DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first mechanical connection configured to connect to the mechanical connection of the load bearing unit…the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit comprises a mechanical connection configured to connect to the second mechanical connection….”
“wherein the self-propelled adaptor unit is configured to at least one of” push, pull, or move the load bearing unit….lift the load bearing unit….
in claims 2-20.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure for the above limitation described in the specification: (see at least Applicant Specification, pg. 10: According to one embodiment, the actuator comprises a forklift mast assembly and the at least one support element is comprised as part of the forklift mast assembly, and according to another embodiment, the actuator comprises a crane mast assembly and the at least one support element of the self-propelled adaptor unit is comprised as part of the crane mast assembly. & pg. 17: In most intralogistics environments, the use of AGVs (Automated Guided Vehicles) or AMRs (Autonomous Mobile Robots) is increasing. The use of AGV's and AMR's reduces the number of staff in the intralogistics environment as well as enables increased speed and precision. AGV's and AMR's are expensive and sophisticated equipment having a multitude of sensors and high computing capabilities such that they can safely navigate in an intralogistics environment which may have a mix of human operators and autonomous vehicles. pg. 25: The self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit 100 comprises a mechanical connection 170 configured to be interconnected with the second mechanical connection 270 of the self-propelled adaptor unit 200. The mechanical connection 170 comprises a recess 172 and a protrusion 171. pg. 32: wherein the first mechanical connection 280"" is configured as a crane element, such as a hook or mechanical grip tool.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-8, 10, 12-14, 16, & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0283171A1 (“High”), in view of US 2020/0233410A1 (“Burns”).
As per claim 2 High discloses
A self-propelled adaptor unit for use in an intralogistics system, the self-propelled adaptor unit comprising (see at least High, para. [0061]:By one approach this forklift coupling structure 622 operably couples to a control circuit 606 to thereby permit the latter to control the forklift unit 570 via communication between the control interface connection 567 of the motorized transport unit 560 and the forklift interface connection 577 of the forklift unit 570.):
a motor (see at least High, para. [0045-0047]: In some embodiments, in order to raise the upper body portion 364 relative to the lower body portion363, the motorized transport unit 360 includes an internal lifting system (e.g., including one or more electric actuators or rotary drives or motors). Numerous examples of such motorized lifting and rotating systems are known in the art.);
at least one drive wheel connected to the motor for propelling the self-propelled adaptor unit for moving the self-propelled adaptor unit on a floor surface (see at least High, para. [0043]: In this embodiment, the motorized transport unit 360 takes the form of a disc-shaped robotic device having motorized wheels 362,);
a first mechanical connection configured to connect to a mechanical connection of a load bearing unit (see at least High, para. [0061]: the coupling structure 622 includes a lifting system (e.g., including an electric drive or motor)to cause a portion of the body or housing 602 (e.g., the upper body portion 564) to engage and lift a portion of the forklift unit 570 (e.g., forks 574));
a second mechanical connection configured to connect to a mechanical connection of a self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit (see at least High, para. [0061]: So configured, by one approach, the control circuit 606can automatically and selectively move the motorized transport unit 660 (via the motorized wheel system 610) towards a particular forklift unit 570 until the forklift coupling structure 622 (e.g., the control interface connection) of the motorized transport unit 660 can engage the forklift unit 570 (e.g., the forklift interface connection 577) to thereby temporarily physically couple the motorized transport unit 660 to the forklift unit 170.);
an electrical connection, for electrically connecting the self-propelled adaptor unit to the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit (see at least High, para. [0061]: In embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5, the coupling structure 622 includes a lifting system (e.g., including an electric drive or motor)to cause a portion of the body or housing 602 (e.g., the upper body portion 564) to engage and lift a portion of the forklift unit 570 (e.g., forks 574) such that the motorized transport unit 660 can control movement of the forklift unit 570 while supporting the forks 574 of the forklift unit 570. As described above, in some embodiments, the motorized transport unit 660 may couple to a portion of the forklift unit and cause the forks 574 to move up and down without directly contacting the forks 574 but by activating a motor configured to move the forks 574 up and down.);
a computer for controlling the motor, the computer being connected to a receiver for receiving instructions from the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit for controlling the motor (see at least High, para. [0049]: After the motorized transport unit 560 is in position underneath the forklift unit 570 (e.g., the correct position may be determined, for example, via the sensor 568 of the motorized transport unit560), as illustrated in FIG. 5, the control interface connection 567 of the motorized transport unit 560 couples to the forklift interface connection 577 of the forklift unit 570 to enable the motorized transport unit 560 to control movements of the forklift unit 570 via the control interface connection 567 (which receives movement guiding signals from the central computer system 140) and the forklift interface connection 577 (e.g., via electrical and/or wireless signals transmitted from the control interface connection 567 to the forklift interface connection 577 and vice versa).).
However High does not explicitly disclose
an inductive receiving coil for receiving energy from an inductive transmitting coil; and
electrical wiring for conducting electrical energy from the inductive receiving coil to the electrical connection, such that electrical energy can be transferred to the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide.
Burns teaches
an inductive receiving coil for receiving energy from an inductive transmitting coil; and electrical wiring for conducting electrical energy from the inductive receiving coil to the electrical connection, such that electrical energy can be transferred to the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide (see at least Burns, para. [0080]: According to one embodiment, the household power system 600 and/or specifically the plug in charge controller of FIG. 4 may include one or more external power physical connectors and/or inductive ports. In particular, the external power physical connectors and/or inductive ports may be configured for the transfer of energy to and/or from the trailer main propulsion batteries. For example, the physical connectors require metal to metal contact for electric current conduction, whereas the connectors are held together by friction, clamps, or magnetic attraction. Also for example, the inductive charging port may be of the wireless design where energy transfers by means of a magnetic field between two inductive coils located in proximity to each other, typically, one on the underside of the vehicle and one on or embedded into the surface below the vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified High to incorporate the teaching of an inductive receiving coil for receiving energy from an inductive transmitting coil; and electrical wiring for conducting electrical energy from the inductive receiving coil to the electrical connection, such that electrical energy can be transferred to the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide of Burns, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for more efficient, cost savings, and fuel saving operation (see at least Burns, para. [0107]).
As per claim 3 High discloses
wherein the computer is connected to a transceiver, and wherein the receiver is part of the transceiver, and wherein computer is configured to communicate with a computer in the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit (see at least High, para. [0047]: In the embodiment of FIG. 4,the forklift unit 470 also includes a forklift interface connection 477 of the forklift unit 570 configured to couple to the control interface connection 367 of the motorized transport unit 360 to enable the motorized transport unit 360, when coupled to the forklift unit 470, to control movements of the forklift unit 470 via, for example, electrical or wireless communication between the control interface connection 367 and the forklift interface connection 477. & para. [0053]: In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 6, the control circuit 606 operably couples to at least one wireless transceiver 612 that operates according to any known wireless protocol.).
As per claim 4 High discloses
wherein the transceiver is a wireless transceiver (see at least High, para. [0053]: In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 6, the control circuit 606 operably couples to at least one wireless transceiver 612 that operates according to any known wireless protocol.).
As per claim 6 High discloses
wherein the electrical connection is configured to transfer the instructions from the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit to the self-propelled adaptor unit for controlling the motor (see at least High, para. [0061]:By one approach this forklift coupling structure 622 operably couples to a control circuit 606 to thereby permit the latter to control the forklift unit 570 via communication between the control interface connection 567 of the motorized transport unit 560 and the forklift interface connection 577 of the forklift unit 570.).
As per claim 7 High discloses
wherein the second mechanical connection is configured to enable the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit to be lifted from the floor surface (see at least High, para. [0047]: The forklift unit 470 further includes a mast 476 coupled to the forks 474. The forks 474 may be movable up and down along the mast 476 via the force/support provided by the motorized transport unit (as in FIG. 5), or may be movable by a hydraulic motor internal to the forklift unit 470 (not shown). para. [0061]: So configured, by one approach, the control circuit 606can automatically and selectively move the motorized transport unit 660 (via the motorized wheel system 610) towards a particular forklift unit 570 until the forklift coupling structure 622 (e.g., the control interface connection) of the motorized transport unit 660 can engage the forklift unit 570 (e.g., the forklift interface connection 577) to thereby temporarily physically couple the motorized transport unit 660 to the forklift unit 170.).
As per claim 8 High discloses
wherein the second mechanical connection is configured to suspend the self-propelled autonomous or remote controlled guide unit when the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit has been lifted from the floor surface (see at least High, para. [0045]: In FIG. 3B,the motorized transport unit 360 is shown in an extended position in which the upper body portion 364 is moved upward relative to the lower body portion 363 such that the motorized transport unit 360 is in its highest profile orientation for movement when the motorized transport unit 360 is coupled to a forklift unit 170 and/or lifting the forks of the forklift unit 170, for example. The mechanism within the motorized transport unit 360 is designed to provide sufficient lifting force to lift the weight of the upper body portion 364 and other objects to be lifted by the motorized transport unit 360, such as the forks of the forklift unit 170 and one or more pallets 180 placed on the forks of the forklift unit 170.).
As per claim 10 High does not explicitly disclose
wherein the inductive receiving coil is configured to face the floor surface.
Burns teaches
wherein the inductive receiving coil is configured to face the floor surface (see at least Burns, para. [0080]: According to one embodiment, the household power system 600 and/or specifically the plug in charge controller of FIG. 4 may include one or more external power physical connectors and/or inductive ports. In particular, the external power physical connectors and/or inductive ports may be configured for the transfer of energy to and/or from the trailer main propulsion batteries. For example, the physical connectors require metal to metal contact for electric current conduction, whereas the connectors are held together by friction, clamps, or magnetic attraction. Also for example, the inductive charging port may be of the wireless design where energy transfers by means of a magnetic field between two inductive coils located in proximity to each other, typically, one on the underside of the vehicle and one on or embedded into the surface below the vehicle.).
As per claim 12 High discloses
wherein the self-propelled adaptor unit is configured to one or more of: push or pull the load bearing unit in a substantially horizontal direction; or lift the load bearing unit up or down (see at least High, para. [0045]: In FIG. 3B,the motorized transport unit 360 is shown in an extended position in which the upper body portion 364is moved upward relative to the lower body portion 363 such that the motorized transport unit 360 is in its highest profile orientation for movement when the motorized transport unit 360 is coupled to a forklift unit 170 and/or lifting the forks of the forklift unit 170, for example. The mechanism within the motorized transport unit 360 is designed to provide sufficient lifting force to lift the weight of the upper body portion 364 and other objects to be lifted by the motorized transport unit 360, such as the forks of the forklift unit 170 and one or more pallets 180 placed on the forks of the forklift unit 170.).
As per claim 13 High discloses
An intralogistics system comprising a self-propelled adaptor unit and a self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit (see at least High, para. [0061]:By one approach this forklift coupling structure 622 operably couples to a control circuit 606 to thereby permit the latter to control the forklift unit 570 via communication between the control interface connection 567 of the motorized transport unit 560 and the forklift interface connection 577 of the forklift unit 570.), the self-propelled adaptor unit comprising:
a motor (see at least High, para. [0045-0047]: In some embodiments, in order to raise the upper body portion 364 relative to the lower body portion363, the motorized transport unit 360 includes an internal lifting system (e.g., including one or more electric actuators or rotary drives or motors). Numerous examples of such motorized lifting and rotating systems are known in the art.);
at least one drive wheel connected to the motor for propelling the self-propelled adaptor unit for moving the self-propelled adaptor unit on a floor surface (see at least High, para. [0043]: In this embodiment, the motorized transport unit 360 takes the form of a disc-shaped robotic device having motorized wheels 362,);
a first mechanical connection configured to connect to a mechanical connection of a load bearing unit (see at least High, para. [0061]: the coupling structure 622 includes a lifting system (e.g., including an electric drive or motor)to cause a portion of the body or housing 602 (e.g., the upper body portion 564) to engage and lift a portion of the forklift unit 570 (e.g., forks 574));
a second mechanical connection configured to connect to a mechanical connection of a self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit (see at least High, para. [0061]: So configured, by one approach, the control circuit 606can automatically and selectively move the motorized transport unit 660 (via the motorized wheel system 610) towards a particular forklift unit 570 until the forklift coupling structure 622 (e.g., the control interface connection) of the motorized transport unit 660 can engage the forklift unit 570 (e.g., the forklift interface connection 577) to thereby temporarily physically couple the motorized transport unit 660 to the forklift unit 170.);
an electrical connection, for electrically connecting the self-propelled adaptor unit to the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit (see at least High, para. [0061]: In embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5, the coupling structure 622 includes a lifting system (e.g., including an electric drive or motor)to cause a portion of the body or housing 602 (e.g., the upper body portion 564) to engage and lift a portion of the forklift unit 570 (e.g., forks 574) such that the motorized transport unit 660 can control movement of the forklift unit 570 while supporting the forks 574 of the forklift unit 570. As described above, in some embodiments, the motorized transport unit 660 may couple to a portion of the forklift unit and cause the forks 574 to move up and down without directly contacting the forks 574 but by activating a motor configured to move the forks 574 up and down.);
a computer for controlling the motor, the computer being connected to a receiver for receiving instructions from the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit for controlling the motor (see at least High, para. [0049]: After the motorized transport unit 560 is in position underneath the forklift unit 570 (e.g., the correct position may be determined, for example, via the sensor 568 of the motorized transport unit560), as illustrated in FIG. 5, the control interface connection 567 of the motorized transport unit 560 couples to the forklift interface connection 577 of the forklift unit 570 to enable the motorized transport unit 560 to control movements of the forklift unit 570 via the control interface connection 567 (which receives movement guiding signals from the central computer system 140) and the forklift interface connection 577 (e.g., via electrical and/or wireless signals transmitted from the control interface connection 567 to the forklift interface connection 577 and vice versa).);
a computer for generating control signals to the self-propelled adaptor unit (see at least High, para. [0049]: After the motorized transport unit 560 is in position underneath the forklift unit 570 (e.g., the correct position may be determined, for example, via the sensor 568 of the motorized transport unit560), as illustrated in FIG. 5, the control interface connection 567 of the motorized transport unit 560 couples to the forklift interface connection 577 of the forklift unit 570 to enable the motorized transport unit 560 to control movements of the forklift unit 570 via the control interface connection 567 (which receives movement guiding signals from the central computer system 140) and the forklift interface connection 577 (e.g., via electrical and/or wireless signals transmitted from the control interface connection 567 to the forklift interface connection 577 and vice versa).); and
However High does not explicitly disclose
an inductive receiving coil for receiving energy from an inductive transmitting coil; and
electrical wiring for conducting electrical energy from the inductive receiving coil to the electrical connection, such that electrical energy can be transferred to the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit, the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit comprising:
a battery electrically connected to the electrical connection, such that the battery can be charged by energy transferred from the inductive receiving coil of the self-propelled adaptor unit.
Burns teaches
an inductive receiving coil for receiving energy from an inductive transmitting coil; and electrical wiring for conducting electrical energy from the inductive receiving coil to the electrical connection, such that electrical energy can be transferred to the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide comprising, a battery electrically connected to the electrical connection, such that the battery can be charged by energy transferred from the inductive receiving coil of the self-propelled adaptor unit (see at least Burns, para. [0080]: According to one embodiment, the household power system 600 and/or specifically the plug in charge controller of FIG. 4 may include one or more external power physical connectors and/or inductive ports. In particular, the external power physical connectors and/or inductive ports may be configured for the transfer of energy to and/or from the trailer main propulsion batteries. For example, the physical connectors require metal to metal contact for electric current conduction, whereas the connectors are held together by friction, clamps, or magnetic attraction. Also for example, the inductive charging port may be of the wireless design where energy transfers by means of a magnetic field between two inductive coils located in proximity to each other, typically, one on the underside of the vehicle and one on or embedded into the surface below the vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified High to incorporate the teaching of an inductive receiving coil for receiving energy from an inductive transmitting coil; and electrical wiring for conducting electrical energy from the inductive receiving coil to the electrical connection, such that electrical energy can be transferred to the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit, the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit comprising: a battery electrically connected to the electrical connection, such that the battery can be charged by energy transferred from the inductive receiving coil of the self-propelled adaptor unit of Burns, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for more efficient, cost savings, and fuel saving operation (see at least Burns, para. [0107]).
As per claim 14 High discloses
wherein the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit further comprises an actuator for lifting the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit from the floor surface when the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit is connected to the self-propelled adaptor unit by the second mechanical connection (see at least High, para. [0047]: The forklift unit 470 further includes a mast 476 coupled to the forks 474. The forks 474 may be movable up and down along the mast 476 via the force/support provided by the motorized transport unit (as in FIG. 5), or may be movable by a hydraulic motor internal to the forklift unit 470 (not shown). para. [0061]: So configured, by one approach, the control circuit 606can automatically and selectively move the motorized transport unit 660 (via the motorized wheel system 610) towards a particular forklift unit 570 until the forklift coupling structure 622 (e.g., the control interface connection) of the motorized transport unit 660 can engage the forklift unit 570 (e.g., the forklift interface connection 577) to thereby temporarily physically couple the motorized transport unit 660 to the forklift unit 170.).
As per claim 16 High discloses
wherein the electrical connection is configured to transfer the instructions from the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit to the self-propelled adaptor unit for controlling the motor (see at least High, para. [0061]:By one approach this forklift coupling structure 622 operably couples to a control circuit 606 to thereby permit the latter to control the forklift unit 570 via communication between the control interface connection 567 of the motorized transport unit 560 and the forklift interface connection 577 of the forklift unit 570.).
As per claim 18 High discloses
wherein the self-propelled adaptor unit further comprises an actuator for lifting the load bearing unit up or down (see at least High, para. [0045]: In FIG. 3B,the motorized transport unit 360 is shown in an extended position in which the upper body portion 364is moved upward relative to the lower body portion 363 such that the motorized transport unit 360 is in its highest profile orientation for movement when the motorized transport unit 360 is coupled to a forklift unit 170 and/or lifting the forks of the forklift unit 170, for example. The mechanism within the motorized transport unit 360 is designed to provide sufficient lifting force to lift the weight of the upper body portion 364 and other objects to be lifted by the motorized transport unit 360, such as the forks of the forklift unit 170 and one or more pallets 180 placed on the forks of the forklift unit 170.).
As per claim 19 High does not explicitly disclose
wherein a total weight of the self-propelled adaptor unit is at least 2 times a total weight of the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit
Burns teaches
wherein a total weight of the self-propelled adaptor unit is at least 2 times a total weight of the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit (see at least Burns, para. [0003]: These vehicles weight over 10,000 lb. GVWR and may be lighter, but are typically rated as Class 8 or Class 7 heavy duty trucks. & para. [0032]: Preferably, the chassis 200 is arranged as heavy-duty semi-trailer. In particular, the chassis 200 may be configured to support a minimum weight limit (e.g., for a heavy-duty trailer between 4,000 and 9,000 pounds). The semi-trailer (chassis 200) includes but is not limited to: refrigeration (reefer), dry goods, flat bed, container multimodal, tank, or specialty custom trailer intended to be towed behind a tractor with a fifth wheel tow coupling and air brakes. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified High to incorporate the teaching of wherein a total weight of the self-propelled adaptor unit is at least 2 times a total weight of the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit of Burns, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for more efficient, cost savings, and fuel saving operation (see at least Burns, para. [0107]).
As per claim 20 High discloses
wherein the self-propelled adaptor unit is configured to one or more of: push or pull the load bearing unit in a substantially horizontal direction; or lift the load bearing unit up or down (see at least High, para. [0045]: In FIG. 3B,the motorized transport unit 360 is shown in an extended position in which the upper body portion 364is moved upward relative to the lower body portion 363 such that the motorized transport unit 360 is in its highest profile orientation for movement when the motorized transport unit 360 is coupled to a forklift unit 170 and/or lifting the forks of the forklift unit 170, for example. The mechanism within the motorized transport unit 360 is designed to provide sufficient lifting force to lift the weight of the upper body portion 364 and other objects to be lifted by the motorized transport unit 360, such as the forks of the forklift unit 170 and one or more pallets 180 placed on the forks of the forklift unit 170.).
Claim(s) 5 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High, in view of Burns, in view of US 2010/0326746A1 (“Kraus”).
As per claim 5 High does not explicitly disclose
wherein the electrical connection is further configured to transfer electrical energy from the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit to the self-propelled adaptor unit for powering the motor
Kraus teaches
wherein the electrical connection is further configured to transfer electrical energy from the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit to the self-propelled adaptor unit for powering the motor (see at least Kraus, para. [0031-0033]: As discussed above, generator vehicle 20 is used to power transport vehicles 18. Generator vehicle 20 is illustrated as a tractor having an electric generator. Many tractors 20 include devices to transfer power to other equipment, such as the power take off shaft… As illustrated in this embodiment, generating vehicle 20 does not tow transport vehicle 18. Rather, generating vehicle 20 provides power to each transport vehicle 18 of train 14 (FIG. 4B).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified High to incorporate the teaching of wherein the electrical connection is further configured to transfer electrical energy from the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit to the self-propelled adaptor unit for powering the motor of Kraus, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow more weight to be hauled for a given amount of power provided to transport vehicle (see at least Kraus, para. [0032]).
As per claim 15 High does not explicitly disclose
wherein the electrical connection is further configured to transfer electrical energy from the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit to the self-propelled adaptor unit for powering the motor.
Kraus teaches
wherein the electrical connection is further configured to transfer electrical energy from the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit to the self-propelled adaptor unit for powering the motor (see at least Kraus, para. [0031-0033]: As discussed above, generator vehicle 20 is used to power transport vehicles 18. Generator vehicle 20 is illustrated as a tractor having an electric generator. Many tractors 20 include devices to transfer power to other equipment, such as the power take off shaft… As illustrated in this embodiment, generating vehicle 20 does not tow transport vehicle 18. Rather, generating vehicle 20 provides power to each transport vehicle 18 of train 14 (FIG. 4B).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified High to incorporate the teaching of wherein the electrical connection is further configured to transfer electrical energy from the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit to the self-propelled adaptor unit for powering the motor of Kraus, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow more weight to be hauled for a given amount of power provided to transport vehicle (see at least Kraus, para. [0032]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High, in view of Burns, in view of US 2019/0276241A1 (“Royce”).
As per claim 9 High does not explicitly disclose
wherein the inductive receiving coil is placed below the second mechanical connection.
Royce teaches
wherein the inductive receiving coil is placed below the second mechanical connection (see at least Royce, para. [0111]: The propulsion mechanism can be located within the body 26 of the vehicle 24, or outside the body of the vehicle, or partially within the body of the vehicle and partially outside the body of the vehicle. When the propulsion mechanism can be located within the body 26 of the vehicle 24, it may be located below the top surface of the body 26 of the vehicle. The vehicles 24 can be propellable, for example, by gravity (such as on a downward slope), or by a propulsive force which may be mechanical, electrical (e.g., electric motors), magnetic, or other form of propulsion. The electric motors can be powered by a battery or a capacitor. The vehicles 24 may optionally have a monitor thereon that monitors the charge remaining on the battery or capacitor. If desired, a control system can direct the vehicle 24 to drive to a recharge station when the remaining charge is at a low level. Some non-limiting examples of the use of magnetic forces for propulsion include to move the vehicles short distances, such as for docking purposes; or, in the form of a linear synchronous motor system having magnetic coils positioned beneath a trackless surface on top of which the vehicles 24 are propellable that work in combination with magnets positioned on or in the vehicles 24.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified High to incorporate the teaching of wherein the inductive receiving coil is placed below the second mechanical connection of Royce, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for on-demand fulfillment of orders without requiring manual packing (see at least Royce, para. [0007]).
Claim(s) 11 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High, in view of Burns, in view of US 2023/0271657A1 (“Mauletti”).
As per claim 11 High does not explicitly disclose
further comprising at least one of a sensor or an emergency stop button, and wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a signal generated by at least one of the sensor or emergency stop button to the computer of the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit.
Mauletti teaches
further comprising at least one of a sensor or an emergency stop button (see at least Mauletti, para. [0048]: According to another preferred characteristic, the carriage 10 and the AMR 1 are arranged with sensor devices and communication devices to assist in the docking operation between the AMR 1 and the carriage 10, configured to allow this docking operation to be carried out automatically.), and
wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a signal generated by at least one of the sensor or emergency stop button to the computer of the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit (see at least Mauletti, para. [0047-0049]: In the specific case illustrated, in particular, the lower surface of the upper part 1 OB of the carriage carries a plurality of freely rotating wheels 14 (or guide members), with vertical axis, arranged to be engaged by rolling over side guide tracks 15 (one of which is visible in FIG. 1) arranged on the two opposite sides of the body of the AMR 1… Position indicator devices or signaling systems may be provided on the carriages 10 in communication with a control unit set up in the industrial plant, which is thus able to detect the position of the carriages 10, as well as communicate with the AMRs 1 to control docking operations between certain AMRs and certain carriages, according to production needs, and taking into account any failures and need for replacement.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified High to incorporate the teaching of further comprising at least one of a sensor or an emergency stop button, and wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a signal generated by at least one of the sensor or emergency stop button to the computer of the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit of Mauletti, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to create highly flexible and efficient production systems (see at least Mauletti, para. [0005]).
As per claim 17 High does not explicitly disclose
wherein the self-propelled adaptor unit further comprises at least one of a sensor or an emergency stop button, and wherein the self-propelled adaptor unit is configured to transmit a signal generated by at least one of the sensor or emergency stop button to the computer of the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit.
Mauletti teaches
wherein the self-propelled adaptor unit further comprises at least one of a sensor or an emergency stop button (see at least Mauletti, para. [0048]: According to another preferred characteristic, the carriage 10 and the AMR 1 are arranged with sensor devices and communication devices to assist in the docking operation between the AMR 1 and the carriage 10, configured to allow this docking operation to be carried out automatically.), and
wherein the self-propelled adaptor unit is configured to transmit a signal generated by at least one of the sensor or emergency stop button to the computer of the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit (see at least Mauletti, para. [0047-0049]: In the specific case illustrated, in particular, the lower surface of the upper part 1 OB of the carriage carries a plurality of freely rotating wheels 14 (or guide members), with vertical axis, arranged to be engaged by rolling over side guide tracks 15 (one of which is visible in FIG. 1) arranged on the two opposite sides of the body of the AMR 1… Position indicator devices or signaling systems may be provided on the carriages 10 in communication with a control unit set up in the industrial plant, which is thus able to detect the position of the carriages 10, as well as communicate with the AMRs 1 to control docking operations between certain AMRs and certain carriages, according to production needs, and taking into account any failures and need for replacement.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified High to incorporate the teaching of wherein the self-propelled adaptor unit further comprises at least one of a sensor or an emergency stop button, and wherein the self-propelled adaptor unit is configured to transmit a signal generated by at least one of the sensor or emergency stop button to the computer of the self-propelled autonomous or remote-controlled guide unit of Mauletti, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to create highly flexible and efficient production systems (see at least Mauletti, para. [0005]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668