DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
The presence of claim limitations that are preceded by the phrases “wherein” often raises a question as to the limiting effect of the claim limitations (see MPEP §2111.04). The Examiner has interpreted the limitations following the phrase “wherein” as positively being claimed (i.e. the claim limitations are required and/or the claim limitations following the “wherein clause” limits the structure), where “wherein” is being used as a transitional phrase.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SCROLL MACHINE WITH MULTIPLE FLOW PATHS FOR THE INLET FLOW INCLUDING IN THE HOLLOW SHAFT PORTION.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 2 ¶0011 and ¶0013 refers to claims 1, 6, 19, and 23. Please replace the claim numbers with claim recitations, since the claims change during prosecution, which then changes the specification without review on if the changes are new matter. Please remove references to claim numbers in the specification to avoid introduction of new matter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “a scroll machine, in particular a spiral compressor, for a medium, in particular a refrigerant”, which is indefinite, since the claim is not clear if the “spiral compressor” or “refrigerant” is positively being recited due to the limitation of “in particular”. The Examiner recommends changing the limitation to “a scroll compressor” and “for a refrigerant”, since this clarifies that the compressor is positively being recited. The Examiner would like to note “for a medium or for a refrigerant” is an intended use limitation, and only requires that the scroll machine is able to be used with a medium or refrigerant.
Claims 4-22 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 3.
Claim 10 recites “a plurality of entry openings are arranged around the circumference, preferably symmetrically”, which is indefinite since it is unclear what component the plurality of entry openings are arranged. What circumference are the entry openings arranged? In addition, “preferably symmetrically” is indefinite since it is unclear if the claim is trying to limit the opening to be symmetrically arranged or not.
Claim 20 recites “the pressure connection piece”, “the intermediate bottom”, “the back-flow region”, and “the passage” which all lack antecedent basis. Claim 20 introduces all of these elements, which the Examiner recommends changing “the” to “a” before each of them (i.e. “a pressure connection piece”, “an intermediate bottom”, “a back-flow region” and “a passage”).
Claim 21 recites “the pressure connection piece”, which lacks antecedent basis. Please change “the” to “a”, since this dependent claim does not depend on a claim that introduces a pressure connection piece.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHIMIZU (U.S. Patent 4,936,756).
Regarding claim 3, SHIMIZU discloses: a scroll machine (see Figures 2 and 3), in particular a spiral compressor (see Figures 2 and 3), for a medium, in particular a refrigerant (see title), having a machine housing (10) having a longitudinal axis (see Figures 2 and 3, that has a longitudinal axis along the center of the shaft (13)) and an inlet (85) and an outlet (86) for the medium, wherein, provided in the machine housing along the longitudinal axis is a drive unit (40, 41, 42, 13) having a drive shaft (13) which is mounted on the machine housing by a first bearing unit (12) and a second bearing unit (11),
a first spiral unit (30) having a spiral channel (see Figures 2 and 3, that shows the first spiral unit with a spiral channel) which is formed by a first spiral rib (32) and has an inner end region (see Figures 2 and 3, that shows an inner end region near the center of the first spiral unit near (24)) and an outer end region (see Figures 2 and 3 that shows an outer end region at the area near the outer area of the first spiral rib),
a second spiral unit (20) having a spiral channel (see Figures 2 and 3, that shows the first spiral unit with a spiral channel) which is formed by a second spiral rib (22) and has an inner end region (see Figures 2 and 3, that shows an inner end region near the center of the second spiral unit near (24)) and an outer end region (see Figures 2 and 3 that shows an outer end region at the area near the outer area of the second spiral rib), and wherein the first spiral unit and the second spiral unit engage one another to form pressure chambers (see Figures 2 and 3),
wherein the first spiral unit can be moved by means of the drive shaft through the drive unit along an orbital path relative to the second spiral unit (see Figures 2 and 3, Column 3, lines 8-20),
wherein the inlet is in fluid communication with the outer end regions and the outlet is in fluid communication with the inner end regions (see Figures 2 and 3), characterized in that the medium in the machine housing can flow along a plurality of flow paths from the inlet to the outer end regions, and in that the drive shaft has a hollow shaft portion (81) (see Figures 2 and 3 that shows the drive shaft has a hollow shaft portion and the movement of refrigerant thru the hollow shaft portion, Column 4, lines 1-25) through which one of the flow paths extends (see Figures 2 and 3), and
wherein the drive unit has at least one axial opening (see Figures 2 and 3 that shows the drive unit has at least one axial opening between the rotor (43) and the stator (41)) and/or at least one axial groove, and in that the at least one axial opening and/or the at least one axial groove defines one of the flow paths (see Figures 2 and 3, where the flow exits (84) and then flow thru the motor via the axial opening between the rotor and stator of the motor, in addition Figures 2 and 3 shows an opening in the first bearing unit).
Regarding claim 4, SHIMIZU discloses: in that the hollow shaft portion is formed by a blind hole (see Figures 2 and 3), and in that the drive shaft has at least one radial bore (84, 82) which perforates the drive shaft from the hollow shaft portion (see Figures 2 and 3, Column 4, lines 1-25).
Regarding claim 5, SHIMIZU discloses: a rotor (42) of the drive unit is arranged between the first bearing unit and the second bearing unit (see Figures 2 and 3), and in that the drive shaft has the at least one radial bore between the first bearing unit and the rotor and/or between the second bearing unit and the rotor (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 6, SHIMIZU discloses: between inlet and drive shaft a flow path branches into two flow paths connected in parallel, one of the flow paths extending through the hollow shaft portion and the other of the flow paths being guided through the first bearing unit (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, SHIMIZU discloses: the second bearing unit and the first spiral unit enclose a space (62, 64) and in that at least one of the flow paths leads through the space (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 8, SHIMIZU discloses: the second bearing unit comprises a main bearing housing (12) and a main bearing body (14), and in that at least one of the flow paths extends through the main bearing housing and/or the main bearing body (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 9, SHIMIZU discloses: at least two flow paths coming from the inlet lead through the second bearing unit into the space (see Figures 2 and 3, Column 4, lines 1-25, Column 4, lines 51-68), one of the flow paths extending through the main bearing body and the other of the flow paths being guided through at least one entry opening formed as a through-hole in the main bearing housing (see Figures 2 and 3, Column 4, lines 1-25, Column 4, lines 51-68).
Regarding claim 10, SHIMIZU discloses: a plurality of entry openings are arranged around the circumference, preferably symmetrically (see Figures 2 and 3, where the openings are shown thru (11) to be symmetrical that then flow thru the bearings (14)).
Regarding claim 11, SHIMIZU discloses: the drive shaft projects into the space and has a compensating mass and/or an eccentric drive in the space (see Figures 2 and 3, where an eccentric drive (see (16) that is an eccentric pin of the drive shaft, where the limitation is either both or either one, and therefore, SHIMIZU meets the claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 12, SHIMIZU discloses: the space has at least one exit opening (see Figures 2 and 3 that shows an exit opening), and in that the exit opening defines a flow path which connects the space to the outer end regions (see Figures 2 and 3, where the flow path connects with (60) that connects with the suction chamber (60).
Regarding claim 13, SHIMIZU discloses: the at least one exit opening is provided as a radially oriented axial cut-out on the side facing the first spiral unit (see Figures 2 and 3, where the radially orientated axial cut-out for the at least one exit opening also includes a bearing (34)).
Regarding claim 14, SHIMIZU discloses: the at least one exit opening has a radially oriented first bore portion and an axially oriented second bore portion (see Figures 2 and 3, where the radially orientate first bore portion is shown (part of (62) and the axially orientated second bore portion is shown extending axially from (62) and contains the bearing (34)).
Regarding claim 15, SHIMIZU discloses: the at least one exit opening is offset in the circumferential direction with respect to the at least one entry opening (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 16, SHIMIZU discloses: the at least one exit opening, on the side facing the first spiral unit, opens partially or completely within a surface which is traversed when the first spiral unit moves completely along the orbital path (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 17, SHIMIZU discloses: the first spiral unit has, on the side facing the at least one exit opening (see Figures 2 and 3), a recessed portion which is arranged within a surface and traverses the at least one exit opening during a complete movement along the orbital path (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 19, SHIMIZU discloses: the second spiral unit is stationary (see Figures 2 and 3, Column 2, line 64 – Column 3, line 7).
Regarding claim 20, SHIMIZU discloses: the pressure connection piece (25) (see Marked up Figure 2 of SHIMIZU) is in operative contact with the intermediate bottom piece (see Marked up Figure 2 of SHIMIZU, where ) in a contact region (the contact region is between the pressure connection piece to the intermediate bottom piece, see Marked up Figure 2 of SHIMIZU) to form the back-flow region (see Marked up Figure 2 of SHIMIZU, where back-flow occurs due to the fluid exits the passage and is forced to go down in Figure 2 and then up to go out thru (86), and therefore is considered as a back-flow region), and in that the contact region, on an imaginary connecting line, is arranged between the pressure connection piece and the passage (see Marked up Figure 2 of SHIMIZU) in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see Marked up Figure 2 of SHIMIZU).
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HARAKAWA (U.S. Patent Publication US 2001/0012489 A1). The Examiner would like to note that HARAKAWA is used to reject only claims 3 and 18, however, this does not mean that HARAKAWA is not able to reject other claims (additional rejections are not made in order to have a compact prosecution since SHIMIZU has been used to reject the claims above).
Regarding claim 3, HARAKAWA discloses: a scroll machine (see Figure 1), in particular a spiral compressor (see Figures 1 and 2), for a medium, in particular a refrigerant (see Abstract), having a machine housing (101, 107, 111, 133) having a longitudinal axis (see Figure 1, where the machine housing has a longitudinal axis extending thru the center of the shaft (109)) and an inlet (151) and an outlet (see that there is an outlet in (133) connected to (134)) for the medium, wherein, provided in the machine housing along the longitudinal axis is a drive unit (Mo, 102, 103, 105, 109) having a drive shaft (109) which is mounted on the machine housing by a first bearing unit (the first bearing unit is shown in Figure 1 and includes bearings (108)) and a second bearing unit (see Figure 1, where the second bearing unit includes bearings (108) and is closer to the crank portion (109a)),
a first spiral unit (114) having a spiral channel (see Figures 1 and 2 that shows a spiral channel) which is formed by a first spiral rib (113) and has an inner end region (see Figures 1 and 2, that shows an inner end region near the center of the first spiral unit near (135)) and an outer end region (see Figures 1 and 2 that shows an outer end region at the area near the outer area of the first spiral rib and has (132)),
a second spiral unit (111) having a spiral channel (see Figures 1 and 2 that shows a spiral channel) which is formed by a second spiral rib (112) and has an inner end region ( see Figures 1 and 2, that shows an inner end region near the center of the second spiral unit near (135)) and an outer end region (see Figures 1 and 2 that shows an outer end region at the area near the outer area of the second spiral rib and has (132)), and wherein the first spiral unit and the second spiral unit engage one another to form pressure chambers (V) (see Figures 1 and 2, ¶0021),
wherein the first spiral unit can be moved by means of the drive shaft through the drive unit along an orbital path relative to the second spiral unit (see Figure 1, ¶0021 and ¶0029),
wherein the inlet is in fluid communication with the outer end regions (see Figure 1 and the bold arrows) and the outlet is in fluid communication with the inner end regions (see Figure 1, where the outlet communicates with (135) that is located in the inner end regions), characterized in that the medium in the machine housing can flow along a plurality of flow paths from the inlet to the outer end regions (see Figure 1 and the bold arrows), and in that the drive shaft has a hollow shaft portion (see Figure 1, where the hollow shaft portion has opening (109b) ) through which one of the flow paths extends (see Figure 1),
wherein the drive unit has at least one axial opening (see Figure 1, where the drive unit has at least one axial opening for the refrigerant to flow from (151) to (107a), where the opening is shown between the rotor (105) and the stator (102) in Figure 1) and/or at least one axial groove, and in that the at least one axial opening and/or the at least one axial groove defines one of the flow paths (see Figure 1, where the flow enters into the compressor housing at (151) and then flow thru the motor via the axial opening between the rotor and stator of the motor, thereby defining one of the flow paths).
Regarding claim 18, HARAKAWA discloses: a ring-pin coupling (132) is provided, and in that one of the flow paths is guided through the ring-pin coupling (see Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMIZU in view of DOEPKER (U.S. Patent Publication US 2018/0223843 A1).
Regarding claim 21, SHIMIZU discloses: the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the pressure connection piece comprises a bushing with a non-return valve.
Regarding claim 21, DOEPKER teaches: the pressure connection piece (32, 34) comprises a bushing (see Figure 1 that shows a bushing in the pressure connection piece) with a non-return valve (34) (see Figure 1, ¶0058)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the pressure connection piece comprises a bushing with a non-return valve in the scroll machine of SHIMIZU, in order to prevent fluid from entering the discharge chamber through the pressure connection piece (see ¶0058, where the discharge outlet fitting and valve of DOEPKER is interpreted as the pressure connection piece as recited in claim 21 that has a bushing and non-return (check) valve).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMIZU.
Regarding claim 22, SHIMIZU discloses in the prior art that a refrigeration system comprising a scroll machine (Column 1, lines 20-26).
SHIMIZU does not specifically disclose the scroll machines of Figures 2 and 3 are part of a refrigeration system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have used the scroll compressors of Figures 2 and 3 of SHIMIZU in a refrigeration system as taught by the prior art in SHIMIZU (Column 1, lines 20-26), since utilizing scroll compressors in a refrigeration system are well-known in the art, as evidence by the prior art disclosed by SHIMIZU. Utilizing well-known components (such as a scroll compressor) in a refrigeration system requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. having a refrigeration system for cooling).
Double Patenting
Claims 3, 5, and 20 are each rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claim is broader in scope to the patented claim.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose in that the hollow shaft portion is formed by a blind hole, and in that the drive shaft has at least one radial bore which perforates the drive shaft from the hollow shaft portion.
Regarding claim 4, SHIMIZU teaches: in that the hollow shaft portion is formed by a blind hole (see Figures 2 and 3), and in that the drive shaft has at least one radial bore (84, 82) which perforates the drive shaft from the hollow shaft portion (see Figures 2 and 3, Column 4, lines 1-25).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the hollow shaft portion is formed by a blind hole, and in that the drive shaft has at least one radial bore which perforates the drive shaft from the hollow shaft portion in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to cool the shaft by allowing fluid to flow thru the shaft).
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose in that between inlet and drive shaft a flow path branches into two flow paths connected in parallel, one of the flow paths extending through the hollow shaft portion and the other of the flow paths being guided through the first bearing unit.
Regarding claim 6, SHIMIZU discloses: between inlet and drive shaft a flow path branches into two flow paths connected in parallel, one of the flow paths extending through the hollow shaft portion and the other of the flow paths being guided through the first bearing unit (see Figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have between inlet and drive shaft a flow path branches into two flow paths connected in parallel, one of the flow paths extending through the hollow shaft portion and the other of the flow paths being guided through the first bearing unit in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to cool multiple components by dividing up the flow paths to the inlet of the compression mechanism).
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the second bearing unit and the first spiral unit enclose a space and in that at least one of the flow paths leads through the space.
Regarding claim 7, SHIMIZU discloses: the second bearing unit and the first spiral unit enclose a space (62, 64) and in that at least one of the flow paths leads through the space (see Figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the second bearing unit and the first spiral unit enclose a space and in that at least one of the flow paths leads through the space in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to cool and lubricate components due to the flow of refrigerant thru a desired flow path).
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the second bearing unit comprises a main bearing housing and a main bearing body, and in that at least one of the flow paths extends through the main bearing housing and/or the main bearing body.
Regarding claim 8, SHIMIZU discloses: the second bearing unit comprises a main bearing housing (12) and a main bearing body (14), and in that at least one of the flow paths extends through the main bearing housing and/or the main bearing body (see Figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the second bearing unit comprises a main bearing housing and a main bearing body, and in that at least one of the flow paths extends through the main bearing housing and/or the main bearing body in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to cool and lubricate components due to the flow of refrigerant thru a desired flow path).
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose at least two flow paths coming from the inlet lead through the second bearing unit into the space, one of the flow paths extending through the main bearing body and the other of the flow paths being guided through at least one entry opening formed as a through-hole in the main bearing housing.
Regarding claim 9, SHIMIZU discloses: at least two flow paths coming from the inlet lead through the second bearing unit into the space (see Figures 2 and 3, Column 4, lines 1-25, Column 4, lines 51-68), one of the flow paths extending through the main bearing body and the other of the flow paths being guided through at least one entry opening formed as a through-hole in the main bearing housing (see Figures 2 and 3, Column 4, lines 1-25, Column 4, lines 51-68).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have at least two flow paths coming from the inlet lead through the second bearing unit into the space, one of the flow paths extending through the main bearing body and the other of the flow paths being guided through at least one entry opening formed as a through-hole in the main bearing housing in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to cool and lubricate components due to the flow of refrigerant thru a desired flow path).
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose a plurality of entry openings are arranged around the circumference, preferably symmetrically.
Regarding claim 10, SHIMIZU discloses: a plurality of entry openings are arranged around the circumference, preferably symmetrically (see Figures 2 and 3, where the openings are shown thru (11) to be symmetrical that then flow thru the bearings (14)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a plurality of entry openings are arranged around the circumference, preferably symmetrically in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to have multiple entry openings that provide even flow).
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the drive shaft projects into the space and has a compensating mass and/or an eccentric drive in the space.
Regarding claim 11, SHIMIZU discloses: the drive shaft projects into the space and has a compensating mass and/or an eccentric drive in the space (see Figures 2 and 3, where an eccentric drive (see (16) that is an eccentric pin of the drive shaft, where the limitation is either both or either one, and therefore, SHIMIZU meets the claimed limitation).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the drive shaft projects into the space and has a compensating mass and/or an eccentric drive in the space in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to have a balanced shaft by compensating with a mass for the forces when the compressor is in operation).
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the space has at least one exit opening, and in that the exit opening defines a flow path which connects the space to the outer end regions.
Regarding claim 12, SHIMIZU discloses: the space has at least one exit opening (see Figures 2 and 3 that shows an exit opening), and in that the exit opening defines a flow path which connects the space to the outer end regions (see Figures 2 and 3, where the flow path connects with (60) that connects with the suction chamber (60).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the space has at least one exit opening, and in that the exit opening defines a flow path which connects the space to the outer end regions in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to lead the refrigerant to the inlet of the compression mechanism).
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the at least one exit opening is provided as a radially oriented axial cut-out on the side facing the first spiral unit.
Regarding claim 13, SHIMIZU discloses: the at least one exit opening is provided as a radially oriented axial cut-out on the side facing the first spiral unit (see Figures 2 and 3, where the radially orientated axial cut-out for the at least one exit opening also includes a bearing (34)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the at least one exit opening is provided as a radially oriented axial cut-out on the side facing the first spiral unit in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. allowing for an ease of manufacturing of the spiral unit in order to allow for the fluid to flow into the compression chamber of the compression unit).
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the at least one exit opening has a radially oriented first bore portion and an axially oriented second bore portion.
Regarding claim 14, SHIMIZU discloses: the at least one exit opening has a radially oriented first bore portion and an axially oriented second bore portion (see Figures 2 and 3, where the radially orientate first bore portion is shown (part of (62) and the axially orientated second bore portion is shown extending axially from (62) and contains the bearing (34)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the at least one exit opening has a radially oriented first bore portion and an axially oriented second bore portion in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to direct the working fluid into the compression chamber).
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the at least one exit opening is offset in the circumferential direction with respect to the at least one entry opening.
Regarding claim 15, SHIMIZU discloses: the at least one exit opening is offset in the circumferential direction with respect to the at least one entry opening (see Figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the at least one exit opening is offset in the circumferential direction with respect to the at least one entry opening in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to cool and lubricate components due to the flow of refrigerant thru a desired flow path).
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the at least one exit opening, on the side facing the first spiral unit, opens partially or completely within a surface which is traversed when the first spiral unit moves completely along the orbital path.
Regarding claim 16, SHIMIZU discloses: the at least one exit opening, on the side facing the first spiral unit, opens partially or completely within a surface which is traversed when the first spiral unit moves completely along the orbital path (see Figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the at least one exit opening, on the side facing the first spiral unit, opens partially or completely within a surface which is traversed when the first spiral unit moves completely along the orbital path in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to allow the flow of refrigerant thru a desired flow path and enter into the compression chamber of the scroll machine).
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the first spiral unit has, on the side facing the at least one exit opening, a recessed portion which is arranged within a surface and traverses the at least one exit opening during a complete movement along the orbital path.
Regarding claim 17, SHIMIZU discloses: the first spiral unit has, on the side facing the at least one exit opening (see Figures 2 and 3), a recessed portion which is arranged within a surface and traverses the at least one exit opening during a complete movement along the orbital path (see Figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the first spiral unit has, on the side facing the at least one exit opening, a recessed portion which is arranged within a surface and traverses the at least one exit opening during a complete movement along the orbital path in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to allow for fluid to enter into the compression chamber without restriction due the movement of the first spiral unit).
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of HARAKAWA.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose a ring-pin coupling is provided, and in that one of the flow paths is guided through the ring-pin coupling.
Regarding claim 18, HARAKAWA discloses: a ring-pin coupling (132) is provided, and in that one of the flow paths is guided through the ring-pin coupling (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a ring-pin coupling is provided, and in that one of the flow paths is guided through the ring-pin coupling in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. the ability to cool and lubricate components due to the flow of refrigerant thru a desired flow path including the anti-rotation mechanism of the scroll machine).
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of SHIMIZU.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the second spiral unit is stationary.
Regarding claim 19, SHIMIZU discloses: the second spiral unit is stationary (see Figures 2 and 3, Column 2, line 64 – Column 3, line 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the second spiral unit is stationary in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known configurations of a scroll machine requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results (i.e. a scroll machine is well known to use both a stationary scroll and a movable scroll and therefore, having the second spiral unit being stationary is obvious as evident by SHIMIZU).
Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of DOEPKER.
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose the pressure connection piece comprises a bushing with a non-return valve.
Regarding claim 21, DOEPKER teaches: the pressure connection piece (32, 34) comprises a bushing (see Figure 1 that shows a bushing in the pressure connection piece) with a non-return valve (34) (see Figure 1, ¶0058)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the pressure connection piece comprises a bushing with a non-return valve in the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, in order to prevent fluid from entering the discharge chamber through the pressure connection piece (see ¶0058, where the discharge outlet fitting and valve of DOEPKER is interpreted as the pressure connection piece as recited in claim 21 that has a bushing and non-return (check) valve).
Claim 22 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4/3/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 in view of PEREVOZCHIKOV (U.S. Patent Publication US 2018/0066656 A1).
U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2 discloses the claimed invention, however, fails to disclose a refrigeration system comprising a scroll machine.
Regarding claim 22, PEREVOZCHIKOV teaches a refrigeration system comprising a scroll machine (¶0004).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a refrigeration system comprising a scroll machine of the scroll machine of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,742 B2, since utilizing well-known components of a refrigeration system requires only routine skill in the art and produces predictable results.
Communication
/Mary A Davis/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746