DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Applicant’s response filed on May 22, 2025. As set forth therein, claims 1-15 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 22, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the Examiner notes that claim 7 recites "active noise cancelling, ANC, module". Since "ANC" is an . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the third audio input” and “the fourth audio input” " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner notes that “third audio input” and “fourth audio input” were recited in claim 8, thus for purposes of claim interpretation, the Examiner will examine claim 9 as if it depends on claim 8.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the third audio input” and “the fourth audio input” " in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner notes that ‘third audio input” and “fourth audio input” were recited in claim 8, thus for purposes of claim interpretation, the Examiner will examine claim 10 as if it depends on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Von Bulow US Patent Pub. 2018/0047410.
Regarding claim 1:
An audio device comprising:
See paragraphs [0013]-[0019] of Von Bulow which discloses “a signal processor for a headset configured with a microphone terminal for receiving a microphone signal, a loudspeaker terminal for outputting a loudspeaker signal, and a far-end terminal (108) for communicating an inbound signal and an outbound signal with a far-end”. See also Figure 1.
a plurality of microphones comprising a first microphone configured to provide a first audio input signal and a second microphone configured to provide a second audio input signal;
Von Bulow discloses an input signal from microphone 120. See paragraph [0098] which discloses “[t]he signal processor 105 is configured with a microphone terminal 106 for receiving a microphone signal from the microphone 120,”.
Von Bulow further discloses “the headset 101 may have a housing 103 with an ear-cup, of the on-the-ear type or over-the-ear type and a microphone boom 104 extending from the housing 103 and having a microphone end or microphone compartment 102 hosting one or more microphones, e.g. a directional microphone, for picking up a headset wearer's speech”. See paragraph [0096].
See also paragraph [0139] which discloses “the signal processor may comprise a beam former 801 which generates the microphone signal from two or more microphones”.
an output transducer configured to output a near-end audio output signal; and
Von Bulow discloses an output transducer 119. See paragraph [0097]-[0098] and Figure 1. See also paragraph [0010] which discloses “a mixer may be configured to mix some audible amount of the headset wearer's speech (a near-end speech estimate) into an audio signal to be reproduced by the one or more loudspeakers in the headset”.
processor circuitry comprising a signal processor module configured to provide a far-end audio output signal and a sidetone module configured to provide a sidetone audio output signal,
Von Bulow discloses a signal processor module 105. See paragraph [0098]. See also paragraph [0106] which discloses “[t]he signal processor 105 may comprise a communications module 121 which is connected to the far-end terminal 108 and configured to communicate the inbound and outbound signal with one or more of a smart-phone 115, a desk telephone 116, a personal computer 117, a base station (not shown) and other types of devices.” See also paragraph [0100] which discloses “[a]n outbound path 109 extends from the microphone terminal 106 to the far-end terminal 108.”
See paragraph [0102] which discloses “A side-tone path 110 extends from the microphone terminal 106 or from the outbound path 109 and is configured to generate a side-tone signal from the microphone signal via a controllable side-tone filter 111. The controllable side-tone filter 111 is dynamically controlled to minimize or reduce the amount of noise picked up by the microphone 120 and reproduced in the side-tone. The controllable side-tone filter 111 is controlled by a side-tone filter controller 114 that receives the microphone signal and computes a first noise estimate. The first noise estimate is computed based on the microphone signal and comprises a signal-to-noise level at respective frequency bands. Based thereon the side-tone filter controller 114 controls the side-tone filter 111 to optimize or improve a signal-to-noise ratio at the respective frequency bands.” See also paragraph [0098] and [0100] and Figure 1.
wherein the signal processor module is configured to process the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal for provision of a plurality of filter parameters,
Von Bulow discloses a signal processor module (105) is configured to process the first audio input signal with a plurality of filter parameters. See paragraph [0098] and [0106] and Figure 1.
With reference to Figure 2 and paragraphs [0108]-[0111] discloses a controllable side-tone filter 111 comprises a series of signal processing stages comprising a gain stage 201 and multiple filter stages 202 through 206 which are individually controllable via the side-tone filter controller 114.
See also paragraphs [0135]-[0139] which disclose receiving microphone signals from two or more microphones and of computing/searching for filter parameters. See Figure 8 and 9.
wherein the sidetone module is configured to obtain first data indicative of the plurality of filter parameters and to process the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal for provision of the sidetone audio output signal using one or more filters based on the first data, and
With reference to Figure 2 and paragraphs [0108]-[0111] discloses a controllable side-tone filter 111 comprises a series of signal processing stages comprising a gain stage 201 and multiple filter stages 202 through 206 which are individually controllable via the side-tone filter controller 114. As explained in paragraph [0110], “[t]he signal processing stages comprising the filter stages and the gain stage are controlled via the side-tone filter controller 114 which sets filter coefficients and/or gain coefficients to obtain a desired transfer function for the controllable side-tone filter 111.”
See also paragraphs [0136]-[0149]. As set forth therein, the FFT component and gain receives a microphone signal, and the microphone signal (BF) generates a microphone signal from two or more microphones. Thus, the sidetone module is configured to process the first and second input signals from the two or microphones using filters which are based on the first data received from the controller.
Von Bulow explains that “[t]he side-tone filter controller 114 comprises an FFT component 802 that receives the microphone signal and computes an FFT frequency amplitude or power spectrum from a sampled time-domain microphone signal. Based on the FFT frequency amplitude or power spectrum a noise estimator 803 computes a noise estimate as illustrated above for the microphone signal. The noise estimator 803 may base its computation of the noise estimate on a signal, from a voice-activity-detector 804, indicative of whether speech is present in the microphone signal or not. Based on the noise estimate an optimal filter search, OFS, component 805 performs a search for parameters for an optimal filter as described above and passes the parameters found onto a filter parameter to filter coefficients, FP2FC, component 806 which computes filter coefficients and configures the filter stages 202 through 206 accordingly. The parameters are also passed on to an approximator, APX, 807 which computes an approximated frequency domain gain response based on the filter parameters, whereby noise estimator 803 can compute an updated noise estimate. Based on the noise estimate, a max gain component 808 computes a gain coefficient for the gain stage 201.”
wherein the near-end audio output signal is based on the sidetone audio output signal and a far-end audio input signal.
See mixer/combiner 112 in figure 1 and paragraph [0101]. As set forth therein, “[a]n inbound path 112 extends from the far-end terminal 108 to the loudspeaker terminal 107 and comprises a combiner 113 configured to combine a side-tone signal and the inbound signal to generate the loudspeaker signal.”
Regarding claim 11:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the sidetone module is configured to determine the one or more filters based on the first data.
Von Bulow discloses in paragraph [0047] “coefficients for a filter stage are implemented in a filter stage during the course of the iterative process. In other aspects, the filter stages are controlled via the coefficients when the iterative process has completed an iteration round. In the latter case, the signal processor keeps a representation, over the course of the iterative process, of each filter model computed at respective iterations of the process.” See also paragraph [0048]. As set forth in claim 1, see paragraphs [0136]-[0149] which explain the determination of filters based on data.
Regarding claim 12:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the sidetone module is initialized with one or more pre-determined filters for the processing of the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal.
See paragraph [0030] which discloses “[e]ach of the individually controllable filter stages may be controlled by setting filter coefficients in a predetermined filter structure e.g. a bi-quad direct form or bi-quad direct form 2, or a bi-quad transposed form. The filter stages may be controlled via parameters such as a centre frequency, bandwidth and gain for a peak filter, via a cut-off frequency, steepness and a gain level for a shelf filter, and via a cut-off frequency and steepness for a low-pass filter”. See also paragraphs [0134]-[0139] which correspond to Figure 8 and explains that the processing is for two or more microphones and [0140]-[0149] which correspond to Figure 9 and which explains the setting of one or more pre-determined filters.
Regarding claim 15:
A method, performed by an audio device, for sidetone processing,
See paragraphs [0013]-[0019] of Von Bulow which discloses “a signal processor for a headset configured with a microphone terminal for receiving a microphone signal, a loudspeaker terminal for outputting a loudspeaker signal, and a far-end terminal (108) for communicating an inbound signal and an outbound signal with a far-end”. See also Figure 1 and paragraph [0102] which discloses a side-tone path with a controllable side-tone filter 111 and side-tone filter controller 114.
wherein the audio device comprises a plurality of microphones comprising a first microphone configured to provide a first audio input signal and a second microphone configured to provide a second audio input signal;
Von Bulow discloses an input signal from microphone 120. See paragraph [0098] which discloses “[t]he signal processor 105 is configured with a microphone terminal 106 for receiving a microphone signal from the microphone 120,”.
Von Bulow further discloses “the headset 101 may have a housing 103 with an ear-cup, of the on-the-ear type or over-the-ear type and a microphone boom 104 extending from the housing 103 and having a microphone end or microphone compartment 102 hosting one or more microphones, e.g. a directional microphone, for picking up a headset wearer's speech”. See paragraph [0096].
See also paragraph [0139] which discloses “the signal processor may comprise a beam former 801 which generates the microphone signal from two or more microphones”.
an output transducer configured to output a near-end audio output signal; and
Von Bulow discloses an output transducer 119. See paragraph [0097]-[0098] and Figure 1. See also paragraph [0010] which discloses “a mixer may be configured to mix some audible amount of the headset wearer's speech (a near-end speech estimate) into an audio signal to be reproduced by the one or more loudspeakers in the headset”.
processor circuitry comprising a signal processor module configured to provide a far-end audio output signal and a sidetone module configured to provide a sidetone audio output signal, wherein the method comprises:
Von Bulow discloses a signal processor module 105. See paragraph [0098]. See also paragraph [0106] which discloses “[t]he signal processor 105 may comprise a communications module 121 which is connected to the far-end terminal 108 and configured to communicate the inbound and outbound signal with one or more of a smart-phone 115, a desk telephone 116, a personal computer 117, a base station (not shown) and other types of devices.” See also paragraph [0100] which discloses “[a]n outbound path 109 extends from the microphone terminal 106 to the far-end terminal 108.”
See paragraph [0102] which discloses “A side-tone path 110 extends from the microphone terminal 106 or from the outbound path 109 and is configured to generate a side-tone signal from the microphone signal via a controllable side-tone filter 111. The controllable side-tone filter 111 is dynamically controlled to minimize or reduce the amount of noise picked up by the microphone 120 and reproduced in the side-tone. The controllable side-tone filter 111 is controlled by a side-tone filter controller 114 that receives the microphone signal and computes a first noise estimate. The first noise estimate is computed based on the microphone signal and comprises a signal-to-noise level at respective frequency bands. Based thereon the side-tone filter controller 114 controls the side-tone filter 111 to optimize or improve a signal-to-noise ratio at the respective frequency bands.” See also paragraph [0098] and [0100] and Figure 1.
obtaining the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal;
See paragraph [0139] which discloses “the signal processor may comprise a beam former 801 which generates the microphone signal from two or more microphones”.
processing, using the signal processor module, the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal for provision of a plurality of filter parameters;
Von Bulow discloses a signal processor module (105) which is configured to process the first audio input signal with a plurality of filter parameters. See paragraph [0098] and [0106] and Figure 1. As set forth in paragraph [0139], the audio input signal can include a first and second audio inpt signal based on two or more signals from two or more microphones. See also paragraphs [0135-0149] which is directed to two more microphone input signals.
With reference to Figure 2 and paragraphs [0108]-[0111] discloses a controllable side-tone filter 111 comprises a series of signal processing stages comprising a gain stage 201 and multiple filter stages 202 through 206 which are individually controllable via the side-tone filter controller 114.
See also paragraphs [0135]-[0139] which disclose receiving microphone signals from two or more microphones and of computing/searching for filter parameters. See Figure 8 and 9.
obtaining, using the sidetone module, first data indicative of the plurality of filter parameters; processing, using the sidetone module, the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal for provision of the sidetone audio output signal using one or more filters based on the first data; and
With reference to Figure 2 and paragraphs [0108]-[0111] discloses a controllable side-tone filter 111 comprises a series of signal processing stages comprising a gain stage 201 and multiple filter stages 202 through 206 which are individually controllable via the side-tone filter controller 114. As explained in paragraph [0110], “[t]he signal processing stages comprising the filter stages and the gain stage are controlled via the side-tone filter controller 114 which sets filter coefficients and/or gain coefficients to obtain a desired transfer function for the controllable side-tone filter 111.”
See also paragraphs [0136]-[0149]. As set forth therein, the FFT component and gain receives a microphone signal, and the microphone signal (BF) generates a microphone signal from two or more microphones. Thus, the sidetone module is configured to process the first and second input signals from the two or microphones using filters which are based on the first data received from the controller.
Von Bulow explains that “[t]he side-tone filter controller 114 comprises an FFT component 802 that receives the microphone signal and computes an FFT frequency amplitude or power spectrum from a sampled time-domain microphone signal. Based on the FFT frequency amplitude or power spectrum a noise estimator 803 computes a noise estimate as illustrated above for the microphone signal. The noise estimator 803 may base its computation of the noise estimate on a signal, from a voice-activity-detector 804, indicative of whether speech is present in the microphone signal or not. Based on the noise estimate an optimal filter search, OFS, component 805 performs a search for parameters for an optimal filter as described above and passes the parameters found onto a filter parameter to filter coefficients, FP2FC, component 806 which computes filter coefficients and configures the filter stages 202 through 206 accordingly. The parameters are also passed on to an approximator, APX, 807 which computes an approximated frequency domain gain response based on the filter parameters, whereby noise estimator 803 can compute an updated noise estimate. Based on the noise estimate, a max gain component 808 computes a gain coefficient for the gain stage 201.”
outputting the near-end audio output signal based on the sidetone audio output signal and a far-end input signal.
See mixer/combiner 112 in figure 1 and paragraph [0101]. As set forth therein, “[a]n inbound path 112 extends from the far-end terminal 108 to the loudspeaker terminal 107 and comprises a combiner 113 configured to combine a side-tone signal and the inbound signal to generate the loudspeaker signal.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Bulow in view of Loiko et al. CN 1125348001.
Regarding claim 2:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein to obtain first data comprises to perform windowing of the first data for reducing a sample size of the first data.
Von Bulow discloses “[t]he microphone signal is filtered by the controllable side-tone filter at a filter rate, typically, at a regular sample rate or a decimated sample rate. The control path controls the controllable side-tone filter at a control rate, which may be the same as the filter rate or a lower regular or irregular rate. The controllable side-tone filter is adapted at the control rate.” See paragraphs[0025]-[0026].
Von Bulow does not specifically perform windowing of the first data for reducing a sample size of the first data.
Nonetheless, Loiko discloses of receiving a microphone audio signal (See page 8 “configured to receive a…..microphone audio signal 132”). As set forth also on page 8 “[t]he down-sampler 310 is configured to modify the received audio signal by reducing the sampling rate or sample size of the audio signal. In other words, the down-sampler 310 generates a down-sampled signal 312 from the received audio signal. The playing audio signal 112, each of the microphone audio signal 132 and the lowering signal 142 may be downsampled by the down-sampler 310. The downsampling often reduces the amount of samples associated with the audio signal to accommodate limitations associated with bandwidth or audio format size.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce the sample size of the first data. As explained by Loiko, reducing the sample size of the microphone audio signal would help accommodate any limitations associated with bandwidth or audio format size. As set forth by Von Bulow, it was already known to change the sample rate or to use a ’decimated sample rate’. Loiko discloses the same benefits by disclosing reducing the sampling rate “or” reducing sample size of the audio signal. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have considered alternative methods to modify the audio signal as disclosed by Loiko since Von Bulow already discloses of the desired to reduce the sampling rate of the audio signal and Loiko discloses the same teachings directed to this reduction as well as other methods such as reducing the sample size of the data for the same benefit.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Bulow US Patent Pub. 2018/0047410 in view of Hu US Patent 9,601,128.
Regarding claim 3:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the sidetone module is configured to perform smoothing of the first data.
Von Bulow does not specifically disclose performing smoothing of the first data.
Nonetheless, Hu discloses employ smoothing technique to prevent the estimation of the amount of voice and amount of noise from being affected by short, rapid changes or errors, and to prevent the result [] from being unstable or misjudgment. See col. 4, lines 58-64.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to performing smoothing of the first data. As explained by Hu, smoothing prevents the data from being affected by short, rapid changes or errors or prevents the data from being unstable. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have performed smoothing in order to prevent the data from being affected by any short, rapid changes or errors.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Bulow US Patent Pub. 2018/0047410 in view of Anderton US Patent Pub. 2008/0039162.
Regarding claim 4:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein an input buffer size of the sidetone module is smaller than or equal to an input buffer size of the signal processor module.
Von Bulow does not specifically disclose an input buffer for the sidetone module or the signal processor module.
Nonetheless, Anderton discloses a method for sidetone generation. With reference to paragraph [0029] and [0036], Anderton discloses that the sidetone path includes an input buffer that may be located in the DSP. In addition, an output buffer is also located in the DSP. Anderton further discloses that the sidetone generator further includes a FIFO input buffer, a FIFO output buffer and a circular input buffer and an output buffer 220. See Figure 4. As explained by Anderton in paragraph [0036], the receive buffer (in the DSP) serves as a reservoir that stores data until the bulk digital circuitry becomes active. The data is then transmitted into a receive FIFO buffer and then to the circular input buffer. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the initial buffer of the processing entity is larger than the input buffer of the sidetone module since it serves as a reservoir for all incoming data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to include an input buffer for both the sidetone module and the signal processor module of Von Bulow so that data can be initially stored while circuity becomes active and so that data can be stored for further processing. See paragraph [0036] of Anderton. In addition, Anderton discloses that this allows the establishment of a delay in the path to prevent the outgoing buffers from being depleted. See paragraph [0029] of Anderton.
Regarding claim 5:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein an output buffer size of the sidetone module is smaller than or equal to an output buffer of the signal processor module.
Von Bulow does not specifically disclose an output buffer for the sidetone module or the signal processor module.
Nonetheless, Anderton discloses a method for sidetone generation. With reference to paragraph [0029] and [0036], Anderton discloses that the sidetone path includes an input buffer that may be located in the DSP. In addition, an output buffer is also located in the DSP. Anderton further discloses that the sidetone generator further includes a FIFO input buffer, a FIFO output buffer and a circular input buffer and an output buffer 220. See Figure 4. As explained by Anderton in paragraph [0036], the receive buffer (in the DSP) serves as a reservoir that stores data until the bulk digital circuitry becomes active. The data is then transmitted into a receive FIFO buffer and then to the circular input buffer.
As set forth in paragraph [0031]-[0033] and [0036-0038], “[f]or the transmit side of the sidetone generator 200, data is read from the output buffer 220 and is written into the transmit FIFO buffer 240. During digital signal processing time slots, data is automatically transferred from the transmit FIFO buffer 240 into the transmit buffer 250. The transmit buffer 250 operates continuously and sources data to the digital interface 100, regardless of the TDI state.” In addition, Anderton discloses “the port driver 260 keeps the buffers in the sidetone path as full as possible”. Anderton also discloses that the transmit buffer 250 is active during all RF and signal-processing time slots. See paragraph [0033]. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the output buffer is larger than the output buffer of the sidetone module since it is active during all RF and signal-processing time slots and thus holds more data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to include an output buffer for both the sidetone module and the signal processor module of Von Bulow so that data can be stored for processing and kept full for transmission out of the system. See paragraph [0036] of Anderton. In addition, Anderton discloses that this allows the establishment of a delay in the path to prevent the outgoing buffers from being depleted. See paragraph [0029] of Anderton.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Bulow US Patent Pub. 2018/0047410 in view of Spittle WO 2022/026481.
Regarding claim 6:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the sidetone module comprises a down-sampler and/or an up-sampler configured to reduce an amount of computations at the sidetone module.
Von Bulow discloses “[t]he microphone signal is filtered by the controllable side-tone filter at a filter rate, typically, at a regular sample rate or a decimated sample rate.” See paragraphs[0025]-[0026].
The Examiner notes that although Von Bulow discloses of the side tone module sampling the signal, Von Bulow does not specifically disclose that its for reducing an amount of computations.
Nonetheless, Spittle discloses a method for performing a side tone function which receives a signal picked up by a microphone. See paragraph [0657]. As set forth in paragraphs [0684] and [0687],Spittle discloses that both down-sampling and up sampling may be formed. Each one has benefits including decreasing latency and or decreasing signal processing and for increasing efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to down-sample or up-sample and further to understand that down sampling may decreasing signal processing and memory usage (reduce an amount of computations) for increased efficiency.
Claim(s) 7-10, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Bulow US Patent Pub. 2018/0047410 in view of Lu et al. US Patent Pub. 2024/0144906.
Regarding claim 7:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the audio device comprises an active noise cancelling, ANC, module, configured to obtain and process the sidetone audio output signal based on the first audio input signal and/or the second audio input signal for provision of an ANC audio output signal.
Von Bulow discloses determining the side-tone parameters for a filter stage based on the noise estimate. See paragraph [0036] and [0042]-[0045]. In addition, Von Bulow discloses that a headset may attenuate sound from the environment around the headset by using an active noise-cancelling technique. See paragraph [0003].
The Examiner notes, however, that Von Bulow does not specifically disclose an active noise cancelation module.
Nonetheless, Lu discloses in paragraph [0035]-[0036] of an active noise cancellation module within an audio device. See also paragraph [0017] which discloses “removing residual ambient noise from a sidetone signal with an ANC filter.” In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0044], Lu discloses “[i]n various implementations, the anti-residual noise signal from the ANC filter 202 can be applied (e.g., by the summing circuit 210) to the sidetone signal from the gain stage 208 before the residual noise portion of the sidetone signal is output from the speaker, or the speaker 112 can be operated to output both the residual noise portion of the sidetone signal and the anti-residual noise signal from the ANC filter to acoustically cancel the residual noise.” See also paragraph [0047] and Figure 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an active noise cancelling module. As set forth by Von Bulow, it was disclosed that headsets may use active noise canceling techniques. See paragraph [0003] Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have looked to noise cancelling techniques to implement such a function. Lu, is directed to the use of an active noise cancellation module which is configured to reduce noise in the input signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to implement noise cancellation in order to reduce/eliminate noise such that the user is protected from disturbing sounds around him/her. See paragraph [0003] of Von Bulow. In addition, as explained by Lu, the electronic device 100 can provide improved concurrent ANC and sidetone operations, such as during a phone call with the electronic device 100 and/or during any other mode of operation in which ANC is active to suppress ambient noise and in which the user may desire to be able to hear their own voice when they speak (e.g., including when the user is listening to music or other media content being output by the speaker 112).
Regarding claim 8:
The audio device according to claim 7, wherein the audio device comprises a third microphone configured to provide a third audio input signal and a fourth microphone configured to provide a fourth audio input signal,
Von Bulow, as set forth in paragraph [0139] discloses of “two or more microphones” and thus provides for at least a third audio input signal.
In addition, similar to Von Bulow, Lu in paragraph [0022] disclose of “one or more additional microphones of the electronic device 100 may be used as a microphone array for purposes of pickup beamforming (spatial filtering) with beams that can be aligned in the direction of user's mouth and/or steered to a given direction.” (third microphone). See also paragraph [0021] which discloses more than one top microphone and one or more additional microphones.
Lu discloses of a fourth microphone (error microphone 214). As set forth in paragraph [0047], “the output of the summing circuit 210 may then be optionally combined, by the summing circuit 211, with an additional anti-noise signal from the feedback filter 216 to adaptively cancel any residual noise that may still be present at the error microphone 214 after output of the combined anti-noise and sidetone signals by the speaker 112”. See also paragraphs [0029], [0034] [0059]
wherein the third microphone is a feedforward microphone and the fourth microphone is a feedback microphone,
Lu in paragraph [0022] disclose of “one or more additional microphones of the electronic device 100 may be used as a microphone array for purposes of pickup beamforming (spatial filtering) with beams that can be aligned in the direction of user's mouth and/or steered to a given direction.” (third microphone).
As set forth above, The error microphone is a feedback microphone since its output is fed into the feedback noise filter. See paragraph [0047]
wherein the ANC module is configured to process the sidetone audio output signal based on the third audio input signal and the fourth audio input signal for provision of the ANC audio output signal.
As explained in paragraph [0039],”the ANC filter 202 may be adaptively controlled by an adaptive controller 218 (e.g., which may be implemented as a coefficient generator for the ANC filter 202). As shown, the adaptive controller 218 may receive an error signal from the error microphone 214 and a microphone signal from the microphone 116, the microphone signal including a noise component due to ambient noise in the environment of the electronic device 100.” See also paragraph [0047].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a third and fourth microphone. As explained by Von Bulow, it was known to include “two or more microphones” for beamforming which generates a microphone signal from two or more microphones. Lu discloses that it was known for the beamforming to be comprised of additional microphones. In addition, Lu discloses another microphone which is used for feedback purposes. As explained by Lu, this microphone is to receive residual noise or error and to adaptably cancel any residual noise that may still be present. See paragraph [0047]. Thus, it would have been obvious to include additional microphones for beamforming (spatial filtering) and for canceling residual noise that may be present at the output.
Regarding claim 9:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the sidetone module is configured to process the third audio input signal and/or the fourth audio input signal for provision of the sidetone audio output signal.
As set forth in paragraph [0047] of Lu, “summing circuit 210 combines (e.g., adds) the amplified sidetone signal from the gain stage 208 to the anti-noise audio signal from the ANC filter 202…. the output of the summing circuit 210 may then be optionally combined, by the summing circuit 211, with an additional anti-noise signal from the feedback filter 216 to adaptively cancel any residual noise that may still be present at the error microphone 214 after output of the combined anti-noise and sidetone signals by the speaker 112. As shown, the summing circuit 211 may provide an output audio signal to the speaker 112 for output by the speaker 112.”
In addition, as explained in paragraph [0021], more than one top microphone and one or more additional microphones can be included. Lu discloses microphone 116 as being a top microphone and the processing of the top microphone via the sidetone module. In addition, as explained above, Von Bulow discloses processing more than two microphone signals by the sidetone module. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to process the third audio signal by the sidetone module.
As set forth above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a third and fourth microphone (third/fourth audio input signal). As explained by Von Bulow, it was known to include “two or more microphones” for beamforming which generates a microphone signal from two or more microphones. Lu discloses that it was known for the beamforming to be comprised of additional microphones. In addition, Lu discloses another microphone which is used for feedback purposes. As explained by Lu, this microphone is to receive residual noise or error and to adaptably cancel any residual noise that may still be present. See paragraph [0047]. Thus, it would have been obvious to include additional microphones for beamforming (spatial filtering) and for canceling residual noise that may be present at the output.
Regarding claim 10:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the signal processor module is configured to process the third audio input signal and/or the fourth audio input signal for provision of the plurality of filter parameters.
As explained in paragraph [0039] of Lu, “the ANC filter 202 may be adaptively controlled by an adaptive controller 218 (e.g., which may be implemented as a coefficient generator for the ANC filter 202). As shown, the adaptive controller 218 may receive an error signal from the error microphone 214 and a microphone signal from the microphone 116, the microphone signal including a noise component due to ambient noise in the environment of the electronic device 100.” See also paragraph [0047].
In addition, as explained above, Von Bulow discloses processing more than two microphone signals for determining filter parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to process the additional microphone signals for the provisional of the plurality of filter parameters.
As set forth above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a third and fourth microphone (third/fourth audio input signal). As explained by Von Bulow, it was known to include “two or more microphones” for beamforming which generates a microphone signal from two or more microphones. Lu discloses that it was known for the beamforming to be comprised of additional microphones. In addition, Lu discloses another microphone which is used for feedback purposes. As explained by Lu, this microphone is to receive residual noise or error and to adaptably cancel any residual noise that may still be present. See paragraph [0047]. Thus, it would have been obvious to include additional microphones for beamforming (spatial filtering) and for canceling residual noise that may be present at the output.
Regarding claim 13:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the signal processor module comprises a noise reduction module and a first signal processor configured to operate according to a first processing algorithm,
Von Bulow discloses determining the side-tone parameters for a filter stage based on the noise estimate. See paragraph [0036] and [0042]-[0045]. In addition, Von Bulow discloses that a headset may attenuate sound from the environment around the headset by using an active noise-cancelling technique. See paragraph [0003]. In addition, as set forth above, Von Bulow discloses a first and second audio input signal based on one or more microphones. See paragraph [0096] and [0139].
The Examiner notes, however, that Von Bulow does not specifically disclose an active noise reduction module.
Nonetheless, Lu discloses a noise suppressor within the processor circuitry. See paragraphs [0054] and [0056].
wherein the noise reduction module is configured to process the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal for provision of a noise reduction output, and wherein the first signal processor is configured to process the noise reduction output according to the first processing algorithm for provision of the far-end audio output signal.
As further set forth in paragraph [0056], “[t]he processing circuitry 200 (e.g., the coefficient generator 404) may also generate one or more coefficients for the sidetone filter 204 based on the gain vector (e.g., the gain vector generated by the noise suppressor 400). In one or more implementations, the gain vector may be a vector of values, each corresponding to a frequency or a frequency bin (e.g., a sub-band), that indicates whether and/or an amount of the user's own voice is detected at that frequency or bin (e.g., in that sub-band). In one or more implementations, the modified operation of the active noise cancellation filter 202 is configured to generate an anti-noise signal corresponding to a noise component of the audio signal and/or an anti-residual noise signal corresponding to a residual noise component of the sidetone signal, with which the ANC filter 202 can cancel the noise component of the audio signal from the microphone 116 and/or cancel the residual noise component of the sidetone signal.”
See also paragraph [0057] which discloses “processing circuitry 200 may receive an accelerometer signal from the accelerometer 118 (e.g., and/or one or more microphone signals from one or more microphones, such as the microphone 114 and/or the microphone 116), and generate (e.g., by the coefficient generator 404) one or more coefficients for the sidetone filter 204 based, at least in part, on the accelerometer signal (e.g., based on the gain vector generated by the noise suppressor 400 based on the accelerometer signal).”
See also paragraph [0017] which discloses “sidetone and active noise cancellation (ANC) operations can be provided to allow for active noise cancellation to suppress ambient noise while still providing at least a version of the user's own voice to the user. In one or more implementations, ANC and/or sidetone operations can leverage information from a noise suppression block. In one or more implementations, the output of the noise suppression block can also be used for generating an uplink signal that includes (e.g., only) the user's own voice”
Regarding claim 14:
The audio device according to claim 13, wherein the first signal processor is configured to determine the filter parameters and transmit the filter parameters to the sidetone module.
Von Bulow discloses in paragraph [0047] “coefficients for a filter stage are implemented in a filter stage during the course of the iterative process. In other aspects, the filter stages are controlled via the coefficients when the iterative process has completed an iteration round. In the latter case, the signal processor keeps a representation, over the course of the iterative process, of each filter model computed at respective iterations of the process.”
Claim(s) 1 and 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. US Patent Pub. 2024/0144906 in view of Von Bulow US Patent Pub. 2018/0047410.
Regarding claim 1:
An audio device comprising:
Lu discloses an audio device as set forth in paragraphs [0014]-[0017] and Figures 1 and 4. As set forth therein, Lu discloses electronic devices such as a smart phone may operate a speaker of the electronic device. See also paragraphs [0020]-[0021].
a plurality of microphones comprising a first microphone configured to provide a first audio input signal and a second microphone configured to provide a second audio input signal;
Lu discloses a plurality of microphones (114 and 116). See paragraph [0045] and Figures 3-4. AS set forth therein, the processing circuitry 200 may receive the audio signal from the microphone 116, and may also receive a microphone signal from the microphone 114. See also paragraph [043] which discloses “one or more microphone signals from the microphones 114 and/or 116” (first and second audio input signal). See also paragraph [0021]-[0022] which discloses “more than one top microphone”, “more than one bottom microphone” and “one or more additional microphones”. See also paragraph [0059] which discloses receiving a an audio input signal from microphone 214.
an output transducer configured to output a near-end audio output signal; and
Lu discloses a transducer 112 (speaker). See figures 3-4. See also figure 1 which shows the transducer as a near-end audio output signal (as opposed to the far-end audio output signal which is disclosed as an uplink signal – paragraph [0067]). See also paragraph [0023] which discloses one or more of the speakers 112 may generate a speaker output based, for example, on a downlink communications signal or a device-generated or streaming audio signal.
processor circuitry comprising a signal processor module configured to provide a far-end audio output signal and a sidetone module configured to provide a sidetone audio output signal,
Lu discloses circuitry 200 (processor circuity). See Figures 3 and 4. See also paragraph [0054] which discloses “[a]s shown in FIG. 4, the processing circuitry 200 may include a noise suppressor 400, a control signal processor 402, and a coefficient generator 404 for the sidetone filter 204.”
In addition, see paragraph [0023] which discloses a far-end signal “(uplink signal”). See also paragraph [0067] which discloses “the process 500 also includes generating, by the electronic device (e.g., by the noise suppressor 400), an uplink signal for transmission to a remote device, based on the audio signal corresponding to the microphone, at least one additional audio signal corresponding to at least one additional microphone (e.g., the microphone 114, such as a bottom microphone). The uplink signal is a far-end audio out signal since it is for transmission to a remote device.
Lu also discloses a sidetone module (modules 204, 206, and 208). See figures 3 and 4 and paragraphs [0037] and [0047] which discloses using the output of the sidetone gain 208 module.
wherein the signal processor module is configured to process the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal for provision of a plurality of filter parameters,
Lu discloses that filter parameters are provided by sidetone filter 204. See paragraphs [0044]-[0051]. As specifically set forth in paragraph [0045], Lu discloses “the processing circuitry 200 may receive the audio signal from the microphone 116, and may also receive a microphone signal from the microphone 114 and/or an accelerometer signal from the accelerometer 118. The processing circuitry 200 may generate control signals for the variable sidetone filter 204, the gain stage 208, and/or the adaptive controller 218 (e.g., including the adaptation control signal discussed above) based on the microphone signal from the microphone 116, the microphone signal from the microphone 114, and/or the acetometer signal from the accelerometer 118.”
wherein the sidetone module is configured to obtain first data indicative of the plurality of filter parameters and to process the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal for provision of the sidetone audio output signal using one or more filters based on the first data, and
Lu discloses that the first and second audio input signals are processed by processor circuity 200 and are provided to sidetone filter 204. As set forth in paragraph [0037], “the sidetone filter 204 may also be a variable sidetone filter that is adjustable based on another control signal from the processing circuitry 200.” See also paragraph [0045] which discloses “[t]he processing circuitry 200 may generate control signals for the variable sidetone filter 204, the gain stage 208, and/or the adaptive controller 218 (e.g., including the adaptation control signal discussed above) based on the microphone signal from the microphone 116, the microphone signal from the microphone 114, and/or the acetometer signal from the accelerometer 118.” See also paragraphs [0048] and [0051].
The Examiner finds that Lu discloses that that microphone 116 (top microphone) is depicted as “one top microphone”. However, Lu discloses that the device can include “more than one top microphone, more than one bottom microphone, and one or more additional microphones”. Thus, the teachings with respect to the sidetone filter can process the first and second audio signal can be based on a first and second audio signal.
Nonetheless, the Examiner notes that Von Bulow, with reference to Figure 2 and paragraphs [0108]-[0111] discloses a controllable side-tone filter 111 comprises a series of signal processing stages comprising a gain stage 201 and multiple filter stages 202 through 206 which are individually controllable via the side-tone filter controller 114. As explained in paragraph [0110], “[t]he signal processing stages comprising the filter stages and the gain stage are controlled via the side-tone filter controller 114 which sets filter coefficients and/or gain coefficients to obtain a desired transfer function for the controllable side-tone filter 111.”
In addition, as set forth in paragraphs [0136]-[0149], Von Bulow discloses, the FFT component and gain receives a microphone signal, and the microphone signal (BF) generates a microphone signal from two or more microphones. Thus, the sidetone module is configured to process the first and second input signals from the two or microphones using filters which are based on the first data received from the controller. Paragraph [0139] discloses that the BF signal is from two or more microphones.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process a first and second audio signal. The examiner notes that Lu already discloses of processing audio signals from a top microphone 116 and further discloses that the top microphone can include “More than one” microphone. Lu discloses that this allows for beamforming (spatial filtering). In addition, Von Bulow discloses the same reasoning when using two or more microphones (see paragraph [0139] of Von Bulow). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to process a second audio input signal by the sidetone filter since Lu discloses that its microphone 116 (top microphone) can be based on more than one microphone and since Von Bulow confirms that using a second audio input signal as part of a beamforming process which allows for steering of the microphones to a given direction. See paragraph [0022] of Lu.
wherein the near-end audio output signal is based on the sidetone audio output signal and a far-end audio input signal.
See paragraphs [0023] and [0044] and Figures 3-4. As set forth in paragraph [0023] “one or more of the speakers 112 may generate a speaker output based, for example, on a downlink communications signal or a device-generated or streaming audio signal. In one or more implementations, the speaker(s) 112 may be driven by an output downlink signal that includes far-end acoustic signal components from a remote device.” As set forth in paragraph [0044], “the anti-residual noise signal from the ANC filter 202 can be applied (e.g., by the summing circuit 210) to the sidetone signal from the gain stage 208 before the residual noise portion of the sidetone signal is output from the speaker”.
Regarding claim 7:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the audio device comprises an active noise cancelling, ANC, module, configured to obtain and process the sidetone audio output signal based on the first audio input signal and/or the second audio input signal for provision of an ANC audio output signal.
Lu discloses in paragraph [0035]-[0036] of an active noise cancellation module within an audio device. See also paragraph [0017] which discloses “removing residual ambient noise from a sidetone signal with an ANC filter.” In addition, as set forth in paragraph [0044], Lu discloses “[i]n various implementations, the anti-residual noise signal from the ANC filter 202 can be applied (e.g., by the summing circuit 210) to the sidetone signal from the gain stage 208 before the residual noise portion of the sidetone signal is output from the speaker, or the speaker 112 can be operated to output both the residual noise portion of the sidetone signal and the anti-residual noise signal from the ANC filter to acoustically cancel the residual noise.” See also paragraph [0047] and Figure 4.
Regarding claim 8:
The audio device according to claim 7, wherein the audio device comprises a third microphone configured to provide a third audio input signal and a fourth microphone configured to provide a fourth audio input signal,
Lu in paragraph [0022] disclose of “one or more additional microphones of the electronic device 100 may be used as a microphone array for purposes of pickup beamforming (spatial filtering) with beams that can be aligned in the direction of user's mouth and/or steered to a given direction.” (third microphone). See also paragraph [0021] which discloses more than one top microphone and one or more additional microphones.
Lu discloses of a fourth microphone (error microphone 214). As set forth in paragraph [0047], “the output of the summing circuit 210 may then be optionally combined, by the summing circuit 211, with an additional anti-noise signal from the feedback filter 216 to adaptively cancel any residual noise that may still be present at the error microphone 214 after output of the combined anti-noise and sidetone signals by the speaker 112”. See also paragraphs [0029], [0034] [0059]
wherein the third microphone is a feedforward microphone and the fourth microphone is a feedback microphone,
Lu in paragraph [0022] disclose of “one or more additional microphones of the electronic device 100 may be used as a microphone array for purposes of pickup beamforming (spatial filtering) with beams that can be aligned in the direction of user's mouth and/or steered to a given direction.” (third microphone).
As set forth above, the error microphone is a feedback microphone since its output is fed into the feedback noise filter. See paragraph [0047]
wherein the ANC module is configured to process the sidetone audio output signal based on the third audio input signal and the fourth audio input signal for provision of the ANC audio output signal.
As explained in paragraph [0039],”the ANC filter 202 may be adaptively controlled by an adaptive controller 218 (e.g., which may be implemented as a coefficient generator for the ANC filter 202). As shown, the adaptive controller 218 may receive an error signal from the error microphone 214 and a microphone signal from the microphone 116, the microphone signal including a noise component due to ambient noise in the environment of the electronic device 100.” See also paragraph [0047].
Regarding claim 9:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the sidetone module is configured to process the third audio input signal and/or the fourth audio input signal for provision of the sidetone audio output signal.
As set forth in paragraph [0047] of Lu, “summing circuit 210 combines (e.g., adds) the amplified sidetone signal from the gain stage 208 to the anti-noise audio signal from the ANC filter 202…. the output of the summing circuit 210 may then be optionally combined, by the summing circuit 211, with an additional anti-noise signal from the feedback filter 216 to adaptively cancel any residual noise that may still be present at the error microphone 214 after output of the combined anti-noise and sidetone signals by the speaker 112. As shown, the summing circuit 211 may provide an output audio signal to the speaker 112 for output by the speaker 112.”
In addition, as explained in paragraph [0021], more than one top microphone and one or more additional microphones can be included. Lu discloses microphone 116 as being a top microphone and the processing of the top microphone via the sidetone module. In addition, as explained above, Von Bulow discloses processing more than two microphone signals by the sidetone module. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to process the third audio signal by the sidetone module.
Regarding claim 10:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the signal processor module is configured to process the third audio input signal and/or the fourth audio input signal for provision of the plurality of filter parameters.
As explained in paragraph [0039] of Lu, “the ANC filter 202 may be adaptively controlled by an adaptive controller 218 (e.g., which may be implemented as a coefficient generator for the ANC filter 202). As shown, the adaptive controller 218 may receive an error signal from the error microphone 214 and a microphone signal from the microphone 116, the microphone signal including a noise component due to ambient noise in the environment of the electronic device 100.” See also paragraph [0047].
In addition, as explained above, Von Bulow discloses processing more than two microphone signals for determining filter parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to process the additional microphone signals for the provisional of the plurality of filter parameters.
Regarding claim 11:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the sidetone module is configured to determine the one or more filters based on the first data.
Lu discloses that filter parameters are provided by sidetone filter 204. See paragraphs [0044]-[0051]. As specifically set forth in paragraph [0045], Lu discloses “the processing circuitry 200 may receive the audio signal from the microphone 116, and may also receive a microphone signal from the microphone 114 and/or an accelerometer signal from the accelerometer 118. The processing circuitry 200 may generate control signals for the variable sidetone filter 204, the gain stage 208, and/or the adaptive controller 218 (e.g., including the adaptation control signal discussed above) based on the microphone signal from the microphone 116, the microphone signal from the microphone 114, and/or the acetometer signal from the accelerometer 118.”
Regarding claim 12:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the sidetone module is initialized with one or more pre-determined filters for the processing of the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal.
As set forth in paragraph [0043], Lu discloses “the adaptation control signal may cause the adaptive controller 218 to stop adapting by instructing the adaptive controller to freeze the ANC coefficients to the current coefficients and/or to obtain a predetermined static set of ANC coefficients, such as a default static set of coefficients, a most-recently-used set of static coefficients, or a mode-specific static set of coefficients (e.g., a set of static filter coefficients for an speech-detected mode) and to provide the frozen or predetermined static set to the ANC filter 202.”
Regarding claim 13:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the signal processor module comprises a noise reduction module and a first signal processor configured to operate according to a first processing algorithm,
Lu discloses of a noise suppressor within the processor circuitry. See paragraphs [0054] and [0056].
wherein the noise reduction module is configured to process the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal for provision of a noise reduction output, and wherein the first signal processor is configured to process the noise reduction output according to the first processing algorithm for provision of the far-end audio output signal.
As further set forth in paragraph [0056], “[t]he processing circuitry 200 (e.g., the coefficient generator 404) may also generate one or more coefficients for the sidetone filter 204 based on the gain vector (e.g., the gain vector generated by the noise suppressor 400). In one or more implementations, the gain vector may be a vector of values, each corresponding to a frequency or a frequency bin (e.g., a sub-band), that indicates whether and/or an amount of the user's own voice is detected at that frequency or bin (e.g., in that sub-band). In one or more implementations, the modified operation of the active noise cancellation filter 202 is configured to generate an anti-noise signal corresponding to a noise component of the audio signal and/or an anti-residual noise signal corresponding to a residual noise component of the sidetone signal, with which the ANC filter 202 can cancel the noise component of the audio signal from the microphone 116 and/or cancel the residual noise component of the sidetone signal.”
See also paragraph [0057] which discloses “processing circuitry 200 may receive an accelerometer signal from the accelerometer 118 (e.g., and/or one or more microphone signals from one or more microphones, such as the microphone 114 and/or the microphone 116), and generate (e.g., by the coefficient generator 404) one or more coefficients for the sidetone filter 204 based, at least in part, on the accelerometer signal (e.g., based on the gain vector generated by the noise suppressor 400 based on the accelerometer signal).”
See also paragraph [0017] which discloses “sidetone and active noise cancellation (ANC) operations can be provided to allow for active noise cancellation to suppress ambient noise while still providing at least a version of the user's own voice to the user. In one or more implementations, ANC and/or sidetone operations can leverage information from a noise suppression block. In one or more implementations, the output of the noise suppression block can also be used for generating an uplink signal that includes (e.g., only) the user's own voice”
Regarding claim 14:
The audio device according to claim 13, wherein the first signal processor is configured to determine the filter parameters and transmit the filter parameters to the sidetone module.
Lu discloses that the first and second audio input signals are processed by processor circuity 200 and are provided to sidetone filter 204. As set forth in paragraph [0037], “the sidetone filter 204 may also be a variable sidetone filter that is adjustable based on another control signal from the processing circuitry 200.” See also paragraph [0045] which discloses “[t]he processing circuitry 200 may generate control signals for the variable sidetone filter 204, the gain stage 208, and/or the adaptive controller 218 (e.g., including the adaptation control signal discussed above) based on the microphone signal from the microphone 116, the microphone signal from the microphone 114, and/or the acetometer signal from the accelerometer 118.” See also paragraphs [0048] and [0051].
Regarding claim 15:
A method, performed by an audio device, for sidetone processing,
Lu discloses an audio device as set forth in paragraphs [0014]-[0017] and Figures 1 and 4. As set forth therein, Lu discloses electronic devices such as a smart phone may operate a speaker of the electronic device. See also paragraphs [0020]-[0021].
wherein the audio device comprises a plurality of microphones comprising a first microphone configured to provide a first audio input signal and a second microphone configured to provide a second audio input signal;
Lu discloses a plurality of microphones (114 and 116). See paragraph [0045] and Figures 3-4. AS set forth therein, the processing circuitry 200 may receive the audio signal from the microphone 116, and may also receive a microphone signal from the microphone 114. See also paragraph [043] which discloses “one or more microphone signals from the microphones 114 and/or 116” (first and second audio input signal). See also paragraph [0021]-[0022] which discloses “more than one top microphone”, “more than one bottom microphone” and “one or more additional microphones”. See also paragraph [0059] which discloses receiving an audio input signal from microphone 214.
an output transducer configured to output a near-end audio output signal; and
Lu discloses a transducer 112 (speaker). See figures 3-4. See also figure 1 which shows the transducer as a near-end audio output signal (as opposed to the far-end audio output signal which is disclosed as an uplink signal – paragraph [0067]). See also paragraph [0023] which discloses one or more of the speakers 112 may generate a speaker output based, for example, on a downlink communications signal or a device-generated or streaming audio signal.
processor circuitry comprising a signal processor module configured to provide a far-end audio output signal and a sidetone module configured to provide a sidetone audio output signal, wherein the method comprises:
Lu discloses circuitry 200 (processor circuity). See Figures 3 and 4. See also paragraph [0054] which discloses “[a]s shown in FIG. 4, the processing circuitry 200 may include a noise suppressor 400, a control signal processor 402, and a coefficient generator 404 for the sidetone filter 204.”
In addition, see paragraph [0023] which discloses a far-end signal “(uplink signal”). See also paragraph [0067] which discloses “the process 500 also includes generating, by the electronic device (e.g., by the noise suppressor 400), an uplink signal for transmission to a remote device, based on the audio signal corresponding to the microphone, at least one additional audio signal corresponding to at least one additional microphone (e.g., the microphone 114, such as a bottom microphone). The uplink signal is a far-end audio out signal since it is for transmission to a remote device.
Lu also discloses a sidetone module (modules 204, 206, and 208). See figures 3 and 4 and paragraphs [0037] and [0047] which discloses using the output of the sidetone gain 208 module.
obtaining the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal; processing, using the signal processor module, the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal for provision of a plurality of filter parameters;
Lu discloses that filter parameters are provided by sidetone filter 204. See paragraphs [0044]-[0051]. As specifically set forth in paragraph [0045], Lu discloses “the processing circuitry 200 may receive the audio signal from the microphone 116, and may also receive a microphone signal from the microphone 114 and/or an accelerometer signal from the accelerometer 118. The processing circuitry 200 may generate control signals for the variable sidetone filter 204, the gain stage 208, and/or the adaptive controller 218 (e.g., including the adaptation control signal discussed above) based on the microphone signal from the microphone 116, the microphone signal from the microphone 114, and/or the acetometer signal from the accelerometer 118.”
obtaining, using the sidetone module, first data indicative of the plurality of filter parameters;- processing, using the sidetone module, the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal for provision of the sidetone audio output signal using one or more filters based on the first data; and
Lu discloses that the first and second audio input signals are processed by processor circuity 200 and are provided to sidetone filter 204. As set forth in paragraph [0037], “the sidetone filter 204 may also be a variable sidetone filter that is adjustable based on another control signal from the processing circuitry 200.” See also paragraph [0045] which discloses “[t]he processing circuitry 200 may generate control signals for the variable sidetone filter 204, the gain stage 208, and/or the adaptive controller 218 (e.g., including the adaptation control signal discussed above) based on the microphone signal from the microphone 116, the microphone signal from the microphone 114, and/or the acetometer signal from the accelerometer 118.” See also paragraphs [0048] and [0051].
The Examiner finds that Lu discloses that that microphone 116 (top microphone) is depicted as “one top microphone”. However, Lu discloses that the device can include “more than one top microphone, more than one bottom microphone, and one or more additional microphones”. Thus, the teachings with respect to the sidetone filter can process the first and second audio signal can be based on a first and second audio signal.
Nonetheless, the Examiner notes that Von Bulow, with reference to Figure 2 and paragraphs [0108]-[0111] discloses a controllable side-tone filter 111 comprises a series of signal processing stages comprising a gain stage 201 and multiple filter stages 202 through 206 which are individually controllable via the side-tone filter controller 114. As explained in paragraph [0110], “[t]he signal processing stages comprising the filter stages and the gain stage are controlled via the side-tone filter controller 114 which sets filter coefficients and/or gain coefficients to obtain a desired transfer function for the controllable side-tone filter 111.”
In addition, as set forth in paragraphs [0136]-[0149], Von Bulow discloses, the FFT component and gain receives a microphone signal, and the microphone signal (BF) generates a microphone signal from two or more microphones. Thus, the sidetone module is configured to process the first and second input signals from the two or microphones using filters which are based on the first data received from the controller. Paragraph [0139] discloses that the BF signal is from two or more microphones.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process a first and second audio signal. The examiner notes that Lu already discloses of processing audio signals from a top microphone 116 and further discloses that the top microphone can include “More than one” microphone. Lu discloses that this allows for beamforming (spatial filtering). In addition, Von Bulow discloses the same reasoning when using two or more microphones (see paragraph [0139] of Von Bulow). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to process a second audio input signal by the sidetone filter since Lu discloses that its microphone 116 (top microphone) can be based on more than one microphone and since Von Bulow confirms that using a second audio input signal as part of a beamforming process which allows for steering of the microphones to a given direction. See paragraph [0022] of Lu.
outputting the near-end audio output signal based on the sidetone audio output signal and a far-end input signal.
See paragraphs [0023] and [0044] and Figures 3-4. As set forth in paragraph [0023] “one or more of the speakers 112 may generate a speaker output based, for example, on a downlink communications signal or a device-generated or streaming audio signal. In one or more implementations, the speaker(s) 112 may be driven by an output downlink signal that includes far-end acoustic signal components from a remote device.” As set forth in paragraph [0044], “the anti-residual noise signal from the ANC filter 202 can be applied (e.g., by the summing circuit 210) to the sidetone signal from the gain stage 208 before the residual noise portion of the sidetone signal is output from the speaker”.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Loiko et al. CN 1125348002.
Regarding claim 2:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein to obtain first data comprises to perform windowing of the first data for reducing a sample size of the first data.
Lu does not specifically disclose perform windowing of the first data for reducing a sample size of the first data.
Nonetheless, Loiko discloses of receiving a microphone audio signal (See page 8 “configured to receive a…..microphone audio signal 132”). As set forth also on page 8 “[t]he down-sampler 310 is configured to modify the received audio signal by reducing the sampling rate or sample size of the audio signal. In other words, the down-sampler 310 generates a down-sampled signal 312 from the received audio signal. The playing audio signal 112, each of the microphone audio signal 132 and the lowering signal 142 may be downsampled by the down-sampler 310. The downsampling often reduces the amount of samples associated with the audio signal to accommodate limitations associated with bandwidth or audio format size.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce the sample size of the first data. As explained by Loiko, reducing the sample size of the microphone audio signal would help accommodate any limitations associated with bandwidth or audio format size.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Hu et al. US Patent 9,601,128.
Regarding claim 3:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the sidetone module is configured to perform smoothing of the first data.
Lu discloses providing smooth transistors between period of time when the user is speaker and period of time when the user is not speaking as well as providing smooth transitions between ANC operations. See paragraph [0049]. Lu, however, does not specifically disclose performing smoothing of the first data.
Nonetheless, Hu discloses employ smoothing technique to prevent the estimation of the amount of voice and amount of noise from being affected by short, rapid changes or errors, and to prevent the result [] from being unstable or misjudgment. See col. 4, lines 58-64.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to performing smoothing of the first data. As explained by Hu, smoothing prevents the data from being affected by short, rapid changes or errors or prevents the data from being unstable. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have performed smoothing in order to prevent the data from being affected by any short, rabid changes or errors.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Anderton US Patent Pub. 2008/0039162.
Regarding claim 4:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein an input buffer size of the sidetone module is smaller than or equal to an input buffer size of the signal processor module.
Lu does not specifically disclose an input buffer for the sidetone module or the signal processor module.
Nonetheless, Anderton discloses a method for sidetone generation. With reference to paragraph [0029] and [0036], Anderton discloses that the sidetone path includes an input buffer that may be located in the DSP. In addition, an output buffer is also located in the DSP. Anderton further discloses that the sidetone generator further includes a FIFO input buffer, a FIFO output buffer and a circular input buffer and an output buffer 220. See Figure 4. As explained by Anderton in paragraph [0036], the receive buffer (in the DSP) serves as a reservoir that stores data until the bulk digital circuitry becomes active. The data is then transmitted into a receive FIFO buffer and then to the circular input buffer. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the initial buffer of the processing entity is larger than the input buffer of the sidetone module since it serves as a reservoir for all incoming data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to include an input buffer for both the sidetone module and the signal processor of Lu so that data can be initially stored while circuity becomes active and so that data can be stored for further processing. See paragraph [0036] of Anderton. In addition, Anderton discloses that this allows the establishment of a delay in the path to prevent the outgoing buffers from being depleted. See paragraph [0029] of Anderton.
Regarding claim 5:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein an output buffer size of the sidetone module is smaller than or equal to an output buffer of the signal processor module.
Lu does not specifically disclose an output buffer for the sidetone module or the signal processor module.
Nonetheless, Anderton discloses a method for sidetone generation. With reference to paragraph [0029] and [0036], Anderton discloses that the sidetone path includes an input buffer that may be located in the DSP. In addition, an output buffer is also located in the DSP. Anderton further discloses that the sidetone generator further includes a FIFO input buffer, a FIFO output buffer and a circular input buffer and an output buffer 220. See Figure 4. As explained by Anderton in paragraph [0036], the receive buffer (in the DSP) serves as a reservoir that stores data until the bulk digital circuitry becomes active. The data is then transmitted into a receive FIFO buffer and then to the circular input buffer.
As set forth in paragraph [0031]-[0033] and [0036-0038], “[f]or the transmit side of the sidetone generator 200, data is read from the output buffer 220 and is written into the transmit FIFO buffer 240. During digital signal processing time slots, data is automatically transferred from the transmit FIFO buffer 240 into the transmit buffer 250. The transmit buffer 250 operates continuously and sources data to the digital interface 100, regardless of the TDI state.” In addition, Anderton discloses “the port driver 260 keeps the buffers in the sidetone path as full as possible”. Anderton also discloses that the transmit buffer 250 is active during all RF and signal-processing time slots. See paragraph [0033]. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the output buffer is larger than the output buffer of the sidetone module since it is active during all RF and signal-processing time slots and thus holds more data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to include an output buffer for both the sidetone module and the signal processor module of Lu so that data can be stored for processing and kept full for transmission out of the system. See paragraph [0036] of Anderton. In addition, Anderton discloses that this allows the establishment of a delay in the path to prevent the outgoing buffers from being depleted. See paragraph [0029] of Anderton.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Von Bulow in view of Spittle WO 2022/026481.
Regarding claim 6:
The audio device according to claim 1, wherein the sidetone module comprises a down-sampler and/or an up-sampler configured to reduce an amount of computations at the sidetone module.
Lu in combination with Von Bulow discloses “[t]he microphone signal is filtered by the controllable side-tone filter at a filter rate, typically, at a regular sample rate or a decimated sample rate.” See paragraphs[0025]-[0026] of Von Bulow.
The Examiner notes that although Von Bulow discloses of the side tone module sampling the signal, Von Bulow does not specifically disclose that it’s for reducing an amount of computations.
Nonetheless, Spittle discloses a method for performing a side tone function which receives a signal picked up by a microphone. See paragraph [0657]. As set forth in paragraphs [0684] and [0687],Spittle discloses that both down-sampling and up sampling may be formed. Each one has benefits including decreasing latency and or decreasing signal processing and for increasing efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to down-sample or up-sample and further to understand that down sampling may decreasing signal processing and memory usage (reduce an amount of computations) for increased efficiency.
Conclusion
/Ovidio Escalante/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
1 All citations to Loiko will be based on the provided translation.
2 All citations to Loiko will be based on the provided translation.