al., discloses comprising steps of comparing said ECG signal with said pulse wave signal, or comparing a heart sound signal with said pulse wave signal, for obtaining a pulse wave transit time of said user, and followed by calculating a continuous blood pressure of said user (col. 11, lines 29-36).
As to claim 4, Trapero et al., and thus the modified Trapero et al., discloses said continuous blood pressure is used to predict a blood pressure (col. 5, line 64- col. 6, line 19) by an artificial intelligence (AI) algorithm (col. 40, line 30- col. 41, line 26).
As to claim 5, Trapero et al., and thus the modified Trapero et al., discloses a multivariate linear model is established by said artificial intelligence algorithm using a time domain characteristics of said pulse wave signal (col. 40, line 30- col. 41, line 26) and pulse wave transit time and “Health Record (EHR) 19122 within a database system. The user's EHR 19122 may contain other health and personal information not acquired from the smart patch 1900 (e.g., physician notes from clinic visits, information about prescribed medications and doses, vaccination records, lab reports, diagnostic imaging records, family medical history, genetic information, gut microbiome analysis, etc)” (col. 40, line 30- col. 41, line 26). The modified Trapaero et al. disclose the invention substantially as claimed with user health and personal information but does not explicitly disclose collecting or utilizing the height of said user. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to collect and utilize the users physical data, such as height, in order to provide the predictable results of optimizing treatment to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
As to claim 6, Trapero et al., and thus the modified Trapero et al., discloses oximeter includes an infrared light source, a red-light source and a photoreceptor (col. 12, line 13 – col. 13, line 67). Additionally, the functional language and introductory statement of intended use has been carefully considered but are not considered to impart any further structural limitations over the prior art. Since Trapero et al. (and the modified Trapero et al.) utilize oximeter includes an infrared light source, a red-light source and a photoreceptor as claimed by the Applicant, Trapero et al. (and the modified Trapero et al.) are therefore capable of being used for sensing a fingertip pulse wave of said user. In addition nothing prevents Trapero et al. (and the modified Trapero et al.) from being used for sensing a fingertip pulse wave of said user. Therefore, the oximeter of Trapero et al. (and the modified Trapero et al.) is capable of being used for sensing a fingertip pulse wave of said user.
As to claim 7, Trapero et al., and thus the modified Trapero et al., discloses oximeter that is pressed into contact with the skin of the user (col. 53, lines 52-65). Therefore, Trapero et al. and thus the modified Trapero et al. disclose “user presses said oximeter to obtain said blood oxygen saturation level and said pulse wave signal” by pressing the oximeter against the skin of the user.
/ALYSSA M ALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796