DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bisch et al (US 5,997,528).
Regarding independent claim 1, Bisch discloses a modular surgical system (Fig. 1: 1), comprising:
a cart (21) including a plurality of shelves (see shelves in Fig. 1);
a backplane (back portion of system 1; see Fig. 1 and 2);
a display (5) operably positionable on the cart (Fig. 1; Col. 13, Line 40-41), wherein the display comprises an electrical connector configured to electrically couple to the backplane based on the display being operably positioned on the cart (Col. 16, Lines 8-40 discuss the connection between the display 5 and the backplane of the system; See Fig. 1, 2, and 19);
a generator module (7; Col. 7, Line 3-6 refer to the module 7 controlling microsurgical instruments, interpreted as a generator module as power provided to instruments) operably positionable on the cart (see Fig. 1), wherein the generator module comprises:
an electrical connector (127) configured to electrically couple to the backplane (121; Col. 8, Line 19-22 refer to the connectors 127 as providing power and data communication) based on the generator module (Fig. 5) being operably positioned on the cart (Fig. 1); and
a plurality of energy ports (Fig. 1, 2, 12 display energy ports on modules 13 for connecting to the surgical instrument), wherein the generator module is configured to provide electrosurgical energy to a surgical instrument via the plurality of energy ports (Col. 8, Line 60 – Col. 9, Line 17; Col. 10, Lines 16-30); and
a master module (3) operably positionable on the cart (see Fig. 1), wherein the master module comprises an electrical connector (233) configured to electrically couple to the backplane based on the master module (Fig. 2 displays 233 connected to backplane of 3) being operably positioned on the cart (Fig. 1), and wherein the master module is configured to control the display and the generator module via the backplane (Fig. 1-2; Col. 7, Line 20-25, 45-57; Col. 14, Line 60-Col. 15 Line 15 describe the master module 3 controlling the display 5 and the generator module 7).
Regarding claim 2, Bisch further discloses wherein the master module is configured to display data associated with the generator module on the display (Col. 14, Line 60-Col. 15 Line 15).
Regarding claim 4, Bisch further discloses wherein the generator module (7) is configured to receive power signals via the backplane (Col. 8, Line 19-22).
Regarding claim 5, Bisch further discloses wherein the generator module is configured to receive data signals via the backplane (Col. 8, Line 19-22).
Regarding claim 6, Bisch further discloses a surgical module (13) operably positionable on the cart (Fig. 1), wherein the surgical module comprises an electrical connector (171) configured to electrically couple to the backplane based on the surgical module being operably positioned on the cart (Fig. 1, 5, 6; Col. 8, Lines 19-22; Col 9, Lines 9-11 discuss connector 127 of the backplane providing power/data communication to the electrical connect 171 of the surgical module 13), and wherein the master module is configured to control the surgical module via the backplane (see col. 13, lines 44-63).
Regarding claim 9, Bisch further discloses wherein the cart comprises wheels (see caster wheels 35, Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 10-16 and 18, Bisch discloses the limitations of these claims under the same citations and rationale provided in the rejections of claims 1-2, 4-6 and 9 above, the frame of claim 10 comprising the housings of each of the corresponding elements identified in the previous rejections above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bisch in view of Ellman et al (US 7,094,231).
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 17, Bisch further discloses wherein the plurality of energy ports comprises: a bipolar port, wherein the generator module is configured to provide bipolar energy through the bipolar port (Col. 17, Line 11-18 describe the energy port of one of module 13 providing bipolar energy to one of instrument 19); and an ultrasonic port, wherein the generator module is configured to provide ultrasonic energy through the ultrasonic port (Col. 17, Line 11-18 describe the energy port of one of module 13 providing ultrasonic energy to one of instrument 19). However, Bisch does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of energy ports comprises: a monopolar port, wherein the generator module is configured to provide monopolar energy through the monopolar port.
Ellman discloses an electrosurgical system (Fig. 1) comprising a generator module (12/14) comprising a plurality of energy ports (50, 52). The energy ports include a bipolar port (50) as well as a monopolar port (52) for providing monopolar energy (Col. 4, Line 16-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the plurality of energy ports of Bisch to incorporate wherein the plurality of energy ports comprises: a bipolar port, wherein the generator module is configured to provide bipolar energy through the bipolar port of Ellman. This configuration provides the benefit of independent control of different modes of operation based on the desired surgical effect (Col. 3, Lines 16-19), thereby increasing the versatility of the system.
Claims 7-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bisch in view of El-Galley et al (US 2011/0125149).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Bisch discloses the limitations of claim 6, however fails to disclose wherein the surgical module comprises a smoke evacuator, or a insufflator.
El-Galley discloses a modular surgical cart (Fig. 18-19) comprising a surgical modules 920-20’’), a generator module (12), and a master module (19), wherein the surgical modules comprise a smoke evacuator, or an insufflator (400; [0164]-[0165]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the cart of Bisch to incorporate the surgical modules of a smoke evacuator and an insufflator in light of El-Galley. This configuration provides the benefit of integrating multiple essential surgical devices into the central control device, thereby improving the ease of use and increased functionality of the device (see El-Galley [0164]-[0165]).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Bisch in view of El-Galley teaches the limitations of these claims under the same citations and rationale as that relied upon in the rejection of claims 7 and 8 above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,318,152. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,318,152 anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,318,152 in view of Bisch et al (US 5,997,528). Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,318,152 anticipate the limtations of claim 1, however claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,318,152 fail to further define wherein the cart comprises wheels. Bisch teaches a surgical cart, wherein the cart comprises wheels (see caster wheels 35, Fig. 1), therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,318,152 to further define that the cart comprises wheels in light of Bisch, the motivation being to provide the additional advantage of making it easier to move the surgical cart around the surgical operation room.
Conclusion
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794