DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “The various embodiments of the present invention provide a” (lns. 1-2) and “The embodiments also provide” (lns. 2) are implied phrases. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “seed dispensing tray” with associated “hole seats”, the “bottom tray with holes”, and the “seeding tray sensor” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because the hopper for storing seed is identified as 101f in Fig. 3, however, it does not appear that the part pointed to by 101f is a hopper as understood in the art (i.e., that is a container for storing seed to be dispensed). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “conveyer” should be changed to –conveyor—. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the seeding tray" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. CN 110521345 A in view of Davis 4,109,824.
Claims 1, 7, 10: Jia discloses a system for enabling an automatic gravity-based seeder apparatus used by the method of claim 7, the system comprising:
a seeding machine (8-11);
a conveyer (1);
a seeder machine stand (unnumbered platform seen in Fig. 1);
a hopper (7) for storing seeds;
a seed dispensing tray (2) with hole seats (seen in Fig. 1);
a bottom tray (4) with holes (for receipt of pipes 5, Fig. 3);
a seeding tray sensing sensor (15);
a driving plunger (see the “driving unit” described in claim 7);
a control box (“PLC controller”, see page 8, ln. 11),
wherein the seeding tray is placed on the conveyer, the conveyer moves upon sensing the seeding tray (S6), and the driving plunger pushes the seed dispensing tray when hole seats align with holes in the bottom tray (S6), allowing seeds to fall into the seeding tray, as per claims 1 7, and 10.
However, Jia fails to disclose wherein the driving plunger is a solenoid plunger; and
Wherein the conveyor moves by an indexed step, as per claim 1.
Davis discloses a similar system wherein the conveyor (168) moves by an indexed step (see col. 2, lns. 55-58), as per claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the seeding tray by an indexed step as taught by Davis on the assembly of Jia in order to provide a single seed automatically into a planting block in each grid or pattern of blacks.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a solenoid plunger as the driving plunger since such a plunger is old and known in the art.
Dependent Claims 2-5, 8-9: Davis, of the resultant combination above, further discloses wherein the conveyer (168) moves to a next indexed position after the seeds fall into the seeding tray (166), and the process repeats until the seeding tray is fully seeded (col. 2, lns. 53-63), as per claims 2, 8.
Jia, of the resultant combination above, further discloses wherein the seeder apparatus is portable (by disassembly and relocation or by moving the apparatus on a wheeled device), and is operable based on gravity (see pg. 6, lns. 3-6 ) and does not require any additional external mechanism such as vacuum arrangements, air compressors, or mechanical push-pull mechanisms for its functioning, as per claim 3;
wherein the control box (“PLC controller”, see page 8, ln. 11) regulates the operation of the conveyer (1), driving plunger (see the “driving unit” described in claim 7), and seeding tray sensing sensor (15), as per claims 4, 9;
wherein the seeder machine stand (unnumbered platform seen in Fig. 1) provides stability to the system during operation, and wherein, the seeding tray sensing sensor (15, pg. 7, lns. 1-2) is configured to detect the presence of the seeding tray (2) on the conveyer (1), as per claim 5.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. in view of Davis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Faulring 6,634,306.
Dependent Claim 6: The system is disclosed as applied above. Jia further discloses where the seeds are loaded in hole seats (of 2) by gravity (see pg. 6, lns. 3-6), as per claim 6.
However, the combination fails to disclose wherein the solenoid plunger pushes the seed dispensing tray, as per claim 6.
Faulring discloses a similar system wherein the driving plunger pushes the seed dispensing tray (col. 12, lns. 49-53), as per claim 6.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the pushing of the seed tray as taught by Faulring for the belt conveyor on the assembly of Jia and Davis since both devices are used to advance trays along for seeding and such a predictable result would be achieved.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a solenoid plunger as the driving plunger since such a plunger is old and known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTOL-892. Jiang et al. CN 103069953 B discloses a similar device to the claimed invention but fails to disclose the details of the seeding machine as claimed.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the group receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-3600. The fax number for this Group is 571-273-8300.
/Alicia Torres/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 September 26, 2026