DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the limitations “a sheet processing device” as recited in claim 1 line 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Therefore, the limitations “a processing position” as recited in claim 1 line 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Therefore, the limitations “first aligner” and “second aligner” as recited in claim 7 lines 2,3 and 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Therefore, the limitations “a sheet stacker” as recited in claim 9 line 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “19” has been used to designate both “first processing unit” and “second processing unit”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 9 recites the limitations “the predetermined operation” in line 3. It is unclear as to what specific predetermined operation is performed by the position marker. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 2 recites the limitations “the position marker the position marker deforms a part of the sheet” in line 2. It is unclear as to what is specifically being recited, whether the position markers are two separate elements or the same element. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitations “to which the sheet having the image is ejected” in line 3. It is unclear as to what is “to which” as recited, the limitations are narrative and do not clear disclose as to what specific element is being referred. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Sakano (US 2016/0340144 A1).
Referring to claim 1. Sakano discloses a sheet processing apparatus (Figure 4) comprising:
an insertion portion (opening in member 430 and 420; Figure 7) having an opening into which a sheet is insertable (see Figure 11);
a sheet processing device (430) to perform a predetermined operation (moving sheet) onto the sheet (A) inserted into the insertion portion (opening in member 430; Figure 7); and
a position marker (crimping portion of 430; Figure 12) to form a mark at a processing position (see Figure 12b) at which the predetermined operation (moving crimping potion) is to be performed onto the sheet (A).
Referring to claim 2. Sakano discloses a sheet processing apparatus (Figure 4) comprising:
wherein the position marker (crimping portion of 430; Figure 12) the position marker deforms a part of the sheet (A) to form the mark on the sheet (mark Cin Figure 13).
Referring to claim 3. Sakano discloses a sheet processing apparatus (Figure 4) comprising:
wherein the position marker (crimping portion of 430; Figure 12) has a projection (crimping teeth) to contact and deform the part of the sheet (A) inserted to the insertion portion to form the mark on the sheet (see crimping head of member 430; Figure 12).
Referring to claim 4. Sakano discloses a sheet processing apparatus (Figure 4) comprising:
wherein the position marker (crimping portion of 430; Figure 12) is disposed closer to the sheet (A) than the sheet processing device (430) in a state before the sheet processing device (430) performs the predetermined operation (moving crimping potion) onto the sheet (A), and the position marker (crimping portion of 430; Figure 12) contacts the sheet before the sheet processing device (430) contacts the sheet (A).
Referring to claim 5. Sakano discloses a sheet processing apparatus (Figure 4) comprising:
wherein the sheet processing device (430) contacts the sheet (A) while the position marker (crimping portion of 430; Figure 12) contacts the sheet (A).
Referring to claim 6. Sakano discloses a sheet processing apparatus (Figure 4) comprising:
wherein the position marker (crimping portion of 430; Figure 12) has markers (crimping portion of both sides; see Figure 12a and 12b) on both sides of the sheet processing device (430).
Referring to claim 7. Sakano discloses a sheet processing apparatus (Figure 4) comprising:
wherein the insertion portion (opening in member 430 and 420; Figure 7) includes multiple aligners (jogger fence 450; Figure 16) including:
a first aligner (left jogger fence 450; Figure 16) in contact with a first end of the sheet (A) inserted in the insertion portion (opening in member 430 and 420; Figure 7); and a second aligner (right jogger fence 450; Figure 16), in contact with a second end adjacent to the first end of the sheet inserted in the insertion portion (opening in member 430 and 420; Figure 7), and the first aligner and the second aligner is movable with respect to the sheet processing device (see Figure 16).
Referring to claim 8. Sakano discloses a sheet processing apparatus (Figure 4) comprising:
circuitry (see Figure 3) configured to:
control (101) the sheet processing device to contact the sheet (A) to execute the predetermined operation (moving sheet); and control (101) the position marker to form the markon the sheet (see Figure 3).
Referring to claim 9. Sakano discloses an image forming apparatus (1; Figure 1) comprising:
an image forming device (104; Figure 3) to form an image on a sheet (A);
a sheet stacker (440; Figure 4) to which the sheet having the image is ejected; and the sheet processing apparatus (Figure 4) according to claim 1
to perform a predetermined operation (marking the sheets at C) onto the sheet having the image while contacting the sheet, wherein the sheet processing apparatus (Figure 4) includes a sheet processing device (430), and the sheet processing apparatus (Figure 4) moves between:
a first position (sheets within member 430) at which the predetermined operation (marking the sheets at C) is performed on the sheet ejected to the sheet stacker (440); and
a second position (sheets being removed from 430) at which the predetermined operation (marking the sheets at C) is performed on the sheet having the image before the sheet is ejected to the sheet stacker (440; Figure 4).
Referring to claim 10. Sakano discloses an image forming apparatus (1; Figure 1) comprising:
wherein the sheet processing device (Figure 4) includes:
a first processing unit (430) to perform the predetermined operation (stitching member C; Figure 13) on the sheet ejected to the sheet stacker (440); and
a second processing unit (420) at which the predetermined operation (stitching member B; Figure 9) is performed on the sheet having the image before the sheet is ejected to the sheet stacker (440).
Referring to claim 11. Sakano discloses an image forming apparatus (1; Figure 1) comprising:
further comprising circuitry (see Figure 3) configured to execute at least one of (Applicant’s claim only required one the cited steps to be meet):
(a manual processing mode to perform the predetermined operation on the sheet processing apparatus; and ; limitations not considered only at least one of the cited steps is required)
an automatic processing mode (Figure 2 and 3) to perform the predetermined operation on the sheet processing device (see Figure 3).
Referring to claim 12. Sakano discloses comprising
an image forming system (104; Figure 3) comprising:
an image forming apparatus (apparatus of 104) to form an image on a sheet (A); and the sheet processing apparatus (Figure 4) according to claim 1 coupled to the image forming apparatus (see Figure 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651