DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youngblood et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2023/0025019) in view of Weston (U.S. PG Pub 2007/0113318) in view of Wennerholm (U.S. Patent No. 5,301,689).
Regarding Claim 1, Youngblood et al. teach a smart glasses device (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 47) comprising:
a glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47) comprising a first housing (Figure 3, Element 226. Paragraph 70), the first housing (Figure 3, Element 226. Paragraph 70) defining a first inlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and a first outlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80);
a heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78) comprising a second housing (Figure 7, Element 21. Paragraph 79), the second housing (Figure 7, Element 21. Paragraph 79) defining a second outlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and a second inlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80); and
a connecting assembly (Figure 7, Elements 18 and 19. Paragraph 78) connected to the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47) and the heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78), the connecting assembly (Figure 7, Elements 18 and 19. Paragraph 78) comprising an air inlet tube (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and an air outlet tube (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80), the air inlet tube (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) communicating with the second outlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the first inlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80), and the air outlet tube (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80) communicating with the first outlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the second inlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80),
wherein the air inlet tube (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) is configured to transfer a first airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 16 going to the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80) to the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47), the air outlet tube (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80) is configured to output a second airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 17 coming from the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80) from the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47), and a temperature of the first airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 16 going to the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80) is lower than (Paragraphs 78 – 81) a temperature of the second airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 17 coming from the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80),
the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47) and the heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78) being the connected units (Seen in Figure 7).
Youngblood et al. is silent with regards to wherein the connecting assembly further comprises a sleeve and a cable assembly, the cable assembly, the air inlet tube, and the air outlet tube are accommodated in the sleeve; and the connected units being connected through the cable assembly; and wherein the first connector further comprises a first data communicate hole, the first housing comprises a first data interface, and the first data communicate hole is configured to electronically connect to the cable assembly and the first data interface; the second connector further comprises a second data communicate hole, the second housing comprises a second data interface, and the second data communicate hole is configured to electronically connect to the cable assembly and the second data interface.
Weston teaches wherein the connecting assembly (Figure 11, Element 160. Paragraph 48) further comprises a sleeve (Figure 11, Element 160. Paragraph 48), the cable assembly (Figure 11, Element 160. Paragraph 48), the air inlet tube (Figure 11, Element 142. Paragraph 48), and the air outlet tube (Figure 11, Element 144. Paragraph 48) are accommodated in the sleeve (Figure 11, Element 160. Paragraph 48).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the virtual reality device of Youngblood et al. with the connection device of Weston. The motivation to modify the teachings of Youngblood et al. with the teachings of Weston is to provide only one orientation that properly aligns the connection hose with the connection port, as taught by Weston (Paragraph 48).
Wennerholm teaches the connecting assembly (Figure 1, Element 23. Column 3, Lines 38 - 57) further comprises a sleeve (Figure 1, Element 33. Column 3, Lines 38 - 57) and a cable assembly (Figure 1, Element 35. Column 3, Lines 38 - 57); and the connected units (Figure 1, Elements 20 and 34. Column 3, Lines 38 - 57) being connected through the cable assembly (Figure 1, Element 35. Column 3, Lines 38 - 57);
wherein the first connector (Figure 1, Element 23. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) further comprises a first data communicate hole (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the hole in connector 23 that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57), the first housing (Figure 1, Element 20. Column 3, Lines 21 – 37) comprises a first data interface (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the interface of the sensor (Element 30) that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57), and the first data communicate hole (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the hole that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) is configured to electronically connect to the cable assembly (Figure 1, Element 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) and the first data interface (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the interface of the sensor (Element 30) that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57);
the second connector (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is where cable 35 connects to the source (Element 34). Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) further comprises a second data communicate hole (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the hole in source 34 that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57), the second housing (Figure 1, Element 34. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) comprises a second data interface (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the interface of the source (Element 34) that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57), and the second data communicate hole (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the hole in source 34 that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) is configured to electronically connect to the cable assembly (Figure 1, Element 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) and the second data interface (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the interface of the source (Element 34) that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the virtual reality device of Youngblood et al. and the connection device of Weston with the connection device of Wennerholm. The motivation to modify the teachings of Youngblood et al. and Weston with the teachings of Wennerholm is to connect the sensor to the control apparatus in order to control the flow of air, as taught by Wennerholm (Column 3, Lines 38 – 57).
Regarding Claim 2, Youngblood et al. in view of Weston in view of Wennerholm teach the smart glasses device (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 47) of claim 1 (See Above). Youngblood et al. teach wherein the heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78) further comprises an air supply module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the pump. Paragraph 80) and a gas cooling module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but are cooling module. Paragraph 79), each of the air supply module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the pump. Paragraph 80) and the gas cooling module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but are cooling module. Paragraph 79) is accommodated in the second housing (Figure 7, Element 21. Paragraph 79), the air supply module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the pump. Paragraph 80) is configured to generate the first airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 16 going to the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80) and transfer the first airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 16 going to the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80) to the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47), and the gas cooling module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but are cooling module. Paragraph 79) is configured to cool down the second airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 17 coming from the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80) entering the heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78).
Regarding Claim 3, Youngblood et al. in view of Weston in view of Wennerholm teach the smart glasses device (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 47) of claim 2 (See Above). Youngblood et al. teach wherein the heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78) further comprises a first tube (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the tube connecting the pump to supply line 16. Paragraph 80), a second tube (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the tube connecting the fluid return line to the cooling module. Paragraph 79) and a third tube (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the tube connecting the cooling module to the pump. Paragraphs 79 and 80), the first tube (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the tube connecting the pump to supply line 16. Paragraph 80) communicates with the air supply module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the pump. Paragraph 80) and the second outlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80), the second tube (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the tube connecting the fluid return line to the cooling module. Paragraph 79) communicates with the second inlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the gas cooling module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but are cooling module. Paragraph 79), and the third tube (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the tube connecting the cooling module to the pump. Paragraphs 79 and 80) communicates with the gas cooling module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but are cooling module. Paragraph 79) and the air supply module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the pump. Paragraph 80).
Regarding Claim 4, Youngblood et al. in view of Weston in view of Wennerholm teach the smart glasses device (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 47) of claim 2 (See Above). Youngblood et al. teach wherein the heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78) further comprises a battery (Figure 7. Element not shown but is the power supply. Paragraph 85. The examiner notes that U.S. PG Pub 2018/0110960 has been incorporated by reference. Figure 5 clearly shows Element 48 as an internal power supply) accommodated in the second housing (Figure 7, Element 21. Paragraph 79), and the battery (Figure 7. Element not shown but is the power supply. Paragraph 85. The examiner notes that U.S. PG Pub 2018/0110960 has been incorporated by reference. Figure 5 clearly shows Element 48 as an internal power supply) is electrically connected to the air supply module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the pump. Paragraph 80), the gas cooling module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but are cooling module. Paragraph 79), and the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47).
Regarding Claim 5, Youngblood et al. in view of Weston in view of Wennerholm teach the smart glasses device (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 47) of claim 1 (See Above). Youngblood et al. teach wherein the first connector (Figure 7, Element 18 at the control unit end. Paragraph 78) further defines a first inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78) and a second inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78), the first inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78) is configured to communicate with the air inlet tube (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the first inlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80), and the second inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78) is configured to communicate with the first outlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the air outlet tube (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80); the second connector (Figure 7, Element 18 at the glasses end. Paragraph 78) defines a third inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78) and a fourth inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78), the third inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78) is configured to communicate with the air inlet tube (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the second outlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80), and the fourth inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78) is configured to communicate with the second inlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the air outlet tube (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80).
Regarding Claim 9, Youngblood et al. in view of Weston in view of Wennerholm teach the smart glasses device (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 47) of claim 1 (See Above). Youngblood et al. teach wherein the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47) comprises a headband (Figure 1, Element 110. Paragraph 47) and an adjusting member (Figure 1. Paragraph 50), the headband (Figure 1, Element 110. Paragraph 47) is connected to the first housing (Figure 3, Element 226. Paragraph 70), and the adjusting member (Figure 1. Paragraph 50) is on the headband (Figure 1, Element 110. Paragraph 47).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youngblood et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2023/0025019) in view of Weston (U.S. PG Pub 2007/0113318) in view of Wennerholm (U.S. Patent No. 5,301,689) in view of Burton (U.S. Patent No. 7,204,250).
Regarding Claim 8, Youngblood et al. in view of Weston in view of Wennerholm teach the smart glasses device (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 47) of claim 1 (See Above). Youngblood et al. teach the assembly being the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47).
Youngblood et al. is silent with regards to wherein the assembly comprises a functional mechanism and a tube, each of the functional mechanism and the tube is accommodated in the first housing, the tube communicates with the first inlet; the tube defines at least one air outlet facing the functional mechanism.
Burton teaches wherein the assembly (Figure 1, Element 10. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23) comprises a functional mechanism (Figure 1, Element 16. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23) and a tube (Figure 1, Element 32. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23), each of the functional mechanism (Figure 1, Element 16. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23) and the tube (Figure 1, Element 32. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23) is accommodated in the first housing (Figure 1, Element 12. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23), the tube (Figure 1, Element 32. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23) communicates with the first inlet (Figure 1, Element 14. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23); the tube (Figure 1, Element 32. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23) defines at least one air outlet facing (Seen in Figures 1, 4, and 7) the functional mechanism (Figure 1, Element 16. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the virtual reality device of Youngblood et al., the connection device of Weston, and the connection device of Wennerholm with the connection device of Burton. The motivation to modify the teachings of Youngblood et al., Weston, and Wennerholm with the teachings of Burton is to provide wiring for sensors inside the assembly, as taught by Burton (Column 1, Lines 46 – 59).
Claim 10 – 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youngblood et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2023/0025019) in view of Weston (U.S. PG Pub 2007/0113318) in view of Wennerholm (U.S. Patent No. 5,301,689) in view of Steger et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0090958).
Regarding Claim 10, Youngblood et al. teach a smart terminal comprising:
a smart glasses device (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 47) comprising:
a glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47) comprising a first housing (Figure 3, Element 226. Paragraph 70), the first housing (Figure 3, Element 226. Paragraph 70) defining a first inlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and a first outlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80);
a heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78) comprising a second housing (Figure 7, Element 21. Paragraph 79), the second housing (Figure 7, Element 21. Paragraph 79) defining a second outlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and a second inlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80); and
a connecting assembly (Figure 7, Elements 18 and 19. Paragraph 78) connected to the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47) and the heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78), the connecting assembly (Figure 7, Elements 18 and 19. Paragraph 78) comprising an air inlet tube (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and an air outlet tube (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80), the air inlet tube (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) communicating with the second outlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the first inlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80), and the air outlet tube (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80) communicating with the first outlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the second inlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80);
wherein the air inlet tube (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) is configured to transfer a first airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 16 going to the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80) to the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47), the air outlet tube (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80) is configured to output a second airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 17 coming from the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80) from the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47), and a temperature of the first airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 16 going to the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80) is lower than a temperature of the second airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 17 coming from the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80);
the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47) and the heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78) being the connected units (Seen in Figure 7).
Youngblood et al. is silent with regards to wherein the connecting assembly further comprises a sleeve and a cable assembly, the cable assembly, the air inlet tube, and the air outlet tube are accommodated in the sleeve; and the connected units being connected through the cable assembly; wherein the first connector further comprises a first data communicate hole, the first housing comprises a first data interface, and the first data communicate hole is configured to electronically connect to the cable assembly and the first data interface; the second connector further comprises a second data communicate hole, the second housing comprises a second data interface, and the second data communicate hole is configured to electronically connect to the cable assembly and the second data interface; a glasses case configured to accommodate the smart glasses device.
Weston teaches wherein the connecting assembly (Figure 11, Element 160. Paragraph 48) further comprises a sleeve (Figure 11, Element 160. Paragraph 48), the cable assembly (Figure 11, Element 160. Paragraph 48), the air inlet tube (Figure 11, Element 142. Paragraph 48), and the air outlet tube (Figure 11, Element 144. Paragraph 48) are accommodated in the sleeve (Figure 11, Element 160. Paragraph 48).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the virtual reality device of Youngblood et al. with the connection device of Weston. The motivation to modify the teachings of Youngblood et al. with the teachings of Weston is to provide only one orientation that properly aligns the connection hose with the connection port, as taught by Weston (Paragraph 48).
Wennerholm teaches the connecting assembly (Figure 1, Element 23. Column 3, Lines 38 - 57) further comprises a sleeve (Figure 1, Element 33. Column 3, Lines 38 - 57) and a cable assembly (Figure 1, Element 35. Column 3, Lines 38 - 57); and the connected units (Figure 1, Elements 20 and 34. Column 3, Lines 38 - 57) being connected through the cable assembly (Figure 1, Element 35. Column 3, Lines 38 - 57);
wherein the first connector (Figure 1, Element 23. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) further comprises a first data communicate hole (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the hole in connector 23 that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57), the first housing (Figure 1, Element 20. Column 3, Lines 21 – 37) comprises a first data interface (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the interface of the sensor (Element 30) that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57), and the first data communicate hole (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the hole that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) is configured to electronically connect to the cable assembly (Figure 1, Element 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) and the first data interface (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the interface of the sensor (Element 30) that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57);
the second connector (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is where cable 35 connects to the source (Element 34). Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) further comprises a second data communicate hole (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the hole in source 34 that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57), the second housing (Figure 1, Element 34. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) comprises a second data interface (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the interface of the source (Element 34) that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57), and the second data communicate hole (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the hole in source 34 that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) is configured to electronically connect to the cable assembly (Figure 1, Element 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57) and the second data interface (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the interface of the source (Element 34) that receives cable 35. Column 3, Lines 38 – 57).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the virtual reality device of Youngblood et al. and the connection device of Weston with the connection device of Wennerholm. The motivation to modify the teachings of Youngblood et al. and Weston with the teachings of Wennerholm is to connect the sensor to the control apparatus in order to control the flow of air, as taught by Wennerholm (Column 3, Lines 38 – 57).
Steger et al. teach a glasses case (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 45) configured to accommodate the smart glasses device (Figure 9, Element 909. Paragraph 48).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the virtual reality device of Youngblood et al., the connection device of Weston, and the connection device of Wennerholm with the glasses case of Steger et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Youngblood et al., Weston, and Wennerholm with the teachings of Steger et al. is stow the glasses for safe transportation and serve as a docking station for charging, as taught by Steger et al. (Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Youngblood et al. in view of Weston in view of Wennerholm in view of Steger et al. teach the smart terminal of claim 10 (See Above). Youngblood et al. teach wherein the heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78) further comprises an air supply module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the pump. Paragraph 80) and a gas cooling module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but are cooling module. Paragraph 79), each of the air supply module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the pump. Paragraph 80) and the gas cooling module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but are cooling module. Paragraph 79) is accommodated in the second housing (Figure 7, Element 21. Paragraph 79), the air supply module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the pump. Paragraph 80) is configured to generate the first airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 16 going to the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80) and transfer the first airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 16 going to the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80) to the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47), and the gas cooling module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but are cooling module. Paragraph 79) is configured to cool down the second airflow (Figure 7, Element not labeled, but is the airflow in tube 17 coming from the glasses. Paragraphs 79 - 80) entering the heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78).
Regarding Claim 12, Youngblood et al. in view of Weston in view of Wennerholm in view of Steger et al. teach the smart terminal of claim 11 (See Above). Youngblood et al. teach wherein the heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78) further comprises a first tube (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the tube connecting the pump to supply line 16. Paragraph 80), a second tube (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the tube connecting the fluid return line to the cooling module. Paragraph 79) and a third tube (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the tube connecting the cooling module to the pump. Paragraphs 79 and 80), the first tube (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the tube connecting the pump to supply line 16. Paragraph 80) communicates with the air supply module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the pump. Paragraph 80) and the second outlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80), the second tube (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the tube connecting the fluid return line to the cooling module. Paragraph 79) communicates with the second inlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the gas cooling module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but are cooling module. Paragraph 79), and the third tube (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the tube connecting the cooling module to the pump. Paragraphs 79 and 80) communicates with the gas cooling module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but are cooling module. Paragraph 79) and the air supply module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the pump. Paragraph 80).
Regarding Claim 13, Youngblood et al. in view of Weston in view of Wennerholm in view of Steger et al. teach the smart terminal of claim 11 (See Above). Youngblood et al. teach wherein the heat dissipating assembly (Figure 7, Element 10. Paragraph 78) further comprises a battery (Figure 7. Element not shown but is the power supply. Paragraph 85. The examiner notes that U.S. PG Pub 2018/0110960 has been incorporated by reference. Figure 5 clearly shows Element 48 as an internal power supply) accommodated in the second housing (Figure 7, Element 21. Paragraph 79), and the battery (Figure 7. Element not shown but is the power supply. Paragraph 85. The examiner notes that U.S. PG Pub 2018/0110960 has been incorporated by reference. Figure 5 clearly shows Element 48 as an internal power supply) is electrically connected to the air supply module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but is the pump. Paragraph 80), the gas cooling module (Figure 7, Element not shown, but are cooling module. Paragraph 79), and the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47).
Regarding Claim 14, Youngblood et al. in view of Weston in view of Wennerholm in view of Steger et al. teach the smart terminal of claim 10 (See Above). Youngblood et al. teach wherein the connecting assembly (Figure 7, Elements 18 and 19. Paragraph 78) further comprises a first connector (Figure 7, Element 18 at the control unit end. Paragraph 78) and a second connector (Figure 7, Element 18 at the glasses end. Paragraph 78), the first connector (Figure 7, Element 18 at the control unit end. Paragraph 78) defines a first inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78) and a second inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78), the first inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78) is configured to communicate with the air inlet tube (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the first inlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80), and the second inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78) is configured to communicate with the first outlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the air outlet tube (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80); the second connector (Figure 7, Element 18 at the glasses end. Paragraph 78) defines a third inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78) and a fourth inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78), the third inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78) is configured to communicate with the air inlet tube (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the second outlet (Figure 7, Element 16. Paragraphs 78 - 80), and the fourth inserting hole (Figure 7, Element 18, Sub-Element not labeled, but is each female connector. Paragraph 78) is configured to communicate with the second inlet (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80) and the air outlet tube (Figure 7, Element 17. Paragraphs 78 - 80).
Regarding Claim 18, Youngblood et al. in view of Weston in view of Wennerholm in view of Steger et al. teach the smart terminal of claim 10 (See Above). Youngblood et al. teach wherein the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47) comprises a headband (Figure 1, Element 110. Paragraph 47) and an adjusting member (Figure 1. Paragraph 50), the headband (Figure 1, Element 110. Paragraph 47) is connected to the first housing (Figure 3, Element 226. Paragraph 70), and the adjusting member (Figure 1. Paragraph 50) is on the headband (Figure 1, Element 110. Paragraph 47).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youngblood et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2023/0025019) in view of Weston (U.S. PG Pub 2007/0113318) in view of Wennerholm (U.S. Patent No. 5,301,689) in view of Steger et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0090958) in view of Burton (U.S. Patent No. 7,204,250).
Regarding Claim 17, Youngblood et al. in view of Weston in view of Wennerholm in view of Steger et al. teach the smart terminal of claim 10 (See Above). Youngblood teaches the assembly being the glasses assembly (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 47).
Youngblood et al. is silent with regards to wherein the assembly further comprises a functional mechanism and a tube, each of the functional mechanism and the tube is accommodated in the first housing, the tube communicates with the first inlet; the tube defines at least one air outlet facing the functional mechanism.
Burton teaches wherein the assembly (Figure 1, Element 10. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23) further comprises a functional mechanism (Figure 1, Element 16. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23) and a tube (Figure 1, Element 32. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23), each of the functional mechanism (Figure 1, Element 16. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23) and the tube (Figure 1, Element 32. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23) is accommodated in the first housing (Figure 1, Element 12. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23), the tube (Figure 1, Element 32. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23) communicates with the first inlet (Figure 1, Element 14. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23); the tube (Figure 1, Element 32. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23) defines at least one air outlet facing (Seen in Figures 1, 4, and 7) the functional mechanism (Figure 1, Element 16. Column 3, Lines 11 – 23).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the virtual reality device of Youngblood et al., the connection device of Weston, the connection device of Wennerholm, and the glasses case of Steger et al. with the connection device of Burton. The motivation to modify the teachings of Youngblood et al. and Sterger et al. with the teachings of Burton is to provide wiring for sensors inside the assembly, as taught by Burton (Column 1, Lines 46 – 59).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the first argument, in which the applicant asserts that Weston fails to teach at least the cable assembly accommodated in the sleeve and any data communication holes on connectors for electronic interfacing. The applicant argues that the Weston belongs in the field of protective racing helmets. The applicant further argues that the sleeve of Weston only contains two air hoses. The applicant lastly argues that Weston teaches no data communication whatsoever. The examiner respectfully disagree with the applicant’s assertion.
Firstly, Youngblood et al. and the instant application concern themselves with the cooling of headgear. Weston also concerns itself with the cooling of headgear. A person of ordinary skill in the art of heads-up displays concerned with cooling would be motivated to look to the art of cooling headwear. Secondly, Weston contains multiple air hoses in an external sleeve. Thirdly, Weston is not relied upon as teaching data communication. Weston is relied upon for teaching “the cable assembly, the air inlet tube, and the air outlet tube are accommodated in the sleeve.” Weston is not relied upon to teach the specifics of the cable assembly. Instead, the teachings of Youngblood et al. and Weston are modified by the teachings of Wennerholm. Wennerholm is relied upon to teach the specifics of the data communication. Therefore, Weston need not teach the specifics of the data communication, as it is not being relied upon to do so. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s argument and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding the second argument, in which the applicant asserts that Wennerholm fails to teach at least a sleeve, integrated air tubes, data communication holes, and no cooling function. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. The examiner firstly notes that the Wennerholm is not being relied upon to teach the integrated air tubes and/or a cooling function and therefore the argument against Wennerholm not teaching these is moot. Wennerholm discloses “
The other connection pipe 23 is by way of a pipe 33 connected to a source of pressurized air 34, which can be a piston or bellows pump, but also an air accumulator which can be supplied by a fan or the like. The source of air pressure 34 has to be dimensioned such that it by demand directly can emit a volume of air corresponding to at least 1-2 breaths. The sensor 30 by means of a cable 35 connected to an electrical control apparatus 36 and at the rate of the reciprocating motion emits pulses to the control apparatus 36, which is designed such, that it activates the source of pressurized air 34, if after a settable time period one or several pulses should be missing as a result of breath stop (Column 3, Lines 40 – 53. Emphasis Added).” Therefore, Wennerholm teaches a pipe with a first connector to a first housing and a second connector to a second housing at different ends of the pipe and a cable (Element 35) running through the pipe, electrically connected to both the first housing and the second housing though the end of the pipe. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s assertion and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding the third argument, in which the applicant asserts that Youngblood et al., Weston, and Wennerholm are from different fields and that a person of ordinary skill in the art one would not look to another for solutions. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. The examiner firstly notes that Youngblood et al. and the instant application concern themselves with the cooling of headgear. Weston also concerns itself with the cooling of headgear. A person of ordinary skill in the art of heads-up displays concerned with cooling would be motivated to look to the art of cooling headwear. Wennerholm teaches connecting tubes with both air and electrical connections. MPEP 2141.01(a) states “In order for a reference to be proper for use in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, the reference must be analogous art to the claimed invention. In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325, 72 USPQ2d 1209, 1212 (Fed. Cir. 2004). A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Note that "same field of endeavor" and "reasonably pertinent" are two separate tests for establishing analogous art; it is not necessary for a reference to fulfill both tests in order to qualify as analogous art. See Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212. The examiner must determine whether a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention when analyzing the obviousness of the subject matter under examination. When more than one prior art reference is used as the basis of an obviousness rejection, it is not required that the references be analogous art to each other. See Sanofi-Aventis Deutschland GMbH v. Mylan Pharms. Inc., 66 F.4th 1373, 1380, 2023 USPQ2d 552 (Fed. Cir. 2023) and Corephotonics, Ltd. v. Apple Inc, 84 F.4th 990, 1007, 2023 USPQ2d 1202 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (Emphasis Added).” The examiner notes that Youngblood et al. is analogous art to the instant invention for being a heads-up display. The examiner asserts that Weston is also analogous art to the instant invention, but at the very least “reasonably pertinent” to the instant invention for be concerned with the cooling of head wear. The examiner further notes that Wennerholm is “reasonably pertinent” to the instant invention for being concerned with airflow and data communication to head wear. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s assertion and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding the fourth argument, in which the applicant asserts that the examiner used impermissible hindsight in order to reject the instant claims. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. The examiner firstly notes the response to the first and third arguments where the examiner states that the prior art is analogous. Each and every reference used for modification has had the motivation taken directly from the reference itself. Therefore, no impermissible hindsight has been used. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s assertion and the rejection is maintained.
All other arguments are considered moot in light of the rejection and/or the response to the first, second, third, and/or fourth arguments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shantha et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,226,228) teach a pair of heating and cooling eyeglasses that are connected separate control unit, similar to the instant invention.
Stroetmann (U.S. PG Pub 2016/0004085); Balachandreswaran et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2017/0184863); O’Connell et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2019/0182994); Maric et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2021/0185855); and Dias et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,762,208) teach a head mounted display with a built in air conditioner, similar to the instant invention.
Youngblood et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0110960) teaches a separate control unit for heating and cooling a separate device, similar to the instant invention.
Kim et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,993,515) and Bristol et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2022/0231523) teach a carrying case for a virtual reality headset, similar to the instant invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 .
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625