DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 03/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 7 of claim 1 appears to be missing the verb “are” between the words “particles” and “embedded.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20180087056A, cited on 05/22/2025 IDS, hereinafter referred to as KR ‘056A, see attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, KR ‘056A discloses a thermoelectric conversion element ([0001]) comprising: a first metal layer ([0049] – multilayer thin film between the upper electrode and the thermoelectric semiconductor); a second metal layer ([0049] - multilayer thin film between the thermoelectric semiconductor and the lower electrode); and a thermoelectric conversion layer that is disposed between the first metal layer and the second metal layer in a thickness direction of the first metal layer ([0109]) and comprises a thermoelectric conversion material comprising Mg ([0005],[0131],[0139],[0159]), wherein ceramic particles are embedded within the thermoelectric conversion element (paragraphs [0042] and [0056] disclose oxides, nitrides, carbides, and borides).
Regarding claim 3, KR ‘056A discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. KR ‘056A further discloses the first metal layer comprises an electrode layer comprising Cu ([0040]; it is noted that top layer of multilayer thin film between the upper electrode and the thermoelectric semiconductor satisfies the limitation requiring an electrode layer), and an intermediate layer that is disposed between the electrode layer and the thermoelectric conversion layer in the thickness direction of the first metal layer and comprises Mg and Cu ([0042]; it is noted that the layers of the disclosed multilayer thin film that are below the top layer of the multilayer thin film satisfy the limitation requiring an intermediate layer).
Regarding claim 4, KR ‘056A discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. KR ‘056A further discloses the ceramic particles are embedded in an interior of the intermediate layer ([0042]; it is noted that the layers of the disclosed multilayer thin film that are below the top layer of the multilayer thin film satisfy the limitation requiring an intermediate layer).
Regarding claim 5, KR ‘056A discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. KR ‘056A further discloses the ceramic particles comprise alumina ([0042]) discloses oxides containing aluminum).
Regarding claim 6, KR ‘056A discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. KR ‘056A further discloses the ceramic particles comprise SiO2 ([0042] discloses oxides containing silicon).
Regarding claim 10, KR ‘056A discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. KR ‘056A further discloses a thermoelectric conversion module (Figures 1 and 2) comprising a p-type thermoelectric conversion element ([0006]); an n-type thermoelectric conversion element ([0006]); and an electrode electrically connecting a first end portion of the p-type thermoelectric conversion element to a first end of the n-type thermoelectric conversion element ([0006]; Fig. 1), wherein the n-type thermoelectric conversion element is the thermoelectric conversion element ([0029]; it is noted that the description disclosed applies to both n-type and p-type thermoelectric elements).
Regarding claim 11, KR ‘056A discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. KR ‘056A further discloses a thermoelectric conversion system comprising the thermoelectric conversion module ([0007], [0008], Figures 1 and 2); and a heat source disposed adjacent to the electrode ([0008]; it is noted that the limitation “disposed adjacent” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components).
Regarding claim 12, KR ‘056A discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. KR ‘056A further discloses a method for generating electrical power ([0008]), the method comprising generating electrical power by applying a temperature difference to the thermoelectric conversion module using heat from a heat source ([0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20180087056A, cited on 05/22/2025 IDS, hereinafter referred to as KR ‘056A (see attached machine translation), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Iida et al. (US 2012/0097205 A1).
Regarding claim 2, KR ‘056A discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
KR ‘056A does not explicitly disclose the thermoelectric conversion material comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of Sb and Bi.
Iida discloses a Mg-Si thermoelectric conversion material (abstract) and further discloses the thermoelectric conversion material comprises Sb as a dopant ([0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include Sb as a dopant, as disclosed by Iida, in the Mg-Si thermoelectric conversion material of KR ‘056A, because as taught by Iida, the magnesium-silicon composite material according to the present invention will excel in durability at high temperatures when used as a thermoelectric conversion material, particularly in a case of containing Sb as the dopant ([0101]).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20180087056A, cited on 05/22/2025 IDS, hereinafter referred to as KR ‘056A (see attached machine translation), as applied to claims 1 and 3 above.
Regarding claim 7, KR ‘056A discloses all the claim limitations as set forth
above.
KR ‘056A discloses the ceramic particles are nanoparticles ([0042]), and further discloses nanoparticle reinforcing materials are dispersed within a bonding material to improve mechanical properties such as tensile strength, yield strength, and toughness of the joint, and to provide excellent mechanical reliability and a long lifespan even when bonded at low temperatures ([0003]). KR ‘056A additionally discloses a relationship between particle radius and melting point (Fig. 11; [0115],[0117]).
KR ‘056A does not explicitly disclose in an instance where a cross section of the first metal layer in the thickness direction thereof is observed by scanning electron microscopy-energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy, the ceramic particles in the cross section satisfy a first condition expressed as 0.5 microns ≤ d, where d is a maximum dimension of the ceramic particles.
As the manufacturing cost and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said dimension of the ceramic particles, with said manufacturing cost and operation efficiency both increasing as the dimension of the ceramic particles is decreased, the precise dimension of the ceramic particles would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed dimension of the ceramic particles cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the dimension of the ceramic particles in the apparatus of KR ‘056A to obtain the desired balance between the manufacturing cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 8, modified KR ‘056A discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
KR ‘056A discloses the ceramic particles are nanoparticles ([0042]), and further discloses nanoparticle reinforcing materials are dispersed within a bonding material to improve mechanical properties such as tensile strength, yield strength, and toughness of the joint, and to provide excellent mechanical reliability and a long lifespan even when bonded at low temperatures ([0003]). KR ‘056A additionally discloses a relationship between particle radius and melting point (Fig. 11; [0115],[0117]).
KR ‘056A does not explicitly disclose the ceramic particles in the cross section satisfy a second condition expressed as d ≤ 10 microns.
As the manufacturing cost and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said dimension of the ceramic particles, with said manufacturing cost and operation efficiency both increasing as the dimension of the ceramic particles is decreased, the precise dimension of the ceramic particles would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed dimension of the ceramic particles cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the dimension of the ceramic particles in the apparatus of KR ‘056A to obtain the desired balance between the manufacturing cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 9, KR ‘056A discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. KR ‘056A further discloses the ceramic particles are disposed in the intermediate layer ([0042]; it is noted that the layers of the disclosed multilayer thin film that are below the top layer of the multilayer thin film satisfy the limitation requiring an intermediate layer).
While KR ‘056A does disclose a thickness of the thin films of the intermediate layer of less than 1 nm has the advantage of being able to bond at temperatures significantly lower than general conventional bonding temperature, but has the disadvantage that forming the thin films is difficult and manufacturing costs may increase significantly ([0099]), and further discloses if the thickness of a single layer of metal thin film exceeds 1 micron, the bonding temperature may increase ([0099]); KR ‘056A does not explicitly disclose the first metal layer satisfies a condition expressed as 0.1 ≤ d/A ≤ 10, where d is a maximum dimension of the ceramic particles in a cross section of the first metal layer in the thickness direction in the thickness direction thereof as observed by scanning electron microscopy-energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy, and A is a thickness of the intermediate layer.
As the manufacturing cost and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said thickness of the intermediate layer, with said manufacturing cost and operation efficiency both increasing as the thickness of the intermediate layer is decreased, the precise thickness of the intermediate layer would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed thickness of the intermediate layer cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the thickness of the intermediate layer in the apparatus of KR ‘056A to obtain the desired balance between the manufacturing cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726