DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a continuation application of International Application No. PCT/CN2024/086289 filed on Apr. 7, 2024, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202310649532.7 filed with the China National Intellectual Property Administration on Jun. 2, 2023.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DATA PROCESSING METHOD AND RELATED APPARATUS FOR ABNORMAL NETWORK TRAFFIC DETECTION.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 15-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 7, there are insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations “the first cache address” and “the second cache address. It seems that claim 7 should be dependent on claim 4 not 3. Appropriate correction is required.
As to claim 18, there are insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations “the first cache address” and “the second cache address. It seems that claim 18 should be dependent on claim 15 not 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 12-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crisler et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160359900 A1).
As to claim 1, Crisler teaches a data processing method, performed by a computer device, comprising: acquiring network traffic data (paragraph [0081], “…intercepting or receiving log files related to traffic that passes over the telecommunications network…”);
performing information extraction on the network traffic data (paragraph [0081], “…The method may also include collecting metadata including values of data attributes associated with the traffic…”);
obtaining target information corresponding to the network traffic data, a volume of the target information being less than a volume of the network traffic data (paragraph [0081], “…collecting metadata including values of data attributes associated with the traffic…”, metadata is less than a volume of the traffic data);
transmitting the target information to a traffic detection device (paragraph [0081], “…generating and transmitting a request for an associated threat score for the value of a data attribute of the data attributes…”); and
obtaining a detection result, from the traffic detection device, corresponding to the network traffic data (paragraph [0081], “…receiving the associated threat score and based thereon initiating a block or redirection of the traffic…”).
As to claim 2, Crisler teaches wherein the network traffic data comprises n pieces of network traffic data, n being an integer greater than 1, and wherein the transmitting the target information to a traffic detection device comprises: aggregating the target information corresponding to the n pieces of network traffic data (paragraph [0073], “…The aggregation performed by the aggregation and normalization logic 914 may involve the collection of common metadata across the entirety of the sources identified such as the first time detect, last time seen, number of times seen, associated data (e.g., domain is related to IP x.x.x.x at the time of detection)…”); obtaining and transmitting aggregation information to the traffic detection device (paragraph [0081], “…generating and transmitting a request for an associated threat score for the value of a data attribute of the data attributes…”); and obtaining a detection result from the traffic detection device (paragraph [0081], “…receiving the associated threat score and based thereon initiating a block or redirection of the traffic…”).
As to claim 12, Crisler teaches a data processing apparatus, comprising:
at least one memory configured to store program code (fig. 12); and
at least one processor configured to read the program code and operate as instructed by the program code (fig. 12), the program code comprising:
acquisition code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to acquire network traffic data (paragraph [0081], “…intercepting or receiving log files related to traffic that passes over the telecommunications network…”);
extraction code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to perform information extraction on the network traffic data (paragraph [0081], “…The method may also include collecting metadata including values of data attributes associated with the traffic…”);
obtaining code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to obtain target information corresponding to the network traffic data, a volume of the target information being less than a volume of the network traffic data (paragraph [0081], “…collecting metadata including values of data attributes associated with the traffic…”, metadata is less than a volume of the traffic data); and
transmission code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to transmit the target information to a traffic detection device, and obtain a detection result, from the traffic detection device, corresponding to the network traffic data (paragraph [0081], “…generating and transmitting a request for an associated threat score for the value of a data attribute of the data attributes…”, “…receiving the associated threat score and based thereon initiating a block or redirection of the traffic…”).
As to claim 13, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claim 2. Please refer to claim 2 above.
As to claim 20, Crisler further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer code which, when executed by at least one processor (fig. 12).
Therefore, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claim 1. Please refer to claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crisler et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160359900 A1) in view of Mandrychenko (Pub. No.: US 20200287920 A1) (Mandrychenko was cited in the 5/22/2025 IDS).
As to claim 3, Crisler teaches wherein before the aggregating target information corresponding to the n pieces of network traffic data, the method further comprises:
aggregating the target information (paragraph [0081], “…collecting metadata including values of data attributes associated with the traffic…”); and
transmitting the aggregation information to the traffic detection device (paragraph [0081], “…generating and transmitting a request for an associated threat score for the value of a data attribute of the data attributes…”).
Crisler does not explicitly teach utilizing a cache.
However, in the same field of endeavor (compute networks) Mandrychenko teaches writing the target information into cache addresses (paragraph [0045], “…locally store the aggregated network communication metadata…”); and
wherein the aggregating target information corresponding to the n pieces of network traffic data comprises:
aggregating the target information into the cache addresses (paragraph [0045], “…locally store the aggregated network communication metadata…”); and
wherein the obtaining and transmitting aggregation information to the traffic detection device comprises:
reading the aggregation information from the cache addresses, and transmitting the aggregation information to the traffic detection device (paragraph [0045], “…locally store the aggregated network communication metadata for subsequent transmission to anomaly detection service 106…”).
Based on Crisler in view of Mandrychenko, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate utilizing a cache to store aggregated traffic data (taught by Mandrychenko) with aggregating and transmitting traffic data (taught by Crisler) in order to enhance data transmission and reduce data loss.
As to claim 7, Mandrychenko further teaches wherein the aggregating the target information into the cache addresses comprises: determining a cache address that stores m pieces of target information among the first cache address device (paragraph [0045], “…locally store the aggregated network communication metadata for subsequent transmission to anomaly detection service 106…”); determining the second cache address as a target cache address device (paragraph [0045], “…locally store the aggregated network communication metadata for subsequent transmission to anomaly detection service 106…”); aggregating, based on the m pieces of target information, the target information corresponding to the n pieces of network traffic data device (paragraph [0045], “…locally store the aggregated network communication metadata for subsequent transmission to anomaly detection service 106…”). The limitations of claim 7 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 3 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 3, applies here as well.
As to claims 14 and 18, the limitations of the claims are substantially similar to claims 3 and 7, respectively. Please refer to each respective claim above.
Claim(s) 8-10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crisler et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160359900 A1) in view of Williams et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230412617 A1).
As to claim 8, Crisler teaches wherein the acquiring network traffic data comprises: acquiring transmission network traffic (paragraph [0081], “…collecting metadata including values of data attributes associated with the traffic…”);
parsing the transmission network traffic (paragraph [0081], “…collecting metadata including values of data attributes associated with the traffic…”);
determining the transmission network traffic as the network traffic data (paragraph [0081], “…generating and transmitting a request for an associated threat score for the value of a data attribute of the data attributes…”).
Crisler does not explicitly teach obtaining a type identifier associated with the traffic.
However, in the same field of endeavor (compute networks) Williams teaches
acquiring transmission network traffic (paraph [0022], “communication session may be sent by the packet selector to the CPE detection engine for inspection”);
parsing the transmission network traffic (paraph [0022], “communication session may be sent by the packet selector to the CPE detection engine for inspection”);
obtaining a type identifier of the transmission network traffic (paragraph [0024], “The predefined number of packets that match certain criteria specified in the packet selection rules may be sent to the CPE detection engine…”); and
determining, based on the type identifier being a replication identifier, the transmission network traffic as the network traffic data (paragraph [0024], “The predefined number of packets that match certain criteria specified in the packet selection rules may be sent to the CPE detection engine…” and paragraph [0021]).
Based on Crisler in view of Williams, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate obtaining a type identifier associated with the traffic (taught by Williams) with aggregating and transmitting traffic data (taught by Crisler) in order to avoid disruption of the traffic, the packet selector may apply the packet selection rules to duplicate packets instead of the original packets from the communication session as motivated by Williams (paragraph 0021).
As to claim 9, Williams further teaches wherein the acquiring transmission network traffic comprises: acquiring initial network traffic, a type identifier of the initial network traffic being a business identifier (paragraph [0024], “The predefined number of packets that match certain criteria specified in the packet selection rules may be sent to the CPE detection engine…”); performing multicast replication on the initial network traffic (paragraph [0021], “avoid disruption of the traffic, the packet selector may apply the packet selection rules to duplicate packets instead of the original packets from the communication session”); obtaining replicated network traffic, a type identifier of the replicated network traffic being the replication identifier (paragraph [0021], “avoid disruption of the traffic, the packet selector may apply the packet selection rules to duplicate packets instead of the original packets from the communication session”); and determining the initial network traffic and the replicated network traffic as the transmission network traffic (paragraph [0024], “The predefined number of packets that match certain criteria specified in the packet selection rules may be sent to the CPE detection engine…” and paragraph [0021]). The limitations of claim 9 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 8 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 8, applies here as well.
As to claim 10, Williams further teaches wherein the acquiring transmission network traffic comprises: acquiring initial network traffic (paragraph [0024], “The predefined number of packets that match certain criteria specified in the packet selection rules may be sent to the CPE detection engine…”); determining the initial network traffic as the transmission network traffic, a type identifier of the initial network traffic being a business identifier (paragraph [0024], “The predefined number of packets that match certain criteria specified in the packet selection rules may be sent to the CPE detection engine…”); replicating, based on determining that the type identifier of the transmission network traffic being the business identifier, the transmission network traffic (paragraph [0021], “avoid disruption of the traffic, the packet selector may apply the packet selection rules to duplicate packets instead of the original packets from the communication session”); and determining replicated network traffic as the transmission network traffic, a type identifier of the replicated network traffic being the replication identifier (paragraph [0024], “The predefined number of packets that match certain criteria specified in the packet selection rules may be sent to the CPE detection engine…” and paragraph [0021]). The limitations of claim 10 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 8 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 8, applies here as well.
As to claim 19, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claim 8. Please refer to claim 8 above.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crisler et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160359900 A1) in view of Williams et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230412617 A1) and further in view of Dong et al. (Pub. No.: US 20130272144 A1).
As to claim 11, Crisler in view of Williams does not explicitly teach sampling ratio of network traffic.
However, in the same field of endeavor (computer networks) Dong teaches acquiring initial network traffic comprises: sampling, in a process of transmitting network traffic by a first device to a second device, transmitted network traffic according to a sampling ratio (paragraph [0008], “…the first monitoring rule configured to associate a first portion of monitored network traffic with a first monitoring sampling ratio…”); and obtaining the initial network traffic (paragraph [0008], “…the first monitoring rule configured to associate a first portion of monitored network traffic with a first monitoring sampling ratio…”).
Based on Crisler in view of Williams and further in view of Dong, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate sampling ratio of network traffic (taught by Dong) with obtaining a type identifier associated with the traffic (taught by Williams) with aggregating and transmitting traffic data (taught by Crisler) in order to avoid disruption of the traffic, the packet selector may apply the packet selection rules to duplicate packets instead of the original packets from the communication session as motivated by Williams (paragraph 0021) and in order to conserve computing resources.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Navon et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220321588 A1), teaches anomaly detection for networking. Please see at least fig. 5.
/Abdulkader M Alriyashi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 6/21/2026