DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 05/22/2025. Claim(s) 1-22 is/are pending and are examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application PCT/CA2024/050190, filed on February 15, 2025.
The instant application claims priority to the Provisional filed on August 16, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2025 and 08/28/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11-12, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan (US 11,196,550 B2), hereinafter Yuan.
Regarding Claim(s) 1 Yuan teaches:
A method for establishment of cryptographic secrets, the method comprising: (Yuan Col. 4 Ln. 4-10 teaches, The disclosed method, network and or nodes provide an improvement to the security of communication networks by realising the shortcomings of QKD and exploiting the benefits of classical key exchange techniques to implement a hybrid network combining both QKD and classical key exchange.)
obtaining a first input share from a key distribution network (KDN); and (Yuan Col. 1 Ln. 29-40 teaches, A quantum communication network may be used to share secret cryptographic keys between two nodes, a source node and a destination node, often referred to as “Alice” and “Bob”, and this technique is known as quantum key distribution (QKD).)
obtaining a second input share based on a hybrid key establishment method; (Yuan Col. 4 Ln. 4-10 teaches, network and or nodes provide an improvement to the security of communication networks by realising the shortcomings of QKD and exploiting the benefits of classical key exchange techniques to implement a hybrid network combining both QKD and classical key exchange.)
deriving, from the first input share and the second input share, a shared secret for use in cryptographic communication between an initiator and a respondent. (Yuan Col. 7 Ln. 50-55 teaches, A shared secret key between nodes A and F, K.sub.QKD, can be derived from secret information K.sub.S according to an appropriate protocol.)
Regarding Claim(s) 19 Yuan teaches:
A method for associating two entities comprising deriving shared secrets for use in cryptographic communications between the two entities, the method comprising: (Yuan Col. 2 Ln. 40-50 teaches, a first node and a second node according to an embodiment, where one or more first keys are exchanged using a quantum communication network and one or more second keys are exchanged using a classical communication network, and the one or more first keys are combined with the one or more second keys to form a combined cryptographic key, such that the first node and the second node share knowledge of the combined cryptographic key.)
based on a common shared base secret, deriving: (Yuan Col. 16 Ln. 26-31 teaches, All classical KEs require pre-shared secret for authentication. This pre-shared secret can either be agreed during the installation of the QKD network or be obtained through the use of public key cryptography with help of a certifying authority. This pre-shared secret can be replenished with the keys finally derived or exchanged. (i.e., base secret))
a key secret, (Yuan Col. 7 Ln. 50-54 teaches, A shared secret key between nodes A and F, K.sub.QKD, can be derived from secret information K.sub.S according to an appropriate protocol.)
a link secret, (Yuan Col. 7 Ln. 60-67 teaches, Nodes 1 and 3 do not have a direct QKD link and their shared quantum keys have to be formed via Node 2, which has a QKD link with each of node 1 and node 3.)
an authentication secret. (Yuan Col. 13 Ln. 55-60 teaches, Channel authentication is implemented using an agreed transport layer security (TLS) protocol where authentication relies on a secret key, pre-shared between the two nodes.)
Regarding Claim(s) 20 Yuan teaches:
The method of claim 19, (Yuan teaches the parent claim above.) wherein the link secret is used to communicate between the entities, and the key secret is used to introduce a third entity known by at least one of the two entities to the other of the two entities, for establishing a shared secret between the third entity and the other of the two entities. , (Yuan Col. 7 Ln. 50-67 teaches, A shared secret key between nodes A and F, K.sub.QKD, can be derived from secret information K.sub.S according to an appropriate protocol. Nodes 1 and 3 do not have a direct QKD link and their shared quantum keys have to be formed via Node 2, which has a QKD link with each of node 1 and node 3.)
Regarding Claim(s) 21 and 22 Yuan teaches:
A system for cryptographic communications, the system comprising at least two endpoints and a key distribution network comprising a plurality of key distribution hubs connected to one another, at least one of the endpoints comprising a process and memory, the memory storing computer executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the endpoint to perform operations comprising: (Yuan Col. 9 Ln. 14-15 teaches, a quantum communication system suitable for implementing a QKD link. Col. 6 Ln. 64-67 teaches, The node may contain a processor configured to implement the QKD protocol. The processor may be a central processing unit (CPU), graphical processing unit (GPU), or a field programmable gate array (FPGA). Details of a QKD protocol demonstrating how a first cryptographic key is shared or exchanged will be described below. Yuan Col. 7 Ln. 55-60 teaches, QKD Key exchange according to one example is described in FIG. 3. Nodes 1, 2 and 3 are three QKD nodes in a quantum communication network 1. Node 1 is termed the first node, node 3 is termed the second node, and node 2 is an intermediate node.)
obtaining a first input share from the key distribution network; (Yuan Col. 2 Ln. 40-50 teaches, a first node and a second node according to an embodiment, where one or more first keys are exchanged using a quantum communication network and one or more second keys are exchanged using a classical communication network, and the one or more first keys are combined with the one or more second keys to form a combined cryptographic key, such that the first node and the second node share knowledge of the combined cryptographic key.)
obtaining a second input share based on a hybrid key establishment method; and (Yuan Col. 4 Ln. 4-11 teaches, network and or nodes provide an improvement to the security of communication networks by realising the shortcomings of QKD and exploiting the benefits of classical key exchange techniques to implement a hybrid network combining both QKD and classical key exchange.)
deriving, from the first input share and the second input share, a shared secret for use in cryptographic communication between an initiator and a respondent. (Yuan Col. 7 Ln. 50-53 teaches, A shared secret key between nodes A and F, K.sub.QKD, can be derived from secret information K.sub.S according to an appropriate protocol.)
Regarding Claim(s) 11 Yuan teaches:
The method of claim 1, (Yuan teaches the parent claim above.) wherein the initiator and the respondent are both endpoints, the method further comprising: (Yuan Col. 12 Ln. 44-48 teaches, The second communication network 2 may be used to perform classical key exchange (CKE). FIG. 5 shows a schematic illustration of an initiator node (node A) and a responder node (node F) linked by the second communication network 2.)
transmitting, by the initiator, pre-key data received from a hub the respondent is associated with, the transmitted pre-key data being processed by the respondent to obtain the first input; (Yuan Col. 15 Ln. 25-31 teaches, source node A and destination node F share two keys; a first key (K.sub.QKD), and a second key (K.sub.QRA). K.sub.QKD is exchanged through the quantum communication network, through intermediate repeater nodes, as described herein. K.sub.QRA is securely exchanged through the second communication network using a quantum-resistant algorithm as described herein.)
performing the hybrid key establishment method to generate the second input; and (Yuan Col. 16 Ln. 60-67 teaches, The Quantum key K.sub.QKD is then combined with K.sub.2 using PRF to form K.sub.3. PRF is preferable because it allows derivation of multiple keys. One of such keys can be used for confirmation of success of the protocol execution. However, it is possible also to use exclusive or operation for combining the quantum key K.sub.QKD and the classical K.sub.2 of equal length.)
validating the first input and the second input. (Yuan Col. 16 Ln. 60-67 teaches, The Quantum key K.sub.QKD is then combined with K.sub.2 using PRF to form K.sub.3. PRF is preferable because it allows derivation of multiple keys. One of such keys can be used for confirmation of success of the protocol execution. However, it is possible also to use exclusive or operation for combining the quantum key K.sub.QKD and the classical K.sub.2 of equal length.)
Regarding Claim(s) 12 Yuan teaches:
The method of claim 11, (Yuan teaches the parent claim above.) wherein the respondent is configured to, in processing the pre- key data, to:
update a secret associated with an update counter for communications between the respondent and the KDN; and (Yuan Col. 15-16 Ln. 60-65 and 1, The index in each node can be synchronised through a session counter represented by the variable ‘ctr’ in FIG. 7; the variable ‘ctr’ is exchanged between the initiator and responder nodes such that both return identical quantum keys from their key stores. )
compute the first input based on the updated secret. (Yuan Col. 15-16 Ln. 60-65 and 1, The index in each node can be synchronised through a session counter represented by the variable ‘ctr’ in FIG. 7; the variable ‘ctr’ is exchanged between the initiator and responder nodes such that both return identical quantum keys from their key stores. )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Underwood (US 2024/0250815 A1), hereinafter Underwood.
Regarding Claim(s) 2 Yuan teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the first input share from the KDN comprises: (Yuan teaches the parent claim above.)
requesting, by the initiator, a dataset for establishing communication with the respondent; and
receiving a responding dataset from the KDN comprising (1) a base key derived from a pre-existing key secret between the respondent and a hub of the KDN, (2) an update counter
and identifiers for the initiator and the hub, (Yuan Col. 16 Ln. 25-31 teaches, This pre-shared secret can either be agreed during the installation of the QKD network or be obtained through the use of public key cryptography with help of a certifying authority. This pre-shared secret can be replenished with the keys finally derived or exchanged. Yuan Col. 15-16 Ln. 57-67 and 1-20 teaches, node A (FIG. 4) has a key store “store A-F”, which is dedicated for communication with node F. (i.e., identifiers of hubs) Equally, node F has a corresponding key store “store F-A” which holds identical keys as those in “store A-F”. Through index synchronisation, nodes A and F return identical quantum keys from their key stores. The index in each node can be synchronised through a session counter represented by the variable ‘ctr’ in FIG. 7; (i.e., counter) the variable ‘ctr’ is exchanged between the initiator and responder nodes such that both return identical quantum keys from their key stores.)
Yuan does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
and (3) a message authentication code (MAC) authenticating the update counter and the identifiers (Underwood ¶ 20 teaches, Data may be encrypted using the Advanced Encryption Standard's Galois Counter Mode (AES-GCM) algorithm for authenticating and encrypting/decrypting packet data. AES-GCM is a 128-bit block cipher that uses hashing over a binary Galois field to provide authenticated encryption and authenticated decryption. A particular request or service may associate a plurality of applications for the given request or service. The applications may share a key. Replay may be detected using the reliability protocol. Network encryption may have four inputs, including a 256-bit secret key, a 96-bit nonce, the plaintext to be encrypted, and additional data. The 96-bit nonce may comprise, for example, the 32-bit source identifier and a 64-bit unique initialization vector (IV).)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Yuan with Underwood, to modify the hybrid classic quantum key exchange network of Yuan with the authentication of Underwood. The motivation to do so, Underwood ¶ 16, to improve authenticity and privacy in the system.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Underwood as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Stapleton (US 12,192,328 B1), hereinafter Stapleton.
Regarding Claim(s) 3 Yuan in view of Underwood teaches:
The method of claim 2, (Yuan in view of Underwood teaches the parent claim above.) further comprising
Yuan in view of Underwood does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
rolling the pre-existing key secret, by the respondent, in response to receiving the responding dataset. (Stapleton Col. 19 Ln. 60-67 teaches, the triggering condition may not necessarily cause new sets of seed bits to be received, but instead, cause a rotation of symmetric keys which have already been derived.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Yuan in view of Underwood with Stapleton, to modify the hybrid classic quantum key exchange network of Yuan with the authentication of Underwood with the method for secure communication based on random key derivation of Stapleton. The motivation to do so, Stapleton Col. 1 Ln. 40-42, a more efficient and improved process for maintaining secure communication between devices in the event of key lifecycle expiration.
Regarding Claim(s) 4 Yuan-Underwood-Stapleton teaches:
The method of claim 2, (Yuan in view of Underwood teaches the parent claim above.) wherein the initiator transmitting the request for the dataset triggers rolling of the pre-existing key secret by the hub. (Stapleton Col. 19 Ln. 60-67 teaches, the triggering condition may not necessarily cause new sets of seed bits to be received, but instead, cause a rotation of symmetric keys which have already been derived.)
The motive given in Claim 3 is equally applicable to the above claim.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Underwood as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Link (US 2017/0272944 A1), hereinafter Link.
Regarding Claim(s) 5 Yuan in view of Underwood teaches:
The method of claim 2, further comprising establishing a secure link between the initiator and another hub of the KDN by: (Yuan in view of Underwood teaches the parent claim above.)
deriving, by the initiator, an authentication secret based on a pre-existing link secret shared by the other hub and the initiator; (Yuan Col. 13 Ln. 54-60 teaches, comprising an authenticated communication channel between the two nodes such that the identity of at least one node is authenticated. Channel authentication is implemented using an agreed transport layer security (TLS) protocol where authentication relies on a secret key, pre-shared between the two nodes.)
Yuan in view of Underwood does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
transmitting, by the initiator, at least the identifier of the initiator authenticated using the derived authentication secret, the derived authentication secret being able to validate the authenticated identifier transmitted by the initiator; (Link ¶ 111 teaches, The SIM compares the MAC, which is a portion of AUT-GATEWAY, received from PSKKeyGen with the XMAC.)
receiving and confirming subsequent data from the other hub, the subsequent data being validated with the derived authentication secret. (Link ¶ 111 teaches, In the event of a determination of a mismatch, application authentication code running in the wireless device's SIM determines whether the SQN matches the SQN received from the PSKKeyGen in the AUT_GATEWAY. If they match, the wireless device sends an Authentication Failure to the PSKKeyGen.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Yuan in view of Underwood with Link, to modify the hybrid classic quantum key exchange network of Yuan with the authentication of Underwood with the authentication secret protocol of Link. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique of including identifiers for authentication to known devices and/or methods for secure key exchange ready for improvement to yield predictable results in depth authentication that may confirm identities of nodes communicating.
Regarding Claim(s) 6 Yuan-Underwood-Link teaches:
The method of claim 5, (Yuan-Underwood-Link teaches the parent claim above.) wherein the hub and the other hub are the same hub of the KDN. (Yuan Col. 13 Ln. 52-60 teaches, the second communication network is a classical communication network 2 comprising an authenticated communication channel between the two nodes such that the identity of at least one node is authenticated. Channel authentication is implemented using an agreed transport layer security (TLS) protocol where authentication relies on a secret key, pre-shared between the two nodes.)
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan-Underwood-Link as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Xiao (US 2011/0078445 A1), hereinafter Xiao
Regarding Claim(s) 7 Yuan-Underwood-Link teaches:
The method of claim 5, (Yuan-Underwood-Link teaches the parent claim above.)
Yuan-Underwood-Link does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
wherein at least the identifier of the initiator further comprises a nonce, and the subsequent data further comprises a second nonce, and the link key is derived based on the nonce and the second nonce. (Xiao ¶ 38 teaches, The first random value may be a first nonce N1, and the second random value may be comprises a second nonce N2. The group super device derives a link key using a key derivation function (KDF): LK1=KDF(N1, N2, MK1))
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Yuan-Underwood-Link with Xiao, to modify the hybrid classic quantum key exchange network of Yuan with the authentication of Underwood with the authentication secret protocol of Link with the nonces of Xiao. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique for using nonces in a key derivation process to known devices and/or methods for a secure key exchange network ready for improvement to yield predictable results creating a further layer of randomization to increase security.
Regarding Claim(s) 8 Yuan-Underwood-Link-Xiao teaches:
The method of claim 7, further comprising (Yuan-Underwood-Link-Xiao teaches the parent claim above.) updating the pre-existing link secret in response to the deriving the link key. (Link ¶ 97 teaches, the PSK Generator begins the update process by retrieving the current secret credentials contained in database by using the PSK-ID as the identifier of device. A decision to update security credentials for use in securely communicating with a given device, or an application running thereon, may be made at each new connection request made by either wireless device or an application server that seeks to query the wireless device.)
Regarding Claim(s) 9 Yuan-Underwood-Link-Xiao teaches:
The method of claim 8, (Yuan-Underwood-Link-Xiao teaches the parent claim above.) further comprising using the updated link secret to establish subsequent secure links. (Link ¶ 110 teaches, updating of an existing, current, or working PSK could be based on time, perhaps once per day, per week, or even once per year, or the trigger criterion could be connection based, perhaps as often as every connection or every 10 connections, or even potentially it could be based on a combination of time and connection-based conditions, or the determination that an application device should update its PSK may be based on any other factor determined at either the client or the server endpoint devices.)
Regarding Claim(s) 10 Yuan-Underwood-Link-Xiao teaches:
The method of claim 5, (Yuan-Underwood-Link-Xiao teaches the parent claim above.) wherein the established secure link is used for secure asynchronous communication, and the method further comprises employing secure asynchronous communication based on the derived link key and a message counter. (Yuan Col. 15-16 Ln. 55-67 and 1 teaches, The initiator and responder are located at the two distant nodes in a QKD network. Each node consists of a QKD key store 103, dedicated for secure communication between its intended communication peer. For example, node A (FIG. 4) has a key store “store A-F”, which is dedicated for communication with node F. Equally, node F has a corresponding key store “store F-A” which holds identical keys as those in “store A-F”. Through index synchronisation, nodes A and F return identical quantum keys from their key stores. The index in each node can be synchronised through a session counter represented by the variable ‘ctr’ in FIG. 7; the variable ‘ctr’ is exchanged between the initiator and responder nodes such that both return identical quantum keys from their key stores.)
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan as applied to claim 1 above, and further view of Giron (Post-quantum hybrid key exchange: a systematic mapping study), hereinafter Giron.
Regarding Claim(s) 13 Yuan teaches:
The method of claim 1, (Yuan teaches the parent claim above.)
Yuan does not appear to explicitly teach post-quantum and classical approaches but in related art:
wherein the hybrid key establishment method is based on exchanging via both a classical approach and a post-quantum approach. (Giron Abstract, some of these proposals combine well-known classical cryptographic key exchange protocols with novel post-quantum schemes.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Yuan with Giron, to modify the hybrid classic quantum key exchange network of Yuan with the post-quantum hybrid method of Giron. The motivation to do so Giron Abstract, to retain the time-tested trust on “pre-quantum KEXs” while facilitating a smoother transition toward a post quantum world.
Regarding Claim(s) 14 Yuan in view of Giron teaches:
The method of claim 13, (Yuan in view of Giron teaches the parent claim above.) wherein the exchange comprises at least two exchanges, and the classical approach and the post-quantum approach exchanges are independent of one another. (Giron section 4 teaches, Our classification for the hybrid KEX designs presents the proposed approaches for each “part” of the KEX process. First, the communicating parties have to transmit cryptographic data (e.g., public keys) of all algorithms in use to start the protocol.)
Regarding Claim(s) 15 Yuan in view of Giron teaches:
The method of claim 13, (Yuan in view of Giron teaches the parent claim above.) comprising combining secrets resulting from the classical approach and the post-quantum approach to form the resulting hybrid shared secret. (Giron section 4 teaches, Secondly, a hybrid KEX must combine the shared secrets of each algorithm. Finally, the output of the hybrid KEX is often used as input to a Key-Derivation Method, allowing parties to derive the desired amount of cryptographic keys.)
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stapleton.
Regarding Claim(s) 16 Yuan teaches:
The method of claim 11, wherein validating the first and second inputs comprises: (Yuan teaches the parent claim above.)
deriving a confirmation key from the first input and the second input; and (Yuan Col. 16 Ln. 58-65 teaches, In the stage for combining with QKD keys, session counter information is used to derive the key index in the QKD key store and a corresponding key is called from the QKD key stores at both nodes. The Quantum key K.sub.QKD is then combined with K.sub.2 using PRF to form K.sub.3. PRF is preferable because it allows derivation of multiple keys. One of such keys can be used for confirmation of success of the protocol execution)
Yuan does not appear to explicitly teach but in related art:
confirming, by the initiator, the validity of a message authentication code received from the respondent, the received message authentication code being generated at least in part with the confirmation key; (Stapleton Col. 16 Ln. 42-67 teaches, for generating a message authentication code using the first symmetric key. A MAC may comprise data used for authenticating a message (e.g., to confirm that the message originated from the sender indicated by the message and has not been changed. A MAC protects a message's data integrity and authenticity by allowing verifiers to detect any changes to the content of the message.)
transmitting, by the initiator, a message comprising a message authentication code generated at least in part based on the confirmation key to enable the respondent to validate the initiator transmitted message authentication code. (Stapleton Col. 16 Ln. 42-67 teaches, for generating a message authentication code using the first symmetric key. A MAC may comprise data used for authenticating a message (e.g., to confirm that the message originated from the sender indicated by the message and has not been changed. A MAC protects a message's data integrity and authenticity by allowing verifiers to detect any changes to the content of the message.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill the art, prior to the applicant's earliest effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Yuan with Stapleton, to modify the hybrid classic quantum key exchange network of Yuan with the method for secure communication based on random key derivation of Stapleton. The motivation to do so, Stapleton Col. 1 Ln. 40-42, a more efficient and improved process for maintaining secure communication between devices in the event of key lifecycle expiration.
Regarding Claim(s) 17 Yuan in view of Stapleton teaches:
The method of claim 16, (Yuan in view of Stapleton teaches the parent claim above.) wherein the message authentication code is generated based on outputs of the hybrid key establishment method. (Yuan Col. 17 Ln. 48-55 teaches, it is possible to include a key confirmation step. In this case, the PRF combining K.sub.2 and K.sub.QKD produces two parts output, K.sub.enc for encryption, and K.sub.F for the initiator and responder to confirm they have identical keys. If the confirmation is successful, K.sub.enc will be passed for subsequent applications. If not, the key exchange protocol is restarted.)
Regarding Claim(s) 18 Yuan in view of Stapleton teaches:
The method of claim 12, (Yuan teaches the parent claim above.) further comprising storing unused first inputs and deleting used first inputs. (Stapleton Col. 12 Ln. 4-10 teaches, device may derive and store a plurality of future symmetric keys while the first symmetric key is in use, and upon occurrence of a triggering condition (e.g., expiration of the first symmetric key), (i.e., deleting used) the computing devices may select a future key from the stored plurality of future keys and continue to securely communicate using the selected future key.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10243732 B1 - Technology can be used for sending and receiving messages on a CAN bus with a plurality of ECUs. The technology can include identifying a first message to send to a receiving ECU from a sending ECU; incrementing a sender-version message counter for the message type; determining to create a second session for the message type in the sending ECU
/J.B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408