DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to application 19/215,688 filed on 5/22/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,332,882. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations in bold are the same and the differences would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art. For example with respect to claim 1 an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would see obvious that if a search is submitted it can be submitted via a engine. Furthermore with respect to claim 2 different sequences obviously correspond to different orderings.
19/215,668 US 12,332,882
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving a search request at a search engine of a content management system; determining, in response to the search request and from a directed acyclic graph comprising a plurality of nodes defining computer operations executable by the search engine as part of data searches within the content management system, a plurality of candidate node paths linking nodes of the directed acyclic graph executable to perform a data search corresponding to the search request; selecting, within the directed acyclic graph, a node path from among the plurality of candidate node paths based on comparing execution times of the plurality of candidate node paths; and performing the data search for the search request by executing, via the search engine, one or more computer operations defined by nodes along the node path.
1. A system comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: receive a search request at a search engine of a content management system; in response to the search request, determine, within a directed acyclic graph comprising a plurality of nodes defining computer operations for performing data searches within the content management system, an initial node and a final node in a node path comprising a set of nodes from the directed acyclic graph corresponding to the search request; determine two or more nodes of the set of nodes to execute in parallel between the initial node and the final node; and perform a data search for the search request by executing operations defined by the two or more nodes along the node path within the directed acyclic graph.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate node paths each link different sequences of nodes of the directed acyclic graph from an initial node corresponding to the search request to an output node executable to generate a final output for the search request.
2. The system of claim 1, further storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: receive an additional search request at the search engine of the content management system; and in response to the additional search request, determine an additional node path, the additional node path comprising nodes from the directed acyclic graph with a different ordering of nodes than the node path as indicated by the additional search request.
Claims 8 and 9 are system claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 1 and 2 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 2.
Claims 15 and 16 are non-transitory computer readable medium claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 1 and 2 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 9, 11, 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 11,704,313 (hereinafter Andrade).
As for claim 1 Andrade discloses: A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving a search request at a search engine of a content management system (See column 4 lines 10-55 note the system performs the actions of the system in response to a user query); determining, in response to the search request and from a directed acyclic graph comprising a plurality of nodes defining computer operations executable by the search engine as part of data searches within the content management system, a plurality of candidate node paths linking nodes of the directed acyclic graph executable to perform a data search corresponding to the search request (See column 46 lines 10-40 note the system uses a directed acyclic graph with the employment of intermediary nodes, delegates and indexers to determine the path and process results); selecting, within the directed acyclic graph, a node path from among the plurality of candidate node paths based on comparing execution times of the plurality of candidate node paths; and performing the data search for the search request by executing, via the search engine, one or more computer operations defined by nodes along the node path (See column 25 lines 10-30 note the system executes all of the nodes within the cluster of nodes determined to have at least partial results in parallel and further see column 4 lines 12-30, column 5 lines 43-60 and column 43 lines 9-30 note the map-reduce method uses the nodes to execute local operations to achieve the partial results using the directed acyclic graph).
As for claim 2 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Andrade discloses: wherein the plurality of candidate node paths each link different sequences of nodes of the directed acyclic graph from an initial node corresponding to the search request to an output node executable to generate a final output for the search request (See column 4 lines 10-55 note the system performs the actions of the system in response to user queries and column 11 lines 4-13, column 20 lines 7-37 note additional path are determine due to a local/node determination using different protocols to achieve the partial results).
As for claim 4 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Andrade discloses: wherein performing the data search comprises executing a first computer operation for a first node along the node path and executing a second computer operation for a second node along the node path (See column 11 lines 4-13, column 20 lines 7-37 note additional path are determine due to a local/node determination using different protocols to achieve the partial results).
As for claim 7 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Andrade discloses: wherein selecting the node path from among the plurality of candidate node paths comprises: identifying, among the plurality of candidate node paths, historical node paths executed to perform data searches associated with a client device; and selecting the node path from among the historical node paths (See figure 8A and column 20 lines 45-65 note for historical searches users can select and adjust times and the paths will be executed accordingly).
Claims 8, 9, 11 and 14 are system claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 1, 2, 4 and 7 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4, and 7.
Claims 15, 16, 18 are non-transitory computer readable medium claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 1, 2 and 4 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 2 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, 10, 12, 13, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrade as applied to claims 1, above, and further in view of US 2006/0218123 (hereinafter Chowdhuri).
As for claim 3 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Chowdhuri discloses: wherein selecting the node path from among the plurality of candidate node paths comprises: comparing the execution times across the plurality of candidate node paths; and selecting a candidate node path with a fastest execution time from among the plurality of candidate node paths (See paragraphs 0209 note the system uses the pipeline manager to minimize resource usage via node paths). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the pertinent at the time the instantly claimed invention was filed to have incorporated the teaching of Chowdhuri into the system of Andrade. The modification would have been obvious because the two references are concerned with the solution to problem of processing data via graphs (See Andrade and Chowdhuri abstract), therefore there is an implicit motivation to combine these references (i.e. motivation from the references themselves). In other words, the ordinary skilled artisan, during his/her quest for a solution to the cited problem, would look to the cited references at the time the invention was made. Consequently, the ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the cited references since Chowdhuri’s teaching would enable users of the Andrade system to more efficient processing.
As for claim 5 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Chowdhuri discloses: wherein comparing the execution times of the plurality of candidate node paths comprises: determining, for a candidate node path among the plurality of candidate node paths, which nodes to execute in parallel and which nodes to execute in series along the candidate node path; and determining an execution time for the candidate node path based on parallel execution and series execution of nodes along the candidate node path (See paragraphs 0169, note the system will use partition elimination at execution time to minimize resources). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the pertinent at the time the instantly claimed invention was filed to have incorporated the teaching of Chowdhuri into the system of Andrade. The modification would have been obvious because the two references are concerned with the solution to problem of processing data via graphs (See Andrade and Chowdhuri abstract), therefore there is an implicit motivation to combine these references (i.e. motivation from the references themselves). In other words, the ordinary skilled artisan, during his/her quest for a solution to the cited problem, would look to the cited references at the time the invention was made. Consequently, the ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the cited references since Chowdhuri’s teaching would enable users of the Andrade system to more efficient processing.
As for claim 6 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Chowdhuri discloses: wherein selecting the node path from among the plurality of candidate node paths comprises selecting the node path based on a computer resource consumption of executing the node path. It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the pertinent at the time the instantly claimed invention was filed to have incorporated the teaching of Chowdhuri into the system of Andrade. The modification would have been obvious because the two references are concerned with the solution to problem of processing data via graphs (See Andrade and Chowdhuri abstract), therefore there is an implicit motivation to combine these references (i.e. motivation from the references themselves). In other words, the ordinary skilled artisan, during his/her quest for a solution to the cited problem, would look to the cited references at the time the invention was made. Consequently, the ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the cited references since Chowdhuri’s teaching would enable users of the Andrade system to more efficient processing.
Claims 10, 12 and 13 are system claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 3, 5 and 6 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 3, 5 and 6.
Claims 17, 19 and 20 are non-transitory computer readable medium claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 3, 5 and 6 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 3, 5 and 6.
Information
/Eliyah S. Harper/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166 May 30, 2026