Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are ejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of US Patent No.12342517 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from because the instant claim is broader version of the patented claim, and any infringement over the patents would also infringe over the instant claims.
The table below demonstrates claims 1-17 from the instant application and claim 1-13 from US Patent No. 12342517 B2. The limitation recited in the US patent that correspond to the limitation recited in the instant applicant have been bold for Applicant’s convenience.
Claim limitation of the instant App.
Claim limitation of US Patent No. 12342517 B2
1. A display device, comprising: a protective cover plate; a display module comprising a display surface facing the protective cover plate and a back surface away from the protective cover plate; a Chip On Film (COF) at least partially located on the back surface and bound and connected to an edge of the display module; a driving chip on a side, proximal to the display module, of the COF on the back surface, and bound and connected to the COF; and a bent spacer between the driving chip and the back surface, and the bent spacer comprises a first film layer and a second film layer stacked on the first film layer, wherein the second film layer is in contact with the driving chip, and an area of the second film layer is smaller than an area of the first film layer, a surface of the first film layer facing the driving chip and extending beyond the second film layer is bonded to the display module or the COF.
1. A display device, comprising: a protective cover plate; a display module comprising a display surface facing the protective cover plate and a back surface away from the protective cover plate; a Chip On Film (COF) at least partially located on the back surface and bound and connected with an edge of the display module; a driving chip on a side, proximal to the display module, of the COF on the back surface, and bound and connected with the COF, wherein one end of the Chip On Film is directly connected to the display module and the other end of the Chip On Film is directly connected to the driving chip, such that the driving chip is connected to the display module via the Chip On Film; and a bent spacer between the driving chip connected to the display module via the Chip On Film and the back surface, wherein the bent spacer comprises a first film layer not in direct contact with the driving chip and a second film layer stacked on the first film layer and is in contact with the driving chip connected to the display module via the Chip On Film, a sum of a thickness of the second film layer in contact with the driving chip connected to the display module via the Chip On Film and a thickness of the first film layer stacked on the second film layer is greater than a thickness of the first film layer not in contact with the driving chip.
2. The display device of claim 1, wherein an area of the second film layer is smaller than an area of the first film layer.
2. The display device of claim 1, wherein the first film layer and the second film layer have a one-piece structure.
3. The display device of claim 2, wherein the first film layer and the second film layer have a one-piece structure.
3. The display device of claim 2, wherein an orthographic projection of the second film layer on a plane where the driving chip is located overlaps the entire driving chip.
4. The display device of claim 2, wherein an orthographic projection of the second film layer on a plane where the driving chip is located overlaps the entire driving chip.
4. The display device of claim 2, wherein along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the bent spacer is located, a sum of a thickness of the first film layer and a thickness of the second film layer is greater than or equal to 0.2mm.
5. The display device of claim 2, wherein along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the bent spacer is located, a sum of a thickness of the first film layer and a thickness of the second film layer is greater than or equal to 0.2 mm.
5. The display device of claim 2, wherein the edge of the display module bound with the COF is bent towards the back surface such that the entire COF is on the back surface.
6. The display device of claim 2, wherein an edge of the COF is bound and connected to the edge of the display module on the display surface, and an opposite edge of the COF is bent to the back surface from the display surface.
7. The display device of claim 5, wherein along a direction of a bending axis, a width of the first film layer is the same as a width of the second film layer.
8. The display device of claim 7, wherein each of the first film layer and the second film layer has a width greater than or equal to 7 mm and less than or equal to 12 mm.
9. The display device of claim 6, wherein along a direction of a bending axis, a width of the first film layer is the same as a width of the second film layer.
10. The display device of claim 9, wherein each of the first film layer and the second film layer has a width greater than or equal to 7 mm and less than or equal to 12 mm.
6. The display device of claim 2, wherein the edge of the display module bound with the COF is bent towards the back surface such that the entire COF is on the back surface.
7. The display device of claim 2, wherein an edge of the COF is bound and connected with the edge of the display module on the display surface, and an opposite edge of the COF is bent to the back surface from the display surface.
8. The display device of claim 6, wherein along a direction of a bending axis, a width of the first film layer is the same as a width of the second film layer.
9. The display device of claim 8, wherein each of the first film layer and the second film layer has a width greater than or equal to 7 mm and less than or equal to 12 mm.
11. The display device of claim 5, wherein a surface of the bent spacer away from a bending axis is a vertical surface.
12. The display device of claim 11, wherein along a direction perpendicular to the vertical surface, a length of the first film layer is greater than or equal to 8 mm and less than or equal to 15 mm, and a length of the second film layer is greater than or equal to 3 mm and less than or equal to 7 mm.
13. The display device of claim 6, wherein a surface of the bent spacer away from a bending axis is a vertical surface.
14. The display device of claim 13, wherein along a direction perpendicular to the vertical surface, a length of the first film layer is greater than or equal to 8 mm and less than or equal to 15 mm, and a length of the second film layer is greater than or equal to 3 mm and less than or equal to 7 mm.
10. The display device of claim 6, wherein a surface of the bent spacer away from a bending axis is a vertical surface.
11. The display device of claim 10, wherein along a direction perpendicular to the vertical surface, a length of the first film layer is greater than or equal to 8 mm and less than or equal to 15 mm, and a length of the second film layer is greater than or equal to 3 mm and less than or equal to 7 mm.
15. The display device of claim 5, further comprising: a first back film and a heat dissipation film sequentially on a side of the back surface proximal to the bent spacer, and a second back film on a side of the bent spacer away from the back surface, wherein along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the bent spacer is located, the first film layer has a thickness smaller than or equal to a difference between a bending diameter and a sum of a thickness of the first back film, a thickness of the heat dissipation film and a thickness of the second back film.
16. The display device of claim 6, further comprising: a first back film and a heat dissipation film sequentially on a side of the back surface proximal to the bent spacer, and a second back film on a side of the bent spacer away from the back surface, wherein along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the bent spacer is located, the first film layer has a thickness smaller than or equal to a difference between a bending diameter and a sum of a thickness of the first back film, a thickness of the heat dissipation film and a thickness of the second back film.
17. The display device of claim 1, further comprising: a flexible circuit board bound and connected to the COF; wherein the COF comprises a first terminal bound and connected to the display module, and a second terminal bound and connected to the flexible circuit board, and
both the first terminal and the second terminal are on a side of the COF bound with the driving chip.
12. The display device of claim 6, further comprising: a first back film and a heat dissipation film sequentially on a side of the back surface proximal to the bent spacer, and a second back film on a side of the bent spacer away from the back surface, wherein along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the bent spacer is located, the first film layer has a thickness smaller than or equal to a difference between a bending diameter and a sum of a thickness of the first back film, a thickness of the heat dissipation film and a thickness of the second back film.
13. The display device of claim 1, further comprising: a flexible circuit board bound and connected with the COF; wherein the COF comprises a first terminal bound and connected with the display module, and a second terminal bound and connected with the flexible circuit board, and both the first terminal and the second terminal are on a side of the COF bound with the driving chip.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Patent No. 9326375 B2 and Lee hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses (figs. 1-4) a display device, comprising: a protective cover plate (120); a display module (110) comprising a display surface (top surface 110) facing the protective cover plate and a back surface (bottom surface 110) away from the protective cover plate ; a Chip On Film (COF) (220) at least partially located on the back surface and bound and connected to an edge of the display module; a driving chip (210) on a side, proximal to the display module, of the COF on the back surface, and bound and connected to the COF; and a bent spacer (400) between the driving chip and the back surface, and the bent spacer comprises a first film layer (410) and a second film layer (420) stacked on the first film layer, wherein the second film layer is in contact with the driving chip (fig.3), and an area of the second film layer is smaller than an area of the first film layer, a surface of the first film layer facing the driving chip and extending beyond the second film layer is bonded to the display module (fig.3) or the COF.
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses (figs. 1-4) the display device of claim 1, wherein the first film layer and the second film layer have a one-piece structure (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee discloses (figs. 1-4) the display device of claim 2, wherein the edge of the display module bound with the COF is bent towards the back surface such that the entire COF is on the back surface (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses (figs. 1-4) the display device of claim 5, wherein along a direction of a bending axis, a width of the first film layer is the same as a width of the second film layer (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee discloses (figs. 1-4) the display device of claim 6, wherein along a direction of a bending axis, a width of the first film layer is the same as a width of the second film layer (fig.4).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses (figs. 1-4) the display device of claim 5, wherein a surface of the bent spacer away from a bending axis is a vertical surface (right side of 400).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses (figs. 1-4) the display device of claim 6, wherein a surface of the bent spacer away from a bending axis is a vertical surface (right side of 400).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al in view of Franklin et al (US 20140092034 A1 and Franklin hereinafter
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses the display device of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein an orthographic projection of the second film layer on a plane where the driving chip is located overlaps the entire driving chip. However, Franklin teaches (figs. 1-8) wherein an orthographic projection of the second film layer (112) on a plane where the driving chip is located overlaps the entire driving chip (66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine overlaps the entire driving chip of Franklin to device of Lee in order to provide support for the driving chip (Franklin, [0078]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee discloses the display device of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein an edge of the COF is bound and connected to the edge of the display module on the display surface, and an opposite edge of the COF is bent to the back surface from the display surface. However, Franklin teaches (fig.8) wherein an edge of the COF (64) is bound and connected to the edge of the display module (46) on the display surface, and an opposite edge of the COF is bent to the back surface from the display surface (fig.8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine overlaps the entire driving chip of Franklin to device of Lee in order to provide conductive shield (sometimes referred to as a shield can or Faraday cage) over components (Franklin, [0074]).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1, but fails to disclose a flexible circuit board bound and connected to the COF; wherein the COF comprises a first terminal bound and connected to the display module, and a second terminal bound and connected to the flexible circuit board, and both the first terminal and the second terminal are on a side of the COF bound with the driving chip. However, Franklin teaches (fig.8) a flexible circuit board (108) bound and connected to the COF; wherein the COF comprises a first terminal bound (connector between COF and display) and connected to the display module, and a second terminal bound (connector between COF and circuit) and connected to the flexible circuit board, and both the first terminal and the second terminal are on a side of the COF bound with the driving chip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine overlaps the entire driving chip of Franklin to device of Lee in order to provide conductive shield (sometimes referred to as a shield can or Faraday cage) over components (Franklin, [0074]).
Claims 4, 8, 10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al
Regarding Claim 4, Lee discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the bent spacer is located, a sum of a thickness of the first film layer, but fails to disclose a thickness of the second film layer is greater than or equal to 0.2mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the thickness of the second film layer thickness of the second film layer to a reduced bezel (col 2, lines 40-45 of Lee).
MPEP § 2144.05-II (A) states “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.).
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05-II (B) describes that it is considered to be prima facie obvious when there is a motivation to optimize result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result.
Regarding Claim 8, Lee discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein each of the first film layer and the second film layer, but fails to disclose a width greater than or equal to 7 mm and less than or equal to 12 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the thickness of the second film layer thickness of the second film layer to a reduced bezel (col 2, lines 40-45 of Lee).
MPEP § 2144.05-II (A) states “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.).
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05-II (B) describes that it is considered to be prima facie obvious when there is a motivation to optimize result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result.
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses the display device of claim 9, wherein each of the first film layer and the second film layer, but fails to disclose a width greater than or equal to 7 mm and less than or equal to 12 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the thickness of the second film layer thickness of the second film layer to a reduced bezel (col 2, lines 40-45 of Lee).
MPEP § 2144.05-II (A) states “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.).
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05-II (B) describes that it is considered to be prima facie obvious when there is a motivation to optimize result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result.
Regarding Claim 12, Lee discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein along a direction perpendicular to the vertical surface, but fails to disclose a length of the first film layer is greater than or equal to 8 mm and less than or equal to 15 mm, and a length of the second film layer is greater than or equal to 3 mm and less than or equal to 7 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize a length of the first film layer to a reduced bezel (col 2, lines 40-45 of Lee).
MPEP § 2144.05-II (A) states “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.).
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05-II (B) describes that it is considered to be prima facie obvious when there is a motivation to optimize result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result.
Regarding Claim 14, Lee discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein along a direction perpendicular to the vertical surface, but fails to disclose a length of the first film layer is greater than or equal to 8 mm and less than or equal to 15 mm, and a length of the second film layer is greater than or equal to 3 mm and less than or equal to 7 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize a length of the first film layer to a reduced bezel (col 2, lines 40-45 of Lee).
MPEP § 2144.05-II (A) states “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.).
Furthermore, MPEP § 2144.05-II (B) describes that it is considered to be prima facie obvious when there is a motivation to optimize result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 15-16 the prior art fails to disclose, “ a first back film and a heat dissipation film sequentially on a side of the back surface proximal to the bent spacer, and a second back film on a side of the bent spacer away from the back surface, wherein along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the bent spacer is located, the first film layer has a thickness smaller than or equal to a difference between a bending diameter and a sum of a thickness of the first back film, a thickness of the heat dissipation film and a thickness of the second back film.”
Kwon et al US Pub No.2014/0217382 A1, Kim et al US Pub No. 2020/0196492 A1, as well as, Wang et al US Pub No. 2021/0124197 A1 are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a display assembly that has a “bent spacer” sits between the driving chip and the back of the display panel . However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841