DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 recites the limitation “whether the time interval is one of” should read “wherein the time interval is one of”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grodzki et al. (US 2021/0156945).
Regarding claim 10, Grodzki teaches a magnetic resonance device configured to perform a magnetic resonance measurement of a dental region of a patient positioned within an imaging region of the magnetic resonance device, comprising (paras. 0053 and 0057; The magnetic resonance imaging system 11 comprises a magnetic resonance (MR) device (MR scanner) 13 with a static field magnet 17 that provides a homogenous, static magnetic field 18 (B0 field). The static magnetic field 18 comprises an isocenter 38 and a cylindrical imaging region 36 for receiving a patient 15. The imaging region 36 is surrounded by the magnet arrangement 30 in a circumferential direction. The patient support 16 is configured to transport the patient 15 into the imaging region 36. In particular, the patient support 16 may transport a diagnostically relevant region of the patient 15 into an imaging volume defined by the isocenter 38 of the magnetic resonance imaging device 13. Thus, an imaging volume of the magnetic resonance imaging device may be tailored to match a diagnostically relevant area, such as an eye, both eyes, a tooth, several teeth, a jaw, a dental arch or both dental arches of the patient.):
a controller (para. 0060; The magnetic resonance imaging system 11 further comprises a controller 23 configured to control the magnetic resonance imaging system 11.);
a saliva suction device (paras. 0027 and 0066; The suction pipe may represent a channel or a cavity in the mouth guard. The channel or cavity may comprise at least one opening in the oral cavity of the patient and at least one opening connected to a vacuum system.); and
a vacuum system connected to a suction opening of the saliva suction device, wherein the suction opening of the saliva suction device is configured to remove saliva from an oral cavity of the patient (paras. 0027 and 0066; The suction pipe may represent a channel or a cavity in the mouth guard. The channel or cavity may comprise at least one opening in the oral cavity of the patient and at least one opening connected to a vacuum system. For example, the suction pipe may be connected to a pump or a compressor configured to provide a vacuum for draining saliva from the oral cavity of the patient.), and
wherein the controller is configured to activate and deactivate the vacuum system (paras. 0027, 0066, and 0076; the mouth guard comprises a suction pipe, wherein the motion correction technique comprises saliva being drained from the intraoral region of the patient via the suction pipe while the magnetic resonance measurement is performed in order to reduce a need for swallowing. The motion sensor 33 may be embedded in the mouth guard 34 or attached to a surface of the mouth guard 34. Signals acquired from the motion sensor 33 may be transmitted to the processor 24 via a wireless or corded signal connection. In the latter case, the signal connection may be carried by or attached to a suction pipe 40 configured to drain saliva from the oral cavity of the patient 15. In the depicted embodiment, the suction pipe 40 is connected to a vacuum system 41 configured to provide a vacuum in the suction pipe 40 in order to drain saliva from the oral cavity of the patient 15. The mouth guard 34 comprises a suction pipe 40, wherein the suction pipe 40 is configured to continuously or discontinuously drain saliva from the intraoral region of the patient 15. The examiner notes that the controller detects motion of the patient and preforms motion correction by activating a vacuum to provide a vacuum in the suction pipe to drain saliva).
Regarding claim 12, Grodzki teaches the magnetic resonance device according to claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to activate and deactivate the vacuum system based upon an imaging sequence of the magnetic resonance measurement (paras. 0066 and 0076; The mouth guard 34 may comprise magnetic resonance visible markers 35, which may be detected by the magnetic resonance imaging device 13. In particular, a motion correction technique according to the disclosure may be used to determine a position of the magnetic resonance visible marker 35 by means of the magnetic resonance image data (k-space data). The motion correction technique may further comprise correcting for motion of the patient 15 in dependence of a position of magnetic resonance visible markers 35 determined from the magnetic resonance image data. Signals acquired from the motion sensor 33 may be transmitted to the processor 24 via a wireless or corded signal connection. In the latter case, the signal connection may be carried by or attached to a suction pipe 40 configured to drain saliva from the oral cavity of the patient 15. In the depicted embodiment, the suction pipe 40 is connected to a vacuum system 41 configured to provide a vacuum in the suction pipe 40 in order to drain saliva from the oral cavity of the patient 15. In a step S5, a motion correction technique exploiting an accessibility to the facial region of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement is employed, wherein the motion correction technique reduces an influence of a patient motion on the magnetic resonance image data. n a further embodiment, the mouth guard 34 comprises a suction pipe 40, wherein the suction pipe 40 is configured to continuously or discontinuously drain saliva from the intraoral region of the patient 15. As a result, the motion correction technique reduces a patient's need for swallowing while the magnetic resonance measurement is performed. The examiner notes that the controller is connected to the vacuum and receives motion data based on an MRI image data and preform motion correction by activating the vacuum to perform vacuum in the suction pipe in order to drain the saliva. The vacuum can be activated and deactivated depending on the measurement sequence).
Regarding claim 13, Grodzki teaches the magnetic resonance device according to claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to automatically deactivate the vacuum system for a duration of an acquisition of the magnetic resonance signals (paras. 0036, 0066, and 0076; In an exemplary embodiment, the optical sensor may be configured to detect facial landmarks of the patient. For example, facial landmarks may be used to determine a tilting of the head, a swallowing motion, a blinking motion, a jaw movement, an eye movement or any other movement of the head and/or face during a predefined time period. During this time period, the magnetic resonance measurement may be suspended in order to avoid image artifacts when reconstructing a magnetic resonance image. In a further embodiment, the mouth guard 34 comprises a suction pipe 40, wherein the suction pipe 40 is configured to continuously or discontinuously drain saliva from the intraoral region of the patient 15. As a result, the motion correction technique reduces a patient's need for swallowing while the magnetic resonance measurement is performed. The examiner notes that motion correction using the vacuum can be done while the measurement is paused.).
Regarding claim 14, Grodzki teaches the magnetic resonance device according to claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to activate or deactivate the vacuum system based upon a trigger signal provided with the imaging sequence, and wherein the trigger signal defines one or more time periods during the imaging sequence in which the vacuum system is active or inactive (paras. 0066, 0072, and 0076; the optical image data and/or motion data is transferred to the processor 24 of the magnetic resonance imaging device 13, which is configured to derive motion data comprising for instance time-related, positional information on the head of the patient and/or the facial region of the patient. In dependence of the motion data, the processor 24 may perform a motion correction technique according to an embodiment described above. In a further embodiment, the mouth guard 34 comprises a suction pipe 40, wherein the suction pipe 40 is configured to continuously or discontinuously drain saliva from the intraoral region of the patient 15. As a result, the motion correction technique reduces a patient's need for swallowing while the magnetic resonance measurement is performed. The examiner notes that the trigger signal is the motion signal detected during a time instant and used to trigger the controller to activate/deactivate the suction pipe to drain saliva).
Regarding claim 15, Grodzki teaches the magnetic resonance device according to claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to pause an acquisition of the magnetic resonance signals upon expiration of a predetermined time interval, and to activate the vacuum system for a predetermined period of time before resuming the acquisition of the magnetic resonance signals (paras. 0070, 0074, and 0076; n a step S2, a magnetic resonance measurement is performed to acquire magnetic resonance image data of the facial region of the patient 15. Acquiring magnetic resonance image data may comprise performing at least one imaging sequence dedicated to a specific region of the face of the patient 15. In particular, the at least one imaging sequence may be suitable for acquiring magnetic resonance signals of a jaw region, a dental region or an eye region of the patient 15. In an exemplary embodiment, the optical sensor may be configured to detect facial landmarks of the patient. For example, facial landmarks may be used to determine a tilting of the head, a swallowing motion, a blinking motion, a jaw movement, an eye movement or any other movement of the head and/or face during a predefined time period. During this time period, the magnetic resonance measurement may be suspended in order to avoid image artifacts when reconstructing a magnetic resonance image. However, it is also conceivable, that the acquired magnetic resonance image data of this time period is disregarded when reconstructing a magnetic resonance image. Analogous to an embodiment described above, the motion data derived from the optical image data may be used to adjust an imaging parameter during the magnetic resonance measurement and/or to correct the acquired magnetic resonance image data for motion of the patient. a motion correction technique exploiting an accessibility to the facial region of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement is employed, wherein the motion correction technique reduces an influence of a patient motion on the magnetic resonance image data. In a further embodiment, the mouth guard 34 comprises a suction pipe 40, wherein the suction pipe 40 is configured to continuously or discontinuously drain saliva from the intraoral region of the patient 15. As a result, the motion correction technique reduces a patient's need for swallowing while the magnetic resonance measurement is performed. The examiner notes that an MRI sequence is performed for a predetermine sequence interval, then the image is generated, using the image and motion data to detect motion artifact, then the controller performs motion correction using the suction device to drain saliva and reduce the need to swallow while preforming the next sequence.).
Regarding claim 16, Grodzki teaches the magnetic resonance device according to claim 15, whether the time interval is one of: less than 30 seconds, less than 60 seconds, less than 90 seconds, less than seconds, less than 150 seconds, less than 180 seconds, less than 210 seconds, less than 240 seconds, less than 270 seconds, or less than 300 seconds (para. 0020; the imaging sequence is configured to provide a high signal intensity or a bright contrast of the diagnostically relevant area of the patient. For example, the imaging sequence may comprise a short echo time in order to account for a short T2-relaxation time associated with dentine or enamel of a tooth of the patient. A short echo time may be lower than 150 μs or lower than 70 μs.).
Regarding claim 17, Grodzki teaches the magnetic resonance device according to claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to activate the vacuum system for a predetermined activation period before or during the imaging sequence, and to suspend the imaging sequence for the predetermined activation period (paras. 0070, 0074, and 0076; n a step S2, a magnetic resonance measurement is performed to acquire magnetic resonance image data of the facial region of the patient 15. Acquiring magnetic resonance image data may comprise performing at least one imaging sequence dedicated to a specific region of the face of the patient 15. In particular, the at least one imaging sequence may be suitable for acquiring magnetic resonance signals of a jaw region, a dental region or an eye region of the patient 15. In an exemplary embodiment, the optical sensor may be configured to detect facial landmarks of the patient. For example, facial landmarks may be used to determine a tilting of the head, a swallowing motion, a blinking motion, a jaw movement, an eye movement or any other movement of the head and/or face during a predefined time period. During this time period, the magnetic resonance measurement may be suspended in order to avoid image artifacts when reconstructing a magnetic resonance image. However, it is also conceivable, that the acquired magnetic resonance image data of this time period is disregarded when reconstructing a magnetic resonance image. Analogous to an embodiment described above, the motion data derived from the optical image data may be used to adjust an imaging parameter during the magnetic resonance measurement and/or to correct the acquired magnetic resonance image data for motion of the patient. a motion correction technique exploiting an accessibility to the facial region of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement is employed, wherein the motion correction technique reduces an influence of a patient motion on the magnetic resonance image data. In a further embodiment, the mouth guard 34 comprises a suction pipe 40, wherein the suction pipe 40 is configured to continuously or discontinuously drain saliva from the intraoral region of the patient 15. As a result, the motion correction technique reduces a patient's need for swallowing while the magnetic resonance measurement is performed. The examiner notes that an MRI sequence is performed for a predetermine sequence interval, then the image is generated, using the image and motion data to detect motion artifact, then the controller performs motion correction using the suction device to drain saliva and reduce the need to swallow while preforming the next sequence.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greiser (WO 2021/219340, however US 2023/0165481 version is used for examination purposes) in the view of Grodzki et al. (US 2021/0156945).
Regarding claim 1, Greiser teaches a device for an intraoral radio-frequency (RF) coil, comprising (fig. 6, para. 0107; the antenna array 26 in which an array of signal conductors 40 is positioned in the recess 39 of the carrier element 36. In the illustrated example, the array of signal conductors 40 has an array or a matrix of adjoining, partially overlapping, circular rings. The array of signal conductors 40 can also have a grid structure and any linear or non-linear arrangements of the signal conductors 3, however. In the illustrated aspect, part of the array of signal conductors 40 is positioned on the walls 38 of the carrier element 36 adjoining the inner side of the teeth of the dental arch 31 in the position in accordance with the application. The examiner notes that the device is the carrier element and the rf coil is the antenna array.):
a body configured to provide a mechanical connection between the device and the intraoral RF coil (para. 0107; the antenna array 26 in which an array of signal conductors 40 is positioned in the recess 39 of the carrier element 36. In the illustrated example, the array of signal conductors 40 has an array or a matrix of adjoining, partially overlapping, circular rings. The array of signal conductors 40 can also have a grid structure and any linear or non-linear arrangements of the signal conductors 3, however. In the illustrated aspect, part of the array of signal conductors 40 is positioned on the walls 38 of the carrier element 36 adjoining the inner side of the teeth of the dental arch 31 in the position in accordance with the application. The examiner notes that the body is the recess that accommodates the coil.);
wherein the intraoral RF coil is configured to receive magnetic resonance signals from a dental region of a patient during a magnetic resonance measurement (para. 0120; the magnetic resonance measurement of the set of teeth 30 of the patient 15 is carried out, with the antenna array 26 detecting radio-frequency signals by means of the at least one signal conductor 37 and transmitting them to a receiver of the magnetic resonance apparatus. ).
However, Greiser fails to explicitly teach a saliva suction device comprising: a suction opening configured to be connected to a vacuum system, and wherein the suction opening is configured to remove saliva from an oral cavity of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement.
Grodzki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a saliva suction device comprising (paras. 0027 and 0066; the mouth guard comprises a suction pipe, wherein the motion correction technique comprises saliva being drained from the intraoral region of the patient via the suction pipe while the magnetic resonance measurement is performed in order to reduce a need for swallowing.): a suction opening configured to be connected to a vacuum system (paras. 0027 and 0066; The suction pipe may represent a channel or a cavity in the mouth guard. The channel or cavity may comprise at least one opening in the oral cavity of the patient and at least one opening connected to a vacuum system.), and wherein the suction opening is configured to remove saliva from an oral cavity of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement (paras. 0027 and 0066; For example, the suction pipe may be connected to a pump or a compressor configured to provide a vacuum for draining saliva from the oral cavity of the patient.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the device of Greiser to incorporate the teaching of Grodzki to include a suction opening configured to be connected to a vacuum system to remove saliva from an oral cavity of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement. Doing so would reduce image artifact and improve image resolution by correcting motion associated with swallowing motion using a suctioning pipe and a vacuum to drain saliva from the oral cavity as disclosed within Grodzki in paras. 0018 and 0027.
Regarding claim 2, modified Greiser teaches the saliva suction device according to claim 1, wherein the body is configured to encompass at least a part of the intraoral RF coil (para. 0107; the antenna array 26 in which an array of signal conductors 40 is positioned in the recess 39 of the carrier element 36).
Regarding claim 3, modified Greiser teaches the saliva suction device according to claim 1, wherein the body is configured to provide a protective cover for at least a part of the intraoral RF coil (para. 0113; The electrically conductive shield 54 is positioned between the cheek 62 and the outer side of the teeth of the patient 15 and shields radio-frequency signals coming from the direction of the cheeks 62 from the antenna array 26.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Greiser teaches the saliva suction device according to claim 1, wherein the body is shaped to encompass at least a part of the intraoral RF coil and to provide a form-locking and/or force locking mechanical connection with the at least a part of the intraoral RF coil (paras. 0013 and 0105; A carrier element preferably provides a holder for the signal conductor and/or the antenna array and is mechanically connected thereto. A mechanical connection can occur by way of any positive, non-positive and/or material-fit connection. the carrier element 36 is shaped in accordance with the dental arch 31 of a patient 15 and thus enables a positive connection of the antenna array 26 with the set of teeth 30 of the patient 15. It is conceivable that the recess 39 also has a plastic compound 34, which improves the positive connection between the dental arch 31 and the antenna array 26. In the example shown, the antenna array 26 has an individual loop of a signal conductor 37, which runs along the recess 39 and in the position in accordance with the application, is positioned on a biting surface of the dental arch 31).
Regarding claim 5, modified Greiser teaches the saliva suction device according to claim 1, wherein the body comprises a receiving section shaped complementary to a section of the intraoral RF coil to provide a form- locking mechanical connection between the section of the intraoral RF coil and the receiving section of the body (paras. 0013 and 0105-0107; ] A carrier element preferably provides a holder for the signal conductor and/or the antenna array and is mechanically connected thereto. A mechanical connection can occur by way of any positive, non-positive and/or material-fit connection. the antenna array 26 in which an array of signal conductors 40 is positioned in the recess 39 of the carrier element 36. In the illustrated example, the array of signal conductors 40 has an array or a matrix of adjoining, partially overlapping, circular rings. the loop of the signal conductor 37 is inserted in the recess 39. At the side of the carrier element 36 facing the pharynx of the patient 15 in accordance with the application direction, the loop has a deflection of 180°, so the signal conductor 37 is inserted in the recess 39 with a double wire.).
Regarding claim 6, modified Greiser teaches the saliva suction device according to claim 1, further comprising: a retaining element configured to hold the intraoral RF coil in a predefined position relative to the device (para. 0110; The carrier element 36 of an antenna array 26 with a holding apparatus 51. The cross-section shows the recess 39 of the carrier element 36, which receives the tooth 41 of the patient 15. The carrier element 36 of the antenna array 26 is guided along a connecting direction 53 on the tooth 41 for this purpose, with the array of signal conductors 40 being deflected in the direction of the recess 39 and molded over the tooth 41. The array of signal conductors 40 is mounted by means of the elastic element 52 of the holding apparatus 51. In the illustrated example, the elastic element 52 is a spring, which stretches the array of signal conductors 40 over the tooth 41 in the position in accordance with the application.).
Grodzki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a saliva suction device (paras. 0027 and 0066; the mouth guard comprises a suction pipe, wherein the motion correction technique comprises saliva being drained from the intraoral region of the patient via the suction pipe while the magnetic resonance measurement is performed in order to reduce a need for swallowing. The suction pipe may represent a channel or a cavity in the mouth guard. The channel or cavity may comprise at least one opening in the oral cavity of the patient and at least one opening connected to a vacuum system. For example, the suction pipe may be connected to a pump or a compressor configured to provide a vacuum for draining saliva from the oral cavity of the patient.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the device of Greiser to incorporate the teaching of Grodzki to include a suction opening configured to remove saliva from an oral cavity of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement. Doing so would reduce image artifact and improve image resolution by correcting motion associated with swallowing motion using a suctioning pipe and a vacuum to drain saliva from the oral cavity as disclosed within Grodzki in paras. 0018 and 0027.
Regarding claim 7, modified Greiser teaches the saliva suction device according to claim 1, wherein the body comprises an elastic material configured to facilitate the body being placed into a state of reversible deformation, and wherein the body is configured to attach to and/or detach from the intraoral RF coil via the state of reversible deformation (para. 0042; A holding apparatus can be any connecting element, which is suitable for fixing the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors. Possible examples of a holding apparatus are hanger assemblies such as hooks or eyes and glued joints, hook holes, snap-in joints and the like. Preferably, the holding apparatus has a detachable connecting element, which enables a reversible connection of the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors to the carrier element.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Greiser teaches the saliva suction device according to claim 1, further comprising: a portable vacuum system configured to be connected to the suction opening (Grodzki, fig. 4, paras. 0027 and 0066; The suction pipe may represent a channel or a cavity in the mouth guard. The channel or cavity may comprise at least one opening in the oral cavity of the patient and at least one opening connected to a vacuum system. For example, the suction pipe may be connected to a pump or a compressor configured to provide a vacuum for draining saliva from the oral cavity of the patient.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the device of Greiser to incorporate the teaching of Grodzki to include a suction opening configured to remove saliva from an oral cavity of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement. Doing so would reduce image artifact and improve image resolution by correcting motion associated with swallowing motion using a suctioning pipe and a vacuum to drain saliva from the oral cavity as disclosed within Grodzki in paras. 0018 and 0027.
Regarding claim 9, Greiser teaches a combined intraoral suction device, comprising: an intraoral radio-frequency (RF) coil; and a device comprising (fig. 6, para. 0107; the antenna array 26 in which an array of signal conductors 40 is positioned in the recess 39 of the carrier element 36. In the illustrated example, the array of signal conductors 40 has an array or a matrix of adjoining, partially overlapping, circular rings. The array of signal conductors 40 can also have a grid structure and any linear or non-linear arrangements of the signal conductors 3, however. In the illustrated aspect, part of the array of signal conductors 40 is positioned on the walls 38 of the carrier element 36 adjoining the inner side of the teeth of the dental arch 31 in the position in accordance with the application. The examiner notes that the device is the carrier element and the rf coil is the antenna array.):
a body configured to provide a mechanical connection between the device and the intraoral RF coil (paras. 0013 and 0107; ] A carrier element preferably provides a holder for the signal conductor and/or the antenna array and is mechanically connected thereto. A mechanical connection can occur by way of any positive, non-positive and/or material-fit connection. the antenna array 26 in which an array of signal conductors 40 is positioned in the recess 39 of the carrier element 36. In the illustrated example, the array of signal conductors 40 has an array or a matrix of adjoining, partially overlapping, circular rings. The array of signal conductors 40 can also have a grid structure and any linear or non-linear arrangements of the signal conductors 3, however. In the illustrated aspect, part of the array of signal conductors 40 is positioned on the walls 38 of the carrier element 36 adjoining the inner side of the teeth of the dental arch 31 in the position in accordance with the application. The examiner notes that the body is the recess that accommodates the coil.); wherein the intraoral RF coil is configured to be attached to the device and to receive magnetic resonance signals from a dental region of a patient when the combined intraoral suction device is arranged within an oral cavity of the patient for a magnetic resonance measurement (paras. 0042 and 0120; A holding apparatus can be any connecting element, which is suitable for fixing the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors. Possible examples of a holding apparatus are hanger assemblies such as hooks or eyes and glued joints, hook holes, snap-in joints and the like. Preferably, the holding apparatus has a detachable connecting element, which enables a reversible connection of the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors to the carrier element. The antenna array 26 detecting radio-frequency signals by means of the at least one signal conductor 37 and transmitting them to a receiver of the magnetic resonance apparatus.).
However, Greiser fails to explicitly teach a saliva suction device comprising: a suction opening configured to be connected to a vacuum system, and wherein the suction opening is configured to remove saliva from an oral cavity of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement.
Grodzki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a saliva suction device comprising (paras. 0027 and 0066; the mouth guard comprises a suction pipe, wherein the motion correction technique comprises saliva being drained from the intraoral region of the patient via the suction pipe while the magnetic resonance measurement is performed in order to reduce a need for swallowing.): a suction opening configured to be connected to a vacuum system (paras. 0027 and 0066; The suction pipe may represent a channel or a cavity in the mouth guard. The channel or cavity may comprise at least one opening in the oral cavity of the patient and at least one opening connected to a vacuum system.), and wherein the suction opening is configured to remove saliva from an oral cavity of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement (paras. 0027 and 0066; For example, the suction pipe may be connected to a pump or a compressor configured to provide a vacuum for draining saliva from the oral cavity of the patient.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the device of Greiser to incorporate the teaching of Grodzki to include a suction opening configured to be connected to a vacuum system to remove saliva from an oral cavity of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement. Doing so would reduce image artifact and improve image resolution by correcting motion associated with swallowing motion using a suctioning pipe and a vacuum to drain saliva from the oral cavity as disclosed within Grodzki in paras. 0018 and 0027.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grodzki et al. (US 2021/0156945) in the view of Greiser (WO 2021/219340, however US 2023/0165481 version is used for examination purposes).
Regarding claim 11, Grodzki teaches the magnetic resonance device according to claim 10, wherein the saliva suction device comprise a suction opening configured to be connected to the vacuum system (paras. 0027 and 0066; The suction pipe may represent a channel or a cavity in the mouth guard. The channel or cavity may comprise at least one opening in the oral cavity of the patient and at least one opening connected to a vacuum system.).
However, Grodzki fails to teach a combined intraoral device, the combined intraoral device comprising: an intraoral radio-frequency (RF) coil; a body configured to provide a mechanical connection between the device and the intraoral RF coil; wherein the intraoral RF coil is attachable to the device and configured to receive magnetic resonance signals from the dental region of a patient when the combined intraoral suction device is arranged within the oral cavity of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement of the dental region of the patient.
Greiser, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a combined intraoral device, comprising: an intraoral radio-frequency (RF) coil (fig. 6, para. 0107; the antenna array 26 in which an array of signal conductors 40 is positioned in the recess 39 of the carrier element 36. In the illustrated example, the array of signal conductors 40 has an array or a matrix of adjoining, partially overlapping, circular rings. The array of signal conductors 40 can also have a grid structure and any linear or non-linear arrangements of the signal conductors 3, however. In the illustrated aspect, part of the array of signal conductors 40 is positioned on the walls 38 of the carrier element 36 adjoining the inner side of the teeth of the dental arch 31 in the position in accordance with the application. The examiner notes that the device is the carrier element and the rf coil is the antenna array.); a body configured to provide a mechanical connection between the device and the intraoral RF coil (para. 0107; the antenna array 26 in which an array of signal conductors 40 is positioned in the recess 39 of the carrier element 36. In the illustrated example, the array of signal conductors 40 has an array or a matrix of adjoining, partially overlapping, circular rings. The array of signal conductors 40 can also have a grid structure and any linear or non-linear arrangements of the signal conductors 3, however. In the illustrated aspect, part of the array of signal conductors 40 is positioned on the walls 38 of the carrier element 36 adjoining the inner side of the teeth of the dental arch 31 in the position in accordance with the application. The examiner notes that the body is the recess that accommodates the coil.); wherein the intraoral RF coil is attachable to the device and configured to receive magnetic resonance signals from the dental region of a patient when the combined intraoral suction device is arranged within the oral cavity of the patient during the magnetic resonance measurement of the dental region of the patient (paras. 0042 and 0120; A holding apparatus can be any connecting element, which is suitable for fixing the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors. Possible examples of a holding apparatus are hanger assemblies such as hooks or eyes and glued joints, hook holes, snap-in joints and the like. Preferably, the holding apparatus has a detachable connecting element, which enables a reversible connection of the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors to the carrier element. The antenna array 26 detecting radio-frequency signals by means of the at least one signal conductor 37 and transmitting them to a receiver of the magnetic resonance apparatus.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the device of Grodzki to incorporate the teaching of Greiser to include an intraoral radio-frequency (RF) coil. Doing so would a signal-to-noise ratio and an image quality of the magnetic resonance examination may be advantageously increased. Magnetic alternating fields can be generated in a locally dedicated manner and detected due to the use of an antenna array for transmitting and receiving radio-frequency signals. The low signal volume in the oral cavity of the examination object may advantageously be represented with a higher sensitivity as a result as disclosed within Greiser in paras. 0016 and 0019.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grodzki et al. (US 2021/0156945) in the view of Vaska et al. (US 2017/0151400).
Regarding claim 18, Grodzki teaches the magnetic resonance device according to claim 12, however, fails to explicitly teach further comprising: an output device configured to output information about a period of time during which the vacuum system is active or inactive.
Vaska, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an output device configured to output information about a period of time during which the vacuum system is active or inactive (paras. 0135 0180; Display 566 displays information output to the user from controller 564 including information regarding pressure readings, oximetry readings, data from any other sensors on oral device 532, current pump speed or outlet pressure, sensor readings over a desired time period, messages or reminders to the user, indications that vacuum tube 548 is clogged or saliva reservoir 558 is full, and other pertinent information. Control unit 534 preferably includes a user input device to allow the user to input commands and other information. Display 566 may be a touchscreen display or a separate keyboard (not shown) may be coupled to controller 564. Speaker 568 may similarly provide information to the user including alerts or alarms, e.g. that the pressures are not being maintained or oxygen levels are too low, as well as playing music or other sounds to help the patient sleep or to wake at a desired time. Logged data, saved in memory device 567, may be output to display 566, to a portable device via docking station 570, or to another device via data connector 569 or wireless transmitter/modem 572. Control unit 534 is preferably programmable such that the user may select the amount of negative pressure applied, the length of time it is to be applied, alarms to triggered, data to be recorded and logged, and other parameters, according to conditions detected in the oral cavity by sensors 536, 538, time of day, or another factor.)
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the device of Grodzki to incorporate the teaching of Vaska to include an output information about a period of time during which the vacuum system is active or inactive. Doing so would provide the user with information regarding the timing the motion is occurring and how frequent is occurring.
Conclusion
/ZAINAB MOHAMMED ALDARRAJI/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797