DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-14 have been examined in this application filed on or after March 16, 2013, and are being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. This communication is the First Office Action on the Merits.
Key to Interpreting this Office Action
For readability, all claim language has been bolded. Citations from prior art are provided at the end of each limitation in parenthesis. Any further explanations that were deemed necessary by the Examiner are provided at the end of each claim limitation. The Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner directly if there are any questions or concerns regarding the current Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
signal limiting member for limiting a wireless signal transmitting range in claim 1, interpreted as signal limiting member 73, exemplified as a casing pipe as described in Applicant disclosure [0043]-[0046].
MPEP § 2181, I. A. provides a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for." Welker Bearing Co., v. PHD, Inc., 550 F.3d 1090, 1096, 89 USPQ2d 1289, 1293-94 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Mass. Inst. of Tech. v. Abacus Software, 462 F.3d 1344, 1354, 80 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Personalized Media, 161 F.3d at 704, 48 USPQ2d at 1886–87; Mas-Hamilton Group v. LaGard, Inc., 156 F.3d 1206, 1214-1215, 48 USPQ2d 1010, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 1998). Note that there is no fixed list of generic placeholders that always result in 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation, and likewise there is no fixed list of words that always avoid 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation. Every case will turn on its own unique set of facts.
Examiner’s Note: Particular scrutiny is made of the limitation a signal guide member for limiting a received signal range of the wireless receiver of claim 1. It is the position of the office that this limitation is structurally modified by the claimed signal guide channel, and an inner opening of the signal guide channel faces the wireless receiver, and an outer opening of the signal guide channel faces outside such that this limitation is not believed to meet the three-prong test of MPEP § 2181. However, should Applicant desire for this limitation to be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), Applicant should place on the record as such in future responses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the applicant regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1: Applicant claims
1. A wireless following device, comprising
a wireless receiver and a wireless transmitter, and
further comprising a signal guide member for limiting a received signal range of the wireless receiver,
wherein the signal guide member is arranged on a front side of the wireless receiver and is provided with a signal guide channel, and an inner opening of the signal guide channel faces the wireless receiver, and an outer opening of the signal guide channel faces outside;
or/and,
a transmitting terminal of the wireless transmitter is connected to a signal limiting member for limiting a wireless signal transmitting range.
The term or/and between the further comprising a signal guide member and the a transmitting terminal of the wireless transmitter creates structural ambiguity about whether the signal guide member is required.
It should expressly be understood that MPEP 2173.05(h) II. provides guidance for optional claim terms, and the use of or/and is not inherently indefinite. However, the use of further comprising as an affirmative, positive recitation of a required element of the signal guide member prior to the use of the use of or/and generates confusion as to what elements are required and what elements are optional. Corrective action or clarification is required.
For correction, the Office recommends the use of the following claim language:
A wireless following device, comprising
a wireless receiver and a wireless transmitter,
wherein the wireless following device further comprises at least one of:
or/and
a transmitting terminal of the wireless transmitter is connected to a signal limiting member for limiting a wireless signal transmitting range.
For the sake of compact prosecution, this is the interpretation made for the remainder of this examination.
In regards to claim 6: Applicant claims An unmanned aerial vehicle, comprising the wireless following device according to claim 1” however, the wireless following device of claim 1 comprises both a wireless receiver and a wireless transmitter. However, Applicant disclosure does not provide structural support for an unmanned aerial vehicle comprising the wireless transmitter of claim 1. Wireless transmitter 7 (see at least Fig. 7) is an operator carried device that appears separate from the UAV of Fig. 1. Corrective action or clarification is required.
In regards to claims 7-14: Claims 7-14 claim unmanned aerial vehicle(s) that are also indefinite at least the same or similar to claim 6, outlined above.
In regards to claim 11: Applicant claims the included angle that lacks antecedent basis.
In regards to claim 12 and 13: Applicant claims the housing that lacks antecedent basis.
In regards to claim 13: Applicant claims the auxiliary fixing member that lacks antecedent basis.
All other dependent claims of the indefinite claims detailed above are also indefinite at least by virtue of depending on the indefinite claims detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ozick et al. (US 20080091304 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, as best understood, Ozick discloses the following:
1. A wireless following device, (see at least [0106] “robot 212 may drive toward beacon 202 upon detecting directed emission 216 while in the migration mode.” and [0108] “robot 212 may move towards the beacon 202 along the emission path”)
comprising a wireless receiver (see at least [0004] “omni-directional receiver carried by the chassis” and [0078] “Omni-directional receiver 104 and directional receiver 106 on the robot 100”) and a wireless transmitter, (see at least [0009] “gateway beacon emitter” and [0078] “Navigation beacon 150 has a beacon emitter assembly 152, which includes a gateway beacon emitter 154 and an omni-directional emitter 160”)
and further comprising a signal guide member for limiting a received signal range of the wireless receiver, (see at least [0066] “directional receiver 104 includes a mounting receptacle 108 with a first aperture 110 and a second aperture 112 that are aligned with the drive direction of the chassis 102. Associated with the apertures 110, 112 are a first component receiver 114 and a second component receiver 116.”)
wherein the signal guide member is arranged on a front side of the wireless receiver and is provided with a signal guide channel, (see at least [0067] “component receivers 114, 116 are positioned relative to the apertures 110, 112 such that emissions which originate along the driving direction and fall on the directional receiver 104 may pass through the apertures 110, 112 and onto their respective component receivers 114, 116. Emissions falling on the component receivers 114, 116 result in a corresponding signals being generated”, [0107] “robot 212 may detect the directed emission 216 by sensing the directed emission 216 with a directional receiver 218 (also discussed herein as a "binocular sensor," e.g., including twin detectors in collimated tubes) located on the front of the robot 212”, see also Fig. 5) and an inner opening of the signal guide channel faces the wireless receiver, (see at least [0067], [0107], as previously cited) and an outer opening of the signal guide channel faces outside; (see at least [0067], [0107], as previously cited, see also [0066] “first aperture 110 and a second aperture 112”, see also Fig. 2, receiver 106)
or/and,
a transmitting terminal of the wireless transmitter is connected to a signal limiting member for limiting a wireless signal transmitting range. (optional)
Although optional, for the sake of compact prosecution, Applicant should note that the above limitation is also disclosed by Ozick. (see at least [0099] “field emitters 192 and 194 may be attached to lower housing 188 and arranged to emit respective, laterally bounded and overlapping fields of emissions… each emitter's aperture angle may be 20-30 degrees…. In one example, the navigational field emitters 192 projects a beam at about 12 degrees from a direction normal to the emitter assembly 186, where the beam sweeps about 40 degrees starting from about -5 degrees to about 35.”)
In regards to Claim 2, as best understood, Ozick discloses the following:
2. The wireless following device according to claim 1, comprising at least two wireless receivers and at least two corresponding signal guide members. (see at least [0004] “directional receiver includes a mounting receptacle defining first and second apertures substantially aligned with the drive direction, and first and second component receivers housed in the receptacle and positioned to be responsive to the emission received through the first and second apertures, respectively.” and [0067] “component receivers 114, 116 are positioned relative to the apertures 110, 112 such that emissions which originate along the driving direction and fall on the directional receiver 104 may pass through the apertures 110, 112 and onto their respective component receivers 114, 116. Emissions falling on the component receivers 114, 116 result in a corresponding signals being generated which may be used by controller 103 to determine the direction of the emission relative to the robot's drive direction.”, see also [0107] “directional receiver 218 (also discussed herein as a "binocular sensor," e.g., including twin detectors in collimated tubes”) located on the front of the robot 212”
In regards to Claim 5, as best understood, Ozick discloses the following:
5. The wireless following device according to claim 1, wherein the wireless receiver is an infrared receiver; (see at least [0006] “The receivers may be configured to receive transmissions of infrared light.”) and the wireless transmitter is an infrared transmitter, (see at least [0010] “[0010] The beacon may be configured to emit an infrared signal”) the signal limiting member is a casing pipe, and the casing pipe is sleeved at the transmitting terminal. (as best understood, the limiting member is optional in nature, and therefore further limitations of an optional feature is also considered optional.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozick et al. (US 20080091304 A1) herein Ozick, as applied to claims 1 and 2, in view of Zhao et al. (US 20220035033 A1) herein Zhao.
In regards to Claim 3, as best understood, Ozick suggests the following:
3. The wireless following device according to claim 1, wherein an outer opening of the signal guide member is horn-shaped or inversely conical. (see at least Fig. 8, item 120 and [0071]-[0072] “Conical reflector 120”, however that’s not the “outer opening” as claimed. The outer opening of Ozick is mostly just a slit/window/tube opening.)
Ozick discloses outer openings 110, 112. Ozick further discloses a conical reflector 120 at emission receiver 122, however the conical reflector 120 of Ozick is not explicitly an outer opening of the signal guide member, as claimed. However, this is more explicitly taught by Zhao. (see at least Fig. 1 and [0026] “light guide structure 1”, “infrared sensor 3” and “light guide tube 102” and [0033] “Optionally, as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, the second light guide tube 102 is horn-shaped, and a horn opening faces the glass cover plate 4”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhao with the invention of Ozick, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of constraining a receiving angle of an infrared ray that passes through a guide structure such that an opening angle thereof may be adjusted based on a requirement on the receiving angle in actual application. (Zhao, [0040])
In regards to Claim 4, as best understood, Ozick discloses the following:
4. The wireless following device according to claim 2, wherein an outer opening of the signal guide member is horn-shaped or inversely conical. (see at least Fig. 8, item 120 and [0071]-[0072] “Conical reflector 120”, however that’s not the “outer opening” as claimed. The outer opening of Ozick is mostly just a slit/window/tube opening.)
Ozick discloses outer openings 110, 112. Ozick further discloses a conical reflector 120 at emission receiver 122, however the conical reflector 120 of Ozick is not explicitly an outer opening of the signal guide member, as claimed. However, this is more explicitly taught by Zhao. (see at least Fig. 1 and [0026] “light guide structure 1”, “infrared sensor 3” and “light guide tube 102” and [0033] “Optionally, as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, the second light guide tube 102 is horn-shaped, and a horn opening faces the glass cover plate 4”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhao with the invention of Ozick, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of constraining a receiving angle of an infrared ray that passes through a guide structure such that an opening angle thereof may be adjusted based on a requirement on the receiving angle in actual application. (Zhao, [0040])
Claims 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozick, as applied, or Ozick in view of Zhao, as applied, in further view of Lee et al. (US 20180155024 A1) herein Lee.
In regards to Claim 6, as best understood, Ozick is silent, but Lee teaches the following:
6. An unmanned aerial vehicle, comprising the wireless following device according to claim 1. (see at least Fig. 1, “unmanned aerial vehicle 10”, Fig. 12 and [0146] “communication module 3100… may include various communication circuitry, such as, for example… an RF module 3160” and “unmanned aerial vehicle 3001… may transmit information for checking a real-time moving state of the unmanned photographing device to an external electronic device (e.g., a portable terminal capable of communicating with the unmanned aerial vehicle 3001) through the communication module 3100.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhao with the invention of Ozick, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of generating commands to pilot the unmanned aerial vehicle, such as, or example, using information about the size and moving state of a subject, a relative distance between a unmanned aerial vehicle and a subject, altitude information, and azimuth angle information to generate flight commands based on the computed information, (Lee, [0163]) and/or with the motivation of aligning the autonomous robot with the determined RF emission direction. (Ozick, [0069])
In regards to Claim 7, as best understood, Ozick is silent, but Lee teaches the following:
7. An unmanned aerial vehicle, comprising the wireless following device according to claim 3. (see at least Fig. 1, “unmanned aerial vehicle 10”, Fig. 12 and [0146] “communication module 3100… may include various communication circuitry, such as, for example… an RF module 3160” and “unmanned aerial vehicle 3001… may transmit information for checking a real-time moving state of the unmanned photographing device to an external electronic device (e.g., a portable terminal capable of communicating with the unmanned aerial vehicle 3001) through the communication module 3100.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhao with the invention of Ozick, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of generating commands to pilot the unmanned aerial vehicle, such as, for example, using information about the size and moving state of a subject, a relative distance between a unmanned aerial vehicle and a subject, altitude information, and azimuth angle information to generate flight commands based on the computed information, (Lee, [0163]) and/or with the motivation of aligning the autonomous robot with the determined RF emission direction. (Ozick, [0069])
In regards to Claim 8, as best understood, Ozick is silent, but Lee teaches the following:
8. An unmanned aerial vehicle, comprising the wireless following device according to claim 4. (see at least Fig. 1, “unmanned aerial vehicle 10”, Fig. 12 and [0146] “communication module 3100… may include various communication circuitry, such as, for example… an RF module 3160” and “unmanned aerial vehicle 3001… may transmit information for checking a real-time moving state of the unmanned photographing device to an external electronic device (e.g., a portable terminal capable of communicating with the unmanned aerial vehicle 3001) through the communication module 3100.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhao with the invention of Ozick, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of generating commands to pilot the unmanned aerial vehicle, such as, for example, using information about the size and moving state of a subject, a relative distance between a unmanned aerial vehicle and a subject, altitude information, and azimuth angle information to generate flight commands based on the computed information, (Lee, [0163]) and/or with the motivation of aligning the autonomous robot with the determined RF emission direction. (Ozick, [0069])
In regards to Claim 9, as best understood, Ozick is silent, but Lee teaches the following:
9. An unmanned aerial vehicle, comprising the wireless following device according to claim 2. (see at least Fig. 1, “unmanned aerial vehicle 10”, Fig. 12 and [0146] “communication module 3100… may include various communication circuitry, such as, for example… an RF module 3160” and “unmanned aerial vehicle 3001… may transmit information for checking a real-time moving state of the unmanned photographing device to an external electronic device (e.g., a portable terminal capable of communicating with the unmanned aerial vehicle 3001) through the communication module 3100.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhao with the invention of Ozick, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of generating commands to pilot the unmanned aerial vehicle, such as, for example, using information about the size and moving state of a subject, a relative distance between a unmanned aerial vehicle and a subject, altitude information, and azimuth angle information to generate flight commands based on the computed information, (Lee, [0163]) and/or with the motivation of aligning the autonomous robot with the determined RF emission direction. (Ozick, [0069])
In regards to Claim 10, Ozick, as modified by Lee, discloses the following:
10. The unmanned aerial vehicle according to claim 6, comprising a body, wherein the body comprises a housing, (see at least Fig. 1A and [0004] “chassis”) the wireless receiver and the signal guide member are arranged in the housing, (see at least [0066] “The directional receiver 104 is positioned on the front of the chassis 102.”) the housing is provided with a through hole matching the outer opening of the signal guide channel, (see at least [0066] “The directional receiver 104 includes a mounting receptacle 108 with a first aperture 110 and a second aperture 112” and [0067] “emissions which originate along the driving direction and fall on the directional receiver 104 may pass through the apertures 110, 112”) and the outer openings of two adjacent signal guide channels are arranged at an included angle in a length direction. (see at least [0068] “the first and second component receivers 114, 116 may be positioned such that emissions falling squarely on each would form an angle in the range of 1 to 15 degrees.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhao with the invention of Ozick, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of generating commands to pilot the unmanned aerial vehicle, such as, for example, using information about the size and moving state of a subject, a relative distance between a unmanned aerial vehicle and a subject, altitude information, and azimuth angle information to generate flight commands based on the computed information, (Lee, [0163]) and/or with the motivation of aligning the autonomous robot with the determined RF emission direction. (Ozick, [0069])
In regards to Claim 11, Ozick, as modified by Lee, discloses the following:
11. The unmanned aerial vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the included angle is 10 degrees to 75 degrees. (see at least [0068] “the first and second component receivers 114, 116 may be positioned such that emissions falling squarely on each would form an angle in the range of 1 to 15 degrees.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhao with the invention of Ozick, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of generating commands to pilot the unmanned aerial vehicle, such as, for example, using information about the size and moving state of a subject, a relative distance between a unmanned aerial vehicle and a subject, altitude information, and azimuth angle information to generate flight commands based on the computed information, (Lee, [0163]) and/or with the motivation of aligning the autonomous robot with the determined RF emission direction. (Ozick, [0069])
In regards to Claim 12, Ozick, as modified by Lee, discloses the following:
12. The unmanned aerial vehicle according to claim 7, wherein the housing is provided with an auxiliary fixing member, (see at least [0005] “directional receiver is installed onto a front portion of the chassis and housed within the mounting receptacle. The mounting structure stabilizes and supports the directional receiver”) the auxiliary fixing member is provided with an accommodation hole for accommodating a signal receiver, (see at least [0004] ‘directional receiver includes a mounting receptacle defining first and second apertures”) and an inner end of the signal guide channel faces the accommodation hole or stretches into the accommodation hole. (see at least [0067] “emissions… may pass through the apertures 110, 112 and onto their respective component receivers 114, 116.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhao with the invention of Ozick, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of generating commands to pilot the unmanned aerial vehicle, such as, for example, using information about the size and moving state of a subject, a relative distance between a unmanned aerial vehicle and a subject, altitude information, and azimuth angle information to generate flight commands based on the computed information, (Lee, [0163]) and/or with the motivation of aligning the autonomous robot with the determined RF emission direction. (Ozick, [0069])
In regards to Claim 13, Ozick, as modified by Lee, discloses the following:
13. The unmanned aerial vehicle according to claim 8, wherein the housing is provided with an auxiliary fixing member, (see at least [0005] “directional receiver is installed onto a front portion of the chassis and housed within the mounting receptacle. The mounting structure stabilizes and supports the directional receiver”) the auxiliary fixing member is provided with an accommodation hole for accommodating a signal receiver, (see at least [0004] ‘directional receiver includes a mounting receptacle defining first and second apertures”) and an inner end of the signal guide channel faces the accommodation hole or stretches into the accommodation hole. (see at least [0067] “emissions… may pass through the apertures 110, 112 and onto their respective component receivers 114, 116.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhao with the invention of Ozick, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of generating commands to pilot the unmanned aerial vehicle, such as, for example, using information about the size and moving state of a subject, a relative distance between a unmanned aerial vehicle and a subject, altitude information, and azimuth angle information to generate flight commands based on the computed information, (Lee, [0163]) and/or with the motivation of aligning the autonomous robot with the determined RF emission direction. (Ozick, [0069])
In regards to Claim 14, Ozick, as modified by Lee, discloses the following:
14. The unmanned aerial vehicle according to claim 9, wherein when two or more than two signal guide members are provided, (see at least [0107] “twin detectors in collimated tubes”) a connector is connected between adjacent signal guide members; (see at least Fig. 5 and [0067] “locking tabs 119 or some other fastening method”)
Ozick suggests the following:
and the connector is provided with an extension rod, the auxiliary fixing member is provided with an insertion hole matching the extension rod, and the extension rod is inserted into the insertion hole. (see at least Fig. 14)
The connector connected between adjacent signal guide members of Ozick is “locking tab 119 or some other fastening method” and therefore is not explicitly an extension rod inserted into an insertion hole. However, Ozick clearly provides for “other fastening methods”, and Fig. 14 displays a plurality of structures that may be interpreted as rods inserted into insertion holes. It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the locking tabs 119 with the rods and insertion holes of Fig. 14, with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of aligning the autonomous robot with the determined RF emission direction. (Ozick, [0069]) Further, the results of this modification would have been predictable.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jason Roberson, whose telephone number is (571) 272-7793. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday thru Friday between 8:00 AM and 4:30 PM. The examiner may also be reached through e-mail at Jason.Roberson@USPTO.GOV, or via FAX at (571) 273-7793. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Navid Z Mehdizadeh can be reached on (571)-272-7691.
Another resource that is available to applicants is the Patient Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Information regarding the status of an application can be obtained from the PAIR system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAX. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have any questions on access to the Private PAIR system, please feel free to contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
Applicants are invited to contact the Office to schedule either an in-person or a telephone interview to discuss and resolve the issues set forth in this Office Action. Although an interview is not required, the Office believes that an interview can be of use to resolve any issues related to a patent application in an efficient and prompt manner.
Sincerely,
/JASON R ROBERSON/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669
August 21, 2026
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669