DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as anticipated by Zhang et al. (US20240224158A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method comprising (para [0002] shows mobile networks that connect to data networks):
providing an access network connecting a mobile user plane (MUP) provider edge router, MUP gateway router, and MUP controller to one another ([Abstract] shows an integrated Access Network-User Plane (ANUP) function; Fig. 3A, 10 and para [0131] show the N4BGP Controller 1450 (also known as MUP controller) implements signaling with MUP Gateways 1310 and MUP PEs 1410),
the MUP gateway router being connected to a base station having a wireless connection to user equipment (UE) (para [0035] shows the access network nodes (e.g., gNodeBs or base stations); para [0187] shows MUP Gateways 1310 tracks in which base station(s) those UEs are located) and
the MUP provider edge router being connected to a data network (para [0057] shows transport network 141 having provider edge (PE) routers; Fig. 10 and para [0141] shows MUP PE 1410B is a wireline PE that provides reachability to the desired one of data networks (DNs) 1406B, 1406C);
receiving, by a mobile user plane (MUP) controller connected to the access network, mobile session information for the user equipment and base station [gNodeB] (para [0009] shows session information by a controller communicating with the Session Management Function (SMF); para [0177] shows the ANUP 1402A as an access network node (e.g., implementing a gNodeB) receives packet data unit (PDU) session information. ANUP 1402A may establish a data radio bearer (DRB) with UE 1404A for uplink traffic);
modifying [translating], by an operation system, the mobile session information to obtain modified mobile session information [session translated routes] (para [0009] shows the ANUP function co-locates a gNodeB. The ANUP function is extended to receive routes (“session translated routes”) having route types for the Mobile User Plane (MUP), where the session translated routes are translated from session information by a controller communicating with the Session Management Function);
generating, by the MUP controller, a type 1 session transformed (ST1) route and a type 2 session transformed route (ST2) according to MUP protocol according to the modified mobile session information (para [0145-0157] shows PDU Session information that is signaled from SMF 153 is translated to two route types for advertisement: Session Translated Route Type 1 (ST1) an Session Translated Route Type 2 (ST2)); and
providing, by the MUP controller, the ST1 route to the MUP gateway router (para [0150, 0152] shows ST1 to direct traffic to a MUP Gateway for routing to UEs), and
the ST2 route to the MUP provider edge router (para [0158-0159] shows a ST2 route to direct traffic to the appropriate one of the MUP PEs 1410).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses a system comprising (para [0016] shows a 5G mobile network system):
a network environment including (para [0002] shows mobile networks that connect to data networks):
a mobile user plane (MUP) provider edge router connected to a data network (para [0057] shows transport network 141 having provider edge (PE) routers; Fig. 10 and para [0141] shows MUP PE 1410B is a wireline PE that provides reachability to the desired one of data networks (DNs) 1406B, 1406);
a base station configured to wirelessly connect to user equipment (UE) (para [0035] shows access network nodes (e.g., gNodeBs or other base stations) that serve many thousands of UEs);
a MUP gateway router connected to the base station (para [0035] shows access network nodes (e.g., gNodeBs or other base stations); para [0134] shows the MUP Gateways 1310 are connected to the access network);
an access network connecting the provider edge router to the MUP gateway router (para [0134] shows the MUP Gateways 1310 are connected to a PE router); and
a MUP controller (para [0131] shows the N4BGP Controller 1450 (also known as MUP controller)); and
an operation system connected to the MUP controller (para [0131] shows the N4BGP Controller 1450 (also known as MUP controller) implements N4 signaling with the SMF and translates session state for PDU sessions to BGP signaling towards MUP Gateways 1310 and MUP PEs 1410);
wherein the network environment is configured to (para [0002] shows mobile networks that connect to data networks):
receive, by the mobile user plane (MUP) controller connected to the access network, mobile session information for the user equipment and base station [gNodeB] (para [0010] shows session information by a controller communicating with the Session Management Function (SMF); para [0177] shows the Access Network-User Plane (ANUP) 1402A as an access network node (e.g., implementing a gNodeB) receives packet data unit (PDU) session information. ANUP 1402A may establish a data radio bearer (DRB) with UE 1404A for uplink traffic);
modify [translate], by the operation system, the mobile session information to obtain modified mobile session information [session translated routes] (para [0009] shows the ANUP function co-locates a gNodeB. The ANUP function is extended to receive routes (“session translated routes”) having route types for the Mobile User Plane (MUP), where the session translated routes are translated from session information by a controller communicating with the Session Management Function);
generate, by the MUP controller, a type 1 session transformed (ST1) route and a type 2 session transformed route (ST2) according to MUP protocol according to the modified mobile session information (para [0145-0157] shows PDU Session information that is signaled from SMF 153 is translated to two route types for advertisement: Session Translated Route Type 1 (ST1) and Session Translated Route Type 2 (ST2)); and
provide, by the MUP controller, the ST1 route to the MUP gateway router para [0150, 0152] shows ST1 to direct traffic to a MUP Gateway for routing to UEs) and
the ST2 route to the MUP provider edge router (para [0158-0159] shows a ST2 route to direct traffic to the appropriate one of the MUP PEs 1410).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 11 discloses the mobile session information includes a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID) according to general packet radio service (GPRS) tunnel protocol (GTP) (para [0051] shows a Tunnel Endpoint Identifier (TEID), which identifies the GTP tunnel.)
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Zhang as applied to claims 2 and 12 discloses the mobile session information includes a quality flow identifier (QFI) according to GTP (para [0041] shows QoS (Quality of Service) policy definition and enforcement; para [0051] shows the GTP tunnel).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 11 discloses the MUP controller is coupled to a user plane function (UPF) of a cellular communication controller, the method further comprising (para [0130-0131] show the N4BGP Controller 1450 (also known as MUP controller) implements signaling and communicating with a central UPF):
receiving, by the MUP controller, the mobile session information from packet forwarding control protocol (PFCP) traffic between the UE and the UPF (para [0012] shows forwarding information to map the UE address to the packet data unit (PDU) session or to map the PDU session to the routing instance.)
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 11 discloses:
publishing, by the MUP gateway router, an internetwork segment discovery (ISD) message (para [0009] shows an access network node, such as a gNodeB; para [0147] shows an Access Network node address (AN address) for DL traffic. The instant Application discloses in para [0024] internetwork segment discovery (ISD) to discover the address of gNodeB);
publishing, by the MUP provider edge router, direct segment discovery (DSD) message (para [0141] shows the tunnel information includes an IP address for the one of MUP PEs 1410A-1410B. The instant Application discloses in para [0025] direct segment discovery (DSD) by the MUP-GW 112 to obtain information from MUP-PE);
receiving, by the MUP controller, the ISD message and the DSD message; and generating, by the MUP controller, the type 1 session transformed (ST1) route and the type 2 session transformed route (ST2) according to MUP protocol according to the modified mobile session information, the ISD message, and the DSD message (para [0146-0147] shows the ST1 maps the UE to an Access Network node address (AN address) for DL traffic; para [0158-0159] shows a ST2 route to direct traffic to the appropriate one of the MUP PEs 1410.)
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 11 discloses modifying the mobile session information to obtain modified mobile session information comprises modifying the mobile session information to include a forwarding policy (para [0011] shows the UPF(s) data forwarding function is, in effect, replaced by a VPN connecting data networks to the access network, and session routing information is injected into this VPN by the controller.)
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Zhang as applied to claims 7 and 17 discloses the forwarding policy defines forwarding from the UE to the data network (para [0132] shows MUP Gateways 1310 install forwarding state to decapsulate UL GTP-U traffic and routes the decapsulated UE UL traffic for a PDU session to a local data network (DN)).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Zhang as applied to claims 7 and 17 discloses the forwarding policy defines forwarding from the data network to the UE (para [0132] shows MUP Gateways 1310 install forwarding state to encapsulate the DL traffic and send to the gNodeB-CUs (e.g., send to the UE via the gNodeB)).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 11 discloses providing the ST1 route to the MUP gateway router and the ST2 route to the MUP provider edge router comprises using border gateway protocol (BGP) ([Abstract] shows extending Mobile User Plane-Gateway architecture Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) signaling; para [0145-0157] shows PDU Session information that is signaled from SMF 153 is translated to two route types for advertisement: Session Translated Route Type 1 (ST1) an Session Translated Route Type 2 (ST2).)
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 11 fails to teach “publishing, by the MUP controller, the mobile session information to a publisher and subscriber database; retrieving, by the operation system, the mobile session information from the publisher and subscriber database; publishing, by the operation system, the modified mobile session information to the publisher and subscriber database; and retrieving, by the MUP controller, the modified mobile session information from the publisher and subscriber database.”
Foy et al. (US20160197831A1) discloses in para [0065] Border Gateway Protocol (BGP); para [0319] shows the base station may be part of the RAN 104; para [0118] shows logical connectivity between publisher/subscriber. Foy fails to show “publishing, by the MUP controller, the mobile session information to a publisher and subscriber database; retrieving, by the operation system, the mobile session information from the publisher and subscriber database; publishing, by the operation system, the modified mobile session information to the publisher and subscriber database; and retrieving, by the MUP controller, the modified mobile session information from the publisher and subscriber database.”
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patel et al. (US20260046733A1) discloses in [Abstract] Border gateway protocol (BGP) prefix-independent convergence is implemented over a mobile user plane (MUP). Routing may be performed using MPLS; para [0020] shows the MUP-GW 110a may function as a gateway router and may be connected by the access network 106 to the data network 104 by a provider edge router 112 that is enabled to perform MUP (MUP-PE 112),
Patel et al. (US20260046244A1) discloses in [Abstract] Mobile User Plane (MUP) over Multi-Protocol Label Switching (MPLS) is implemented over an access an access network connecting a provider edge router to a gateway router.
Conclusion
/TAN DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445